(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

good morning!!!

kitsune, yr bb big leh.... i wonder what is my bb's size now? my gal was 3.5kg when she was borned... wonder whether didi will be around there...

Sparks, got hamper huh?

bluegin, ordered yr desitin... anyone need help to order?let me know....

garfield,
thanks for yr list..

i think i will go for cupcakes... actually, i thinking of try to make some.... so maybe make me own to give? (actually say only)

morning ladies...

dorothy, heee, i was about to ask about the desitin when i saw your post first. are u ordering from the same link that u posted on Sat/Sun?

Can i find out if u know there's only 2 kinds avail, Desitin Original and Desitin Creamy (with Aloe Vera)? or are there other types available?

hi dorothy,

okies thanks! can help me order 2 tubes of the same one (Desitin Creamy with Aloe Vera)?

no mood to work today.................

blue/piglettail,
pls note that there is still a vpost charge n also local postage.. i think plus these in should be abt $11plus...
but u transfer the amt of the cream to the spree organiser first...also it usually take abt almost a month to reach u....

Hi dorothy, can help me order too.
I hope i am not too late, sorry to trouble you.

2 tubes as well.. but just wondering is it too early to order? So how much is the total cost??

Hihi, Dor. My BB's weight projected to be only 3.1kg leh, think yours will be bigger since no. 1 was 3.5kg. ;) What was your BB's weight when Dr Loh estimated for you?

Sorry, busy at work these few days, what's the desitin cream about? You doing a mass order? I bought Mustela during the JL sale but heard Desitin is good. $11+ per tube is it? Is it cheaper than buying from dept stores eg. JL?

hi tongtong,

when u went for the bf avent workshop,did mrs wong mention how to massage the breast?any 1 has any recommendation on what cream to buy to massage the breast?can apply the cream on the nipple?or is just ard the area??

I have muscle pain recently, did anyone having this problem too? The pain comes normaly during the mid nite & early morning...but after wake up to have some walk, then will feel better.

I have appointment with my gynae this evening, will ask him to estimate for my bb's weight ;)

Artemis - regarding the steriliser that you asked me, i'm not sure whether it's iq 24 leh..

Dor- yea i'm thinking to make cup cakes my own too!! how much cakes do we give usually to relatives?

gdbaby - during the workshop mrs wong did not mention about massaging the breast leh. and for nipple cream, can apply on the nipple itself and got to wash it off before b/f right? i'm not sure though. ALso, mrs wong mention that avent;s nipple cream is good.

some notes that i took at avent workshop
1. BF- before bb open his mouth, you can brush his mouth with ur tits up and down/sideways, then bb will open his mouth automatically. Dont force your bb to open his mth or else he will bite u! hehe

2. Dang Gui - Dont take too much becuase it might suppress your b/m supply. So dont consume better.

3. BF- 10 to 20 minutes per side. best to bf from midnight till 6am in the morning.

4. when bb is at about 9 mths old, we should feed about 500ml of b/m

jeannie,
can!! i help u to post in that thread... can u pm me yr hp so that i can forward u the payment detail...should be abt $SGD11plus include the vpost n postage...
it depend cos the thing will only arrive around end dec... the expiry usually quite far... the one that i ordered expired in 2009.

Kitsune, dr loh never est. my bb weight leh...
desitin is a brand for nappy rash cream... supposed to be one of the best... no lah.. i not doing mass ordering... but just help bluegin n piglettail to post in that thread as new members cant post there... heehee... try to be kpo..est to be abt $11plus(depost on the vpost charges) but i understand that it is more expensive in sg...

tong, heehee... we go try out first... cos xmas coming... my gal wants to make cookies for friends for xmas... so i thought of trying to make cupcake instead...i think 6 or 8 should be ok...too bad, we stay far away if not can try out together....

5. about cabbage treatment for engorgement -. can check out her book on bf. the details are there.

6. storage of bm- at 25 degree c, 4 hours
at 4 degree c, 48 hours
freezer - 2 mths

7. when you are down with flu/cold, you can still b/f as per normal and dont worry.

8. Alcohol not very good for bf. but can take in moderation during confinement. can take DOM 1 tablespoonful. if you want to consume more, then cook it so that the alcohol will evaporate.

9. Sesame oil is ok for bf. in fact it's good for bm

10. ginger, ok. in moderation.

11. a mummy asked about consuming fenurick( a herbs- sorry dunno how to spell :p) to boost b/m supply, mrs wong said it's not necessary but it's a supplement. becuase once bb successfully latch on, the milkflow will come naturally. dont worry about low supply

12. it's good to bf for 2 years or more. mrs wong bf for 1 year for her bb. at least 6 mth bf is a must if we want bb to have all the good antibodies from mummy's milk!

13. double pump is preferable to single pump

14. underwired bra is not good! get wireless bra is the best

15. bb doesn like bubble bath, so dont get those with lots of bubble. and bb doesnt need to syampoo on his hair too early, to avoid craddle cap. use water to rinse off enuff. baby bath - get non rinse is good enouff. to cure craddle cap, use olive oil.

16. bb clothes- get 100% cotton cuz bb skin mkust be aired often. dont need to use fabric conditioner to wash bb's clothes. but must use bb's detergent

17. moisturise for bb - dont pick moisturiser for DRY skin

18. water for bb bath - about 36 to 37 degree c.

19. to bring bb outdoor - 10am sun is ok. 5pm is ok. 6 pm might be too cold for newborn.

20. can bring bb to swim after 6 mths. not too early because the swimming pool might be contaminated. in fact, bb bath tub can be used as swimming pool for bb.

21. nursing pillow not necessary as normal pillow can do the job too, also depends on your needs

22. best time to bath bb - 9 to 10 am. night time about 7pm. 8 pm should go zz liao

23. cloth nappies are better then diaper. diaper can be used during night and when you go out. because cloth nappies can provide more air for the bb's bum , can can avoid diaper rashes.

24. if bb got ezcema, should b/f more.

25. live demo on bb bath - i think the details are all written in the book by mrs wong.

but overall i think for newborn mrs wong use a lot of cotton wool. So we we want to follow suit we better stock up cotton wool to bath bb!! hehe

26. about bb's belly button, use cottonn wool to clean, and dont put ruyi oil in the belly.

27- bb's ear - clean the outer part, inner part dont need to clean

28. bb's genital part - apply cream after bath.for bb boy - apply cream on the scrotum and groin but DONT apply on the penis.

29. when cleaning bb's eyes andface using cotton wool, use cooled boiled water. just gently wipe their eyes adn face, dont press too hard! then neck..then wash his hair, rinse, dry the hair, then only unwrap her before putting him/her into the water.

30. let bb's feet feel the water first, then slowly let bb goes deeper into the water.

31. 1 drop of bb wash enuff

32. if bb's fist is holding tight, massage his fist(doing circling) for 3 times.. then the fist will open

33. must sing when bathing bb!! hehe

34. oh yuea, after the bath, can do simple massaging/rbbing his back. and KISS his feet!! new born bb's feet got aroma wor, according to mrs wong hehe

oh clover, i think roughly that's about it becuase a lot of the info that she spoke are available in her 3 books. btw, you are from mar thread right? are you going to JB on 19th? if so you can check out carrefour because Dor said that her friend got pampers 84 pcs at $12 only! you can let the mummies who aer going know about this.

Hi Dor,

Is the desitin cream to be applied after every bathtime or only when there is rashes?

hi Tongtong,

Thanks for the notes. Very useful.
Now I must go pick up a few more nursery ryhmes for baby's bathtime. =)

The supplement for breast milk supply is "Fenugreek". Read it somewhere.. it comes in capsules avail in GNC.

hi tongtong,
thanks so much for the notes,very comprehensive for 1st mtb :> i bought the nursing pillow already,cos scared normal pillow too soft :p
i heard we need to start breast massage now for future bf??i wonder if nipple cream can be used for breast massage??
if dun consume dang gui,will the mum's health be affected?cos heard that after delivery,our bodies will be weak,so for the next bb,we may even be weaker...
we need to bf from midnight till 6am ?how many times should we wake up to bf during that duration?
DOM is 1 tablespoonful per day?
for bb's genital part,for gals,do we apply powder or cream?
where should we apply ruyi oil on the bb?thot is belly?

Hi Dorothy, is this destin cream to be applied each time we change diaper? Is it the nappy cream? Is it too late to order now? I am interested.

Re: TMC towel
sorry i forgot exact price, but hor, from what mrs wong said, it is supposed to be the type that wont turn mouldy. And I got the bathing cloth during last lesson.

re nursing pillow
I got it during the 50% sale at kidsloft, so it is around $15. Not sure if it is indeed necessary, but saw on the pic that it can be use to guide the baby to sit.

May I know, when do we need to get the herbs for bathing? Do you gals know where to get?>

re: Mrs Wong mention dont use powder to powder the bbaby bottom. No good and not necessary. Once she wets herself, it is all gone.

hana/winnie,
depends on individual.. u can choose to just apply after every change or only when there is a rash....

winnie, that spree is still open.... if u wan, u can just add yr order in and transfer accordingly.......(i helping bluegin/piglettail cos they are new member thus cant post in the thread directly...) but of course i dun mind kpoing....

goodbb - not sure whether we need to take dong gui during confinement but according to mrs wong, it might affect bm supply. as for b/f, i think new born needs to be bf every 3 hours if not mistaken? As for Dom, in order not to affect the bm, 1 tablespoonful is ok , the excess should be used in cooking. for genetil part, mrs wong also apply cream wor. and she said doesnt need to apply ru yi oil into the belly to avoid wind..

piglettail, i am also not sure what cream she uses.. din hear properly. could be barrier cream or bum cream?

Any mummies who went to the second session might want to tell us if you know?

re nursing pillow, yea mrs wong said it helps of course during bf, but if we dont want and comfortable enuff with normal pillow then we can save some $ loh! :p

re: herbs
can get from the chinese medical hall i think

hi tong tong,

thanks! i'll go ask aroud regarding the cream too, if have any answers will let u gals know.

im hoping to be able to use diaper all the way, so now gathering info on all the creams avail to avoid skin irritations/nappy rash on bb's bottom. else use nappy got to wash very troublesome ah.

sleeping
does any ladies have problems getting a good night's sleep? i really cant sleep well at night, even the sound of hb switching on the switch i'll wake up. end up im like a zombie everyday, super lethargic and can't concentrate at work.

listening to music doesn't work...i'll be yawning all the way but once im on the bed, i just can't seem to get to sleep.

think my boss has noticed and think my work performance dropped... oh dear.

piglettail, me!!!

i cant see... usually wakes up abt 4plus am in the morning... during the daytime, i also like zombie at work...

hi winnie,

so dun use bb powder,use bb cream?which brand?

any 1 noe where to buy cheap and good latex mattress for bb cot?bb playpen also got to use latex mattress?

piglettail, if not mistaken, taking a glass of warmmilk before zz can help?

goodbb, yea latex mattress can use for playpen too.

ladies, do we apply powder on bb's body or lotion better, after bb's bath? heard lotion better cuz bb's skin is dry, is that true?

i oso, i will wake up either at 2plus or 4plus.. den sometimes wake up 2 times. really tireding leh... wake up either pee or just wake up leh... aiyo... but when i lie down, i can knock out quite fast

RE: cream on bum

According to Mrs Wong, should apply barrier cream after every change to prevent nappy rash. She recommended the Avent one. I bought a tube from the event.

I think 1 thing tongtong did not mention was that Mrs Wong responded to a question from a member of the audience about using organic products on babies. Her reply was that while it is fine to use organic products on babies, we should avoid using ONLY organic products as it may affect the child's immunity against non-organic products in future. She suggested a mixture of both for balance.

Also, Mrs Wong remarked that babies do not need to feed during the first 3 - 4 days of their life and it usually takes that long for the mother's milk supply to come in after the placenta is delivered.

I only remembered after reading tongtong's notes :p I didn't take any, too distracted by my baby's kicking throughout the talk.

RE: epidural

I found this section while reading up on breastfeeding from the internet on the effects of epidural on babies:

3. Reconsider the use of labor medication. Medications used during labor -- including the epidural -- can have an affect on your baby's behavior at the breast. This may last for the first two weeks because these medications may take quite a while to clear from your baby's system. A baby whose mom has had a medicated labor/birth has more chance of being a baby who is sleepy or exhibits sucking difficulties right after birth. Using a labor assistant for your birth may help you to avoid or reduce the amount of medication you use. If you do use medication, the less medication you receive, and the later in labor, the less you will pass on to your baby.

Full article can be found here: http://parenting.ivillage.com/newborn/nbreastfeed/0,,3wwp,00.html

Also, I saw from some documentaries on cable that it is recommended to attempt to nurse the baby within the first 2 hours of birth as they are the most alert and willing to try then. Plus, it will help to trigger the hormone that starts milk production.

yes yes... hope most of the feb mtb will join loh....

dec christmas dinner
1. cheryl
2. dorothy

we will arrange the date soon.. shd be ard mid dec