(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

goodbabyb,
i've already included your order in the list.

Andrea,
noted.

total 103.66 now.

xiao yun
no problem.

snowbelle
they throw away the glass bottles 'cos actually the bottles are not meant for re-use. Mrs wong discouraged us to use the glass bottles as it might crack during the sterilising process and we might not realise and still using it.
but, i still use lah. 'cos it's cheapest way to keep the milk loh.

blueginger
ya, using storage bag is not that environmental friendly. but it's for convenient sake when i go back to work.

goodbabyb
ok.. will send u tomorrow

garfield
he will only be back on 28th dec...

maternity top
sunny- starry taught me a way.to wear the tube around yr waist...to solve the maternity top getting shorter

dor,
no call from KKH!!!! yippee!!!! must have an ice cream to celebrate =)

dr. loh
28th dec, that means 4 weeks break - but he assigned me to see Prof Tee on 17dec. can wait 10 days?

cheryl,
wah baby growing well. how many weeks now?

bluegin,
It's ok lah... I also late mah :p

sunny,
Like that before you use the glass milk bottles, did you steralise them again? Isn't it dangerous if it crack and we dunno... will bb genna or not?

Barley,
Good-good... can ask my mom to cook barley for me liao... now got sore throat... start to have flu liao...

dor,
Where did you get the tube? The tubes I saw are all small size one leh... My tops also getting shorter...

garfield,
Congrats! Now can fan xin eat ice cream liao lor

Xiaoyun,
Can you please include my order? Thanks.

Desitin Diaper Rash Ointment, Creamy, Fresh Scent 4 oz (113 g) (QTY: 2)
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=10747&catid=19465
US$4.69 x 2 = US$9.38

First Teeth A Natural Enzyme Baby Toothpaste (QTY: 1)
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=76317&catid=12030
US$3.99 x 1 = US$3.99

hi blueginger
counting days icon: u mean the lilypie.com or the babystrology.com? actuali is the same method, log in to the website, key in ur info and copy & paste the Html code.

happymum2b
yup my son is a "ni beh kia" and this time round my gal oso... haha... cant say things in advance... when i delivered my boy, i told myself i dun wan to hv confinement near to cny nxt time... but??? end up this time again...Kekeke...

snowbelle,
me got my tube from thisfashion. each for $5.. heehee.. i can show u on next mon

hospital bill
anyone know the standard bill size? like deposit to place

tube
i wear from bottom up... the trick is just to wear from bikini line to lower tummy(to cover the gap that all)

cheryl,
if based on look, it is actually impossible to fir my tummy too...

Garfield, I know the cabinet you are talking about got blue or red plastic doors right? I was very tempted too and that's the one I tried with my fingers. :p

Jeannie, ya lor, also think it'll be a bit late but I guess first 2 weeks maybe still trying to settle down with baby, maybe no mood lor. Anyway, think Grace is one of the most affordable and she's certified & friendly, so 'chin chai' lor. Maybe got other mummies give birth early and she can do for me early too. Keep my fingers crossed. ;)

Wa, just one afternoon, and you've organised and closed a spree liao. Even faster than BP.
And I'm still not sure what you all bought. What are milk liners? ;P

Hi Kitsune,
Yes yes that's the one! We'll probably stick with that choice cos it's the most practical solution. I grew up with all sorts of drawers and cupboards around me at my ah ma's house, so I think it'll probably be the same for my girl girl =P no special treatment for her *grin*

Today was a busy day in the thread =) the milk liners are basically milk bags to store EBM in the freezer. We're getting the Playtex one from Shopbug.

The gals are also eyeing the desitin cream and first teeth toothpaste from drugstore.com

snowbelle,
yes can fang4 xin1 eat my desserts now =) but now no appetite. backache man....

barley / bai guo yi mi
my favourite dessert and drink. have abstained till now. so happy to hear that we can consume a bit at this stage. will go buy some gingko nut tmw to make.

coconut
linda, i still not clear what type of coconut is "useless"....

si ma lu shop
cheryl and i both couldn't find that shop =P linda may need to organize a mini tour session for us man!! if it doesn't rain, i will try to look for the shop again tmw.

Garfield, it's a good choice, easy to maintain.
I'm just lazy to keep bending down cos I got a bad back. Even Grace, the masseur commented on it. After she massaged me, I can't get up from the mattress, can you imagine? :p

By the way, my cupboard arrived today. Suddenly my BB room looks so small because of the changing top that juts out. hee.

Oh I see, I don't dare to buy that yet, don't know how good my supply will be. :p

sunny
you are right that the glass milk bottles will crack. mine cracked too. abt 2-3 in total. only realised when my mum took the milk out to defreeze.

snowbelle
yup, gotta sterilise the glass bottles before using.

blueginger
in terms of practicality, the milk bag can store double the qty as compared to the milk bottle. save the trouble of sterilising. in terms of cost, a cap for the glass bottle cost about 75-80 cts. 2 caps cost $1.50-$1.60 (which can get about 12-13 milk bags). I still find my $1 milk bottle (240ml) which i bought from JL previously those most economical way to store EBM (those used for feeding baby).

Re which credit card to use for paying foreign currency trns. Must check the admin fee imposed by the banks. I know OCBC is one of the lowest at 1%. Amex being the highest at 2%. Other banks charging 1.5%. There's another bank that charges 1% too but I can't remember off hand which one. Think could be DBS.

wow.. u all really fast leh.... ordered the playtex liners already.. i also wan.. : (

Hehe.. who wants to order har... i want to order 1 pack only leh. Whoever wants can join me k.. else i will lombang xiaoyun and buy from drugstore.

Playtex liners
1) Jeannie ( 1 pack)

Xiaoyun.. can help me order this..

First Teeth A Natural Enzyme Baby Toothpaste (QTY: 1)
http://www.drugstore.com/products/prod.asp?pid=76317&catid=12030
US$3.99 x 1 = US$3.99

Cheryl... ur baby quite big already!! healthy weight..

Happymumtobe.. u are scaring me.. when will he put the finger in and check..??? around how many weeks?? Shouls i shave or go wax first.. paiseh.. siah..

Waxing..
Who's going waxing????? I am thinking of going but never tried before think need support.. who wants to go??

Bird's nest
Wow.. everybody very bu.. drink a lot bird's nest.. now i abit slack.. only drink concentrated ones 2 x a day...Why must drink chiken essence, good??

Breast milk
i got a very important discovery today!!! I am leaking milk... just now i was changing clothes and massage my breasts and aerola a bit and transparent yellowish liquid actually trickle out from my nipple.. shocked man... and the more i massage my aerola.. more came out.. was quite happy actually .. yeh.. i got milk.. initially thot breasts so big no milk jia lat..heng.. have man!

Hehe.. i told my hubby abt it and just now after bathing try to squeeze out ad i told him to taste.. haha... he said a bit bitter.. He asked me to try but i scared...: P

goodbabyb... the head will be sideways.. but take note this position is only suitable for daytime when u are watching the baby k.. else can be dangerous..At night.. let baby sleep on his/her back

dor
you mean wearing 2 pc? wear from bottom.... meaning the tube would only cover the tummy har?
yesterday i told my hb about my maternity top, he asked me to wrap my tummy using the scarf. haha...

snowbelle
ya, before using the bottle, have to sterilise.
for the crack, got to check carefully after sterilise and before using it. my worry is that during the warming of the milk, the bottle cracks and small pieces are in the milk. normally i don't use the bottle as milk bottle to feed my gal, i would pour into the her milk bottle, warm and feed her. so far ok.

jeanie
congrats! but remember don't stimulate your nipple 'cos will contract the womb and will cause early delivery.

waxing
jeanie-me me!! i going... but should be in jan...

sunny, ya... that's how i wear it... THISFASHION got 2 type of tube. long n short.. i got the long one...

ADe,
so coincidence both ur bb r "ni beh kia".. hee..
btw, ur frenz's blog which u asked mi to see, is it Jovan's blog ?
i visited liao.. yes, nice oso.. but i still prefer the pic & colour of ur blog.. :D

jeannie,
he will check if u hv dilate around 1-2 weeks b4 ur EDD.. dun be scare & no need to feel paiseh lah.. :p

jeannie,
wow.. u start to leak milk liao..

dor,
where r u gals gg for waxing?
i have never tried b4.. dunno wan to give it a try anot..
roughly how much ah?

Hi Tongtong,

May i know which type of barley we can drink. Is the chinese barley or western barley ?
How many weeks onwards then can drink barley and coconut ?

glass milk bottles,
Sounds so dangerous... I think I'll just stick to milk bags lah...

tube,
Although the tube is just covering the lower part of the tummy hor... I think I'll have problem to get the tube in... I got big butt mah... and now is so much bigger than before

yipy,
Got western barley meh?

happymum2b,
waxing-i think wheelock got one...yaya... go together.. i scare n paisay also...

tube
snowbelle- can fit one... my butt also veri veri big....but got to be extra careful when wearing cos now we are all veri clumsy.

Snowbelle,

Ya,western barley is like those we take from the dessert store small one..and the chinese barley is the barley a big bigger.

morning ladies...

BUYING MILK BAGS AND MILK LINERS
wait for me......!didn't managed to log on yestedray since my post. can some one let me know which buying option is still open? only had 3 min to run thru all the post, quite gan jiong and confused now (cos doing this is office, hehe)

i want to order those disposable milk storage bags. any recomendations? read from the thread there's two popular choices, Playtex and Lasinoh rite? besides the brand, what's the other differences?

wait for meeeeeee..........

yipy
if you are afraid of 'liang', chinese barley is not so. can double check with the chinese medical hall if you wish.

now that i've posted my order can take time to reply to the other discussion chains...haahaha..

yesterday was very busy and i did read through the thread, just that i have no time to reply :p

btw, the gathering is next week ! heheh..just realised that...quite excited to see everyone and associate nicks with faces..
should we get like a name tag in case we forgot each other names, considering now got 20+ people coming ? heheh...

goodbabyb,
i may be interested to get that coz may be getting medela pump for electric one... i've already bought avent manual pump, the one that can pump directly to via cups...hmm..wonder if it contains the same converter...

jeannie,
wah...u already leaking milk !! that's fast leh.. for me sometimes got this whitish thing around my nipple...anybody have the same thing ?

re: milk container
i'm definitely going to use via cup...too lazy to use others..so far have collected 9 cups...will be buying more nearer to the date. or would probably wait till i give birth. it's more convenient esp. if you have avent warmer...

re: changing table
i bought the cheap ikea changing table...heheh...coz my nursing room is v small with only half of bedroom...so it's v near to the cupboard. my plan is to put all things in the cupboard and should be within reaching distance :p

cheryl, will leak but depend on how/where u gg to store them. cos i will put aside a compartment at the fridge door to store the milk bag.

wax
cheryl, heehee... after that, then meet those who is not gg(waxing) for dinner loh....

hi ladies..

Thanks stephie!

milk bags and milk liners
is it xiao yun that's ordering from drugstore.com? i can't seem to find the playtex milk bags from there leh.

hence the difference between playtex and lasinoh is we have to find our own way to seal the playtex bags while the lasinoh bags are are 'zip lock bags'?

is there any difference between milk liners and milk bags? or just a name that different manufacturers use?

tute,
re: name tag
ya, i hv the same thought as u.. sure cant remember everyone's name on tat day.. 20+ of us.. haha.. but abit paiseh to use name tag, like small children gg to school on the 1st day like tat.. hee..

happymum2b...hehe...true, it would be quite funny wearing name tags going around... =P

piggletail,
i think for the playtex milk bags, xiao yun ordering from shopbug if i'm not wrong... other ladies, correct me if i'm wrong pls =)