(2008/02) Feb 2008 MTBs

jeannie - Heidi poos avg 2 times a day, but i think as long as bb doesn't look unhappy, i think 4 times poo a day is still fine right. (not 4 times within a short period like in a morning then its fine, otherwise its diarrhea already) Different bb different mah. Did u ask the PD? Heidi poo also mushy (on enfagrow).

happymum - hope erlene gets well!

socks - so tempted to get the trumpette socks..but it seems like i order a lot of things recently..opps.. :p

bx - 2nd one in rabbit year la..not so soon..but my shields melted when i store them away leh..the plastic turn yellow, oily and sticky..yucks!

dawn

any other place can get the multivits???

although vernon is already taking the childlife colostrum to boost his immune system... i wonder can i let him have the multi vits also?

Crystal.. I agree!!! With the bubbles part.. super darn a lot of bubbles!!! I have to use infacol everytime i make milk for her!!!

But weir hor.. my ger poo 3-4 times on mamil gold while ur ger gets constipated on mamil gold.. so does it cause constipation or diarrhoes effect?? a bit blur..

Ting.. so ur boy drinking similac.. i got 1 sample that i make for my ger yester.. but its like very powdery.. but it definielt dissolves better than mamil gold.

Andrea.. what brand of milk u using??

I wish to share.. but i really have A LOT of socks.. just got 4 more pairs from another bP PLus bought 2 TIGHTS for her over the weekends.. SHe got MORE socks than me liao.. amazingly!!! :p

Hi jeannie,

my bb aso on MG2, so far she poo ave once per day, oni occasionally 2 to 3 times. not watery type. quite "beautiful" poo. keke...

i tried on similac stage 1 when newborn, alot of air bubbles & she poo quite often. Conclusion is my gal nt suitable. but then tat was stage 1.

I nt sure abt similac stage 2 though.

crystal

haha. mamil gold full of advertisement... now i see that vernon is taking his nan pro 2 well, i have no intention of switching formula milk....

jeannie
i think it's not good to always adminster infacol ? i dunno if giving gripe water is the same as infacol. cuz i gibe gripe water to cheryl. and YES, mamil powder is almost insoluble! and i still got used spoon to 'beat' the milk powder!!!

LOL andrea, I just realised that no need to share. haha, reading too fast here. Trying to catch work emails, forum thread and FB stuff! too much to digest at one go!

Milk
Yeah I agree with you Crystal. Mamil Gold is hard to dissolve and has lots of bubbles. I used it for Stage 1, my girl constipates easily so now I'm trying similac. But Similac is quite "smelly" leh. I hate the smell! Is Nan smelling? I will go for Nan when similac finishes. Does your bb poo everyday with Nan?

Tute
hehe, good to finally "meet" you online. Actually, finding that I like FB now cos can see profile pics and fit faces to names+nicks so when it's time to finally meet in person, it's actually easier.

Thanks ester for ur info.. so maybe my ger reacts differently.. skali it is because of the infacol???

Andrea.. my doc told me S26 is famous for making babies "chubby" .. is it true??

maybe i should try nan pro 2 also..

but like what qingling says.. gwen is still relatively happy.. i mean i dun think its diarrhoe.. just thta the bowel movement is a bit too frequent i thot... if like that all the way till she reach toddler.. then very ma fan to potty train.. sigh

bkkgal
yes cheryl poos once everyday and sometimes twice. smell of nan - not smelly lei.

fyi
mamil gold is one of the cheaper milk powder. its only smth like $26 ? nan pro 2 is $29.90 for 900g tin.

S26
yes i heard baby will be 'pong ni' after taking. my cousin-in-law gave this to her baby when she is born quite light. a few mths later, she 'boom' !

jeannie,
re poo, cayleb is on the other spectrum...he's still on tbf and poo irregularly still...varies from once every 1-4 times a day, hardly poo more than once a day...

jass,
i replied your pm
so we order the 12-24 months size?

re:vitamins,
my sister and mom keep asking me to give vitamins to cayleb to boost his appetite, has anyone given vitamins to their babies before ? am wondering if i should go to my pd and ask him...

dawn, the one you mention...does it also help with appetite ?

talk about information sharing.
would like to warn you all about UK Prime Landbanking.
my hb got a call few days ago and the person told him that he's been chosen as 1 of the 5 winner in the recent lucky draw from their survey (yes, he did a simple survey previosly).
the company will give him 8k small plots in the UK and us him to go to their office at Parkway Parade to sign the necessary documents. and he promised that no need to go through lengthy presentation. blah blah blah.

we did a search on scam about this UK Prime Landbanking. there are also people feedback about the similar experience.
according to them, the company will tell them that someone is interested to pay 12k for that piece of land. and requesting a payment of 10% for the documentation of ownership transfer! and the 10% has to be paid immediately with NETS/Cash!!

so, pls be careful...

crystal.. yat i think MG is one of the cheaper FM around.. but hehe.. being a cheapo mummy.. i definitely dun mind the cheap price if its suitable for my ger.

I mean no use buying expensive FM if it makes my ger constipated. So i think most important suitability.. but if the price is also attractive.. hey.. thats an additional bonus!

I think have to try other brands to see lor hor.. thanks for all the mummies input.. really appreciate.. will try similac.. then nan pro 2 to check on her bowel movement.. a bit irritated w the GAZILLIONS of bubbles produced with MG also. :p

Once again.. thanks!!!

hi jeannie,

do you or hubby have frequent bowel movements ? bb would follow a little of daddy n mummy.

my newphew is 18 months and he poos 4 times a day. his body system follows his daddy , who do big business once or twice a day. :p

my bb poos every 2/3 days. his body system follow me , easily constipates one :p

erm.. i 1 time in 2 days.. the father everyday leh.. but never 3-4 times a day.. wah.. so 18 months also like that.. o no.. cant imagine gwen still poos 4 times when she starts to works.. faintz... i will be VERY BUSY...

Dawn
Multivit only sold at KKH? kinda out of the way for me.

Are there any multivits from GNC/Nature's Farm that we can give? Any recommendations?

I saw this Vitamin C drops from Animal Parade @ Vitakids. It's organic I think. Anyone tried? Good or not? Quite ex...$28, am reluctant to buy unless it's very good.

bbkgal
u can try iherb.com
they can ship directly to ur addy..
i bought the childlife colostrum from tis site or $30SGD, gnc is selling $70+

cheryl, tute, bbkgal,

i dunno where else got sell the Rx poly vits, hmmmm maybe u check with your PD when u bring for next check up? or other hospital pharmacy? i know just boost immunity, not sure if increase appetite.

bbkgal, vitakids (the one at vivo) close liow rite? still have other branches?
i looking for it leh.

Jeannie,

Nt 2 say cheapo mummy or not.. definitely we wan the best 4 our bbs... In the 1st place, i was skeptical abt letting my bb drink MG2, cos it's the CHEAPEST. But then my bb sitter's husband used 2 work in those milk formula related industry. He told me he went 2 inspect/see the process of the formula making.. He say all brands are the same. Y some cheap and some more ex? Oni one reason - BRANDING.

But all bbs react differently. Last time my bb drink similac, poos alot whereas my gf's bb (on same formula) constipates!

Being the mummies here, we all wan the best 4 our little darlings. ;)

dawn
vitakids is at Paragon and Forum Galleria. I didn't know vivo got one. hehe, surprised closed down, not enuff "expat moms" there to support it.

Anyone here got the vitakids discount card? everytime they will tell me to spend more than $100 to qualify but my pocket not so deep and oso dun need to get so many things at one go leh..maybe next time we can pool our purchases to get the card, then we can share share ard.

Jeannie,
Ruth is also on Mamil Gold STep 2.

From birth, we bought the DULAC for "standby" since i was intending to breastfeed. That time thought no point buying good milk powder for standby purpose only.

On DULAC (the cheapest of the cheapest), she was ok. So i switch to Mamex Gold. Also ok.

One fine day we were outside and ran out of milk powder..i decided to try Nan. She was cranky and didn't poo i think. I think her tummy not shiok

Then *I* kana scolded for switching.

Have since been on Dumex Mamil Gold Step 2. Also tried Enfapro A+ cuz i had a small trial tin. She was ok. ISOMIL also tried...she also ok. Just NAN not suitable for her.

I hear from experienced parents that FM is really something that's subjective and differs from baby to baby. my personal opinion is try not to follow ppl and then when baby suffer, u feel damn sian.

as for ruth poo....she takes about 2-3 solid meals a day and poos everyday in potty.

usually once a day and quite 'solid'. Only once in awhile she iwll have mushy poo like 1st 3 months like that.

hihi..
rare to see me post in the morning! quick one b4 i leave for work!

re: stools
carter used to poo every morning without fail.. his stools are watery..
since i started cereal, he stopped poo-ing! 1st was 5 days no poo, so we stuck soap up so that he could poo.. 2nd time 1 week no poo.. this time on the 5th day we went to PD, but PD says should be fine.. just wait n see how.. finally, on day 7, we couldn't take it, we inserted a suppository into him.. so poo came out.. 3rd time, still no poo in 1 week.. so we waited and waited, till the 10th day.. Yeah! he pooped by himself!

eversince then, it's been 4-5 days per poo..
quite long right? but think there's nothing to worry about..

loose stools are where the consistency is soft but not watery.

constipation is when stools turn hard.. for most mummies here, your bb's stools should be soft or loose.. if the stools are hard like marbles, then yr bb is suffering from constipation..otherwise no need to worry..

lezy,

wa.. u realli daring wor... let ur darling try so many brands..

Is it nw our bbs r "older" so we can let them try watever brands?

Cos 1 gf of mine let her bb tried alot of brands since born, and end result - he has 2 be on soy formula cos his little tummy kena upset after trying so many samples.. tat wat wat her bb's PD said..

So i become "kia see" mummy, dare nt let my darling try 2 many.. unless she reacts on MG2 (currently she's on MG2), then i would change brand...

lezy, ruth's bowel movement is quite good eh?

how u put her in potty? when she starts to poo, or you put her in potty and wait for her to poo?

Yes DULAC is the cheapest of the cheap. A doctor friend of ours uses DULAC for his baby. The reasoning is all milk powder is the same. Immunofortis, DHA, AHA and goodness what else is just commercial branding.

It's all individual but somehow my hb was sim tia to give the cheapest, so we got mid-range MG to stand-by. It was silly of us cos the stand-by milk used very little and in the end, wasted. I learnt my lesson now.

Am seriously considering stopping BF soon, that's why trying out all the formula to see which one suits her better. Anyone got samples to share with me, will be greatly appreciated.

anyway, regarding MG2 being 'cheap'. i personally think that's quite a _______ comment to make. I can't think of an approopriate word to use.

seems to indicate that expensive FM will produce better babies and those of us using cheaper FM...not giving out babies the best?

hope we can use words more wisely here...

the hospital nurses we asked...all feedback that all FM roughly the same. the difference is not THAT big.

if u think logically...it makes sense. if a product is MUCH more superior...i think you should be paying MUCH more for it. no such thing as additional $5 per tin and u get the world of nutrients in it.

so i'm with esther to opin that FM mostly same..just slight difference of which some more suitablethan others for our delicate babies' tummies.

jeannie
i am not sure if S26 will make babies more chubby or not. i was given the sample sachets so we tried and Hillary likes it, so we just stick to S26...

Anyone? Hmm..like no biz =P

RE. Trumpette Socks (Full Minnie)
Anyone wanna share with me? I ordered 1 box, if no one sharing then i shall take all the colours =P
Got 6 pairs, i can take 3 of them...
1. Andrea - pink
2. Andrea - blue
3. Andrea - purple
4. anyone?? - white
5. anyone?? - green
6. anyone?? - red

Its $5.67 a pair ($34 a box)

Jeannie:
my boy is mainly drinking similac. he seems ok. Used to have constipation when he is using stage 1 thus was very cautious. Required for examples from all brands… realized that he is quite ok with all. Tried similac.. also ok. Since I already bought 6 tins from a friend’s friend whose baby has upgraded to Stage 3, I just continue. Not sure if Stage 2 is better for him or now that he is eating more solids so got ‘fibers’. Maybe he is not drinking breastmilk from me so he is ok liao. As I often get constipation problem too.

Not sure if this is helpful.
you may want to switch to another brand to monitor Gwen’s reaction for a while.

lezy
i dun think it was meant that way. I think we were just saying that MG2 is cheaper (honestly, i dun really know if MG2 is mid-range or cheaper since I never paid much attn to FM until now). Whether cheap or expensive, it's what the parent wants to give their child and no one should dictate that choice.

Sorry if anything I said before had offended anyone. Many apologies!

Esther..no la..
DULAC was at birth...just a small tin. DULAC to MAMEX GOLD i don't quite consider a change..since all still Dumex.

NAN was when she was about 2-3months...

Enfapro A+ was recently..i ran out of FM and had a small tin on standby. Thought try once..if no problem then continue. but i still go back to Mamil Gold STep 2 after that.

ISOMIL was soy-based formula when she's coughing cuz FM seems to make her cough more throaty and worse. I think the soy-based formula (i dunno if got any scientific backing) but just my feel and observation that she dun cough as much.

Now still back to Mamil Gold Step 2.

i try not to be 'too careful'. After all, we were all brought up NOT like this. Sometimes we tend to get carried away with societal expectations etc.

I reiterate. As long as baby is happy, healthy, no need to be overly alarmed. Babies quite simple one. If not feeling well you will surely know. FOr Ruth, she will bawl like being tortured like that...and she will not be so smiley. (like that day at Jeannie's place...she wasn't that happy cuz of teething i think. if not normally she's like this...)
1739530.jpg

(Chey..say until i damn experienced like that...actually me no la...al just my personal opinion in how *I* wanna treat my child. Not imposing on anyone. We all have our own ways/thots.)

Quote from Lezy:

anyway, regarding MG2 being 'cheap'. i personally think that's quite a _______ comment to make. I can't think of an approopriate word to use.

seems to indicate that expensive FM will produce better babies and those of us using cheaper FM...not giving out babies the best?

hope we can use words more wisely here...

I agree with you.. no offence to anyone though..
like what i said.. suitability is the important thing.. if the price is attractive.. its an additional bonus!

bkk..no la..not referring to u.

eliaw...erm...ruth will give us a "look" like...eeee...some very dubious look.

it's my mum who identified this look and will ask her - u want poot poot/ng-ng? then we will immediately put her on potty.

Sometimes she really poo. sometimes she will pee instead. quite funny.

but after she finish poo she will YELL very loud to ask us to remove her from potty.

lezy,
LOL...you sound like my mom!

i was asking her why she let my bb try new foods everyday, must follow 4 day rule.

her reply to me was - aiya last time babies were all brought up this way. also no problem. why nowadays more educated pple all worried about this and worried about that. in hokkien there's a saying chin chye jia chin chye tua

after that conversation - i try to be more laid back and pretty much let my mom do what she wants lor.

lezy.. ruth very advance leh.. on potty liao!! i have to do that 4 times for gwen lor..

Yar.. i think ruth was just not feeling well that day..its ok.. babies have their happy and unhappy days.. cannot always act according to our wishes..

andrea.. so is Hiliary chubby?? :p haven seen her pics for so long.. post here leh...

i guess.. whether the FM is more expensive / cheaper, its really how well our bb can take it. some bb can take the so called 'cheaper' FM, but their tummy cannot tahan the 'richer' FM while others cannot take cheaper ones but grow well with more expensive FM really depends. just like diaper lah...

haha choosing FM hor i feel is like playing tikum game leh. Trial and Error...

actually i was really tempted to continue with DULAC...$10-11 for a tin!

but i caved in to the 'if u can give better..why not'. sometimes i chide myself for 'giving' in to societal pressure to buy more expensive FM.

sigh. we are such worldly creatures...paying ppl like Zoe Tay to tell us certain FM better etc...

Just for the record..i grew up on ISOMIL cuz of allergies. It was expensive for my parents. In the past one tin about $6 i think...n i think it's the small 400g tin. my parents had to order from the medical shop like one carton by one carton...cuz it's not commonly sold in the past.

i think now that we have so many choices, we are really truly in a more blessed state.

ya lor, if can take DULAC why not?

unlike me, bb can only take soy and they all cost $15 / $16 per 400g tin. i want to buy cheap alternative also dun have.

jeannie..it's my mum lor. i told her my cuosin said potty training only for 2-3 years old. she insist she want potty.

since she caregiver...i anything also can lor. why argue with her.

but ruth really will pee n poo in potty so it's not a bad thing.

started out with my mum bringing ruth to sink to pee. following pee, she will wash so that can keep clean...less rashes. i give her diapers, she want to use cloth nappy - say she used to it.

so nowadays at home..i think she will always anticipate her pee/poo timings. i salute her...cuz i know i won't be bothered. that is also why i give her freedom to do whatever she wants. no point quarrelling with her over certain things.

thank God she is also quite receptive to certain things i share with her (from what u mummies share here..) but some she will listen, some she will not. haha

yeah, most important is our darlings grow healthily. i used 2 be worried abt her nt drinking enuff milk. (she still does). Now i tell myself as long as she is active and happy and "grow some ba", i'm alreadi very happy liao. ;)

Gar....ya lah...like i say....sucker mah..wana give the FM companies more money cuz of some stupid unjustifiable feeling that DULAC is short-changing her.

duh. *kok my own head*

but since she on MG 2 for so long already...cuz stick to it lor.

RE. Potty
Hillary is on potty too. without the potty, she doesnt know how to poo out well.. she needs to sit and poo type =S

Jeannie
I am not sure if you consider Hillary chubby or not, show u this mickey pic i took recently. Anyway shes on S26 for less than 1mth, 1feed per day or max 2feeds per day!

She looks like so got moustache!! HAHA, its due to her eczema around her mouth, too much drooling ah!
1739605.jpg