(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

vinegal, yea i engaging Grace to do post-natal massage for me. hopefully she can do for me cuz if i pop before CNY, she will not be doing during CNY..

thanks garfield!

cordyceps
yes i heard it's very good, even better than birdsnest but also more expensive!

Coconuts
how do we tell the difference between thai and malaysia coconuts?

hi jess,
yes im staying with my in-laws, thankgoodness! u too? have u booked a CL or having your mum/IL to help out?

happymum2b
hehe..maybe im being 'idealistic', thinking that i will guai guai follow all the confinement rules...maybe i'll change my mind when it really happens. see how, i will try to tahan as much as possible...hope i will have the will power

piglettail,

haha.. i oso thought i could guai guai follow all the confinement rules.. i really tried.. :=P but i just can't stand no shower & hair wash..
i mean i feel myself so dirty that i dun feel like carrying my son cos i might dirty him.. haha..

but i "exceeded" in other aspect, like eating the same confinement food for full 40 days and drinking red date tea for almost 2 mths.. hee..

piglettail....
I am staying with my in laws too cos my hubby is the youngest son. My hubby will be the one doing the cooking with my mum helping out occasionally.
I dun really like his parents cooking. keke.

i am off work now. chat with u ladies tonite

happy,
i dun wan to be home bounded so soon....
cos i have being enjoying my freedom for so many yrs... so must chiong more first before no 2 out....

dor,
ya lor, forget u gal so big liao, so u hv more freedom compared to me.. my son still so young, sometime think of going out in "da bao xiao bao", feel v sian liao..
so i m used to staying at home on wkend sometime..
for the coming weeks until i delivered, may be home bounded due to my state of health & swollen legs.. really can't walk far & long..
thus, wan to join u gals for shopping tml while i can.. :p

happy,
true loh...
i think i will shou shan after mid jan... cos still got 2 more reunion dinner to makan... ya, my ah gal veri quick one... no da bao xiao bao...
so hopefully, my ah boy will pop only after my 2 reunion dinner...

happy, so when u wan to go waxing... must do so before u "bi guan"...

june,
hope u dun mind if i add some stuff 2 ur info abt ins. occupational hazard lah...been in tis financial planning industry for 7yrs.

========================
Life Plans - The purpose of life/disability/critical illness plans are for "INCOME REPLACEMENT". Meaning that should the person be struck with any of the three, the money should be able to cover the "income" the person is expected to contribute to himself/the family in the number of years he is expected to do so. <font color="ff0000">there is another type of plan called term plan which is betta for income replacement. most savvy clients nowaday dun like 2 buy life plans for income replacement cos premiums can b quite high for a high cover</font>

Theoretically speaking, children do not need life plans because they have no income. But, some people buy for the assurance of insurability. Meaning that if they buy now, even if the kid becomes unhealthy in future, he is already insured. Also, it is much cheaper for the kid to buy now then when he is older. The extra coverage could also be unforseen expenses should any of the above strike.

So, if you have the budget, you can start a very basic life plan for your child. Personally I would go for investment-linked plans and not traditional plans. 1)they are adjustable - your child can increase the coverage/premium when he grows up. rather than buying a new one. 2)the money is liquid - u can withdraw part of the funds during emergencies, whereas withdrawal in traditional plans are considered as "policy loans". 3)with the liquidity, it can also act as a form of savings - if u have limited budget and can't afford more plans, the funds can help to cover educational fund/retirement fund. <font color="ff0000">ILPs hv another strong benefit which is premium holidays. once u've built up sufficient cash value, u can stop paying premiums = premium holidays. u can restart paying premiums when one's financial situation improves.

ILPs r generally not so accepted by risk averse parents cos there's NO guaranteed cash value, unlike life or endowment/savings plans</font>

Saving Plans - Some will get this for university educational funding. As with current rules, if you are studying in a local uni, 90% can be loaned. If you want your child to be independent and responsible for his own education, then you don't really have to plan for this. However, if you are thinking of an overseas education, or if you want to ensure your child can comfortably study without worrying about the fees, then you can probably start saving for him. The cost of a four year LOCAL university education in 20 years time, excluding living expenses is about $60,000. And if you start a savings plan, it should cost you about $200+ per month now. If you want an overseas education then definitely you have to increase the savings, or diversify into other instruments that can give you better returns. IMO, this is just "Good to Have". <font color="ff0000">tis type of savings plan is commonly known as endowment plans. pricey plans wif very low cover cos e main intention is 4 savings. i agree tat it's gd 2 hv but not 100% necessary cos not every parent has e budget</font>

u r welcome 2 PM me if u hv queries. i m currently wif an ins company which is e only ins company in spore 2 offer payor benefit 4 both parents for all their plans.

tis means tat if u are 2 buy a life policy 4 ur bb, u r e owner n if anything happens 2 u (be it death or critical illness), e premiums r waived off. for us, we r the only ins company which allows both parents 2 b covered, meaning in e event if either parent kenna death or critical illness (even though e other parent isnt the owner of e policy), e premiums r waived too.

happymum2b,
haha i understand what u mean...even during pregnancy, initially i told myself i'll abstain from all the 'forbidden' things like raw food, alcohol, etc...in the end i gave in. my weakness is food, hehe...

i will try hard ah, cos i have this auntie who told me she really kena 'wind' cos she didn't listen to her IL/CL during confinement, wash hair lah, go saloon, go shopping,etc,etc...in the end she had 'head wind' until she managed to 'bu3' back during her 2nd birth and confinement.

so everytime when i see her now, she will nag at me "must listen to CL, must listen to what old ppl say...it's true..."

btw, can we eat biscuits during confinement? cos was snacking on biscuits just now so just wondering.. how about a cup of tea (lipton tea bag with milk and sugar) a day during confinement?

piglettail,

yes, i agreed with ur auntie..
i oso tried not to disobey the confinement rules as much as i can.. but, sigh.....

yes, my mum allowed me to take those danish butter cookies lor for teabreak..
i think by right no tea/coffee during confinement.. i stick to milo for my confinement..
start to take coffee after 2-3 weeks of confinement..

piglettail,
ya... try yr best to listen... i can say that my last confinement was done properly so no pain or anything....

happy
can eat famous amos?

confinement bath

during my 1st 2 confinements, my MIL even added in ginger into my bath water. supposedly 2 get rid of wind.

dorothy,
i only spent abt $150 per wk 4 confinement + normal food for e entire family. i not so extravagant 2 buy cod fish 2 eat at every meal. i know of a GF who spent abt $200+ cos she ate cod fish at every lunch &amp; dinner.

ya, it is very important to do the confinement well as it affects our health in the long run. So we must be good to ourselves. Suffer for a month can bring us lifelong happiness... keke.
i think it should be alright to eat biscuits, perhaps those oatmeal ones

dor,
haha.. dun think my mum will allow amos biscuit.. :p

kel,
yes, yes! my mum oso added ginger with the bath herb into my bath water..
in confinement, can really use tonns of ginger man.. in food, in drink, in bath water.. hahaha..

kel,
can eat cod fish huh? cos pan fried it with butter?$150 still manageable... after i read from dec thread... i almost faint.....i thought we can only eat threadfin?

kel, am interested abt yr ins....

cheryl,
fish still must eat, more or less.. esp if u intend to bf..
i hv combination of fish, chicken &amp; pork (liver &amp; yao rou) for my meals..

cheryl,
hahaha... u veri funny!!! pork also not cheap leh... must eat fish also... i hope to stock up a bit of ba kwa, etc... so towards the 2nd half of my confinement can eat....must eat fish leh...
i think $150 per week + food for family... quite ok...

jess
where u giving birth? cos if tmc, even natural, they also expect u to shave... so some of us gg for waxing

cheryl,
hokkien call "ngoh heer".. not sure is it called cod fish in english..

erh.. thot u gg for the hollywood wax, nw u wan brazilian wax? haha..

hi ladies..

thanks for your info on biscuits
yeah i will try very hard to 'listen'...really afraid of all the potential pains and aches cos we have a long way to go after the confinement month...

i thot since biscuits are allowed, any types of biscuits should be the same? biscuits are considered 'heaty' rite, so should be ok? for me if no famous amos is ok, i love those danish butter cookies...will buy a tin when i deliver, haha!

just wondering how to overcome my dependency on caffeine if really cant drink coffee/tea for the first 2 weeks of confinement. but guess for the sake of health, must ren3!

cheryl,
haha.. if i remember correctly, i think hollywood will be closer to bareness than brazalian..
chiam.. i m v forgetful when preggie.. wat's d name of the shop tat jeannie mentioned for this wax session ?

bath herbs
Aiyo, i really remembered the wrong price! paiseh..
Just confirmed with my mum, if buy in malaysia, 1 pack is only RM 0.50, compared to local S$1.50 per pack..

dorothy
my GF eats her cod fish steamed wif ginger &amp; tomato. her cod fish is fresh fresh 1 lor so her CL/husband goes 2 e market every 2-3days 2 buy. i not sure if u can pan fry wif butter leh.

she also did mentioned tat eating cod fish everyday helps in her BM ss. she got tons of BM ss lor...abt 1L EBM everyday during confinement (abt 250ml every pumping session), on top of latching her girl directly.

i'll PM u my details.

cheryl
juz eating chicken &amp; pork also not cheap leh. need 2 buy black chicken 4 herbal soups, drumsticks &amp; "liu rou" (i dunno e eng name but i know tis "liu rou" is rather ex).

Hihi, mummies.

Garfield, my packing is about 70% done. Just left with a clean set of going home clothes, videocam, camera &amp; hubby's clothes. Still don't know whether to bring the inflatable ring to sit on, any second time MTBs can advise?

kel, my cousin took a lot of threadfin during her confinement too. Think cod is good for BB brain development cos of the omega-3. I also asked my mum to cook more cod for me since preggie. Threadfin also expensive but my mum said cod even more ex. :p

I passed the whole CL herb list to my MIL to buy. And she take her time to slowly buy. So far, she's gotten 12 bottles of rice wine, 20 packs da feng cao, red dates &amp; cordyceps liao. Think will ask her to help with the marketing too since she stays near to me, can walk to my place.

June &amp; KEL, thanks for the info on insurance policies.

Dor, you all going for Isetan Private Sale? What time? I'm also tempted but need to work until 5:45pm leh cos boss &amp; another colleague on leave. :p

>> advertisement <<

anyone wants to buy Desitin Creamy?
Bought excess from Drugstore.com, I've got 12 tubes left, expiry date Aug 09.
S$9 each, self collect Punggol Central
Pls PM me, tks!

cod fish
i asked my mother already... ya, can pan fried with butter... yummy!!!
do agree that fish can increase BM....

happy,
waxing... ya loh... how to open my mouth to ask doc abt such thing...maybe ask my hb to ask him...

bath herbs
so cheap!!!!mil came back already;(
anyone gg? can tompang?

kitsune
wow!!! so hardworking huh.... so u gg for A1 ward huh? me this time round will not opt for a1 cos of gal...
ya, cod fish veri ex... a small pc already $10!!!

Isetan Private Sales
we should be meeting abt 6plus... i think i have yr ctc... we can arrange together... bluegin also joining us....

cheryl, i tink since yr mum agreed she won't back out last min lah. it's yr mum leh.

dor, i also like to go chinatown during CNY! dunno by then will i be too big and clumsy anot. Wah the food $1300 a month?!?

garfield, no probz! juz pm if you wanna ask anything.

coconuts - i think malaysian coconuts are those big green type that we get from hawker centres for $2 each. today saw at Giant for 97cents only. the thai coconuts are those small small type that are usually selling at $1.50 at pasar malams or $3 at some hawker centres.

post-natal massage - i'm looking around the forum and very confused leh. some dunno issit the ladies' "self-advertisements" or genuine feedback. the more i see the more confused i get. can range from $30-$80 per session!

kel, thanks for the added info!

confinement drinks - i think i heard a lot of aunties mentioned "milo" but not tea or coffee. tea especially is considered "liang", so better not.

famous amos - yummy yummy! just ate a whole bag of 250g a few days ago. today walked past and almost couldn't resist but settled for scoopz ice-cream instead. my cousin very funny, the only person who tell me that i can eat more chocolates and ice-cream when i'm pregnant. cos she did the same and she says it gave her a lot of breastmilk!

xiaoyun, sounds good and cheap! maybe ask my hb or MIL drop by JB to buy for me.

vinegal, thanks for telling me what is "mi zao"

kel,
so threadfin is "ngor hee".. nw i know.. haha..
wow, u hv quite a selection of fishes for confinement.. i think for fish, i only hv threadfin..

dor,
yes, beside steaming oso can pan fried the fish.. my mum sometime steam &amp; sometime pan fried the fish, otherwise v boring..

waxing
huh.. ask ur hb to ask ur gynae ? ur hb willing ? :p

personalised pillow
i hv rec'd mine today.. v nice, i like it.. :D
u confirm ur order oredi ?

june,
post-natal massage
yes, can seem confusing and dunno really good anot..
for mi, i will use back the same massage lady for my 1st delivery..