(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

wildberry,
have to key in traditional chinese character inside, cos that is the taiwanese site. :p

cantonese one is here - rough reference - http://zh.wikipedia.org/wiki/%E9%A6%99%E6%B8%AF%E6%94%BF%E5%BA%9C%E7%B2%B5%E8%AA%9E%E6%8B%BC%E9%9F%B3

mylife,
I always had cramps on the left hand side, just below the ribs. doc says becos womb expanding or something like that.

Life is always unpredictable.. don't think too much. Must always think of happy things then we have a smiling happy bb when borned.

thks 4 e link

jacelyn...i think the Malay girl's name is Nina or smtg like dat...forget liao.. :p

Steph..i also bought their package...so as to "remind" myself to do it regularly before delivery! If no package, think one time is about 50/60? Or was it 80? Cant remember...:p Maybe u wan to call them to check? Their number at Raffles is 65332173.

Icy...thanks for the words of comfort. I will TRY not to be so negative...
But the pain i had was really quite intense...and it happened twice..so was a tad worried lo...

mylife,
I think it would be good for you to have a through check with the gynae, at least set ur heart at ease.

I also always tell tell myself to relax relax.. I admit i also get upset especially with hb most of the time. Have to tell myself frowning bb not nice. :p

steph, one time is about $60+. I went honeypot to do and it wasn't as painful as other places that i went. So i told myself that I must do once a month. In the end, I got pregnant and never go back liao coz dunno can do or not. Now cannot tahan it liao.. feel like going back to do... but must face the initial pain again..

oh...already had a very detailed checkup with the gynae in HK. In fact, he was very nice and thorough...explained to me a lot of things to reassure me...even though technically speaking, i am a patient under his care.

Me too get upset with hubby easily. Yah..like u...trying to control and laugh more often.

Hi Mei,

Got your PM, sorry for delayed reply as just got back not too long ago.
I checked with Popular, the most variety of Chinese name books is available at Bras Basah's outlet. They have at least 4 different types, price ranging from $17-$20+++

My Life,
Do not get too worried, yah? We are all in this togther. I understand how you feel. Yah, and it can be worrying if you got sudden pains and bb not moving. Seriously speaking, me have not really felt bb movment a lot up to now. Its really very mild mild kicking for me. SOmetimes, dun know whether me or bb. And even heart beat. Me cant really feel its so visibily. But I wana encouage you all that its normal cos bb is still rather small. Most importantly, during doct scan thats very impt cos for me whenever I go, I will see bb moving very actively and also heart beat can hear throutgh the speakers very loud and visibly. Sometimes we might just be paronoid yah? But we should learn to relax and stay calm so that BB would not be too tensed too. yah? Just have a healthy diet and always love and sayang bb through prayer, communication and stroking. He/She will indeed feel very loved you know & treasure treasure them well

All, Does anyone know of good claypot frog porriage. Me been craving for it a while liaoz. hahaha

Take care

Fern

mylife,

Do take good care of yourself. Can feel your distress even though it's just words here. However, hope you'll feel all our concern over here too. I was also saddened by the lady who lost her baby at 23rd week. Coinicidentally, today is my exact 23rd weeks also. I have such hope to see my baby, love him like no one can love him enough, that I cannot imagine life without him now. It's amazing, is it not? This maternal instincts we feel for something inside us which we have not even seen before.

Some of you ladies mentioned about the dialect name for babies. Can I just check, do we still need to put the dialect name in the birth cert? Or can we just put the han yu pin yin name??

Hi MTBs,

Do you know any website for Teochew dialect?

Yvonne,
I think not necessary to put dialect and hanyu pinyin as my birth cert only has hanyu pinyin.

¼ȡ - $16.05
(Available at Popular Bras Basah, Northpoint)
Ӥüٳ - $16.05
(Available at Bras Basah, Northpoint)
Ϊ - $17.35
(Available at Bras Basah)
йѧ/ձ - $9.50
(Available at Bras Basah, Jurong East)

icy, everytime bb kicks i asked my hubby to come and take a look but when he came bb stop kicking. den he walk away bb start to kick again. haha.... den bb will not happy if papa didn't sayang he/her.

steph, i used to go Ya Hua Ba Ku Teh but have not been there for quite sometime. i like their ba ku teh too... but i found their price getting higher.

Icy, Thanks for all the suggestions and the website.
So Yee stands for Qi in cantonese or is it Kei? Hmm... Kei Wai sounds like K Y, hee. Aiyah, the dialect name thing is so mafan, told hubby why don't we just use Hanyu pinyin like Teo Qihui and save the trouble. At least people will also know how to pronounce her chinese name. But I think he doesn't want to give up so easily. :p

I just went for my first antenatal lesson at KKH today. Nothing much that I don't already know cos they are covering symptoms of pregnancy today, how the body changes etc. Got a goodie bag with the following:
1) A Lucky Baby gift set (consists of 1 baby hair brush, 1 baby comb, 2 bottle brush, 1 set of mittens, 1 baby rattle, 1 set of baby rattle keys, 1 baby cup, 1 baby bowl (with cover), 1 set of baby spoon and fork, 1 pack of cotton bud)
2) Pigeon baby wipe (trial pack, 3 wipes)
3) Pigeon Disposable Breast Pads (2 sample pcs)
4) 2 packs of Anmum samples
5) Huggies Dry (2 pieces, size S)
6) 1 trial pack of Johnsons baby Soothing naturals Wash & Lotion
7) 1 Lactacyd liquid wash (60ml)
8) 1 trial size Bepanthen ointment (breast care & baby care)
9) 1 bottle of Newater

Love the Lucky Baby gift pack, came with an file holder with handle and yellow ribbons.

Yvonne,
Its your choice regarding the names, perhaps some wanna put dialect names to remind their child abt their dialect origins.

violet ice,
I manage to find this teochew dictionary website with sound pronounsation- http://www.mogher.com/index.asp?cat=1 I dunno if this helps.

joyce,
yeap.. it is also the same to my hb.. only 1 time then bb kick where hb is hearing.. just once.. he tried the following day and bb no response at all.

kitsune,
My Yee is for BI saw quite a few hk female artists using Yee for g too. I think kei is another way of spelling it, set by the hk govt as mentioned on the website.

Think TMC will give better stuff. My antenatal class only $120 for 10 sessions. KK govt hospital after all, maybe don't have that many sponsors.

yeah... another 12hours and i'm going to see my baby. so excited.... looking forward to see baby and hope can confirm baby gender tomorrow.

Pls contact yoga teacher Rita asap at 94872845 or 62588304 for registration. First come first serve.

Here's the updated list for prenatal yoga class.
Venue: Bishan Blk 145 Community Centre
Fee: $35 for 4 session(1.5 hrs/session)
payment: 3 months in advance
Time: Sat or Sunday
class size: 10 pp

1. Katechow March saturday/sunday ok
2. Red tea March saturday/sunday ok
3. Bevweb March Sat/Sun ok
4. Babe_dude March
5. Adeline March
6. Kais March Sat/Sun ok
7. Twinklestars March
8. Clover March Sat/Sun ok
9. Dorothy Feb Saturday ok
10.snowbelle Feb weekends ok
11.Eliaw Feb Weekends ok
12.Babe/Jan/Sat
13.mtanlove Mar weekends ok
14.Mspiglet/Jan/Sun
15.goodbbb

Hi Fern,
I love the claypot frog porridge at Geylang. However, the one that I eat is acutally the "gong bao" one.. very spicy but shoik!! ;)

Hi Mcflurry,
That sounds yummy! I love spicy stuff too! But not my hubby though. Guess can ask for lesser chilli lor.. keke. As we dun drive Gelyang semms too out of the way.. Do they have brances nearby mrt or rather more assesbible place for those who doesnt dirve.. Making me hungry now.. Must eat frog porriage later men!

It's weekend. Been a busy week for me (and my baby) at work. Just realised that I am only 4 months away from my due date! =)

Hi Fern,

How are u? =)

Ah Capp,
I emailed you my bb blog to your coy address this morning... Haha. got it yet? Why dun you give me your personal email and I will sent you now..Really interesting.. haha. hope you can read and feedback too
Me now on MSN online. If only you are there.. Me woke up rather early this am so rather free now... Keke. Hubby and I planned to book a short bangkok trip later ..
how are you too?

If u want to buy those front-button pyjamas, let me know. Cos u will need for BF, just like me. I keep searching during my confinement. After that I found the supplier whcih can sell me at $6 each if we are getting more than 12pcs. Let me know if ur interested can email me [email protected].

Hi for the pyjamas, just buy from market stall...also around those price and you can choose....plain ones...quite nice and comfy too

Hi Mei can you help to update for me~ Thanks.

Split
EDD: 7 Jan 2008
Gynae: Dr Ang, Sunplaza
Hospital: TMC
#: 1st baby~

i managed to get some open-front buttoned pyjamas from Metro...cost about $12.90 i think. Those stores in pasar malam also have...around $6-8 if i'm not wrong.

Can i know if anyone have been experiencing braxton-hicks contractions? How does it feel like? Recently the area below my belly button tends to tighten up and the whole area will feel very hard. It isn't painful but very uncomfortbale. Normally I will stand up to walk around or massage the area and it will start to soften. But after a while, the area will harden up again. I wonder if it's braxton-hicks contractions or my tummy is stretching bigger??

Hey Fern,
You can request not to put the chilli... just the spring onions etc. Equally nice.
Anyway, I'm not sure if there are branches elsewhere.. But I know Chinatown got another frog leg porridge also not bad one. But dunno the exact location. Sorry!

I'm craving for frog leg porridge too.. maybe tonight will go and eat. heee

Hi Fern,

I am feeling really tired and sleep today. I will love to read your blog. =) No working today, so at home. Please kindly email me at [email protected]

Bangkok sounds great. =) A good place for makan makan and shopping for baby things. Don't forget pretty lingerie too =P I am happy for u.

split, I also feel very happy and fortunate when i feel my baby kicking me. He has already settled into a routine...kicks me when it's time to wake up in the morning and reminds me of my breakfast, lunch and dinner time...haha. Dunno whether i'm being senstive, but i think my baby knows how to communicate with me. Sometimes when i put my hand on my tummy, he will respond by a kick or a punch...haha...such an amazing feeling.

yes yes i felt that too~haha i think my boy is a big kaypoh..like to listen to people talking..he will keep me whenever im in a meeting~or gossip with my friends~gee the feeling was wonderful i really felt that baby understand me also..when im too tired or busy with work he will usually not kick or disturb me~

yes i can feel baby kick at certain time, especially after meals and just before bedtime..but when i put my hand there, baby stopped kicking..