(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

garfield,
ok... thanks!!! cos just to ensure that the things i ordered is not what i need so soon...

dr loh
ya.. will miss him man...

june
for hdb, i think if u get a 3room, u can get the next unit to upgrade nfr 5rooms...

June, your place is really worth it. hee, my mum stays at Jalan Tenaga but 4th floor corridor 4rm unit so don't think it'll fetch a good price. I paid $316k for my Tampines flat, only 119sqm. :p

Cheryl, my mum also keep asking me to get maid last time. My initial plan was to ask my mum to look after baby but she said she's old and no experience so must rope in my auntie (who stays in Tampines). But my auntie is already babysitting for another cousin's boy (now 4 years old) so my mum said should hire maid to help auntie. Faint lor, must pay auntie, must pay maid where got so much $. Plus, I'm not keen to get maid cos no privacy and lots of unexpected issues. So in the end, decide to pass to my ILs lor, save $ & time travelling since they stay 1 street away. No need to hire maid and no need to worry if my cousin's boy will be jealous and bully my BB. :p

Dor, so are you still going to see Judy Wong? I got appt on 12 Dec, 4:45pm. I just booked today. When is your appt? Maybe can see you there? Hee.

kitsune, ya... i guess got no choice cos no feasible to wait for dr loh to come back on 28th which is like 5 weeks since my last visit..

Hi, Garfield. I didn't buy 2 sets of everything yet, bought 2 strollers because the Maclaren is too heavy for ILs to bring around so bought another Capella. Think I'll probably need to get another cot for ILs place. The rest, I'll figure out during or after confinement. Plan A is to bring BB home every night cos I still need to BF. But will see how bad it gets when ML ends cos need to work leh. :p

Dor, maybe I'm mistaken cos I always go in the evening, so always Tues or Wed. 12 Dec, I'm going in the afternoon cos the Jan MTB gathering is on 12 Dec so need to bring forward my appt.

June,
PM you my contact and meeting place liao.

dorothy,
I'm not gng on tues. either on wed or friday alone. SMS me if you wanna meet in the evening.

Cheryl,
Thank for the info on bring CASH this thurs meeting.

garfield,

thanks thanks.
no need the box. just the bottle and cap will do.

june/dor/kitsune,
i better not say the price i paid. very sad...
bought it at end 2004.

Hi pp.. been a few daes since i logged in.. very sick... got stomach cramps from sat nite till today.Vomitted lik merlion... Went thomsom Medical centre to see doc yesterday cause quite worried abt seeing normal GP. Given some medicine that did not work very well.. slow effect.Sigh.. sad weekend.

Dor.. just to check.. are u still ordering the wipes??Think i saw in previous post that u mentioned somewheer else is selling cheaper? Is it the chinatown shop that u all are going on thursday?? Update us on the prices k

Cheryl

I think Xavier is a very nice name but brendan sounds handsome too!!

June

Is it ur first baby?? I think quite normal to gain up to 20 kg.. i dun think u over eat right?? Just make sure u dun eat too much... sigh.. i lost 3 kg over ther weekend because so sick... din eat muh.. was quite worried that baby will not get much nutrient.

goodbabbyb
i made an appointment with grace on 18th dec.. think that is the earliest that she can make it.. will update u then.. but i dun dare to confirm with her for postnatal massage.. I think i will still look for malay ladies to do..

kitsune
just wondering which part of tampines u stay?? U bought 2 strollers already?? U have another elder kid?? How much did u pay for ur 2 strollers??

Hi, Jeannie. I stay near Tampines Swimming Pool, 700+ blks behind the new DBSS construction site. No, this is my first one. I bought 2 strollers because the Maclaren is too heavy for ILs to bring around cos they don't have a car so bought another Capella (much lighter). Hope they'll last till I have my second one of course. Hee. You can see more details of the prices and models in the wishlist of my blog.
http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/

Kel, is your EDD 1 Feb too? Good lar, accident and it turns out to be a gal gal. Nice complement to the other 2 gor gor.

XiaoYun, I also bought my flat in end 2004 leh. Second appt was mid Dec somemore cos flat owner didn't give me the keys early which she promised. Was so angry with her cos she ignored my phone calls and sms. End up my contractor had only 3 weeks to complete the renovation of my flat cos my customary wedding was in Jan 05. :/

hi jeannie,

u update me on her prenatal massage then :> y not considering her for postnatal massage?

hi dor,

that time,u buy the cream is at what price?how many would u recommend to buy?i 1st mtb,dun 1 to stock up too much also :p

dorothy,
i bought bb mattress for US$50, the cheapest one liao. Also ordered the crib, but will only be in stock in 2 weeks' time.

That's all i have so far. Oh, and a stroller that i bought online which is not here yet.

bb mattress,
haven't done much research yet - only know that the ikea one is going for $80. btw, are cots standard size like machum our queen / king beds? my hubby says if we buy ikea cot then must stick to ikea all the way for mattress / bedding etc cos theirs is EURO sizing so different.

my own bed is a Euro King size. so have to go for ikea bedding cos other brands will not be a good fit (but still can use lor...)

also, have seen some long discussions in other threads on type of mattress...eg. latex vs ??? is this important?

re: Thur outing
Understand u all r meeting at 6.15pm at people park OG.. i knock off at 5.45pm and will try to reach btwn 6.15-6.30pm.. Pls wait for mi hor cos i m coming from Macpherson area.. Like garfield, i m oso not v familiar of tat area.. thks..

dor
there are 2 types, 1 is 118ml (about $12), another is 240ml (about $15). i think if order from overseas, it's cheaper. i haven't tried ordering from overseas before.

i hope that my BM this time is also enough for the bb. 'cos i don't intend to buy any FM to standby. 'cos scare that someone at home will secretly feed FM to the bb.... i think i am too paranoid. haha... :p

for the bb mattress, you are referring to the cot mattress? that time i bought the cot, the mattress came with it. then after few months, i find that it's too hot for my gal to sleep on it, then i bought a babysafe latex mattress for her to sleep. i find it more cooling for her and she perspired less and no more heat rash. think the price is about $100+. it's ex, but i think it worth the $, 'cos the #2 will be using it next time.

what's nursing cover? to use it when you BF bb in the public? hmmm... i didn't get it 'cos i usually bf in the nursing room. there're only few times i bf in the public; and i would look for a quiet corner to bf. and i normally use the sling to bring bb out, so, just used the sling to cover. lesser thing to bring when go out, and save $$.

xiao yun
i bought a freezer mainly to store the EBM 'cos the freezer compartment of my fridge was too small at that time and we got no space to put other food. bought it from carrefour. i think it's about $200+. so, your calculation of BM vs FM cost need to take this into consideration.

dinoltan
i think the office is at ubi.

jeannie
take care

Storage of EBM

apart from space, do we need separate freezer to store EBM for other reasons like hygiene?

i peeped at my MIL's freezer over the weekend. *FAINT* packed to the brim with frozen food. so wondering even if she clears space for the EBM whether it's good to store it side by side so much raw food?

cos what's the use of sterilizing the bottle that i use to store EBM when i chuck it in a fridge full of raw food. then when i take it out to reheat and feed baby, wouldn't the outer surface of the bottle be contaminated already?

I'm back in action. MIA for a while cos went for a 11 days holiday :p Too many postings for me to catch up liao. Will try to finish reading them asap.

garfield
ya, apart from space, IMO, separate freezer got advantages e.g. hygiene (depending how you pack your food in the freezer compartment) and you can store the EBM for longer period. I read that if you put your EBM in deep freezer, you can store the EBM up to 6mth (That's length of period i stored my EBM) 'cos there would be less frequency in opening the fridge/freezer and the temperature of the freezer would always be kept at the lowest that you set, 'cos you would normally open the freezer only when you store or take out the freezer.
but, of course, it will take up the space and the spend more $ on electricy.

But again, i think to save cost and make the $ spent worth, i think it's better to consider buying the freezer after the bb is born and you are determined to BF for long period of time.

you stay with your mil?

Cheryl, if btwn brendon & sky, i think i'ld prefer sky, though the name is quite ah beng, but also sounds handsome lah. brendon sounds more guai and nerdy kind.

Bluegin - received yr pm already.

jeannie - yes 1st baby. thing is i was already heavier than average b4 pregnancy so 20kg is a lot and by 9 mths, i think will be 25kg already. as for you, losing 3kg a weekend is very serious leh. better rest well at home and eat proper meals. take care of yourself.

Garfield, cots come in different sizes. different lengths and widths too. no standard sizing. can be juz a diff of 1 inch. and for the diapers haven't got yr pm yet leh...

RE: cots

From what I asked the shop assistants at Baby Kingdom and Baby Hyperstore, there are basically 3 sizes of cots: Small, Medium and Large.

Small -> cribs (Bed: ~L105 x W50 Mattress: 38 x 89cm)
Medium -> normal cots (Bed: ~L128 x W68 Mattress: 60 x 120cm)
Large -> cot beds (Bed: ~L145 x W77 Mattress: 70 x 140cm)

I believe Ikea's size is Large or cot bed size. I bought a cot bed sized latex mattress without buying a cot yet cause Kidzloft was having 50% sale.

RE: baby name

Eden -> Paradise (of Hebrew origin)
Brendon -> Prince (of Celtic/Gaelic origin)
Xavier -> The New House (of Spanish origin)
Sky -> Sky (of American origin)

Of the above, I think Brendon is actually the most meaningful though a bit common.

RE: maid

Both my HB and I are quite private people and the most outside help we would engage is probably a part time maid. The cost of a maid is not just the salary, government levy and insurance. You are also liable for her health, food and lodgings. Both my HB and I do not want to be responsible for another adult just to get the house a little cleaner.

RE: infant care

Both my mother and mother-in-law are working ladies. So we will most probably get a nanny till my baby is 18 months. Then we will be transferring her to childcare centre where she will get a better rounded education.

yes. i like brendon also... meaning is prince.. haha, sound so handsome... heee.... hb likes sky. but no preference....

most likely i m finding baby sitter liao... hopefully can find a good n cheaper 1.... ahah

garfield,
the babysafe mattress sunny mention is somehow the more popular one, comes in different sizes and thickness as well. i've been hunting for baby cots for a while and have been looking through the sizes...i think cot sizes should be pretty standard although they do vary a bit, maybe you can take note of the cot size (internal) of the ikea one and see if can buy other mattress outside. Notice ikea cots are slightly smaller. Smallest babysafe mattress comes in 24"x48"x5" size (if i'm not wrong), but when i go home i'll double check again coz i got the measurement at home...

sunny,
do u know if the normal latex mattres with holes are good enough ? what was the type of mattress that u were using prior to the babysafe one ?

garfield,

i didnt order the nepia diaper for u le... i tot u say wan to ask june to order for u from the previous thread? cos staying at the east side?
dun scare me le....
re: chic essence bottles
if u have, jus wan the bottles w cap will do, dun need the box. thanks

tute
normal cot mattress size is 28x52".
not sure about normal latex mattress leh, 'cos i didn't do the comparison. i think it should serve the same purpose.
kidsloft also selling latex mattress, it's other brand. i heard that it's good, too.
before using babysafe one, i was using the foam mattress that came with the cot, FOC. can't remember i bought the cot from bb kingdom or hypermart liao.

re: bottles to store EBM
ladies, please remember not to use metal cap which comes with the original bottle 'cos it will turn rusty.
you can get some bottles from the hospital during your stay. but the cap needs to buy separately. i know that Mt A's pharmacy sells the cap. and... cheong choon, also sells it, if i am not wrong.

june, i have garfield no....

so i collect from u tomorrow night?

bb mattress
thank you for all the feedback/advice on the mattress.. cos i should get the playpen before the mattress.

car organizer
hi, anyone got somethig similar? can share the price cos this is on sales at the bp. but expensive.

1093184.jpg

dor, most likely ok unless the delivery suddenly nv come or i have last min matters.

garfield, thurs i'm not going. u can collect from me at bedok reservoir? otherwise will be tampines or paya lebar.

=) dor, thanks!!! that will save me one trip. xie xie ni!!! can you help me pay June first? then i settle with you on thur.

june,
so dor will help me collect my order. thanks. how much is it again? i forgot...=P

re the car organizer,
i think the BP is selling about 15% lower than retail. i saw some products at suntec that were more expensive.

sunny,
no i'm not staying with MIL, but may leave baby with her for a few days in the week.

for the time being, i'm thinking that
Mon to Wed - leave baby with MIL
Thur to Fri - bring baby home and my mom comes over to help (i will work from home on Fri)
Sat to Sun - hubby and i cope on our own

dunno how it will work out....

re baby mattress,
anyone knows what material the ikea mattresses are made of? if i buy an ikea cot will the babysafe latex mattress fit?

garfield,
scare me...

thur gathering:
i forgot i need to attend my hubby's friend wedding, lucky is nearby only. so i will meet u ladies at 615pm at OG, walk for awhile, pass cheryl annd piglettail the diapers and need to leave at abt 730pm k?

Hi sunny.. thanks for ur concern.. feel much better now.

Today went to visit gynae.. got a shock man.k... my baby weighs 1.4 kg now...dunno accurate or not..suddenly grow so much.. the last time i visit was only 660 g abt 1 month ago.

Cheryl.. my EDD also pushed to 12th feb.. a bit confused now.. not sure 12th Feb or 24th Feb..

Happymum2be

I think Dr adrain woodworth quite humurous.. he asked me baby got move or not and i told him yar..only when i lie down at night. Then i asked him but in daytime she does not move much leh.. so how do i noe whether she;s moving or not.. and he said "then u lie down and wait for her to move lor".. abit lame lor.. but quite funny..

Yar lor.. anybody gone for the JL sale already???

jeanie

ur baby bigger den me..last appt baby is 1287g den 4 week b4 the appt is 708g... urs grow really fast......he also got ask if bb move...

jeannie,
haha.. ya, his joke abit "cold" hor..

talking abt baby movement, my bb is more active in the afternoon & at nite too.. sometime when i m in the office, my bb active movements can make me feel abit distracted.. at nite not so bad, cos can lie down & rest even if bb moves alot.. hee..

cheryl,
wow.. ur bb super active leh.. midnite time still move, dun wan to sleep.. hee..

my beansprout pillow oso not sent out yet.. i was promised within tis week..

i wonder is it because my pillow casing material is of japan quality tat y longer?? zzz....

not really active... sometime dun move also....

cheryl,
ya i think so your japan fabric need to wait.

re baby movement,
have your gynaes asked you to monitor frequency of fetal movement? my good friend's gynae, peter chew (supposedly very famous one) says that from 3rd tri onwards must count the number of movements every day. the number must be the same or increase over time. any decrease must go in to check immediately.

the material i chose is oso of japan quality too & the extra cover is of USA quality..

as long as bb moves on a daily basis, shd be fine.. during the last trimester or nearer to EDD, gynae will expect bb movements to be more frequent..

i dunno leh...

got very close friend's baby still birth at 7 months cos choked by umbilical cord.

so my hubby quite gan cheong. he say why they don't sell portable ultrasound scan machine for home use, then we can scan everyday to make sure baby is ok =P