(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

aiyo piglettail, take more vitamin C to "ke4" the flu virus hee hee...hope you don't succumb to your boss's flu bug!!

labour cheerleader...haha thought that's hubby's role? =P

just went to BHG, couldn't resist the okunishi rompers going at 2 for $6.90. Ended up buying 4 sets. hee hee....can only buy baby clothes when hubby not around and secretly store away, else sure kena scolding one =P

yeah Garfield, according to Mrs Wong (TMC), she say the role of husband = doula = physical & emotional support! if got extra budget to engage a doula, good la otherwise husband play a very important role as a doula! Doula is not to help us make any decision during delivery, WE are the one who have the final say in what we feel best for baby & the methods of pain relief we want during labour...be it gas/epidural/drug-free!

i thot DOM is to drink during confinement? Maybe 2nd time mummy can advise?
From 20wks onwards, i took double boiled bird nest with rock sugar, rice wine with chicken & black fungus, Qi zhi + Dang Shen Black Chicken Soup

My preggy colleague told me to drink "Shi San Tai Bao" buy the tonic herbs from medical hall & they will teach u how to cook. Good for pregnant mum!

Hi Steph, thanks for sharing!

I told my in law that I cant take alcohol now thus skip DOM during pregnancy! I think its time for me to drink some of those herbal soups.

hi girls,
hope everyone is well..

cheryl, me interested. cos i like the idea of water-birth...

bu
Andrea, i think hor DOM should be taken during confinement leh.. not now... if u need to bu or take tonics.. pls do not over do it.. as this will lead to a big bb...

i currently only take birdnest, baiguoyimi..my mum occasionally brew chicken with ginger juice for me... my mil said dun take too often as bb will be big... later difficult to come ot...

Hi Dorothy, oh so "bu" too often will lead to big baby! Didn't know that though.

Can we actually dont "bu" until we give birth? Confinement then start "bu"....

Andrea,
herbal/tonic soup take once a week, it okay for u & baby. "Moderate" is the word. As pregnancy progress, u monitor baby's size & weight accordingly, if baby too big, gynae will advise u to cut down on certain food intake. Don't worry too much & enjoy your pregnancy

hi Andrea, can bu but dun over do it... cos my mil used to work in chinese med hall... so i think her words can trust loh....

maybe like once a week or fortnightly... cos example, this week, u ate birdnest, then next week u try black chicken... something like that....

BABYMALL ONLINE

for those who are interested to join me, pls send me a PM by END OF TOMORROW? so that i can co-ordinate this via email instead. Thanks!!

clarification - no need to tell me what items you want. i just need a show of hands of who is interested first.

then will advise details later on.

clarification - no need to tell me what items you want. i just need a show of hands of who is interested first.

then will advise details later on.

hi ladies...

my MIL also say i dun need to bu3, since my appetite is quite good. now surpassing hb in rice/noddles consumption...!im a bit worried all the extra calories will go to me leh, but then when im hungry, all i can think of is CARBO CARBO CARBO!!!

i bought a bottle of concentrated birds nest last week from EYS, the sales person advised me to take 2 teaspoon per day, the bottle can last for up to 2 weeks. so have been trying this out..but at same time i got diahorrea too. so dunno if these two are related?

anybody have the same experience as me--eat birds nest and have 'mini diahorrea'?

i wonder if i should get another bottle when i have finished this or should i stop for a week or two before resumming?

eating concentrated birds nest is not as nice as taking a bowl of the home brewed version, it just feels like popping some jelly into my mouth for the sake of it. ;p

Doula
haha..ya i think husband=doula=cheerleader. but then perhaps at that pt of time hb also feel excited/stressed so perhaps we will BOTH need a 3rd party 'cheerleader' support. hehe

er... m i knw wat u all eat for breakfast?? i think i ate too much bread den cause me to gain like 2.5kg recently.. zzz.. total i gained 7kg leh... die

cheryl,

i also take bread for breakfast everyday...this morning i had two slices of gardenia+thick cup of milo..when i reached my office building, i bought another huge 'hongkong polo bun' and finished it by 10am.

been having carbo craving since preggie, now like worse...

piglettail

i oso.. i think i really ate lot of carbo... die.. my boy loves carbo man... i must change it b4 i become a even fatter woman. duh

i have been eating alot of carbo too, i put on 7kg till now too! and my tummy is so big now

almost everyday i still snack on chocolate! bad bad!

piglettail- i did not experience diahorrea with b/n intake wor. i think some people are allergy to b/n, not sure whetehr it leads to diahorrea or not. so now your tummy can be seeen already or not since your appetite so good? hehe

cheryl- 7 kg in total ok la! did you gynae ask u to control? i took bread but holemeal/wholegrain bread for breakfast everyday also. u might wanna substitute white bread or white rice with wholemeal bread/brown rice, then less carbo.

i think i can eat more for dinner, dunno why lunchtime eat little bit the tummy already seems very tight.

u knw wat bread i eat, i eat those bun from bread shop, i guess it is even fattening... my gynae nvr measure my weight 1 leh

cheryl, yea those buns from bread shop very fattening one la. unless you get wholegrain buns, at least not so fattening.

oh i will weigh and take blood pressure everytime i go for checkup leh.

hehe. diff gynae... last time i dun see weight gain so fast, now like so fast.. must the the breads.... must stop buying liao...

hi piglettail,
i also get mini diarrhea with birds' nest. but before preggie never had this problem leh. maybe now body is different

me put on 7kg in total by 23 weeks. but first 4kg was put on during 1st trimester. appetite not good in 2nd trimester. eat for the sake of providing nutrition to baby.

doc never say anything so probably ok.

hi cheryl,
i prepare a wholemeal sandwich everyday with cheese and ham/egg/tuna/turkey breast. i heat up in the microwave about 330pm in the afternoon as a healthier tea time snack. plus cheese provide calcium.

very easy to prepare <5mins in the morning. you may want to consider =)

hi ladies...

cheryl, i also love those buns from bread shop..my office downstairs got already, super duper convenient to go and buy!

tongtong, good idea to buy wholemeal bread! i used to take wholemeal bread b4 preggy, but since my 1st trimester i noticed wholemeal bread/oats caused me to MS hence i stopped. maybe it's time to try it out again.

yes, can see tummy liao, also getting 'fleshy' all over...

for me it depends...if i ate a lot during lunch and afternoon snacks, then will eat 'normal' during dinner...if i didn't eat a lot during lunch, i will eat a lot for dinner and keep snacking on junk food at night...so i think the net food consumption in total is the same everyday.

yes, i think i will stop the b/n for a while and see how...keep running to toilet very troublesome ah.

garfield,
i pass for this round cos i not in the buying mood. u know why....

piglettail
i think u might wan to cut doen from twice a day to once a day or after this bottle, stop for a week to see whether the birdnest is the cause.

cheryl
i too had heavy breakfast... will take bread from home then reach office will eat biscuits n drink mr. bean.
my lunch also veri horrible... now my lunch place is about 10min walk from office... i think after eating my lunch n walk back... i hungry already...

weight gain
during my gal's time, i put on 17kg.... frsttri 1kg each month... 2nd tri to 3tri... the most.. the highest record is 2weeks gained 3kg....durian was the culprit!!!
this time round, so far i only put on 1.5kg(based on week 19) but am veri sure that i put on somemore but i also think i lost some weight too...due to stress

buffet=pig out
cheryl/garfield
what happen to the pig out?

oh ya hor, pig out... next week when u all can?? thu i m cant, gynae appt...

so we will confirm on melt?? or anymore choices?
anyone interested pls add in
1)dorothy
2)garfield
3)cheryl

piglettail, oh i think i snack a lot too after dinner. like yesterday after eating dinner, i had soybean, orange, indian papadam, you tiao and butterfly. dont dare to eat a lot but take little bit little bit from all the food la haha.

dor - wah, now you only gained 1.5kg ah!!

me also been eating a lot - not because i hungry, but because i have this weird feeling in the throat, like food stuck there and want to come out - especially if i eat rice - keep having the rice feeling in the throat. So keep finding food to eat to swallow, only then i don't have that funny feeling in the throat. Now MS stop, but still digestion is a problem..hmm..cannot seem to enjoy after a meal, the burping of food makes me want to vomit..sigh. Its like the stomach got squeeze by the baby,and the food comes up to the throat...argg..

hi dorothy,

thanks for your advise! yeah i will stop the birdsnest for a while a monitor my diahorrea situation.

u sound stressed...try to relax okie? can share with us....

tong, heehee.. that is at week 19... new weight haven take.. my hubby said cos i not that skinny before preggie that why...
tong/piglettail, u then skinny!!!

piglettail,
thanks...

cheryl....ya yummy. try try lah. especially when you put in microwave and the cheese melts...*slurp* satisfy your craving yet healthy

dor, no problem. there's always another time.

buffet on!! but my appetite so small...maybe end up a-la-carte haha

Weight gain:
Only gain 4kg from my first visit to my gynae. Baby is 300g at week20. Gynae said it is normal too. But seem like all of you have been gaining more...
I too eat breads for breakfast leh. I dun take much at night though, esp things like supper. Normal???

This week dun have the mood to eat. see everything oso dull. No interest in doing anything. Is this mood swing or MS?

Dorothy,
how is your new workplace after a week?

Garfield,
I have nothing to buy yet. Husband banned me from buying baby clothings. =(

Not sure if the Metro Infant Sale is only for Metro card members wor. Will check the card again tonight.

I gained 10 kg since start of pregnancy. Not sure if that is too much.

Tonic wise, I taking normal herbal soup every 2 weeks. Can't take bird's nest too cooling for me. Anyway, my HB was saying "What good could swallow's saliva be for the baby?" But everyday I take multi vitamins for general health, calcium for bulding up baby bones and Omega for baby brain and heart development.
My mother-in-law told me not to take DOM wor. Cause alcohol supposed to be not good for baby development right? She advised me to drink only during confinement and even then only at night cause I thinking of breastfeeding.

hi everyone..just wanted to drop by to say hello

so far so good.. no more contractions, but still leaking a bit... going to see gyne tomorrow, hope he has good news

hi blue ginger,
4kg sounds ok. you probably didn't put on any during 1st trimester which is normal.

i put on 7kg and my back is already starting to ache badly. today couldn't tahan had to borrow cushion from my collague in the office. can't imagine if i put on another few kg, my back will break!!

hi patsy!!!

great news!!! so good to hear from you and very happy for you indeed!!!

will be eagerly awaiting your update after gynae visit =)

Hi ppl,

So angry with the Joyful parenting organiser. called them last monday for registration and reservation. They asked me to send in the cheque but they DID NOT mention anything about seats being confirmed upon receiving the cheque. They said, we have reserved your seat just send in the cheque.

I received a call from them yesterday night to say that there is no more vacancy! I was so pissed. I told the lady off. They should have monitor the number of ppl registering for the talk and keep track of the number. Alternatively, they should have mentioned it is based on first come, first serve basis. Then I would be more kiasu and go down personally to hand in the cheque!!!

They apologised and said it was their fault for not monitoring the number of registeration. Haiz! So I can't go for the talk liao. Sorry ppl.

Went for gynae check up today. Sugar in urine seem a bit high but told gynae I just ate at the foodcourt before going to clinic. She said still have to do the blood sugar test at 7th month anyway so booked the test on Sat morning. Asked gynae if I can rebond my hair, she said better don't do cos study (but not very conclusive) said that babies of mummies who rebond, straighten or dye their hair have higher incidence of eczema and asthma. It is thought to be the chemicals being absorbed by the scalp and affecting baby. In fact, she said should not do this until 6 months after delivery cos we may suffer from hair loss after delivery. Looks like I got to put up with my messy wavy hair for a long, long time. :/

Asked gynae if can have BB's weight but she said cannot. Can only give me average weight from 7th month onwards. Think the machine can't measure weight. :p

Went to the Pureen shop, bought 2 packs of Pureen maternity pads for $11 since it was on promotion.

Patsy, hope gynae gives you good news tomorrow.

I eat dong chong cao with black chicken and bird nest with pao sheng once a week. MIL actually wanted me to drink pao sheng alternate days but I have been too busy to remember. I also gained abt 7kg so far already. My gyn says I gain too much in the last month, 3 kg in a month so need to cut down to 2kg per mth. I think i eat too much bread too but cannot control leh. But bb seems to be in a good weight so hubby keep tellng me cannot cut. Think he worry I starve his boy.

Moi dar, I haven send out the cheque yet. Looks like no need to liao since the class is full. Tried to call them for the last one week but there is always no one picking up the phone. Quite piss with it too.

patsy
jia you jia you!

kitsune
goodness.... i just did rebonding last weekend.
hopefully my bb is ok....

patsy,
Waiting for your good news. Chilli padi jia you jiayou.

Kitsune,
That's what I hear too. So no colour hair and no hair teatment for a long long time.

sunny,
What been done cannot be undone. So don't worry too much. Just keep positive thinking. HUG HUg

babyhope

haha. when i tell him i gain 2.5kg for this mth he was asking normal anot? but to me like alot... he say eat less bread :p

bluegin
thanks for yr concern...kind of settle in already... but the walk from mrt to office is a killer...

sunny
dun worried... cos when i has my gal, i also went for colouring... am planning to do rebonding in late dec/early Jan... cos dun think can tahan my curl during confinement....

PAtsy, jiayou!!!
do update us on Sean's growth...

Kitsune
sugar in blood!!! this is my concern also.... my gynae was telling me that he suspect that i am high sugar during my last pregnant.... that's why i curb my craving for durians....