(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Linda,

Sorry, my post got disruoted just now...

if it's convenient for me to collect the diapers from you during our Chinatown meeting this Thursday, could I order 1 packet of newborn diapers thru you?

If it's not convenient then it's alright cos I don't drive.

piglettail, sorry.. supposed to post for u... but just got back from causeway pt..

linda, piglettail will be joining us on thurs. so will collect from u that day.
current orders:
eliaw (1 - small)
genice (1 - nb)
cheryl (1 - nb)
bebe (2 - nb)
pigletta(1-nb)

piglettail:
ok.. will order for u.

thanks dor. final order:
eliaw (1 - small)
genice (1 - nb)
cheryl (1 - nb)
bebe (2 - nb)
pigletta(1-nb)

can u all pls pm me your contacts..

Kitsune, I didn't get your pm leh. Maybe u can send again? 629 is supposedly popular cos it's the only block with all units 3 + 3 room combined or 3 + 4 room combined in this area.

Eliaw, I just went for my first lesson yesterday. Learnt about food & nutrition, thought it was quite useful. As I'm 1st time mtb, juz want to learn as much as i can that's why i very kiasu, signed up long ago. if you want to sign up for ESH one will be too late already. cos they have so little ppl delivering there, there is only one course following another, none running concurrently. anyway it's quite ex, i just go there cos convenient. think u can join those at other hospitals, esp mdm wong's one at TMC, very popular... KKH's one is quite cheap i think.

Yoga - I just joined one that has no fixed course structure. it's ongoing for prenatal mummies. the teacher is experienced but charges reasonable rate as it is at her condo. $12.50 per lesson. if u r free on wed mornings, maybe can join, since i think it's quite near your house... somewhere near kallang.

June, oh dear, hope I didn't send to the wrong person. Just sent you again. :p I see, the units must be very big then. What is the floor area for your unit?

june, thanks for yr info abt blk 629. heehee.. me not in a hurry to get... cos i still have not convince my hb that i can manage on the housework.. but with no.2 coming along.. may need to get a bigger unit..

kitsune, got yr pm already. the corner units are bigger. mine is juz 139sqm. think the corner ones are about 160sqm.

dor, yes the housework is tiring! by then can employ part-time maid mah. juz get them to come once a week $10/hr kind.

june, ya lor... still earlier to decide cos we have not decided whether to stay put at this part of reservoir rd or to move back to my mum's place near reservoir...

nepia
june, when u wan me to transfer? let me know.. tomorrow me on mc....

Wa, 629 units are so big. My 5 room flat at Tampines only 119 sqm. Is yours considered 6 room flat or multi generation? How much did you buy it for?

Thanks Xiaoyun! Will read through the pros and cons of the storage system.

I just realized that if my MIL is going to help me look after bb...i will need two sets of everything?!?! *FAINT* then hor, i also need to leave my EBM at MIL place also =P

hubby and i bought a 1000 piece winnie the pooh jigsaw puzzle, intend to put it up in baby's room as decoration. if successful, we may buy one more set. taking a break now to rest my eyes...going cock eyed haha!!

*CONCUSSED MONDAY*

productive weekend for me.
- completed major clean out of baby's room. threw away like 10 over pairs of shoes and packed all the shoe boxes away.
- went to ikea to shortlist baby furniture
- went to JL to buy remaining baby stuff
- completed 1/4 of baby's jigsaw puzzle

resumed my jigsaw puzzle after posting last night and slept at 1am...but can see good progress on the puzzle. after 3, 4 hours about 1/4 completed. must jia you!! surprisingly hubby very enthusiastic (and far better) at jigsaw puzzle than i am. one patch of sky, without clouds, just blue blue colour he can also finish within 1 hour =P will take a pic and post once we conquer this task!

Morning.

Another week is starting.

I have also recceived the bean sprout husk pillow heee, really small small pillow leh, i think i will go and order a bigger one as well. Very very cute.

BTW, rememeber JL sale is on at expo this weekend, i think clash with sitex...

hai...how come my pillow never arrive yet?? =P winnie, what are the dimensions of the pillow?

*HELP HELP*!!!
any mummy can help me?????? what items do i need two sets of, if baby is staying with MIL 3 or 4 days out of the week? i hope it's not two sets of EVERYTHING or my budget will have to double *FAINT*

i think i also pay earlier den those who receive already, dor also havent receive i think... maybe my fabric longer to receive

good morning!!!

beansprout pillow
i also haven rec. dun understand why her order is not fast in fast out.

i think should be due the fabric we chose?i also paid earlier than those who rec.

bbsitter
garfield, congrats! unless yr mil willing to help... me live so far away.sigh... me really dun wan a maid.

bbstuff
garfield, the essential ones u need double.(now can only think of these)
1)diapers
2)milk bottles
3)clothes
4) storage containers to store bb stuff
5)bb cot/playpen for bb to sleep
6)bathtub

maid..
my mum keep asking me to find a maid, as if she is paying like tat... piangz... den hb not enthu to find a maid... die loh... duno hw....

morning ladies....

Thanks Linda and Dorothy for helping me with the orders!

yesterday was a busy day too, went to mrs wong's class from 12.30pm-3.30 then follow hb to his work plc...only came back at nite...den he was using the pc for work. think it's time i seriously consider getting my own pc/lap top at home...

kitsune,
i asked mrs wong regarding the ear thermomether after reading your post. yes she said it's better not to get those where we have to stick the thermomether into bb's ear, if it's only placed outside the ear then it's o.k. she said the nurses at TMC are using the traditional digital thermother under the arm and it works well.

heee...one less expensive item to buy...

thanks dor!!
actually hor...no perfect ideal solution. but at least i am thankful that both set of grandparents are willing to help out.

my MIL willing to help, but she prefers for us to bring bb to her place. to be honest, not sure if she is really willing or not. cos hubby got to ask her in her face if she is helping or not and she says yes. but she did mention something about freedom, so maybe unwilling one =P

my mum volunteered to help without me asking (can come over to my place or go to her place), but she requested for a maid to help her.

then my friends advise me to allow both sides to help take care or either side may feel offended why they want to help but i don't let them. also good for bb to be close to both sides instead of only one side.

of course prefer my own mum to look after. but to hire a maid - completely different story. sigh....

dor, how you plan to cope with number 2 and no maid?

cheryl,

regarding maid, ur situation is just the opposite of mine.. it's my mum who doesn't want a maid but it's my hubby who is keen to get a maid.. hee..

garfield
for my case, the stuff that i prepare double are:
1)diapers & cloth nappy
2)clothes
3)storage containers to store bb stuff
4)daily bath items, e.g. bathtub, towel, nappy rash cream, shampoo
5)potty

dor
ya, how do you arrange the caretaking part after #2 come along?

tongtong
what's the procedure to donate cord blood to SCBB?

thanks gal for the advice. so the list is looking like this:

1)diapers / nappies
2)clothes
3)storage containers to store bb stuff
4)daily bath items, e.g. bathtub, towel, nappy rash cream, shampoo
5)milk bottles
6)clothes
7)bb cot/playpen for bb to sleep
8)bathtub
9)sterilizer - Xiao yun, how long do i need to sterilize bottles for ah? till baby 6 months?
10)potty - Sunny from what age onwards do i need to use potty?

if i want my MIL to feed baby my Expressed Breast Milk, i think i need to invest in the Avent breast milk containers (either plastic reusable type or VIA series). cos can go straight from fridge to heating to feeing. using the breast milk bags will be too leh chay for MIL cos need to transfer into bottles.

one more thing to buy =P

thanks dor. final order:
eliaw (1 - small)
genice (1 - nb)
cheryl (1 - nb) chinatown meetup
bebe (2 - nb)
pigletta(1-nb) chinatown meetup

can u all pls pm me your contacts.. so far i only have bebe abd cheryl's contact.
ordered already, will be here on thur afternoon...cheryl and piglettail, will pass it to u both on thur, the rest we have to arrange to pick up from me k?

garfield,
steriliser is very ex. if u going to buy 2, i think u will go broke.. haha.. my niece is taken care by my mil, so she will go home every nite. what my sil do is that she will bring back all the milk bottles home to sterilise and bring them back the next day. for your case, u may consider to put one steriliser at one of the place that is most of the time spend, and the other place u can use the traditional boiling method.
i attended mrs wong's class, she say traditional way is good enough but must use the right method.
use clean water, put all the bottles in abd bring it to boil. dun open it up until u need to use the bottles to prevent contamination. actually same goes to steriliser.

garfield,
you need to sterilize till bb 1 year old.
agree with linda, steriliser very ex. can go for boiling method. however, i very forgetful, afraid that i will melt my milk bottles in the end. :p

thought the VIA series can only reuse for a few times only? not very sure. have not gone and check on the price yet.

just nw walk on oily floor. almost fall, but didnt.. quite scary cos, my leg opened so big sia... now scare duno got problem anot....

cheryl,
u ok? take care huh?

garfield,
u might wan to get a sec hand steriliser to put at yr mil or mum place.

sunny,
actually. a maid is a better choice for me cos now my gal is in the student care=$250 a month n then if bb gg to infant care another $700 a month. plus another $200 more for part time helper(cos i will need this to spend more time with the 2 kids esp my gal who need someone to coach her with her studesi)
so a maid is a better choice which comes up to abt $600...

most of my friends told me to get a maid now... so by the time, she arrives, will be abt Jan.. but me n hb still dun wan another person in the house...sigh.... i seriously dun know how...

with a maid in, also worried abt the safety of bb as from 11am to 2plus, he will be alone with the maid....n i dun wan to be a weekend mum again...

so the best solution is to strike toto n stay at home...

garfield
i let my gal use the potty after she's full mth. need to carry her to lean against you to poo/pee. 'cos i am too tired in washing her dirty nappy.

dor
how about looking for a nanny to take care of your #2? i think should be cheaper than infant care.
haah... agree with you. best solution is to stay at home...

sunny, nanny will also cost me $550... plus my gal student care charges $250 will still come up to be $800...

sunny, u stay at home mum huh?

cheryl,
u ok or not? see gynae if unwell...

dor,
u very cute le. i also wan to strike toto. noone stike the lastroind, so this time round, lotsa of money. so first prize, we both share. haha... think too much liao... fascinating...

Hi ppl,

Read the forum every night but too busy at my new work place to join in the conversation. Now at least more settle, can afford to log onto the web to "chat".

Just bought 185grams of bird nest for $400 from my friend's uncle. Think should be quite a ok deal. He is at Ang Mo Kio Ave 10 market. Think his price is reasonable. So those interested can ask me for his exact address.

I still haven't called up any massage lady to book yet. Have all of you booked yours already? Is it too late to call now?

Hi Cheryl,

My contact number is 91094452.

cheryl, dun lah.. so fast think of giving birth?

i hope that bb will stay in me as long as possible...

linda,
hahaha... ya loh... we share loh....
ya boy, last time when i had one, i think of no.2... now that i have no.2, i also "fan" sigh....if only i can be like my hb... so steady... never have to worry abt all this....

cheryl, dun lah.. so fast think of giving birth?

i hope that bb will stay in me as long as possible...

linda,
hahaha... ya loh... we share loh....
ya boy, last time when i had one, i think of no.2... now that i have no.2, i also "fan" sigh....if only i can be like my hb... so steady... never have to worry abt all this....