(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hope all MTB's can benefit from it... Cheers!

Checklist for Hospital bag for Admission

- Daddys & mummys identity cards
- Letter from Gynae
- Booking Slip for admission
- Notebook, writing materials

For Baby
- 2 baby tops (1 long-sleeve, 1 short sleeve)
- 1 bottom (optional - normally bb put on diapers-and wrap up with blankets)
- 2 pair of mittens n booties (preferably bb-socks coz' booties are too big on new born
- 1 receiving blanket with-hood
- Handkerchiefs
- baby soft cap (if the receiving blanket hood is too big)

For Mummy
- Maternity or Normal pads (Day-& Night use)
- 2 night-gowns with front opening buttons for nursing
- Bedroom Slipper (optional)
- Inflatable ring (After Episiotomy) - can loan from hospital too
- 1-pack cotton or disposable panties
- Clothes for after discharge
- Book/Magazine
- 2 nursing bras
- nursing pads
- 1 face towel
- Toiletries (Hospital will provide you with a toiletries kit - toothbrush, toothpaste, cleanser, toner, moisturizer, etc) [Bring your own also can]
- A pair of socks (if feeling-cold at night)
- Plastic bags for soiled clothings
- Handphone-& charger
- old unwanted clothes and garbage bag in car in case waterbag burst
- snacks in case you dont like hospital food
- girdle (for C-section)
- fibregel can get from Pharmacy (Drink a pack aft delivery... makes it easier to move yr bowels cos wif the stitches below, it can get quite painful...)

For Daddy/Misc
- A jacket
- Digital camera (CF card, batteries, charger)
- Video-cam (batteries, tapes)
- Essence of chicken/Red bull
- Chocolate bars-& snacks
- Tissues/ Wet tissues
- 2 bottles of Mineral Water

2 sets of newborn clothings
2 sets of mittons for hands and legs
2 towels (1 big & 1 small)
1 blanket (with head cover)
1 packet of newborn diapers (pampers)
1 baby bathing foam
1 baby powder
i packet of cotton buds
2 small toys

dorothy, since u r experiencing bad backaches, u muz norish yr back with 'Du Zhong & BaZhen herbs double boil w pig tail bone during yr confinement ya.... it helps!

hi dor,

i went thr the website, kind of like the black backpack? do u know where i can find this? any shops in sin? wan to check the price too?
try to find on the website but under construction.

hi garfield
thanks for the info, i browse the the web liao, not reeally suitable, i wan backpack but the backpack they have is one side only, not much design. thanks ya.

im curious also, wat will TMC give upon discharge?

sparks
u left out something...u need 2 bring e antenatal bill, hand it 2 e cashier at e hospital during checkout so she can submit 2 CPF 2 claim e $450 antenatal fr medisave.

bkkgal
did u get my PM?

linda,

i also saw some black backpacks at kiddy palace a while back. not sure if they still have it, it was selling for <$50 so cheaper than allerhand. Couldn't seem to find a plain allerhand bags nowadays...mostly it comes in 2 colors... but you can basically find allerhand in all the dept stores...not sure if they have sole distributor here that has a full collection of their bags. hope this helps !

Hi Kel,
For KKH, no need to pass them the bills if you were a patient there for antenatal. Everything is automatic. Bill only needed if antenatal was done elsewhere and delivery at KKH.

Was just informed that coy will give me a baby gift upon delivery from far east flora. dunno what to pick.

sparks, thanks... pigtail!!!

btw, when u due?

linda
u mean allerhand bag huh? u can find at taka/isetan.....

tong,
i will be using the small pillow as the chest pillow to put on bb's chest...

linda, if u really wanted allerhand bag...
wait til isetan got sales... allerhand bag will have 20% disc off...

i bought mine from taka as i got taka vouchers to spend if not hb will kill me. it's about $130plus with changing mat/pacifier keeper/bottle warmer...

tute
thanks for your info, will go and look around.. going kiddy palace tml... haha... less than $50 is ok...

saw baybysupplies website, the allerhand bag cost $120. a bit too high... even my own normal bag also dun cost that much... hee hee

some of my friends say dun need to buy diaper bag, use normal bag will do. what do u all think?

linda, ya.. u dun have to purposely get a diaper bag, a normal bag can also do the same job... maybe get a bag organiser to group the stuff... so when bb crys, easier to find....

linda, heehee... dun need yet... i just bought.... next year, i let u know.....cos my hb usually object everything that i choose... so since he agreed to it so readily n also it's free...i quickly grab before my gal use the voucher to buy toys again....

dor, can share what you typically pack into diaper bag? will help in determining what kind of bag organizer to get (or small pouches)

dor,

i see... i also have the taka voucher... but a bit kiasu, dunno wat to buy, scare anyhow buy, then when really need that time nomore voucher liao... also a bit early now, my edd is 1 feb. still long way hor...

Garfield, wow!!! veri long ago leh since i last packed a diaper bag.

i try
1)diaper(about 4-depends on how long u going out)
2)3 set of clothes(in case of accidents)
3)milk powder container(abt 3 feeds)
4)wipes
5)toys
6)snack(depend on how old the bb is)
7)sweater(in case cold)
8)ziplock(for dirty clothes)
9)changing mat
10)nappy rash cream
11)milk bottles(1 big/1small)
12)pacifier

linda, i see... hey!!! same edd!!!
where u going to deliver?
i like taka vouchers because it can also be used for sales item unless some stores....

if u not planning to use yr voucher, u might wan to hold til next year taka bb fair to buy their promo items...

dor

same edd? so coincidence... im delivering in tmc w dr yvonne chan.. u?
actually how many weeks are we now huh? always miscalculate...
when is taka bb fair usually held?

lina, i will be gg to KKH. under Dr.loh s.f.
we should be in our weeks 29...based on last mens date.i think taka bb fair will be july/aug if i not wrong...

sparks, i see... thanks for yr list!!! veri detailed... using it to match my own list...

dor
29 weeks meh? i tot 28weeks.. haha
always remember wrongly.. too much we are not in the same hospital... yours a girl or boy? 2nd child?
wah, the bb fair still so far away...

cheryl, i heard a salesgal from taka... there will be one in dec... but not as big scale as the yearly.

cheryl, i waiting for the next seiyu 20% disc... must chiong....

linda, ya... 1st feb will be our 40th weeks... ya... 2nd child.it's a boy... u?

haha.. i also waiting for sales... dec, is xmas season, sure got sales... im waiting....

dor
this is my first child, its a girl... so a bit excited... lotsa things to buy..

garfield
icic, pai seh...me suay ku.
i gave birth at MAH for both pregnancies so had 2 bring e antenatal bill.

WOW... the thread run fast.
Everyone still stay awake at this hour huh?

I'm busy at work recently. Don't think can finish them by this friday.

BTW, anyone know want TMC will give for gift?

What is the antenatal bill for? Must bring?
I heard must bring along our clinic bill so as to claim medisave. AM I right?

Hihi, I'll be 29 weeks this Fri. My EDD is 1 Feb, same as Dorothy and Sparks. But head down doesn't mean she won't move again lar. Th head not engaged after all.

Blueginger, my BB not very big lar. Gynae said average BB size is between 2.8 - 3.4kg, so if mine is really 3.1kg, still at the middle range lar. How big is your BB now?

wow you ladies stay up late !!

thanks dor for the list. will use that as a guide to see how big a bag to buy and how many compartments i need.

btw, since i was so bored yesterday, compiled a list of places with relatively nice baby full month packages from the recommendations in the forum. not sure about quality since i've never tried though =P
http://www.chozconfectionery.com/2005/full_month.html
http://cupcakedivinity.blogspot.com/2007_09_01_archive.html
http://www.gobi.com.sg/gobi.swf
http://www.sweetsurprise.com.sg/index.htm
http://www.sweetestmoments.com.sg/default.aspx
http://www.yilingcakes.com.sg/NetCode/Basket/Productlist.aspx?categoryname=Full%20Month
http://www.melrose.com.sg/index.html

I think for those of us giving birth in TMC, there is no need to prepare new clothing for baby for discharge as TMC will provide. Including a bath tub.

btw, for those of you who are going for TMC lesson, do prepare some cash each time, cos there were 2 lessons which Mrs Wong and her nurse sold the towel etc.

good morning!!!

kitsune, yr bb big leh.... i wonder what is my bb's size now? my gal was 3.5kg when she was borned... wonder whether didi will be around there...

Sparks, got hamper huh?

bluegin, ordered yr desitin... anyone need help to order?let me know....