(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

Hi jeannie,

Did not comment cause Danica is still TBF. :p

RE : "cheap" versus "expensive" formula milk

I think price is really relative. As long as baby suitable and getting nutrition from a varied solid diet, does it really matter?

Actually to me all FM is expensive cause now I only waste time expressing, never buy any money for FM. Also good, no need to headache which one Danica will take cause with my luck, I'll probably have to try all before finding a suitable one. :p

RE : Babycenter Spree on toys

I still have about USD50 to go. Anyone else wants to order anything?

jass, u got mail.

potty
i'm also starting to potty train Kate. Everytime she make the "hmmm hmmm" noise, AH! we know it's her way of saying she wants to poo poo.

My prob is, she likes to stand over her potty!! refuse to sit!

i think the baby industry exploits the desire by parents to give the best to our children.

so in all the advertising - they kind of exploit this and make us feel that if we don't buy this or buy that, we are short changing our kids.

to be honest, if i was a millionaire - i would probably succumb also haha...but since i am not, and $$ is limited, i need to sieve out the need to haves from the nice to haves.

eg. researchers tell us that the best play that our babies will have = crawling about freely. but the toy industry tells us that we must have jumperoos and exersaucers. i have to admit i am not immune, so i end up buying loads of toys (probably A LOT MORE if i hadn't read all the research).

potty

when can start 2 train? must our bb be able 2 sit without support then can train? my gal still cant reali sit long.

lezy:
haa~ my matthew will suddenly be v focus, v quiet, have the 'gek' look. v funny. think he kindda of like to poo standing up. quite a few times liao. he was trying to 'gek' when standing, we quickly get the potty and there it is.. poo time!last nite he also like tat. by then we got the potty his poo halfway out. v funny. opps... sorry to describe it.
haaa~ his poo sometimes like 1 roll (like adult one), sometimes like mashy one.

Hilary seems interested in what you are doing.. she has changed quite a bit.. haven "seen" her for so long. How come i fell that she and gwen looks alike??

jeannie,
hee hee...i had the same concern. now my mom lines the potty with plastic bag, so just tie up and throw away.

a bit environmentally unfriendly though.

<font color="blue">I'll close for now...pls advice if any of u want postage...or can u all wait until meet up at bkk's? I'll try to make it there..if not i'll pass to Artemis and she'll pass to u all at the gathering.</font>

MINI-FASHIoNISTA HAIRCLIPS: BP HERE
-------------------------
<u>6 for $21.90 or 12 for $39.90</u>
-->Comes to about <u>$3 / pc</u> instead of $3.90.
<font color="red">(after 1st batch, every hair clip is $3)</font>

-------------------------
1739723.jpg

1.MY036n (jeannie)
2.MY036c (jeannie)
3.MY036L (lezy)
4.MY036F (lezy)
5.MY036F (happymum2b)
6.MY036G (happymum2b)
7. MY036B (Artemis)
8. MY036E (Artemis)
9. MY036H (Artemis)
10 MY036K (Artemis)
11 MY036N (Artemis)
12 MY036J (Artemis)
13. MY036O (Artemis)
14. MY036G (Goodbb)
15. MY036B (Qingling)
16. MY036N (Qingling)
17. MY036H (Qingling)

<u>Other Clips:</u>
1. Jeannie - MY026a ($3.90)

poo cleaning

hw abt pouring water into the potty then throw into toilet bowl &amp; flush away? i tot is this method of cleaning? *scratch head*

jeannie:
erm.. actually i have no idea how my maid wash leh... i presume she use the toilet spray to clean of the main bulk and use toilet brush to remove the rest ba.

gar.. thats a good idea.. finally can use up my small plastic bags from buying those crystal jade and breadtalk.. rather than keeping them at home..

Potty: My potty very obiang one.. is the red one that i got when i got married!! hehe.. orbit hor.,.

i was thinkig of using water also.. but waste money.. think will do that after i finished all my small plastic bags..

jass.. u jia lat lor.. reliant on ur helper liao.. hehe

qingling
thanks =)

jeannie
i find that H and Gwen look alike too, hmm.. i thought i told you before right =P

RE. Potty
I actually line the potty with toilet rolls..after poo then remove and flush away. If she pees + poos, then more messy, haha!

Hi Andrea,

Hillary is adorable! What were you doing that she stared so intently into the camera?

Hi Garfield9,

:p Actually I buy upon request of my mummy. She asked me: "Why always buy clothes never buy toy? Later she very bored ah face the maid whole day! Go buy some age appropriate ones and I will pay for them."

Currently, she has a total of 6 toys (excluding play gym and jumperoo). Personally, I felt it is enough but since Danica shuttles to and from my PILs' place quite often and they have 0 toys there, I thought can buy and migrate some there then my maid won't have to bring here and there.

jass
OK! thanks

artemis
thanks! =)

artemis / jeannie
i was calling out her name in a high pinch tone then she turned her face over and look at me.. she was watching her favourite dvd "elmo's world" so gotta distract her.

re: potty
so many babies on potty liao.
ashlynn never give any cue when she wants to poo. it's usually much later then i realise she pooed. she can crawl and poo at the same time.

artemis,
i am a very middle ground person and feel that extremes in life are never good. so i wouldn't want too many toys but i won't go the other end and say no toys at all.

sometimes, we need props to interact with our babies, or we need "time out" and the toys are good distractions for our babies. but it should not be a convenient replacement of our attention. there is a litany of research on how the best ways for a baby to learn are all FOC.

commercialism, however, has made parents who may not be able to afford fancy toys / activities / lessons feel that they are not giving their babies a head start or the best in life. that is so not true lor.

my cousin who is 3-4 yrs old is still using diaper... so my mum wanna mi to start him on nappy... say easier to train. dunno how true thou. started abt 2 weeks liao. hahah no diff.. just tat he will cry when nappy is wet.

jass
my girl was no clothes nappies too. still she only did away with diaper in the day time when she's 2 yrs plus (also becos we didn't train her till she's more dong shi) :p. nite time still wearing as me very scared to train her cos of phobia of bed wetting.

jass
my girl was on clothes nappies too. still she only did away with diaper in the day time when she's 2 yrs plus (also becos we didn't train her till she's more dong shi) :p. nite time still wearing as me very scared to train her cos of phobia of bed wetting.

been too busy to check the forum, plus the posts are going at break neck speed :p

potty:
my MIL started my nephew on the toilet bowl at abt 15 months, but i was wondering if it could be started earlier, so it's good to know some of you already tried!

my MIL uses the toilet bowl with a seat rather than the potty cos she said train to use potty then must train to use the main seat, but i'm not entirely convinced, cos that means that they have to be accompanied till they're like 3Y? 4Y? otherwise they might fall off, whereas potty more "safe". hmm...

jeannie
yday i brought E to fidgets, he was the smallest bb there, and there were a few ang moh kids who were q rowdy and he was so frightened he cried! if u remember at the gathering at your house he also cling a lot to me, but not so bad cos bbs not THAT much bigger than him. guess i have to bring him out more and go to more gatherings so he gets more used to other bbs

iso..ya i believe we need to 'train' one.

for ruth she's ok to 'see' other people n children n babies, but we must be around. they cannot carry her. and not too rowdy. she will also cry if ppl get rowdy i think.

but i find that she's very smiley and love ppl. cuz everytime i bring her out (assuming she's well-fed, well-rested and generally needs all well-met), she will be very happy, smile at all strangers.

Perhaps can train, perhaps not. My mum say depends on baby character.

there was once ruth downstairs and another 'granny' was trying to make her grandchild laugh .. end up that grandchild never laugh, but ruth (as a on-looker) started laughing.

must teach her some manners...

Isetan Private Sale tm... any one going? wanna buy toys for matt.. many brands (FP, Leapfrog...)selling @ discount of 20% + 10%

Hi Garfield9,

I not into the idea of getting loads of toys cause Danica's room is pretty packed as it is. (My HB still have some stuff that he is putting in her room for storage.)

RE : Toys

How many is too many in your opinion, gals?

RE : potty

I bought Danica a musical potty the other time at the Taka Baby Fair. Haven't used yet though cause she cannot sit upright for very long. The thought of her toppling over on it is just too disgusting for me to try. :p

RE : Babycenter Spree on toys

You gals can get other stuff, not only toys. Can please assist so that I will not overspend again? :p

artemis,
LOL...too many in my humble opinion is when you look at a toy and think "oh, i didn't know i had bought this!"

entirely subjective hee hee

Do we have enough among us to start a toy rotation club? Like that no need to rent liao hehe

Musical potty ? Can be distracting no?

re: toys
erm.. difficult to quantify. but children will need different toys @ different age range. thus i tend to buy 1-2 @ a time (bigger items lah). rattles / rubber duckie i didnt take them into considerations lah. haha~ so far, i have got quite a few toys those that I bought but not suitable yet, hence i wont give it to him yet.

Hi Garfield9,

Lol... I definitely don't have that problem yet. :p

RE : musical potty

It supposedly rewards with music once the baby successfully "goes" on it. Volume can be adjusted, the seat can take out and next time use on adult seat. The container can be taken out to wash and when it is closed can be used as a step stool. :p 3-in-1. I thought it was a good buy.

re: toys
artemis,
how many is many?

for me, i would only get 1 (max 2 cos need to leave tham at my PIL's place) toy from the similar group/fuction.

here's the grouping of the toy so far:
(1) basic toy (e.g., rattle)
(2) soft toy (although i've a full cupboard of it, i try not to introduce to her as long as possible as i am afraid of dust mite)
(3) exploration toy: toys that can stimulate sensors, language, etc.

i'm now still keeping the number of her toys to 2 rattles, 2 blocks, 1 cups, 1 discovery ball and the 1 coming exploration station. hehe...

in fact, there are quite a number of things that can be used as toys for babies such as plastic containers. my nieces likes them a lot. just make sure that they don't have sharp edges and cleaned properly.

Hi jass1408,

Hahaha... Thanks for the "approval". :p

Hi Xiao Yun,

Currently, Danica has 2 rattles (1 hard and 1 soft), 1 soft ball, 1 monkey plushie, 1 leapfrog singing cube and 1 LaMaze hanging toy for stroller or car seat. So the granny complaining say I deprive her.

wow.. tis thread is so active today.. was very busy at work today.. still trying to catch up with all the posts....

jeannie,
i hv no idea where she caught it from.. maybe she is just more sensitive &amp; vulnerable to virus..

re: loose stools
shortly after we switched erlene to the stage 2 FM (enfapro), she was like poo-ing 3-4 times a day (her usual was 1-2 times).
her stools r very soft &amp; mashy &amp; watery, almost like diarrhea.. in fact, i think she had diarrhea on a few occasion.. thus, we quickly switched her back to stage 1 FM..
i did called up Mead Johnson and they said that it is normal to hv loose stools in the initial stage after switching becos stage 2 FM contains alot of fibre. but they also said if the loose stools occurred too often, its best to consult PD.
she also advised me to introduce stage 2 to my baby slowly, as in give 1 feed of stage 2 daily consecutively for a week b4 giving 2 feeds of stage 2 &amp; so on.. so we are going real slow... =P

re: potty
wow, so many babies on potty liao..
my 2 yr old son still refuse to use the potty.. :-S

lezy,
re: hair clips
let me know hw much to trsf to u okie.. thks..

Artemis,
i think the amount of toy that Danica has is enough for her.
babies are very simple, most of the time is the adults that worry too much. :p