(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

piglettail,
I check the link dorothy sent. It costs US$4.69/tube that is 4oz (113g). Both creamy and original are the same price. So after conversion is about S$7.22
About 40% disc.

SweetPea,
Disadv: Worst case of Epidural if not injected properly is paralyse. Even with the specialist, you still have to sign the agreement to protect the hospital. But most common complaint from friends are unbearable after-effect pains for life-time.
Adv: Must inject once you admitted to hospital. Cos epidural need sometimes to take effect, so when you feel the pain, den request for the injection is too late. If you do so, you can sit and enjoy through the course.

garfield, my hb went to send my A&E on sun morning but i refused....
never mind lah... just slowly slowly loh...

desitin
stephie, i never used b4.. but my friend told me must buy... so i bought loh... original? cos i dun like flavour stuff...
but based on the popularity of it being ordered at those drugstore spree... should be ok loh...

Hey starry70 i will go home and check then tell you abt the antenatal course. I think first lesson is held at some other places.

Btw pp, what is the desitin for??

I scared of side effects of epidural but i think i more scared of pain.. hehe... think my pain threshold is rather low... i cant even take lip threading.. so painful....

Stephie... how was ur experience really really damn damn pain rite? Your labour was long??

Artemis.. i also bought the newspaper playmat ( i hope we talking abt the same one).. cheap cheap only $5. My hubby want to buy lor but when i open up at home.. a bit shocked.. huh.. so small?? hehe.. but for $5.. i think ok lah.. can play for a while.

Gers.. i will go home and take pic of the playmat and post up tonight

hi afternoon mummies,
just read a method about taijiao from magazine, helps brain development:
when bb kick you, you can pat pat at the place he/she kicks. tell him/her to kick again. playing this game 3 times a day for about 5 - 15 minutes.

Sorry.. sidetrack a bit.. Kitsune!! My goodness.. u have bought so much things!! just visited your blog.. amazing.U bought 2 strollers??

Hi starry70,

You need to go up to Level 5, Lifestyle Centre for the antenatal class. The final class which is the doctor's talk is conducted at Singapore Chinese Girls' School for my session. However, I am not sure if you would have the same final class. You may need to check with the ParentCraft staff as your days are different from mine (my classes are on Fridays).

Hi SweetPea,

You managed to get Mrs Wong's class. I wanted to transfer after I heard that her classes were more fun but the staff at ParentCraft said her Wednesday classes are full.
Keep my fingers crossed that my instructor will not be boring or I would probably fall asleep. (Not good with classroom learning :p)

Hi jeannie,

Yeah, it is pretty small but my HB liked the fact that it crinkls and squeaks. The price is S$5? Maybe I typo or saw wrongly on the receipt. :p S$59 for the small thing my HB sure won't buy.

RE: Avent talk

I went for Session 2 and found Mrs Wong's talk to be very informative and humourous. Maybe the first session's speaker was more serious as she was a doctor? :p

RE: epidural

I heard from my colleague that one of the side effects of epidural is that you may accidentally twist your back while in labour but not pain then cause of the epidural and suffer later after it loses its effect. So I think I will opt for xian(1) ku(3) hou(4) tian(2) (pain first, later sweet) :p

dorothy,
haha..maybe becos i was busy trying to nurse my headache and catch the ants comming out of my bag..distracted and din pay attention to the seat.

blueginger, thanks for the information on Desitin
yes, the Desitin Creamy with Aloe Vera was 2oz. so still cheaper to buy from website hor? any idea if Creamy is fragrance free? I tried to look at the packaging at Guardian but not indication leh. guess i gotta do some research work on this..

jeannie, Desitin is a brand for nappy/diaper rash cream. there are various brands avail but seems like this is one of the top popular choices among mummies.

ladies, does anyone have any recomendation for car seat? me totally lost...hb ask me to research but i really no clue.

Dorothy,
Are you OK now?

piglettail,
I dun think Aloe Vera is fragance free. But the old packaging for the original is supposed to be oily. I read the description for the creamy, it stated that it is non-sticky and can b used for mosquitoes bites. SO I choose that. Too back my friend is back in singapore liao. Cannot buy both for me. Anyway, it is up to your preference.

Haha, Jeannie. Shocked you is it? But ok lar, think I quite controlled liao, most of the things I bought are recommended by friends or other mummies. I stinge on things for myself eg. never buy expensive maternity clothes, borrowed as much as I could, didn't buy pregnancy pillows though my back hurts everyday, didn't splurge on pre natal massages either even I really wanted too.

For the stroller, I bought two because the Maclaren was highly recommended by my colleagues (good mileage can use till baby is 4-5 yrs old and has very good wheels, good for overseas trip). But the Maclaren is bulky and cannot stand even when folded, so I bought a smaller, cheaper Capella one to be kept at IL's place since they'll be helping to look after BB. They can wheel BB out in stroller if they are going out for short while, eg. market, park, playground etc.

Hi, starry70
I am in the same TMC class as you. The info below are copied from time schedule they gave.
1. 24Nov 2-4pm Sat 5th Flr, Lifestyle Centre, TMC.
2. 02 Dec 2-4pm Sat 5th Flr, Lifestyle Centre, TMC.
3. 09 Dec 2-4pm Sat 5th Flr, Lifestyle Centre, TMC.
4. 05 Jan 2-4pm Sat 5th Flr, Lifestyle Centre, TMC.
5. 12 Jan 2-4pm Sat 5th Flr, Lifestyle Centre, TMC.
6. 08 Jan 7-9pm Tuesday Singapore Chinese Girls' school.

Lessons 1 to 3 Please wear comfortable pants for exercise, e.g. track pants or any pants with Lycra material.

>>>2&9 Dec are supposed to be Sunday, don't know whether it's supposed to 1&8 Dec. I will check it this Sat when I go to TMC for my check-up.

Hi tubao,

I'm in the same TMC class as you but for No. 2 and 3, I got different dates. Mine is 1st Dec and 22nd Dec. Better to double check.

Hi, my EDD is 28th Feb.

Coming to the last lesson at SCGS tomorrow as well. Was all the while in Mrs Wong class. I find it really beneficial. Do try to catch her class.

Most often it will be 2.5hr for her class.

If you intend to drive, she will give out parking coupon at the end which allows you to pay $4 regardless of teh hours parked. That means, you can arrange your check up at TMC on the same day too, but parking is flat fees.

Hi SweetPea,

2 days after mine? My edd is 10 Feb 08. Or u r mentioning your appt date..? heehee!

Anyone promotion/sales recently.....?

bkkgal
sorry 2 trouble u...did u manage 2 find e pigeon breastpads? my GF's flying off 2mrw n i need 2 inform her where 2 find it.

Hi pp, this is the playmat that i bought from kizloft.. quite cute. its black and white cause newborn can only see black and white initially and the mat actually has crinkly sound like crushing the papers.

The pair of slippers is to show you how small it is... : )

1068351.jpg

My antenatal class not Mrs Wong leh.. like that got free car park coupons??

Anybody tried the other nurses?? Feedbacks?

piglettail,
i think bigger babies dun nec mean earlier delivery, although becos they usually go for c-section, its then before EDD.. but i read before that smaller babies are usually born naturally before EDD.

RE: carseats
i am thinking of getting the Chicco Travel system, which includes the infant car seat.

desitin
this is a good nappy rash cream. usually if you go to PD for nappy rash problem, PD will prescribe this for you. so far i've only tried the creamy one. can't remember the exact reason then why creamy was preferred to original. think creamy not so harsh. most pple i know use creamy. but i've a friend who prefers original. she said it's more lasting (cos it's oil based hence won't go off so easily if bb pees). but i was wondering wouldn't it be difficult to clean off then?

jeannie
i was admitted to hospital at 1am+ and gave birth at 4am+. It's painful but I can still tahan by using the laughing gas and applying the breathing technique. it depends on the pain threshold of the mummy.

tongtong
you took notes during the talk ah? i didn't leh. even doze off a bit during the talk by the doctor. the demo by mrs wong 'waken' me up :p

So many posts to read!!

Any mummies experience hardening of the uterus? I have been getting that since a couple of weeks back and its getting more often especially when I am sleeping. Is that BHC?

Hello tubao and snowbelle
Thanks for the info - i think i will probably make a trip down to make the payment..hmm..lest i go wrong place for lesson, waste my effort for booking so early. Thanks dear for the info~ see your at the classes

morning all!

fairfield, thanks for the information on car seat and bb's weight

just wondering if there are any brands that has car seats that are smaller in size/less bulky? cos our car (hence the back seat) is quite small.

stephie,

wow ur so lucky...first baby and only in labour for 3 hours ? were u already in labour at home or what ? normally i hear ppl for first baby average is 10 hours or so...

re : epidural

initially i was really scared to go for it, but my colleague say if get good anesthetist should be ok...so i think would still go for epidural if the pain is unbearable...

abt epidural

wil try to go w/o unless the pain is so unbearable... then again still have to depend, scarli, have to c-sect.. zzz. touch wood.

good morning! how's everyone...

re: bb weight
my bb weighs 562g at 23 wk. the radiologist who did the detailed scan for me said my bb is considered not chubby type. haha...

re: mummy's weight gain
how much have you gained so far? i gained about 3.4kg compared to pre-preggy weight.

re: epidural
i didn't use epi last time. 'cos i scared of the needle more than the contraction pain. haha.... and pethidine worked well for me that time.

re: desitin
i think generally, desitin cream is good to prevent diaper rash. My gal's previous PD also recommended desitin.

re: low placenta
anyone's detailed scan showed low placenta? mine yes.
hopefully the placenta will move up when time goes by.

Tong tong
i find that baby powder is not really necessary. I seldom use baby powder. I used heat rash powder more.

winnie
we have the same EDD. :D

sunny, you gained really little! dont worry, plancenta will slowly move up la. Is there heat rash powder? havent seen one on the rack leh. must go look for it liao.

stephie - yea i took notes for those part that i dont know and am interested. will share out when i got the time to type out here later

andrea- my tummy goes very hard whenever after i had my meals. although doc had given me an injection but i still have tight tummy everyday. doc never told me it's BHC anyway, i just felt that my tummy is very tight but no pain at all.. so wonder whether it's BHC though.

Hi Jacjac..sorry my post was meant for Jeannie! Hers is 24 Feb..heh

Starry..I went to check on my paument yesterday..I sent it 29 Oct and they received it only last week. When they the paper records, my payment was not recorded but when the checked the system they recorded the payment. So they said I should receive the info very soon. So when I got hom, I did find a letter from Parentcraft.

Weight Gain
...I was quite surprised to find myself 3.6jg heavier since last month! We are only supposed to put on 2 kg each month and I have exceeded the ideal weight..oops. First time in my life I am "overweight" coz I am usually quite skinny or just right. And the weight is not going to baby..all to me! So at 25 weeks, baby is 720g..quite average lah. In total put on 8 kg since I got pregnant.

Powder
I read that talc is harmful for baby, but I'm not sure if this applies to baby powder as well? I read that we should use moisturizer for baby and not powder coz baby skin is very dry. Won't powder make it drier? Also, if you use moisturizer and nappy cream on baby, dun think we can use powder as well.

Epidural
I ask my doc about epidural, she says stats show that 75% of S'pore Chinese women opt of epidural. Malays and Malaysian Chinese on the other hand do not really use epi. Hehe...think Chinese women pain threshold lesser..or maybe its the pampered way we were brought up in. Anyway we do not need to make a decision now...wait till the contractions start and see whether you can tahan the pain.

Btw, what's BHC?

cheryl, thanks for the info!! i just placed an order.

dor, i ordered same design as you =) the price should be $8.50 not $9.50 each right?

hee hee..me too i used yours to amend.

cheryl's is $9.50 cos her fabric is the US/Japan one.

ours under the (other fabric) category is $1 cheaper.

haha.. i changed already.. i think winnie also order... her amt also wrong...

sleepy lah.. this morning woke up at 4.30am.... cant sleep after that...

Hi Kel,

I found the pigeon breast pads at Central Chidlom. It's on sale for 174THB for 60 breastpads. Today's exchange rate is abt 23.5 THB. Works out to abt S$7.40.