(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi Kitsune,

Must have just missed you cos i arrived at TPS at about 1130am =P

ya, re baby weight - dr. loh also measured for me last sat. the machine has that capability cos i saw the weight and measurements printed on the photo that he gave me.

hi jeannie, welcome!!
my EDD used to be around 24th, then it got moved to 9th. maybe cos baby growing very fast - @25 weeks, baby weighs in at 1055g and mummy is +8kg =) dr. loh says baby's weight is good and mummy's weight gain is not too much.

ya man...some more girl girl leh =P funny thing is - i haven't been eating well, weight gain is considered normal considering i was below BMI before preggie, and i never bu3 (take tonics or soups).

i commented baby big, but dr. loh said it's ok - good weight. didn't ask me to control eating.

no leh hubby is not big (about 1.72m at 70kg). but his dad and mum are very tall and big. maybe the genes skip one generation, then i peng sun =P

Hi Jeannie, I'm on 24 Feb too. EDD remained the same since beginning. I've put on 10 kg (64.5 kg) so far. Baby is over 700 grams only. Wonder where the rest of the weight is going!!!

Getting worried that I'm putting on too much. The rest of ladies here must be petite. Gynae said to cut down carbo and eat more protein.

Garfield, my girl is also in vertical position - standing up. She keeps kicking my bladder. But luckily her kicks are not so strong yet.

Jeanie,
My EDD is 25Feb just a day later than yours, at TMC too. I gained 6.0kg, baby was 650g on week24.

Cheryl,
I din know EDD date will change leh... I thot it is the same till birth. If that is the case, I prefer 7th Feb cos it is my sister birthday. next time can celebrate together. Hahahah...

Hey bkkgal,
My baby also vertical position. The feeling is funny when she is kicking. Sometime, I got this imagination that her legs will stick our on my womb. Kekekek...

Dorothy,
So you bought directly from the desitin link? How is the shipping like? Which one did you bought? Original or creamy?

Kitsune,
wow... i dun think Dr loh will see u loh... cos not right ma...

bluegin
that link is from drugstore... i cant rem leh... maybe abt $3-4 sgd... i bought original... u can go to the overseas spree n look out for those spree under drugstore... n post yr order... let me know if u need help...

chest tightness/breathless..
gals, do u experience this? i had this attack on sun early morning... i thought of having heartattack...sat night, i ate 2 donuts n then on sun morning, i ate another 2 donuts n had this feeling again...din go A&E as i dun doc there...

blueginger.

tat wat i tot also.. but my EDD from 25 feb change to 24 feb den to 22 feb den to 19 feb den to 14feb..... so confusing.. my fren ask me to follow the detail scan de

oh ya. we went the philip parenting talk last sat, and the bag got free brestfeeding book, any1 wan???? cos i already have it, cos i applied the first born incentive in tmc and it comes with it....

I only attended the morning session of the joyful parenting talk. It is a brief introduction to sleeping pattern and massage.
After the live demo, I think massaging is good for baby. But like dorothy had said, it is not good enough. So will probably attend a maasage lesson after my baby born. then we have a live model. Dorothy let me know when you are into it. But I think u will be earlier.

Dorothy,
Stop taking donuts and see how things go. If still not feeling well, better see your gynae.

Anybody know if pregnant can go dental? cos my colleague said cannot, becos of the high pitch drill use. will it affect baby?

Re: bb monitor

any good recommendation on whcih brand? Avent's one selling at 249 before discuont

Artemis- thanks for the breakdown of prices!

garfield, wow your bb is big! at 26wk my bb only 883ghehe

Dor- breathless is common and sometimes when you broke into cold sweats it's due to low blood pressure, which is normal too according to doc - cuz i asked before =P sometimes might be heartburn too right?

blueginger, not sure preggie can go dental or not.. why not call up the dentist and ask? but i read before that it's ok to go dentist for checkup especially a lot of preggies will have weak gum and bleed.

Re:Donut - i managed to finally try donuts from donut factory, which is at novena square. the size is so tiny!! as compared to dunkin donuts. I think the donuts is quite nice but personally still prefer dunkin. hubby said not nice and luckily there's no queue..

My EDD is on 8th Feb. BB's weight on 25weeks is 752g. Blueginger, i think going to dental is not a good idea. Maybe can do it later after your labour ;)

I m going to kiddy palace to get the bb's cot. Was thinking to get the fabric type instead of the wood type... Coz easy to move/ travel ard. Any comment on it?

RE: joyful parenting

i attended 2nd session with snowbelle on breastfeeding and baby bath live demo. I find that it's very fruitful in fact! maybe i'm first time mummy so a lot of things i dunno keke..

there were many mummies raising qns, i will share with u all here tomorrow cuz i forgot to bring my notes.

interesting showcase on the stage was where the bb boy pee like a fountain when mrs wong had cleaned him bum and gonig to wear nappies for him!! so funny and so cute and everyone burst into laughter ahha

cheryl/bluegin,
thanks... will continue to monitor...somemore last night, i ate drunken prawn and also crab with roe... high in colest....

bb massage
bluegin, i keen.. i think kkh has classes for that... tmc also... u on? if yes, i jio u... u planning to do it during confinement or after?

dentist
bluegin, depend on what u plan to go... if just polishing, should be ok.... others... better check with the clinic...

dorothy,
drunken prawn mayb not so suitable. just monitor for a while. See how things go.

bb massage:
I think TMC have. I like Mrs BB Wong demo. heee. So lively. Yap! I'm in.

dentist:
I kinda like have weak gum recently. THink better check it out. If nothing, then will not do any polishing. Cos it is not good for your teeth.

blueginger
last time i went to dentist for check up when i was pregnant. think i went when i was abt 7 mths. me too want to visit dentist now. forgot to check with gynae (last sat) whether it's ok.

Wow.. it seems a lot of pp EDD on 24th Feb..so coincidence...

Blue ginger, my baby is abt the same as yours, 660 g at 24 weeks.

Garfield... Your Baby is big! : ) Growing very fast..hehe.

Any TMC mothers signed up for the parent craft lessons? mine will be starting on 19th Nov. For other mothers think you all can sign up for the antenatal classes at TMC as well. Total of 6 lessons. Teach you to do exercises and how to breastfeed and stuffs...

Blueginger.. we can meet each other at Thomson if we really deliver on our EDD leh. hehe

Dear pp, have you all decided whether you all gonna take epidural.. i think i more less confirm.. not sure how painful it will be but dun think i can tahan lah.

Jeannie,
SO you are safe, my gynae said baby in average range. Now only Week25, u visit gynae weekly? Otherwise how you know baby wt?
I din attend antenatal class though. However, other MTB in this thread do.

hahaha. Yalor. can meet and chat huh?
I wanna try natual without epidural, kinda scare after many feedback on the side-effect of epidural.

just to know for those who are attending the pre-natal course in TMC, did you receive any confirmation that they received your cheque? Because they told me they would send me some course information when they received my cheque (cheque sent almost a month), my course suppose to start in 2 weeks time. hm..

RE: playmat

The playmat crinkles when the baby moves on it and has some parts that squeaks when pressed. It is a little small, just enough for a young baby to roll around in. I think can place the baby there after 1 month when they are not so easily startled and wants to explore their environment more. Will try to take a picture soon and upload it. Weekdays a little busy.

Hi goodbabyb,

For the booster seat, I think it depends on individual baby when they would be able to sit up to eat. My HB bought that cause the lady at Kidzloft told him only have 50% sale once every 2 - 3 years. (Not sure how true that is)

The stay in place pillow would not interfere with the baby's sleeping. It is basically 2 bolsters connected by a cloth and you put the baby in between to keep him/her sleeping in position.

Hi tongtong,

You are welcome.

Jeannie,
SO you are safe, my gynae said baby in average range. Now only Week25, u visit gynae weekly? Otherwise how you know baby wt?
I din attend antenatal class though. However, other MTB in this thread do.

hahaha. Yalor. can meet and chat huh?
I wanna try natual without epidural, kinda scare after many feedback on the side-effect of epidural.

Stephie,
Yalor. I can call my gynae to check.

tong, jeannie,
ya lor i oso think my baby is very big =P i think she's the only one above 1kg the rest all are a few hundred grams only

maybe cos i can only eat very little, so my diet is mainly proteins instead of carbo. so baby getting more nutrients?? dunno also. or as cheryl says - could be genes lor =P hope she doesn't grow too big though else i will have difficult time during delivery.

dor, bluegin,
i want to attend bb massage too.

re dental
i think can, but must tell dentist before hand that you pregnant. X-rays are a no no, and certain medication also must avoid. but for routine check up it's ok.

Hi, Dor. After Dr Loh refused to see me, my hubby asked me whether I want to go private gynae for a scan but I heart pain cos private cannot claim back from company leh. :p

Hello Artemis

i just called - they still have not received my cheque, hmm..ask me then to pay on the day itself. By the way, where do we report for the pre-natal classes? i forgot to ask where and which level, cos i don't deliver in TMC. Any clue for this blur mummy..hee..

Hi JacJac

Mine is 2 days after yours..my EDD is 26 Feb. Today will be going to see my doc again..wonder if there will be any chnanges...can't wait to see baby.

Hi Starry

I also have the same question as you. My antenatal class with Mrs Wong will start 24 Nov, but I've not received any confirmation about the cheque I sent 2 weeks back.

I guess I missed all the sales this weekend. Too tired to go after sales already coz there have been sales after sales the past 2 months..but still got quite a few things haven't buy. Now waiting for a kiddy palace sale. Anyone hear of any coming up?

Hi Bluegin...are there are alot of side effects with epidural? Now me also start thinking about epidural and labour...dunno what are the pros and cons of epidural leh? Do most mummies go for epidural?

Hello SweetPea

my course also on 24th nov (2-4pm)

Hopefully the slot is reserved for me even though i haven't pay yet - heh..no assurance when i don't receive any confirmation. cheque is hubby sent in one - could be he blur blur duno send the cheque to where liao..sigh..

hi ladies...

Starry70,
yes u can call up TMC to check. they sent the class information to my old address instead of the new one. I called and they re-sent to me. It should be a brochure and the class time table.

Desitin cream
Dorothy and blueginger, I have not visited the website/link dorothy put up..yesterday i went to guardian and asked for Desitin. Apparently Desitin original will be displayed on the shelves while Desitin Creamy with Aloe Vera is placed behind the pharmist's counter due to some regulations...but still can be bought without prescription. The Guardian outlet i went to was out of stock for Desitin Orginal but Desitin Creamy was selling for $12+ for 57g. The pharmist said Desitin Orginal is $16+ but bigger size but she couldn't remember off-hand the actual size.

Avent parenting talk
i found the talk so-so...maybe becos i was having heachache and very tired as i couldn't sleep the night before. but quite fun to see the live demo lah.

Protein vs. Carbo
Does eating more protein will cause the baby to be bigger? mine is 732g at 25weeks. maybe i should try to take more protein...but really takes effort cos this pregnancy i really crave for pure carbo over any other food available...

does heavier bb=earlier delivery date?

Eliaw, dun worry too much okie!

i just called- they won't send me any course information cos they din receive my cheque - duh, but when i offered to go down and pay, they say no need..duh duh.. :X

any mummies who has any clue where to attend the pre-natal course at TMC or what do i need to prepare - pls let me know..

with regards to bb powder, my friend told me it may be the cause of cradle cap for babies, as the fine powder settles on the baby's head, and eventually form cradle cap - duno how true, have not read anything about this yet..

bluegin/garfield
ok.. will keep u in the loop... most prob in mar after bluegin confinement...

garfield
thanks for the no... wanted to bring forward my appt to this week as i really veri breathless...
but dr loh is fully booked this week... so got to go slow til next fri....

Desitin cream
piglettail, i dun know what is the weight of the one i bought...

Avent parenting talk
haha... i had backache from that few hours of sitting... was complaining to cheryl abt the seat....

does heavier bb=earlier delivery date?
dun think so... but i think it will somehow affect the choice of birth to certain degree....

hi dor,
last time i had diarrhea and cramps, so went to 24hr clinic where they have specialist and MO on duty. they refused to let a specialist attend to me and only allowed MO. among other things, difference is that specialist can scan but MO cannot. i said insisted on scanning to make sure baby is ok. so they called dr. loh and slotted me into his diary for the day.

re heavy baby
for my two colleagues, whose babies were estimated at 3+kg @37weeks, both were induced for early labour cos their gynaes projected that the baby would hit 4kg @40weeks and too big to deliver naturally.

i didn't take epidural last time. hope don't need to take this time too. my friend had quite bad side effect both times she took epidural. had fever and was vomitting. but some others don't have. so it really depends on individuals

dorothy
me too sit until my buttock very painful after the talk. :p

have you tried desitin creamy before? what makes you prefer the original?