(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hi happybee,
i think gynae will advise you closer to EDD.

usually, if at about 37 weeks baby is of good weight and expected to be "overweight" at 40weeks, doc will suggest that you induce to deliver earlier(natural). that's what happened to my two colleagues last month.

docs normally do not suggest c-section unless absolutely necessary.

hi artemis,

yes i think the fluttering feeling is fetal movement
for me it feels like someone's blowing bubbles or farting inside my tummy.

happybee,
HAHAHAH... LOL
ya... we should. Strange thing is only the right-hand. Left hand no problem, so I thought mayb I work my RH too much. =P

Garfield,
My gynae already told me in week 20 visit that I can go for natural. So I think if your pregnancy are rather smooth for you, you can try natural loh. Unless you dont want to.

Piglettail,
I think you are experiencing your son movement liao. More to come.

tongtong,
I tried it before. Anderson is very nice. I love ice-cream. Yummy. Yummy.

garfield

mine oso like learning judo leh. although not constantly. but everytime kick is outside can feel 1.... den when put hand there, he dun 1 to kick liao

Garfield9,

Yeah, Gaia Products not bad.. My SIL uses the Soothing Lotion on my nephew if he kena rashes @ his bottom.. She says very gd. Much better than the usual commercial product - the pink color cream (Very common 4 bb)

I myself using the Baby Moisturiser.. I trust organic products on my body.

Din knw tat JL has sale on Gaia, shd hv gone 2 purchase..

My HB quite frustrated that I can feel the baby but he can't :p Will it always be so soft? Would be nice for him to feel it too.

Hi cheryl,

Your baby playing catching with you :p

artemis

tat day i ask hb feel and bb kick, hb feel so happy like tat haha. but after tat whenever he kick hb touch, he stop kicking. when hb removes hand there he kick again... lala..

I am going for the Metro infant sale tomorrow to purchase the Capella S321 stroller that comes with the infant car seat. Not sure what else would be worth to buy though. Will update you gals after I have completed my shopping tomorrow.

hi ladies..

i started feeling bb movements most actively between 18-20 weeks, then these two weeks seems to have reduced. dunno y... wonder if he's getting bored of his environment--so bored until dun bother to even move much liao? hmm...

artemis, cheryl, my bb also stops kicking whenever hb wants to feel..guess what i do: i will bend forwards a few times (this will squeeze tummy a bit) and usually bb will kick. haha..whether he's kicking becos he's angry that i squash him i dunno leh..but we adults are being entertained!

Hi tongtong,

I think it depends on how close you are to the parent(s) who invited you bahz. Normally, if I not giving any gifts then $50 for not so close, $80 for colleagues, $100 for close friends. If I buy gift then will reduce by $20 lor.

Piglettail,
Hahah. I do that too. Bend and squash beetaimak sometimes. At this moment, i prefer some kicking. But not when she is bigger at the later stage. When baby is bigger, one stretching act will be very painful for the mother. You might oso see the shape of baby fists or legs from outside your tummy.
Your son very gentle like his mother. Beetaimak is doing somersault in my tummy, even at 3am.

tongtong,
I dun know leh! Usually, I will give gift worth less than $100. Can be a playmat, or steriler. Depends on their needs. Definitely, not baby clothing cos I understand others will give a lot of clothings.

Hi, mummies

What do you think of this BB co-sleeper bassinet? It's good if don't have space for baby cot and facilitates breastfeeding but can only sleep up till 1 year old only. But it's not cheap, top up another $50 can buy a normal cot. Not sure whether it's a good idea.
1026282.jpg

Went to Spring at Ang Mo Kio Hub to get a decent set of maternity clothes for interview tomorrow. Ended up buying several sets, paying $520 in total... :p Think hubby is going to scream when he finds out. But the plus point is that I've got the discount card now he hehe.

Thank you all for the encouragement! The only thing I couldn't believe was when the HR personnel asked the guy at the employment agency whether a teacher knows how to use a PC. Alamak! Do the public really think teachers only knows how to teach and nothing else??? Haha haha...

Garfield,
If you play mj, next time can come over and play liao he he he.

Oh, I know they are having a sales on Raoul Fashion tomorrow at FJ Benjamin building if you gals' hubbies are interested.

Going to orr orr liao. Need to go for the interview early morning. Wish me luck ladies!

piglettail,
ur bb same as mine, was really active the first 3 weeks, then later on slowed down. Now start to become active again.

dunno wants wrong w my connection today, cant go into internet explorer this afternoon, now everything is fine again. almost bored to death doing nothing just now.

help!! my back is hurting. haiz... the pain seems like running from lower back to upper back..

moi_dar

good luck to u... i guess i wan to work temp job too. anyone can recommend?

tong tong,
can consider cash vouchers, like ntuc vouchers, JL, taka, or robinsons voucher etc more practical then gifts cos u do not know what they need. ang pow also can. prob $50-$80.

blueginger
recently can't surf net in office so yday i quickly check out forum and posted before leaving home loh. just like today.

moi_dar
good luck for your interview today!

linda
you may wish to register with employment agencies for the temp job

tongtong
have you received your cheque back from philips? or have your checked if you cheque has been cleared? as i mentioned yday, they cleared my cheque on tue. hence i called them yday to ask if my seats are confirmed, they checked and said yes, confirmed. so funny.

for close friends, usually give ang pows/vouchers ranging from $80 - $100. Else, usually buy gifts below $50.

kitsune
if i were you, will get a cot cos it's more practical in the long run. can use up till 2-3yrs old or even longer (for those type that can be converted to toddler bed kind).

hi kitsune,
if you have space in your room for cot, it's will last you longer like what stephie says. if no space, then you have to decide if you want baby to sleep in your room (esp during the first few months when you are breastfeeding). if the answer is no - then buy a cot and leave it in baby room.

you may want to consider something similar, but instead of free-standing, you place it on your bed. i saw something like that going for about $80+ before discount at taka.

hi moi_dar,
yes one more mj kah kee yeah!!!

Hi kitsune_sg,

A cot is more practical and economical in the long run. I would recommend you to purchase one with wheels then if you are breastfeeding at least can place within your room, then after a certain period and roll out and into your baby's room.

Hi moi_dar,

Good luck.

Hi linda,

You should get your hubby to massage gently for you or try pre-natal massage. You can always call up agencies to look for temp jobs.

Do you gals play mahjong often?

i don't have the luxury of wheeling baby from room to room, cos my apartment is like a maisonette and my master bedroom is upstairs, baby room is downstairs.

so i can either (a) leave baby downstairs in the cot....but night feeds will be a horror or (b) put baby in the room with us, but there is no space for a full size cot - hence the bassinet type of solution to plonk on the bed.

waiting for hand me down cots too hee hee =)

morning ladies,

me got a splitting headache this morning
dunno wat to do...not sure if migraine or what...head feels very heavy. first time i ever had this kind of headache...so pain till i woke up this morning...thinking of going doctor but dunno if it helps or not...my friend is saying could be hormonal...is this normal ?

kitsune,

where did u see that bassinet ? i think i need to go home and measure my room first to see where can put cot nicely...

moi_dar,

good luck for the interview ! hopefully you'll get some good news...

stephie,

i think those avent organisers trying to pull a trick on us issit ? or they are just simply lazy...they call everyone say seat not confirm eventhough we send in cheque already and it's there with them !!

morning gals

ur bb kick u all which part huh?? mine alway kick right side only.... if nt is centre.. nvr left side b4.. so weird ..

Went for my gynae appointment yesterday and my gyane cant even tell me my baby's weight! She gotta look at a chart to determine the average weight for my baby 22wk, seems like her machine is not so up to date! She reviewed my detailed scan report and told us everything's fine which was done earlier on the 19w1d, feeling very happy!

Garfield, will be sending you the list latest by tonight k! Gonna show hubby what I am getting first. Thanks

Cheryl, it all depends which position is your baby at. Mine usually kicks me at the right/left side where her feet are. Sometimes i get knocks near my panty line, which I suppose are her hands, coz my baby's head is down.

morning!!!

cheryl, wow... u travelled so far for supper....

sigh... i had nightmares... cos yest i chanced upon a veri sad blog....

i just pray that all our bbs will be healthy!!!

morning ladies...

good luck for your interview moi_dar!

artemis, heee....was telling hb we both a bit bo-liao to 'squeeze' bb to entertain us, but then it's really fun and hb clearly enjoys it too, haha!

bluginer, sometimes bb will have movement at night (1-2am) too..i will rub the area where i experience the movement and tell bb to stop cos mummy want to sleep. u can try?

cheryl, i can feel my bb movement at various positions.

fairfield, heee..hope my bb becomes active on his own accord again...

dorothy

i go there est dinner lah. cos hb was at kaki bukit ma... like so weird, go there eat den take cab home. abit siao lah

just a dream dun think too much...

hey MTBs, is "LUCKY BABY" stroller good? If compared with "CAPELLA", which 1 is gd, worth 2 buy?

hi andrea,
no prob. let me know if you need more time (no rush actually...except dunno how long the storewide addtional 20% will last).

cheryl, my baby also kick me all over the place. but recently i feel a lot of movement downwards (like against my bladder or something).

cheryl, i see...
thanks... do u gals get mood swing veri easily?
my hubby suspect i got depression

ya, i cried veri easily....
but something in that nightmare made me happy... my ah boy latched on me....

hi dorothy,

yes i also get mood swings...and always i find its my hb that 'upset' me...

not sure if becos im the more emotional sort to begin with plus now preggy hormones..

but usually after a big yelling at him and cry i'll be ok. i learnt to 'speak up' at the instance when small irritating events happen rather than trying to tahan and tahan, cos it all builds up and i will explode with uncontrollable rage.

i think we will get mood swing easily lah. i can lose temper quite easily...
so far still ok, i think my hb is putting up with all my nonsense... but i scare when hb go JAPAN next weekend, i think i sure duno hw... haha...

anyone going to metro sale today? Do share your good buys - maybe will drop by metro tmr..so hungry now..going for lunch soon..yeah..half more day to the weekend...

hi dorothy,

this looks like a 'plastic bag' to store the milk right?

then just put the 'pastic bag' in the bottle for the grip and hold to feed bb? then means no need to wash bottles?

i think one of the mummies in our thread is going....can't remember who though =P

yes, pls share if there are any good buys...thanks!!

i bought DON pie for tea break. yum yum =)

Hi Garfield9,

I see, then you will have to make do with a bassinet I guess. Or if you have space in your bed, you could purchase those cradles that can be placed on the bed which would be much cheaper than a bassinet. I believe I saw a model at Mothercare that's $90.

Hi tute,

It is not unusual to have headaches during pregnancy. You can find more information here:
- http://www.babycenter.com/0_headaches-during-pregnancy_2035.bc?Ad=com.bc.common.AdInfo%4034938403
- http://www.pregnancy-info.net/headache_pregnancy.html
- http://www.drspock.com/article/0,1510,5893,00.html

Take care and rest well.

Hi piglettail,

I have tried squeezing leh but my baby only flutter here and there so my HB cannot feel. I think may have to wait a bit later to see if my baby will kick.

Hi dorothy,

Before I was pregnant, I was already quite high-spirited (read: easily excitable). After... I can only say that lucky my HB understands and puts up with me. Plus, my mother-in-law and my mother both told him many times to tolerate me. :p

For the Playtex bottle liners, will they fit into Avent bottles? Or supposed to pour out afterwards into the bottle? Can the liners be frozen?

Hi starry70,

I will be going to Metro Woodlands after work to take a look. Will update you gals later.

stephie- my cheque not yet cleared, i posted the cheque last Thursday, think they havent sent it back to me.

Re:mood swing
I think i got very upset with hubby and showed him very black face hehe. actually i was very disappointed becuase intially we registered to go avent event together few weeks ago. but yesterday he told me he got to work on that day, i mean if i got my seats in the event then how? when i was told that we have no tix for the event i said" So you are very happy lor since u can go to work now and dont need to accompany me" i still have second event to attend and i told him that i dont need his help to help me carry all the stuff ( if i bot bb stuff there) and i will take taxi back myself!

i know his work is important but i just got upset lor haha. seldom got so emotional one in fact although this is just a very small matter hehe.

moi dar - how's your interview?

cheryl - my bb kicks me all over lor..

hi ladies...

BabyMallOnline
i know this sounds dumb but i can't decide what to do leh..
I have selected a total of 9 pieces of clothes (all 1 piece front button body suits: 4pc 0-3mths; 2pc 3-6mths; 3pc 6-9mths) for the online purchse.

do u ladies think it's too much? so far i have only bought 2 pc of 0-3mth body suits, cos haven't really shopped and also i only wanted the front button types for 0-6mths so haven't found any to date except the two i bought (which was actually a pack)

Not sure of front button clothes can be easily found here? or if i will go into a "traditional shopping" buying frenzy later?

artemis, heee...nvm,your hb sure can feel bb movement in the days to come

erm.. i'm still thinking of the anderson ice cream which i had yesterday.... hiaks hiaks...

does your hubby ask u all what you wanna eat and will buy back home for u?

i just think that my hubby is a super log person. never ask me what i want to eat, seldom talk to bb unless i ask him to, and only talk about his work when he comes back. sianzzzzzzz

Playtex Bottle Liners
this is like a plastic bag to fit into the milkbottle(yes, can fit into avent milk bottles)..after u pumped already, u can just store the breastmilk into this liners n store in the freezer...
when time, to feed baby, u can pour the milk from the liners into milk bottle to warm before going bb...
i calculated one is abt 7cents...so plus our postage maybe 11 cents