(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

mummies, does your tummy have aches? Like due to weight of tummy, the weight of gravity seems to causing the ache on the tummy...hmm..

hi blueginger,

thanks for the tip! oh yes now i remember u mentioned drinking cranberry juice before. will get some when i go supermarket these two days.

I haven't gone for the breast pump demo...below are the details:

Breastfeeding Mothers' Support Group
96 Waterloo Street, SCWO Centre #02-04
S187967
Tel: 6337 0508
Email: [email protected]
Hours: Mon & Wed 9am-5pm
Fri 9am-2pm

They advised us to call to make arrangements prior to going down so to be sure they are in.

Do update us on the demo okie? so far i have heard two good reviews about Medela eletric pumps but it's also the most expensive...

RE: water retention

I am also starting to have a bit of water retention. Mainly on my legs and feet with a bit on my fingers. Gettig my HB to massage my legs for me at night. I heard it helps. Drink at least 6 - 8 glasses of water a day, control salt intake, take moderate walks (read: do not strain), prop up legs when resting and if sitting for long periods are recommended. Unfortunately, there is nothing at my cubicle that I can prop my feet on. :p

RE: aches

I have aches on my back, feet, legs and hips. But I think it is supposed to be normal given the additional weight we are carrying plus the loosening of our ligaments to aid labour.

I'm a 2nd time mum.... now expecting my 2nd son.

EDD: 21st Feb
Gynea: Dr Jocelyn Wong

Hope to join in your discussion

Drinking lots of water helps (but not b4 bedtime) to reduce the water retention also. When sitting down in my office, some nice soul gave me a stool to prop up my legs ..so nowadays i look v chor lor when in my cubicle.... haha. oh yah, water retention in my fingers also quite bad, can't bend them at all when i just wake up in the morning, have to do the twinkle twinkle little stars exercise for 1 to 2 minutes.

also having lower backache, guess have to walk slowly.

Swelling

Actually now that I read the forum... noticed that my legs resemble pig's throtters. Not sure whether it is due to water retention or weight gain... either or, not very sightly leh. And they look reddish... I wonder why? Walk too much???

hi emoments, welcome!!!

fairfield, i drink abt 2 ltr of water(plain water) a day... i dun know whether is it normal....

swelling
moi_dar, mine also start to swell... like elephant's leg.... so now i try not to wear skirt that often... walking will lead to that??? cos now i started to walk home from kembagan mrt..abt 20min walking...

Hi Yen,

Will try to find a spare box. My company is pretty big on recycling. So the empty boxes go weekly to a recycler.

Hi emoments,

Welcome

Hi moi_dar, dorothy,

It is not advisable to walk too much. Once you feel the strain on your legs/feet should stop. I noticed that my swelling was especially bad after I spent an hour window shopping with my HB. :p

Hi fairfield, dorothy,

6 - 8 glasses is actually about 2 litres of water.

hi fairfield,
i think 1.5l is normal.

i read that the trick is to sip constantly, and not gulp down one cup of water at a time cos the latter method causes water retention.

robinsons having a storewide 15% this weekend too!

water retention very headache. i find that not walking makes it worse, but too much walking also makes it worse. so need to figure out the optimal amount of walking hee hee

morning ladies...

this morning i woke up with a craving for you tiao...all i could think of was you tiao..had it for breakfast! haha!

water retention
my office table is a glass table where the area below is totally exposed, further more im facing another colleague and the door. must look for a not 'unslightly' way to prop up my legs...

oh no...all my preggy clothes are short dresses--above knee...cos somehow i feel uncomfortable in pants. (feels like my bum is growing every minute!) hope my water retention will go away or stabilize.

i used to drink 1L of water in the day, now trying to remind myself to drink 1.5L. hardly drink when i get back at night it'll be bedtime shortly after dinner and i want to avoid multiple trips to the toilet. ;p

welcome all the ladies who just joined the forum thread

artemissoh, really huh...i still thought good lah to exercise since i have not being doing any exercise since preggie... ok ok... will slow down a bit....

i think i drink less den 1litre a day leh... die... tonite is my check up... my boy is not moving as much as last few days... sometime no movement 1, so worry... tml on leave

garfield, the 15% disc for robinson is for card member only or public?

when u seeing dr loh huh? me seeing him tomorrow!!!!

moi_dar,
Walking too much will only have spider-like veins.

Before this we were mentioning abt strengthening the pelvis floor so that you won't lack stream of urine on your panty.
The excerise is as follows:
Practise this excerise at least 3 or 4times per day. Once you learned it, you can do it anytime, anywhere, lying down, sitting or standing.
Knowing how to relax these muscles can reduce teh risk of tearin gby easing the pasaage of the baby through the pelvis.

First lie on your back with your knee bent & your feet flat on the floor. Now tighten the muscles, squeezing as if stopping a stream of urine. Imagine you are trying to pull something into your vagina, drawing it in slightly, then pausing, then pulling until you can go no further. Hold for a moment, then go gradually. Repeat 10 times.

I have 2 Jack Russells at home who have been with me for 5 and 4 years respectively. However, since I got pregnant, I have been lazy at doing the household chores. My HB was saying that the house very dirty cause of the doggies and wants me to give them away (he doesn't really like doggies around). My parents in law agree saying that dog fur not good for baby. <sigh> Really headache. No energy to argue with them and some part of me agree with them that doggies may have a better life with someone else. Cause Jack Russells need a lot of exercise. Not sure what I should do.

Hi Garfield and all..aches and pains increasingly creeping in especially after I wake up. I'm not sure if you ladies get cramps but there were several occasions these few weeks that I experience very painful cramps from my back all the way to half my belly..ow..coulnd't move at all. Then last night at 4.30am woke up squeling in pain coz of leg cramps..even now cannot walk properly! Wonder why. I think its bad blood circulation.

How do you ladies lie when you sleep?

Hi Cheryl
Haha..my hubby was quite tickled when he came back from work and couldn't feel baby move, so he poked him and baby kicked! So bad..

Tell them that if they are sent to SPCA which is usually overcrowded, the dogs will be put to death. Furthermore, you nv know if your dogs will be well-treated by new owners.
My MIL oso have that thought when I'm pregnant. But after we told her the ending of our doggies, she dropped the thought. I still walk the dogs, it is a good form of excerises for you too. Take very slow walk loh. Take turn to walk the dogs. You are lucky to have Jack Russells (small dogs), mine is 2 collies. Still pose danger to me when they are crazily mad with cats. Siao liao. Heheeheh. Stay positive.
Even though the house might be messy, they still bring good memory to you. I will have a safety gate or door after my baby arrival.

hi artemis,
i agree with blueginger. i think children who grow up with pets tend to be more animal loving and not screeeeeeeeeeam at the sight of animals.

and i know of many friends whose dogs are fiercely protective of young babies / kids. i think the bonding will be fantastic!!

plus jack russells don't have much fur to begin with lah =P

I did mention that dogs who are not adopted by SPCA would be put to death. My parents in law then suggested getting other people to adopt. But JRT need very patient people cause they can get crazy if not exercised to their satisfaction. Last time, after work, would bring them down stairs in the evening and let them run around in the field unleashed. I would run with them too. But now a bit difficult and HB not interested in running after their ball if they can't find in the grass (sometimes they a bit cock eyed)

I would really like to keep them around cause they are good with kids (not snappish at all and likes to lick children). HB is not helping to clean the house to make his point. Sometimes, I so angry at him.

but jack russel can drop fur.... those short fur doggie are those that can drop fur quite alot. my jack russel drop alot of fur especially after she sit on a sofa... after she goes of, the sofa full of her fur... lol....

i have 1 schnauzer now at home. so far so good. she dun drop fur

oops...didn't know jack russell can drop fur!!

actually can still have exercise even with baby. take it as post delivery weight loss program. bring baby out in pram together with dogs = )

guess it's how to cope with JR's exercise while you are pregnant.

hubby don't love dogs?

haha, short coat ma. so their fur kind of like cats loh. actually can bring dog to the park den treat it like an exercise loh. but i nvr do that too tired

hi all...

artemis, is a part-time maid (those hourly charge type) an option for u? with the extra household help you could rest, keep the dogs and have the house cleaned.

sleeping
i have been having difficulty getting a good night's sleep eversince i am pregnant. either lots of dreams or not comfortable position..have tried lying on my sides,on my back..doesn't really work.

cramps
i often get calf and toe cramps..embarressing and painful cos it usually happens out of the blue esp when when im outside and walking.

hi..

any ladies have gone for pre natal massages? my back is killing me...

i heard of massage ladies who come to our house but will prefer gg to their place or shop instead.

does any one have any recomendations?

hey dorothy,
sorry didn't see your question =P

i made a mistake. it's 15% for marks and spencer (for members only).

there is a 20% off robinsons but only toiletries and health supplements.

He likes the play but not the work... So normally I am the one who cleans up, feeds and bathes the doggies. Just that now pregnant, can't really bend to pick up their poo and they quite heavy (7 kg) so can't pick them up anymore. HB is making use of this chance to get rid of them so the house not so furry. Yes, Jack Russells do drop a lot of fur.

If I'm too tired to give them enough exercise, they need at least an hour down stairs romping, when they are at home they throw tantrums by marking or pooing where they know they should not. So HB is angry and blames them then nags at me.

Personally, if it was only up to me, there is no way I would give them up. But my mother in law was saying that as I had childhood asthma, it is better not to have any triggering points at home when the baby is here. I told her it is not fair to my doggies to give them up just because baby is coming. Then she asked me "Baby more important or doggies?" I not sure if that is a fair question to ask. HB already starting to ask people to come look at doggies. Heart ache...

Hi piglettail,

I don't think part time maids would help to bathe the doggies. Vaccumming and mopping I can still do cause the vaccum and mop is extendible. The real problem is squatting to pick up their poo and exercising them now.

I go to Rustic Nirvana for the pre natal massages and have signed up for their post natal. But they can be a bit hard sell so beware.

RE: sleeping

I too have been getting a lot of strange dreams while sleeping since I got pregnant and end up sleep like never sleep which adds to my tiredness. Plus I like to sleep on my back but heard not good for the baby so been trying to get used to sleeping on my side.

no i haven't, but i know the mummies in the mar08 thread have already booked theirs!?!? =P

have a recommendation from a friend though, malay lady. haven't checked it out yet

I doing my post natal at Rustic Nirvana. They will also be coming to my house for 5 consecutive days.

<resigned> HB informed me that people will be coming over the weekend to look at my doggies. He reassured me that they are dog lovers and would take good care of them.
Really feel like bashing him up.

artemis - you have friends who can help you look after a few months until you deliver? temporary home or something?

what's the market rate for post natal and how soon after (normal vs c-sectin) do we do it?

i have 1 who charge 380-400 package for 7 days...include 1-2 massage for bb oso
and i have 1 who charge 35 per session..

but mostly charge abt 50 per session.

if normal delivery is 2-3 days after delivery
if c-sect is 2-3 weeks after c-sect.. but some is 6 week after

Any idea on what is the weight for 24weeks baby? I m in my 2nd trimester now, bb alreday 6 mths 1 week+.. and the weight is about 725g.... is that the average weight?

post-natal
i have booked mine at $350 for 7 times....include a bb massage...
the last time, i massaged after 2weeks from my c-section....

garfield, thanks!
when u seeing dr loh?

Hi Hi

I have several items (eg. Ameda Breast Pump, MIM Sarong Sling, Breast Pads, Nappy Liners, Bottles & Teats etc..) available for SALE.

Discounts & free gift provided.

Please refer to below attachment for details:
mime_msexcel.gif
Mummy/Baby Items for Sale
Baby Stuff for Sale.xls (23.0 k)</td></tr></table></center>

Interested buyers may enquire at [email protected]

Springdance

i am new to this forum though had been following this thread for about a month.. I am a first time mother-to-be and the edd of my baby is 26 Feb..
would like to join in the thread...

Have u gals found confinement ladies? Anyone thinking of getting those day-time confinement ladies? i am thinking of getting those day-time ones (from 9 to 6pm) but not sure if it would be very 'siong' taking care of the baby at nite..

How come everybody start aching liao...

I oso have difficulties waking up in the morning due to my hands water retention. I basically roll to my side and push myself up using my arms. You might find it hehpful for u. AS for backache, it is likely due to your incorrect posture. So be aware of your posture.

Where can I look for malay massage lady?