(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

thankful,
no prob.. i can help u collect the stuffs if they arrive b4 our 5 jan gathering..
let me know who i shall collect ur items from..

vine_gal,
ya hor.. still hv drugstore stuff to collect.. hee..

dor,
actual day
yup, left abt 4-5 weeks for u hor.. u muz be v excited.. :D

Xiao Yun,

Amazon orders:
Lansinoh Breast Milk Storage Bags 50-pk. – USD 7.48 (19 left in stock)
1) Andrea
2) Starry70
3) goodbabyb
4) Piglettail
5) apple79
6) xiaoyun
7) tongtong
8) VINE_gal
9) thankful
10) precious_moments
11) Sweetpea
12) Winnie
13) Babyhope
14) tubao
15) CP&YT
16)
17)
18)
19)

Philips Avent 100ct Disposable Breast Pads - USD 6.97
1) xiaoyun
2.) CP&YT

Thanks for organising

This is the final order list.
In order to mee USD 200 quota, I purchased 2 more packets of Lansinoh milkbag. So, there are 2 more slots available.

Amazon orders:
1) Andrea
2) Starry70 - paid 11.22
3) goodbabyb
4) Piglettail
5) apple79
6) xiaoyun
7) tongtong
8) VINE_gal - paid 11.22
9) thankful - paid 11.22
10) precious_moments
11) Sweetpea
12) Winnie
13) Babyhope
14) tubao
15) clover
16) Cai YuTong
17)
18)

1) xiaoyun
2) BBRoYcE - paid 10.46
3) Cai YuTong

phew..
settled on the order. items might be delivered 2 Jan ~ 7 Jan to comGateWay US address.
now got some time to surf the forum finally...

Merry (belated) Christmas Ladies!!!

I've been busy last 2 days. Had the first Christmas party in my house on the eve, so had to collect my food, set up the place etc and partied till 2am till i fell sick. And yesterday, had another party at my mum's place then spent the evening with my younger siblings(11 and 17 only) playing board games till midnite, and I was sneezing all the way I had to switch off the aircon when I slept. Btw, all my guests LOVED the cheese(from the nachos BP). It is soooo yummy!

linda, that day at the gathering we were talking about malay massage ladies who can turn the baby head down for you. forgot who was it who mentioned... was it dor or artemis?

jeannie, i add them under a folder named "bought" in my favourites. then every few days i'm online, i'll click to check the status of my orders.

cheryl/dor, i don't think it's contractions leh. cos i also have it. it's more like baby is popping his head/arm/leg out and not moving it away. then i haf to rub and soothe it down.

qoosan, u mean it's reaching 1st march or 3rd jan? hehe. i can collect from u at seng kang unless unforseen circumstances then gotta trouble u to mail to me liao. thanks.

isetan card - mine expired liao, and i also nv reali use it. so not worth it. hehe.

maternity clothes - thot i could survive with baggy/stretchable clothes until my 3rd tri then i started to buy. haiz.

Qoosan,

I can passby CCK on Sat. Please let me know if can collect from you at MRT station? If not, I will opt for post too.

I am new here. My EDD is on the 4th February and delivering at Mount E. how's everyone doing? I have been having difficulty getting to bed at nite and work in the day. Are you all facing such problems too?

Feeling all the jitters...

Xiao Yun, very sorry, i walked out to Bukit Merah for lunch but the ATM cant issue receipt, thus cannot do transfer, I will try to do it by tonight and let you know asap. Very sorry about the delay.

I will like to add in 1 more order for one more set, hope it is ok with you.

Amazon orders:
1) Andrea
2) Starry70 - paid 11.22
3) goodbabyb
4) Piglettail
5) apple79
6) xiaoyun
7) tongtong
8) VINE_gal - paid 11.22
9) thankful - paid 11.22
10) precious_moments
11) Sweetpea
12) Winnie
13) Babyhope
14) tubao
15) clover
16) Cai YuTong
17) Winnie
18)

INSURANCE

Tongtong, I nv heard of the Aviva offer before. Is it only free for the first year or how many years? My manager says their plans are quite expensive and not comprehensive, so maybe it's free only in the beginning but it the long run may not be worth it already.

IMO,

Need To Have - Hospital plan. Get a shield plan that can add on with a cash rider to cover 100% of your bills. Anyway it's cheap for kids, about $200-$300 a year all the way till 30 where they can pay on their own already. Some companies offer you a "cash rider" which actually pays out cash upon hospitalization which they tell u can cover the "balance" but that's not very good cos co-insurance is a percentage figure of 10% and cannot be predicted. Whereas the 100% cover kind of riders will ensure 100% coverage irregardless of how much the 10% is.

"Yi Fen Qian Yi Fen Huo" Don't just go for the cheapest plan. Usually cheaper also means less coverage. Look at the type of wards covered, Private/Restructured Hospital, Annual limits, Lifetime limits etc. The price I quoted above can already get you the best plans in the market.

Life Plans - The purpose of life/disability/critical illness plans are for "INCOME REPLACEMENT". Meaning that should the person be struck with any of the three, the money should be able to cover the "income" the person is expected to contribute to himself/the family in the number of years he is expected to do so.

Theoretically speaking, children do not need life plans because they have no income. But, some people buy for the assurance of insurability. Meaning that if they buy now, even if the kid becomes unhealthy in future, he is already insured. Also, it is much cheaper for the kid to buy now then when he is older. The extra coverage could also be unforseen expenses should any of the above strike.

So, if you have the budget, you can start a very basic life plan for your child. Personally I would go for investment-linked plans and not traditional plans. 1)they are adjustable - your child can increase the coverage/premium when he grows up. rather than buying a new one. 2)the money is liquid - u can withdraw part of the funds during emergencies, whereas withdrawal in traditional plans are considered as "policy loans". 3)with the liquidity, it can also act as a form of savings - if u have limited budget and can't afford more plans, the funds can help to cover educational fund/retirement fund.

Saving Plans - Some will get this for university educational funding. As with current rules, if you are studying in a local uni, 90% can be loaned. If you want your child to be independent and responsible for his own education, then you don't really have to plan for this. However, if you are thinking of an overseas education, or if you want to ensure your child can comfortably study without worrying about the fees, then you can probably start saving for him. The cost of a four year LOCAL university education in 20 years time, excluding living expenses is about $60,000. And if you start a savings plan, it should cost you about $200+ per month now. If you want an overseas education then definitely you have to increase the savings, or diversify into other instruments that can give you better returns. IMO, this is just "Good to Have".

Sorry for being so loh-soh, I know it's a bit lengthy. Hope it's been helpful. Anyway if you all want to buy can look for me any time hor. hehe.

Hi Xiao Yun,
I would like a box of the LB milk bag.
I have made the following transfer:

To : Xiao Yun 198151173
Amount : SGD11.22
Transfer Date : 26/12/2007 (Immediate)
Transaction Reference : 1498714877

Btw, when and what is the collection method? I stayed in sengkang.

Final Amazon orders:
1) Andrea
2) Starry70 - paid 11.22
3) goodbabyb
4) Piglettail
5) apple79
6) xiaoyun
7) tongtong
8) VINE_gal - paid 11.22
9) thankful - paid 11.22
10) precious_moments
11) Sweetpea
12) Winnie
13) Babyhope
14) tubao
15) clover
16) Cai YuTong
17) winnie
18) sgblingff - paid 11.22

1) xiaoyun
2) BBRoYcE - paid 10.46
3) Cai YuTong

No more slots available.

Hi Ladies...

went back to bed after breakfast, the medicine make me really drowsy...

xiao yun,
i have made fund transfer to you this morning, however as im not with dbs/posb so it will take 3 working days for the funds to reach you, hope this is ok?

Dorothy,
heee..ya..it's the ibanking problem. it can't take in the last few characters of your name so end up like that lor. remember last time i asked you for your full name when doing the internet bank transfer? haiyah, that's what the bank told me when i called to ask. but later i realised that if i just put a nickname/any other entry also can. who ask me so guai and blur and ' follow the book' ...

Qoosan,
has the milk bags arrived? so sorry, been super forgetful lately almost forgot about this until the ladies mentioned it...

Hi Xiaoyun,

Had transfered the $ to you. Pls check. thanks

To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 Xiaoyun
Amount S$11.22
Transaction Reference 1498767093

Xiaoyun,
payment made for the Lansinoh milk bags. thanks

To Account POSB Savings
198-15117-3 Xiaoyun
Amount S$11.22
Transaction Reference 1498769560

Xiaoyun,
payment made for The Lansinoh milk bags and the disposable bra pads.

To Account POSB Savings 198-15117-3 Xiao Yun
Amount S$21.70
Transaction Reference 1498793380

Thanks for organising.

Hope all of you had a Merry Christmas.

Hi piglettail,

You must take more Vitamin C to ward off the flu buggies. Pregnancy can do strange things to one's immune system.

RE: Keeping Emotionally Well During And After Pregnancy

I have signed up for this talk. Anyone else is going?

RE: Isetan sale

I am tempted to go also. I am a card member but... I scared of the crowd leh :p I quite bad at shielding myself from people pushing.

RE: massage lady pushing baby's head down

The one who mentioned it was not me. But I think some gynaes are also experienced enough to do it for you. Plus, I would rather trust someone with medical background to do it.

<sigh> On MC today cause I woke up with a horrible headache. I have a history of migraine and since pregnancy have been having regular headaches. Can't take strong pain killers too. Anyone have this experience and can share how to reduce the frequency?

Hi Cheryl,

Ya, sometimes just hope time will pass slightly faster, but also at the same time worried the day coming. Furthermore, my hubby going for his reservist for 2 weeks in Jan. I am so scared cos seems like so many ppl are popping early. He tried defering but it was rejected. So guess I may just move back to my parents place just in case.

Such co-incident!

Mine is 9th March. Yup, its my first pregnancy too!

Dun feel lost. Cos this forum is quite good. Keep talking to us, ask as many questions as you want and you will be fine.

I jus done my gynae appt on last Sat. Will be going to buy some chinese tonic for my baby at Waterloo Street this Sunday.

There is also a shop there that sells cheap n good baby things. Wanna meet on that day?

CP&amp;YT

piglettail, i see...

tong, haven check... no prob...

piglettail/tong/bluegin/eliaw/jeanice, i have forwarded yr mailing to Yunbb(the spree organiser)... once she post out, will let u know...but hor...i told her to take her time cos she is due in jan...

RE: massage lady pushing baby's head down
i was the one who mentioned it... but i think better discuss with hb before looking for such massage lady... nothing wrong with c0section also... me n happy had went thr it....

artemis, go lah... i promised i will go slow...

hi jess,

if i m not wrong, it is possible for ur hubby to be deferred from reservist since the reservist date is so near to ur EDD..
maybe ur hubby wan to call them to find out further..
think need gynae letter to confirm ur pregnancy too..

migraine
artemis, me!!! i always kanna migrane... in fact, during my 1st tri... i got it veri often... for me, there is nothing i can do... except i dun take chocolate cos they trigger migrane....

Hi CP&amp;YT,
I have gathering this sunday. So sorry, otherwise i will be so glad to meet you up. My appointment is this saturday
so excited cos can see baby again~...

Hi Happymum2be,
his reservist is from 7Jan-18Jan, even though there was a letter from gynae it was still rejected. Guess it was cos the letter stated that my EDD is 4 Feb.... no choice....

thanks dor, no problem, thanks!!

fairfield, for bb's milk bottles, it's better to wash with bb wash and not our normal detergent.

RE: breastpad
so long as we are bf we should be using b/p issit?

hi ladies...

artemis,
thanks! im very tempted to take oranges (for the vit C) but scared it will make my cough worse leh...maybe later i go downstairs watsons to buy Vit C tablets.

dorothy,thanks for forwarding my details to Yunbb

u mean the spree organizer Yunbb is due in Jan? wow, i think she has organized quite a few sprees leh...like her recent BabyMallOnline sprees which i think Cheryl(spree 5) and i (spree 6) are part of. really pei fu her..

june,

which insurance com are you working with? maybe you can pm me? can send me the hospitalisation plan as well ah>? so that i can compare? hehe. thanks.!

RE: migraine

Chocolates can cause migraines? :p I had quite a lot during the Christmas period.

RE: Isetan sale

I will confirm with you gals tomorrow in the forum. Have to see my state cause my headaches normally last a few days especially now I can only take Panadol.

RE: deferment of NS for HB close to EDD

I think can just ask the gynae to write a memo confirming your EDD is that date, then write a deferment letter. :p That's what we did for my HB cause he had those recall thingys during my EDD period. In fact, Dr Adrian wrote "please defer him from all recall mannings and NS duties" and stated my EDD as 28 Feb 2008. So that covers it.

RE: disposable panties

I only bought 2 packs of 5 cotton type from NTUC at S$3.50 each pack. Do we really that many packs? The NTUC auntie was telling me to buy more so that during confinement no need to wash underwear but I thought wearing my own would be more comfortable.

Hi piglettail,

Actually, payayas and avocados are also a good source of vitamin C without the cooling effect of oranges. Maybe you can try? I take payaya personally cause don't really like the taste of avocados. :p Payayas also cheaper.

artemis,
chocolate... ya, that's what my gp told me... my migraine also attack my eye... so during the attack, i will experience blur vision too... ya.. Panadol does not help... i usually dun eat anything... just rest.....

dorothy

wat spree u talking abt??? is it the bbmallonline tat yunbb is organising???
i knw she due in jan, but the things hw wor?

cheryl,
i see...
u joining us tomorrow?

confinement bath herb
anyone had bought this?can share how much?
i have done my herb n tonic shopping... so ex!!!!

dor,
re: confinement bath herb
shd be v cheap.. abt $1-$1.50 per pack..
of cos u need several packs during the confinement period..

happy,
so cheap???
yr side got sell? if yes, can buy for me since we meeting tomorrow... let me know hor.... i think i wan 8packets....

dor,
yes, if buy in malaysia cheaper than local.
for my 1st pregnancy, my mum bought from malaysia.
the price i indicated r those bought from malaysia.
2nite i check with my mum and let u know ok..

hi happymum2b,

oh yes now you dor and u mentioned...
on xmas eve the CL lady i booked asked to meet me (finally!). she told me a list of stuff to prepare which included confinement bath herbs.

she said it's called Da Fong something (cos she is auntie so can't remember the full name), her description is "sells in packs of 10s and the herbal water is black black wan." she asked me to buy 1 big pack of 10s first.

i super dunno what she is talking about leh...is there more than 1 brand/type available? what do i tell the medicinal hall ppl when i go and buy?

she asked me to prepare stuffs like red dates, black dates,ginger...as for wine (DOM or Yomeishu), she said no need to buy cos sure will receive as gifts. it appears that she is quite chin chye and in her opinion either DOM or Yomeishu is ok, she will use what i have/receive.

dor - what herbs or tonics to buy? all for confinement?

btw, i heard that we can't drink water during confinement...

must drink a combination of red dates, ginger, longan and "mi zao" as our "water". anyone knows what is "mi zao"?

are you all still working or already staying at home? looking at your responses seems like you are already at home. so cool.. I am still stucked in office, falling aslp.