(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

hmm.. not many pple ard today?

xy: erm... not sure abt the pizza, i always ordered pizza hut leh. lol.. lazy to think. haa~

xiaoyun, we usually order spizza, its alot more authentic than the americanised/local versions like pizza hut. http://www.spizza.sg/

dorothy, the fidgets cafe has v limited selection of food, cant think of anything suitable for our bbs. I dont think they'll say anything if you bring bb's food along.

dianA, what sort of balloons? For most latex/mylar balloons, u can get from any party shop, lots to choose from! Off the top of my head, u can find such shops at centrepoint level 5, holland V, vivo level 1 (near giant), great world city level 2, raffles city (level 2 or 3).

cheryl,happy,jass,

thanks for your response.

I originally wanted to try Oishi, but read from other forum that it's not good.
since you tried before and it's good, i can consider trying..

I've checked out Canadian, Sarpino, and Pizza Hut, shortlisted Sarpino as they have some interesting menu.
Looking at the menu and Oishi, it seems pretty interesting too... And the price is more worth it.

ok! i will choose Oishi.

berry,

read about the spizza too.
their pizza looks very delicious. but the price is a bit steep.
is it really that nice? have you tried rocky's pizza before, I need some benchmarking..

eg., if Rocky's pizza is 10 points, Pizza hut will be 8 points.
what do you think about Spizza?

qingling, i got the list from the web, not sure whehter the the outlet still exist. but i hope it does!

artemis, i want HT stuff!!

diana, there were very few occasions only when my bb slept by himself. usually we will give him milk to sleep or rock him or pat him...

yeah... i like to dine in @ spizza. didnt noe tat do delivery. yup quite x i find. but they have such lovely name.

if pizzahut is 8 then spizza will be 10. nv tried rocky's thou.

if i didnt rem wrongly, the crust is thin & flat. not bread like pizza hut.

XY: oh.... it has to b spizza ah! there's one very near our office. we usually order and walk over to collect. you gotta try quinta, yummy !!

Item Name: Quinta
Item Description: Tomato, MoZZarella, Egg, Black Truffle Sauce

i'm drooling now... ;)~~~~~~~~

bbkgal/berry: means i gotta get the balloons and inflat myself ah ? i found balloons at skp too, and one website selling also. but wonder how to inflat with helium n put the ribbon streamers.

tong: sometimes can take up to 1/2hr ~ 45min for my gal to toss n turn until she fall zzz...

sometimes i sing n pat until i fell zzz myself 1st ;p heehee

diana:
party shop @ bugis: my fren was sharing w mi tat she got 10 latex ballon (w helium) @ 10 bucks. nice big round aluminium foil w happy birthday (w helium) @ 9 bucks. she said she spend 29 bucks in total to get a bunch already v nice liao.

the thing is... have to collect on tat day rite.. if not the helium will be gone. dun think i will go so far...

diana
have u thought of renting a helium tank to do it yrself.
cos if u go to shop to do it right, u might have a hard time to transport them to the venue.

re:partyjoy
there is one at parkway.
they are selling 1 latrex balloon at $1(filled)

re:pooh candle
i wan to sell my candle. din use it in the end. anyone interested?

xiaoyun, er I dunno if you want to take my review very seriously cause I am quite a picky eater (hehe, I wonder where my picky DD got her genes frm?? :p ) and I find that pizza hut-type of pizza, its more like fast food on par with macdonald's rather than real pizza? On a scale of 1-10 with 10 being really good authentic italian pizza, I rate pizza hut a 3, rocky's 5 and spizza 6.5. imo lar.

Xiaoyun, hubby and I have been ordering Canadian pizza because he likes the one for one deal lar. Ordered 4 pizzas when his students came over last week, and they polished up 3 out of 4. Going to friend's place for gathering this Sunday, and she also ordering pizza, a bit sian actually. Never tried Rocky before, where is it?

Oh ya, today I tompang a colleague who ordered Happy Bellies cereals from Vita Kids (paragon, 5th floor). Above $140, got free delivery and less 5% discount.

Ling, it's ok. Just checking in case you need it urgently cos this weekend quite busy, no time to go post office. Take your time.

Diana
u can rent helium tank from party joy or can bring the balloons to florist to pump. Thing abt buying ready filled balloons is 1) transport and 2) have to go down on the actual day.

Chawanmushi
let my dd try it tonight at jap restaurant. Wow she LOVES it! after 1 spoon, kept shouting "mum mum!" very loud. I'm gonna make for her from now.

Fidgets food - was also thinking of going on sun for breakfast. looks like better change venue.

Anyone tried Sol Playground Cafe?

bkk,
re:fidgets
will u be there long on sun?
me also thinking of gg on sun but after church.

Chawanmushi
bkk, any recipe to share?

bkkgal, I like chawanmushi too. Ok to let baby take? I've been quite strict with her in terms of outside food cos usually have a lot of seasoning. But now that she's above 1 yr old, wondering if I should be more liberal so that she can share our food.

re: vaccination after 12mths
12mths - chicken pox
15mths - MMR
of cos, there's pneumococcal jabs (above 12 mths - need 3 jabs)

Adult food, we've been giving my baby adult food every now and then like fish, egg and rice. Now, he's rejecting his own porridge !! Only wants milk and adult food with seasoning

Vaccination, I just brought my son for pneumococcal and Hep A jab yesterday. PD said Hep A is lifelong immunization and that babies usually take it well, meaning no fever, so I decided to go ahead. 1 jab on the right thigh 1 jab on the left thigh. PD said pneumococcal jab is the more painful one and may cause fever. My advice is let baby eat more fruits and vegetables few days before letting him take the jab. Pneumococcal is 2 jabs after 1 yo right ?

Buffet catering, mine was from fostre and it was good. The dessert - mango pudding - was a bit soggy cos it wasn't cold enough. Overall, my guests liked it. Price a bit steep cos there is 7% gst.

PD told me i need to go back for 3 visits.
12 mths - Hep A + pneumococcal
15 mths - pneumococcal + MMR
18 mths - Hep A + DPT

I'm not taking the Chicken pox vaccination cos my niece still had the virus from childcare, eventhough she took it.

chic pox jab
it will not totally eliminate chix pox but i heard taken already even if it happen will be mild case

fidget
duno if weekend would be overcrowded though

Another product scandal because unscrupulous, indespicable profiteers. This time 84 nigerian children died after using teething gel that used a cheaper, toxic chemical in place of glycerin.

http://www.nytimes.com/2009/02/07/world/africa/07nigeria.html?ref=world

What will people stoop to just to make $$??? Children should not be the ones to suffer!! This is so sad. coming after the Sanlu milk scandal, I hope that authorities worldwide take on greater vigilance in testing products for children.

Sorry moms, but this just makes me so MAD!!!!! I hope the culprits pay for it.

It just reminds me, at a personal level, to be more careful when selecting foods/products/medicines for our children because you never know what unscrupulous pp out there may do just to gain more profits esp during this global recession. I don't trust our AVA/HSA to conduct indept tests.

Chawanmushi

3 parts stock soup (if i have konbu, i will make dashi stock but if not, i have own chicken stock soup)
1 part egg
sliced shitake mushroom
gingko nut (omit for babies)
chicken breast (small pc)
soy sauce
sake (omit this for babies)
mirin (can use a little, it adds a slightly sweet taste)

stir the egg gently without creating bubbles. add the cool stock soup, soy sauce, mirin to the egg. For bb, i am more conservative, just a tiny drop of soy sauce and mirin. Use argaration (estimate).

Prepare your steamer. Use high heat until water boiling but after you put the chawanmushi to steam, quickly turn the heat to low and steam slowly for 10-15 mins.

Voila, nice and smooth egg custard for your lo!

bkkgal, thanks for the recipe. Sorry, how you make the chicken stock soup? Chicken bones or whole chicken or...? I have mirin, brand new bottle, wanted to experiment cooking jap food but it expired yet cos never cook when preggie and since baby is born. :p

question for those who stop breastfeeding in the past, when do you exactly stop pumping entirely? i only pump once a day with <100ml... wondering if i can stop entirely now...

tute, if u are able to stop for 24 hours without much pain and engorgement, then you may be ready to stop entirely? If not better take it slower?

bkkgal, the last ime I went SOL playground cafe (ard half a year back), I wasnt impressed with their indoor play area (which is the part our bbs can play safely in) because even tho we were there early and were the first customers of the day, the play area was slightly dusty and there were more than 10 strands of stray hair found easily at the small play area. There were also a little patch of black shoe marks IN the no-shoe-allowed play area. It was a monday at 11am+, and it made me think that they didnt bother cleaning the place up properly after the weekend crowd. Alot of the toys were also missing parts and hastily chucked on the shelves messily, not much care taken to clean/arrange them. The small outdoor playground was great for my DD, but more suitable for older and very mobile kids.

But then again, the play area is for free, and the food is not very bad (pretty average, nothing special except that I loved the fried calamari!) so can check it out to see if things are better now.

breakfast- just an idea, turf city is near sixth avenue and there are coffee shops there, also at Gutherie house (the building where cold storage is) there is Simply bread (we lovelovelove their breakfasts!) and coffee bean, can consider gg there for brekkie.

nigeria kids- shucks, I cant imagine the pain of those parents.
There sould be a special kind of hell for people who knowingly hurt kids for profit.

Kitsune
I boil chicken bones with onion and carrots.

Berry
I see SOL not that clean huh. eww! hair and shoe marks.

hb loves fried calamari! (but it's not brekkie food is it?? :p)thanks for the recommendation on brekkie places. Maybe I'll try Simply Bread.

Tute
i'm pumping less than 300ml everyday. Plan to reduce to 200, 100, 50 and then stop. I think if u dun feel engorgement/lumps, can stop liao.

Tute, the KK LC advise that once you pump 30-40ml for that timing can drop that pump.

bkkgal, Are you still latching?
thanks for sharing the stock recipe. What's the amount of the ingredients? Sorry, I don't cook anymore so wondering how much ingredients I need to buy. Don't want to waste cooking too much if only making 3 small cups of chawanmushiWhere did you get chicken bones? No market near my home, only an NTUC.

tute,
i stopped pumping when I only managed to pump out 60ml after like 24hrs. the first few days was a little uncomfortable. then suddenly one day the breasts just felt empty and you will know that there is really no more milk.

pauline, I cook my chicken broth/stock with chicken plus bones (as in not specifically just bones). I boil over low fire on the stove top for 5hours, or in slow cooker on high for 6-8 hours. I only add carrots so that the taste will be less complex and more versatile to use in diff types of recipes. As for the amount of chicken to use, it really depends on how much stock u wanna make, and how concentrated you like/need your stock to be. For me, ideally, the water level should cover around 3/4 of the the chicken when its all done cooking. Any lesser you'll have pretty concentrated stock (which is good, but will yield lesser stock for you) and any more than that the stock wont taste as good (to me lar). Just buy a chopped up chicken, skin it, and give it a try. Cant go too wrong, if you taste the end product and think its too watered down, just simmer till water level decreases and it tastes good.

And to add, If you are using purely bones, you may want to simmer for up to 12 hours with small splash(one tablespoon?) of acid (apple cider vinegar, white vinegar, etc) so as to extract the calcium from the bones into the broth. (Read that acid leaches the calcium from bones into broth, thats how bone broth is supposedly made.) I dont do that usually if I am using mostly flesh cause quite hard for me to find alot of bones. But I've done this quite bit last time, and you cant taste any acidity in the broth by the time its done.

joeey
ya, ya pneumococcal should be 2 jabs after 1 yo. my mistake. sorry :p

re: chicken pox jab
yeah, it's not 100% but like what abc said even if it happens, the case will be mild so that bbs/kids will not suffer that much.

re: Hep A jab
how much is it? nid to take how many times? both my kids not taken yet, maybe i should send them for it.

tute
last time when i had to stop the bm supply, i don't actually pump out. just use hand to squeeze out during bath. just squeeze till you don't fill full (but breast is not empty yet). gradually, the supply will drop (cos it's a signal to the brain that our body don't need that much supply). for your case, i think it's easy to stop totally. just don't pump and follow method above.

WAH!!!

I had a REALLY hard time trying to catch up with all your posts!!!!!

HAPPY LUNAR NEW YEAR TO ALL OF YOU and HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ALL FEB BABIES!!!!

I've been really really really busy with organizing this super big-deal-big-shot meeting (which was last Friday) so have been working round the clock, just breaking to eat/sleep/shit (oops) and look after baby. Moment she sleeps, i go back to work until late at night.

Am glad that those few weeks are over. I haven't taken pictures of her much and even noted down anything. Abit lost now - at what to do with my free time.

But also not much free time cuz my hubby on reservist for 3 weeks and he's on 24-hour shifts so like today, he's gone early morning and back tomorrow. Lucky Ruth has been sleeping for the past hour so i managed to eat some lunch, do some chores and get dwon to surfing abit!

Ruth:
She's about 80cm and 9.5kg now. ALl are estimates. Still on the slender and tall side.

On "good days", she drinks 120-150ml about 4 times.
On "bad days", think only drinks 2 times.

I think she got this whole chinese new year thing going - cuz for the past 1-2 weeks, she never finish the milk one! when I give 120, she will leave 10-20ml for me. WHen i give 150, she will also leave 20-30ml for me. If i give 90ml, she will also leave abit for me!!!

You know chinese say must have leftovers during new year then it's good sign? Doh. Beh tahan her.

SHe's mumbling abit - clearest I've heard is Mum-Mum - Probably refering to food, not me. But i did hear her say "mah-bao-bao" repeatedly once when she was really upset in her walker and wanted me to carry. i damn happy. LOL.

She loves the playground now - especially the slide. But hve to be supervised lah. she will climb up abit and slide down and be damn happy. My dad introduced it to her. heh.

I'm very lucky to have my parents looking after her full time. But i think they really spoil her. sigh.

Food-wise...my mnum objects giving her anything but fish - and only threadfin. Every meal is porridge with threadfin, sometimes added with dried scallop, spinach, carrot, tomato...not all...combinations of it.

eh, gotta run.

hi berry/bkk/bx/stephie,
thanks for the input! tried not pumping since yesterday morning and not feeling engorged/uncomfortable... but feeling a bit hard now so will try to pump and see how much :p

on another note, cayleb started to walk today! well started with 3-4 steps on friday night and today he managed to walk by himself as far as 2m but i think he got overly excited, he kept on walking and stand on his own until he threw up a bit of his dinner... my mom asking me to rub and massage his feet tonight so that his feet is not too tired...he is also better now from his bronchitis though will only know tomorrow morning for sure when we go for checkup...

Tute
way to go Cayleb! good job! I'm sure it's super exciting to see him walk on his own. Hope his bronchitis clears.

Lezy
prob cos Ruth takes alot of solids, that's why she's leaving leftover milk for you.

Berry
good tip. will do that next time when boiling bones. Kitsune, i get my bones from market nearby, dunno abt ntuc :p

didn't get to SOL in the end. went to united square. tried to look for globetrotters cafe and growing up gifted but couldn't find it. somehow the building is so complicated, we kept walking around in circles. give up! globetrotters closed down already is it? it's my first time at united sq. :p

hello mummies - feeling so shaq now..finally party over! now at chalet, going to check out on tue..yea..can enjoy some fun here

my cupcakedivinity cake was nice, just what i wanted

going to zzzz land sooon..super tired..

tute,
wow so exciting! can't wait to see ashlynn start walking. last night ashlynn also showed some progress. she could stand for quite long without support and can even sway abit. when she look down and saw that there was no support, she will quickly squat down. haha... timid gal.

qingling,
i also ordered the cake from cupcakedivinity
and happy 1st bithday to Heidi!

good morning mummies,
tried Oishi pizza in the end due to cost constraint. unfortunately sfigato doesn't deliver to my place.
anyway, the feedback of Oishi is Oishii... :D
tempted to try their unagi next time.

heh heh... celebrated my gal's lunar birthday last night. cooked a mee sua with 2 little bird's egg + minced meat and mushroom. she took a few mouths..
even got a small small cake for her. of course she can't eat them. i will eat it up later today. haha...

today is the lunar calendar wedding anniversary. and 20th will be her ang moh birthday, plus 23rd is our ang moh wedding anniversary, 22nd is our birthday bash.. wa wa wa... such an eventful month. :D

lezy, ruth is tall, my son is only 73 cm, on the 25th to 50th percentile.

stephie, hep A is 2 jabs and each jab cost $80 from my PD.

xiaoyun, wow, you cook bird's eggs, so cute, did u take a photo ? Enjoy all your celebrations this month.

happy birthday to all feb babies :D

tute
congrats!! exciting right? it's like such a major milestone...

berry
thanks for the tips on chicken stock, i would want to cook for bb more, but now that i'm working, i hardly have time...

what's SOL ah?

joeey,
yup. took a pic. only the mee sua. can't make bb pose with it as she will tend to dip her hand inside.

re: chicken pox vaccine
yup. it's not going to eliminate chicken pox. my nephew still got it. but it's a very mild case, don't think he suffer much.
me going to bring her to the vaccine too..

abc,
really? that's good. with further 5% discount some more. not bad. no need to headache after her cereal finishes liao.

I have a 10% vitakids discount card (except f&amp;b, promotional and selected items). Next month, i get 20% discount. Anyone needs to use, let me know.

XY, so cute little eggs! i copy u hor...bday mee sua is a big deal in our family. hehe.