(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

re: powder

i attended mrs wong class, she say use liquid powder? what kind liquid powder im wondering? forget to ask her.. my niece is using calamine lotion for daily diaper use, only when there is rash, she uses desitin. baby powder is used for neck le

mrs wong class
i will be attending the doc's talk today at SCGS. suppose to be the last lesson. but becuase i came in between her class, my first lesson is lesson 4, bathing. so next week will start the lesson 1 together with those new mommies on wed.
cos when i call them up initially to enquire abt the class, i was 26weeks, they say by the time i finished all the lessons if i start together w the new class, it will be very close to my due date 1st feb. so no choice, go in between.

hey mommies

have u all encounter gynae analyse wrong gender of your bb?

when i was 4th moth plus doing the detailed scan, my gynae say i am having a bb girl, 200% confirm. but since then, i did not ask again, and 3 weeks ago, my bb is naughty, cross her leg, so cant see.

will there be such a thing that, there will be an error? so scared le, cos i bought a lot of bb clothes that is pink. haha

linda, hey!!!
i am also worried abt this.....was just talking cheryl/bluein/piglettail what if my "boy" becomes "gal"?

haha.... tat wat i m worried also loh... but den, my hb say, "girl also nvm lah"
but den cant be wrong rite? the picture of the birdie is so obvious.. haha

would depend on how confident ur gynae is ? one of my friend, her gynae did tell her that eventho he thinks bb gal, but not sure coz not v clear...

i thought if boy quite difficult to be wrong coz can see little birdie ? for me, everytime i go for scan, my gynae always assure me again that am having boy...i hope she's right :p

i am sooo happy today, just found out that my office apparently have nursing room ! complete with fridge + cabinets...but the thing is that the room can't be lock from inside, the access would be limited to only those who have access i.e. other nursing mothers. but i think can have 2 mothers pumping at the same time... and i thought, will feel a bit weird...i would probably get a nursing cover and just leave it there... now confirm getting an electric breast pump !

bkkgal
thks so much 4 e info

where exactly in central chidlom? is it a shop? or dept store? sorry, i went 2 central world n was told 2 go 2 central chidlom but didnt hv e time & energy by then.

It's a Central Dept Store at Chidlom BTS station.

How much is the breast pads in Spore btw? Oh, and there is a Pigeon sale now til 18 Nov, so u shd tell your fren to go quick.

I found an Avent Steriliser set for 3,860 THB (approx S$170). Is it worth getting?

bkkgal
btw, kelly (weddingfairy) = kel (bkge)
spore's pigeon breastpad is going at S$8.90 for 36+6pieces.

thks sooooo much...can i pls PM u?

hi Kelly, yes you can PM me.

Yes! it's the same steriliser. Eh...but if buy online, means that shipping/freight charges will be added no?

hi Dor,

Not sure if you remember me? Wanted to congratulate u :) Heard from ToyCollector that you will be delivering in Feb. Time flies right!

Anyway I am on IVF currently and doing my puregon jabs. I hope Toy and myself would join you real soon. Anyway pls take care!

tute
i think my gynae also didn't expect i'll deliver so soon, cos when i was fully dilated, midwife told me to hold on, don't push yet cos gynae had not arrived. how do you define when you are in labour?

linda
when i went for my last checkup, gynae scan scan and said 'girl right'? then me and hubby said 'thot u said 100% boy last time'. gynae scan again and show us the birdie, then confirmed it's 100% boy again. me too afraid that we cannot see clearly from the scann the gender of the baby. but then the detailed scan and previous scan can see the birdie clearly. not that we prefer a boy, but have been telling those who asked the gender liao. so if turn out otherwise, kinda paiseh.

I have ordered the bean pillow from the BP. If anyone of you is interested, can take a look.

I have been to the SCGS talk last night. I think most of the stuff has been covered in the previous lessons.

morning!!!

jade!!!of course rem u!!!! yes yes!!! it will be successful!!! keep u in prayer!!

bb gender
Stephie, this is my concern too!!!

winnie,
saw yr order... did u change yr amt. i think wrong leh...

morning!!

so reluctant to wake up for work today. raining so shiok.....hope that the weather in feb/mar will be nice nice like now so that it's cool during our confinement = )

dor, did you order extra covers for the bean pillow?

cheryl/garfield!!

heehee... ordered already!!!

Winnie, paisay... yest never "read" yr order clearly!!! correct lah... it's me!!!!

ya.. so shiok to sleep man....

stephie,

some friends have describe to me the feeling like going to go toilet :p
i've got another friend who just had 2nd bb telling me that her gynae said ur labour time for 2nd bb normally is half of the first one...so if your first is only 3 hours...err...better be prepare ! hehehe... go to hospital earlier ok...

re: bean pillow

what is this for yeah ladies ? what's the diff with normal pillow/bolsters ?

today no mood to work. surfing the BP website. so tempted to buy those casual bags (super lover). but i already have many many many bags....got to find a reason to buy another one!!

I also saw the superlover bags so nice! was very tempted. But recently already gotten three new bags.....................................

garfield, heehee.... me too!!! super super sleepy....just cant concenrate!!!!
Yo!!! dun buy so manay nice nice bags... no chance to carry leh... when bb out... got to carry diaper bag....

hahaha...ya, i ROD mood already. year end office quiet, plus i so big now. can slow down a big.

hmm dor...talking about diaper bag. what's the difference between diaper bag and a normal BIG bag. cos was thinking of getting one of the super lover bags (large ones) to double up as diaper bag. can?

apple, ya lor. even if not for myself, also thinking of buying for my sis in law.

garfield, too early for ROD... maybe next month....

actually no dif lah.... u can also buy any big big to use as diaper bag... u might wan to consider getting a bag organiser so that u can organise bb things....but the question is. who is carrying the bag when u go out? cos my hb will not carry those kawaii bag... so i will get a diaper backpack bag....

garfield, haha... just have to find excuse to buy the bag huh....

good point. better check if hubby will carry a kawaii bag or not. i think he's carried my girlie bags before so should be ok, but double check safer =P

was reading the Mar08 thread - they discussing about baby first month. any experienced mummies know what the tradition is in terms of who to give the first month cakes to? if i don't have a celebration still must give or not?

tat wat i wanna knw also. maybe i wont have a celebration, but maybe have. but i think the cakes i will have relatives n close fren?

first month cakes
Garfield, u might wan to check with yr pil or parents to see what yr dialect tradition is like for first month. mostly, ppl will give cakes for relatives....

for myself, i will be giving away cupcakes... we threw a full month celebration for my gal the last time... veri veri tiring n my house is in a mess... smokers everywhere.... so we have decided not to have any celebration... if pil wants it(cos first grandson), then will have it in their place.....

Hi Garfield & Dor, I'm going to order beansprout pillow too since nobody buying that for my BB.Did you all buy the bolster as well? Not sure what the bolster is for? Small BBs know how to use bolster or not? :p

bbk, the breastpad you got ischeap because tollyjoy here , 48 pcs, selling at $7.90

adn the avent steriliser set for 170 is slightly expensive becuase in sg, the set here whcih comes with 2 milk bottle+3 bb wipes+hairwash+bag is about $140+, during promotion.

tong, should be ok... cos everything is rather transparent....

kitsune, heehee... my gal hor... from 2mths old onwards was made to use mini bolster by my mum... veri veri cute... heehee.... i see whether got pic to show....

Hi tongtong,

The steriliser you are talking about is the iQ 24 one? If so, where is the promo ah? I know the steriliser normally selling for S$200 by itself at Mothercare.

Share this info with all of u here....

Checklist for first-time mums

Checklist of Purchases
Babys Room
Baby Cot
Musical mobiles/ Merry-go-round
Mattress (3" or 4")
Blanket
Bumper
Pillow/bolster case
Bedsheets
Mattress protector
Changing table (optional)
Cupboard/Chest of Drawers

Clothes for baby
Mittens/Bootees
Cloth Diapers (Can also be use to wrap baby)
Nappy liners
Blouse/shirts - long and short sleeves
Suits - pants and long shirts
Rompers
Handkerchiefs (get plenty of them)
Face towels
PILCHERS (pants worn over nappies)

Baby bathing
Baby wipes
Bath tub
Anti-slip mat
Changing mat
Rubber mat
Bath towel
Bath sponge (optional, small cotton handkerchief would suffice)
Baby soap/bath lotion
Baby shampoo
Baby oil
Cotton buds
Baby powder with puff

Laundry for Baby Clothes
Buckets with lids
Basket for baby laundry
Nappy/clothes detergent/softener
Clothes hanger for drying mittens/booties/handkerchiefs

Feeding Baby
Milk bottles (big+small) + teats
Bottle scrub brush
Warmer cum carrier bag
Thermometer (to use when baby is unwell)
Large pan/pot (for sterilising)
Tongs (to handle hot bottles)
Electric Steam Steriliser (Pigeon/Avent)
Milk containers
Bags/milk bottles to store expressed breastmilk

Misc
Safety pins
Pacifiers
Thermometer (Check room temperature)
Nail clippers
Anti-nappy rash cream (Drapolene)
Oil for wind (Ru Yi or White Tree Oil)
Ziplock bags for checkups and outings.
Woodwards Gripe Water
Sterile thermoplastic tray with swabs & swabsticks
Polythene bag for soiled diapers
Dish/ container (to wash babys face)
Care of the Umbilical Cord Stump
Sterile swab applicators
Sterile cotton swabs
Sterile container for cord spirit
Cord spirit

Accessories
Playpen
Stair/door gates (If you want to separate your baby & pets)
Rubber protectors for bedroom doors
Highchair
Walker
Bouncer
Stroller
Pram
Baby carrier
Car seats

Toys & Playstuff
Rattle
Mirror
Baby gym

Mummy Care
Maternity Dress/top/bottom
Pyjamas with front opening for breast feeding
Breast pump
Anti Stretchmark creams
Nursing bras
Maternity bras
Nipple cream for crack nipples
Nursing pads
Disposible panties
Cotton panties (larger size when reach later stage of pregnancy)
Sanitary pads
Panty liners
Bedroom slippers
Painkillers (with doctors prescription only)

Other optional items
Plastic bowl/ container, 10-12 inch diameter for both baby and mother
Electrical HotFlask (autoboil), quick access to boiling water for formula milk
Thermoflask without autoboil, for mums drinking water
Claypot or double boil claypot for mums confinement soup
Claypot or earthenware for cooking pigs trotters in ginger and black vinegar
2 pails for mums bathing and face cleansing.

i also cannot concentrate at work..having contraction pain since morning, feel like menses pain. My colleague said this is normal, but still a bit worried

re:diaper bag

where to get a pure black backpack diaper bag? anyone heard of thhis brand babysafe? my sil got one of this, doesnt look like diaper bag from outside, she bought it in robinson long time ago, but now seems cant find liao. inside still have diaper changemat and a thermal compartment. for both mother and father carry also looks nice.

anyone came across?

re: full month party
anyone also know a place to hold party? i dun wan to hold at my place, scared messy. beside chalet, where else?
i attended a friend's daughter birthday at some sort of club, rent the room and cater your own buffet but i forgit the place liao? anyone knows any of this kind?

happybee, have to take care. last night i feel pain too, immediately went to bed. and try to sleep it off.

Dorothy, i very blur too... i purposely went out for lunch and yet i forgot to transfer the $$. sigh i must remember to do it tonight.

I only order pillow, i got a bead bead chest pillow already.

hi linda, u might wan to consider chalet? or see got country club function room?

Winnie. heehee... me too.... i just woke up from my nap...

linda, i bought this for my diaper bag.

www.allerhand.com

so sian.. sleepy... looking for christian name for my boy. but den, so hard to choose. the names i like is either my fren son is having or my fren is having.. piangz