(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Yvonne,

No, never experience tightening before (only after i had a full meal). Is it so early that we'll get our braxton hicks?

Luvv, I'm also not sure if it's braxton-hicks or not? Only seeing gynae end of the month so don't really know what i'm experiencing at the moment. Any 2nd time mummies around? Can share how braxton-hicks feels like?

Would need some advise regarding bird's nest.

How do you ppl double boil bird's nest? Do you have a special pot or something? Can use slow cooker? How much water to use and do we need to soak the nest before eating? must boil for how long?

How often do you consume them? Also, anyone taking those bottled type instead cos it's more convenient?

wildcherry,
i'm taking the bottle types, more convenient for me. Not sure how to double boil those bird nest anyway.

Not sure how often must we consume them, i started taking them once a week..since last week

Hi Wildcherry,

My sis bought those concentrated type from Lo Hong Ka, $100++ per bottle. Everyday eat one table spoon. Can last 22 days.

split i added u in my msn n frdster

HI all,
I feel really sian today... Vomited twice... Havent been feeling nasueous till now again. Tot now should not have any more... Sick and tired ot it... lol. HOpe gets better soon.

Really glad that me managed to book a 4 d 3 nite trip. Leaving 28Sept -1 Oct. Hope will have fun and really praying hard that I will not feel sick or nauseous then... Or It be a wasted trip lor. Taking Thai Airways. PLease pray that I will have safe journey to and back to SIn.

Fern, poor you. Must take care. Drink more water and try to take more nutritous food and stay away from oily and fatty stuff. Hope you will feel better tomorrow.

Luvv,
what brand of bottled kind do you take?

Violetice,
Is that brand good? Just 1 table spoon a day eaten cold ah? Is it the sweeten kind or pure bird's nest?

Aiyoh.. get bottled bird's nest also got so many brand.. i headache!!

kitsune,
My Yee is for (qi, qi guai that qi). I saw quite a few hk female artists using Yee for too.

wildcherry,
Can u either those cheena pot and then put water outside the pot and put the pot inside a bigger metal pot to boil or use a slow cooker.

Depends on the quantity of your birdnest. I normally used like 1.5 bowls of water, Then I add some red dates, pao sheng and yellow rock sugar for taste. If just add rock sugar, i feel that there would be a very strong egg white smell. I would soak the birdnest overnight, then pluck off any feathers if neccessary. For normal birdnest 1.5 hrs is enough, blood bird nest would take 2 hrs.

I normally had birdnest every 2 weeks.

split, i have added u both in msn and friendster.

Today, i have went for check up. Baby very co-operate. Baby will be serving the national too...
yeah... can start shopping for blue stuffs.....

Icy. Oh I see, thanks.

By the way, Cordlife having a parenting seminar next Sat. First 300 participants can get $400 off the one time registration fee of $1400, annual fee: $250 for next 20 years. The discount also applies to those paying lump sum ie. $5650 to store BB's cord blood until 21 years old. Didn't know it's so expensive to do private cord blood banking. Don't know whether worth it or not. :p

mei, pls update for me

Joyce
EDD: 30 Jan 2008
Gynae: Dr TB Lim
Hospital: Mt E

Wildcherry,

It's not those Brand's small bottles bird nest with 6 small bottles. Lo Hong Ka is a HK brand and it's been in the market for a while. Recommended by some of the mummies in other forum as well. It's pure bird nest, unsweetened so kept it in fridge, not more than 22 days must finished 1 bottle, I take 1-2 table spoons a day. A bit like eating jelly lor.

Joyce congrats!

Mummies I went NLB to collect My Baby Jonurnal book u all can go collect too is free .... view my blog o see whats inside heehee

I am taking those small bottles bird nest leh just bought New moon brand .... I had one brand call ZHEN ZHONG birdnest is very nice my cousin bought for me ..... I cant find it in NTUC so I get newmoon one is 6 bottles and free 2 bottles ....

I kw Fu Hua selling those big one u can scoope it one spoon to eat per day

Hi QQ,
Is the Baby Journal similar to the one sold at Spring Maternity? Wanted to buy that one but then already half term through, so not sure what to write anymore.

Good Sunday morning ladies!

Have anyone of u already found chinese names for your darlings? I brought back my chinese dictionary from my JC days and started flipping through yesterday. Goosh, it really isn't easy to find the perfect name for your little darling right? My hubby seem to be pretty relaxed about it. =S I seem to be only one who is more "gan-cheong" about this naming stuff.

Bird's nests...
My MIL double-boiled some for me about 2 weeks ago. But now, I am only eating those from Brands or New mooon, bottle form. They are not as good as the ones my MIL made, less concentrated.

Hi Fern,

So sorry to know that u were not feeling well yesterday. Hope u are feeling better today. =)

Don't worry too much about your trip. Just don't take any raw stuff and maybe skip seafood just to be on the safe side. =) Enjoy yourself and pamper yourself (and baby Elias) with shopping! ;)

I just been to your blog. I think it's very very sweet of u to write to your baby. Btw, don't let your dreams/ nightmares affect u too much. I have weird and scary dreams every night nowadays. The other night, I dreamt that one of my colleague's friend was crashed to death! Anyway, I tried not to analyse too much about the dreams. Perhaps my busy work schedule during the day keep my mind busy too.

I will call up parentcraft tmrw to check with them if my registration for the class is confirmed. =) Btw, I borrowed a book on baby and child care from library yesterday. It teaches u all the stuff on bathing the baby, changing diapers, feeding etc etc. Not bad. Perhaps u will like to drop by the library (the woodlands one is pretty good) to take a look on such books. =)

Joyce,
congrats.. it would be more shopping for you now... although boys normally have less things to buy. :p

thanks QQ and Icy.

Icy, ya i agreed that boys have lesser things to buy. As promise to my darling, my hubby and i went to kiddy palace after the appt yesterday to get a gift for him. aiyo so hard to choose. look here look there, everything almost the same. hmm....lesser things to buy = save $$?

wildcherry,
i'm taking a horsebrand birdnest that's given by my gf, i also bought horsebrand "Jing Si Yan", that's concentrated, i.e. got to take a small tea spoon everyday (cost around $60+) Something like Lau Hang Kar ones.

Hi Fern,

Still having anymore nausea? Take care, think some mothers just have it for a longer period of time. Enjoy your trip to Bangkok soon ya! At least you can get to go somewhere... I doubt I will go any short trip already as hubby can't really take much leave in the next few months. But yet I have to clear some leave so that won't kena forfeited by next year!!

Oh ya ladies, just went for my monthly checkup again on Saturday. All's well with my little one. I'm about 23 weeks now and baby is growing well and fine. Too bad can't get any more ultrasound scans as baby getting big for 1 shot to be taken. But I got my films from the detailed scan report. Nice to keep and see

Quite a bz weekend...hubby and I still looking around for our storage cabinet/drawers to put in baby room. Now trying to ensure it's a bit more child friendly...have less sharp edges etc...tiring to shop leh. Always feel sleepy on weekend afternoons nowadays!!

ALl, Thanks for you concern for my nausea. It was just these two days.. Haz. havent beedn getting it for a long time liaoz. Today, me took taxi to church as raining heavily! That driver was very risky.. He jerked all the way and car almost skided on road. It was super dangerous. Thank GOd I am fine. But puked when readched church. Haz

Kitsune, Yah... Really looking forwarf to my trip soon. Travelling by Thai Airways.. HOpe I will have loads of fun!

Gd NIte!

hi ladies, we are meeting tmr!! excited? hee...
<font color="0000ff">I haven heard from Shooting_Star/elmo_78. Anyone has their msn/email?? Can help to ask if they coming/HP? tks.</font>

QQ,
can u bring the baby journal from NLB tmr? wanna see what is inside looks like. tks.

<font color="ff0000">Jan-08 Mummies EDD List*</font>
*list only display mummies with complete info from Nick to Child #.
<table border=1><tr><td></TD><TD>NICK</TD><TD>EDD (2008)</TD><TD>GYNAE</TD><TD>HOSPITAL</TD><TD>Child #</TD><TD>Gender</TD><TD>Name </TD></TR><TR><TD>1</TD><TD>G Tan (gtgt)</TD><TD>01-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>2</TD><TD>Yen (yen2007)</TD><TD>05-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>3</TD><TD>elmo_78 (elmo_78)</TD><TD>08-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>4</TD><TD>hammies03 (hammies03)</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. YC Goh</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>5</TD><TD>jenie_1979 (jenie_1979)</TD><TD>10-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. KT Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>6</TD><TD>babe (babyship)</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>7</TD><TD>chaye (chaye)</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>8</TD><TD>valencia (valencia_val)</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lim Yuin Wen</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Vernice Lee </TD></TR><TR><TD>9</TD><TD>violetIce (violetIce)</TD><TD>11-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Christopher Chong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>10</TD><TD>Evelyn</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>11</TD><TD>Mom2nat (mom2nat)</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>12</TD><TD>shooting star (shooting star)</TD><TD>12-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Jocelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>13</TD><TD>Jacelyn (shorty_gal)</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TB Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Javin </TD></TR><TR><TD>14</TD><TD>Kai_Li (nini_hubby)</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>15</TD><TD>red.rose</TD><TD>13-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Douglas Ong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>16</TD><TD>nexyanne (nexyanne)</TD><TD>14-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>17</TD><TD>mist28 (mist28)</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Benjamin Tham</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>18</TD><TD>Superbee</TD><TD>15-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Adelle </TD></TR><TR><TD>19</TD><TD>JanBB</TD><TD>16-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Tan Hang Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>20</TD><TD>mylife (mylife)</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Chua Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD>Rylee </TD></TR><TR><TD>21</TD><TD>Quek Wei Lin</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>22</TD><TD>Tattyhug (tattyhug)</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>23</TD><TD>Yunbb (jaredmami)</TD><TD>17-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>24</TD><TD>eRnMum</TD><TD>18-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. June Tan</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>25</TD><TD>LynnChong</TD><TD>19-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Henry Cheng</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>26</TD><TD>babyling</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>27</TD><TD>icy</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SC Yeoh</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>28</TD><TD>mei (lu_meihua)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>29</TD><TD>Pooh25 (pooh25)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>30</TD><TD>QQ (qqing)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Heng Tung Lan</TD><TD>East Shore</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>31</TD><TD>Yvonne Lim (ylim)</TD><TD>20-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. AL Lim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD>Brien (Tan Jia Xi) </TD></TR><TR><TD>32</TD><TD>Verene Ting (vereneting)</TD><TD>21-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Kowa</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>33</TD><TD>Luvv (luvv)</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. HY Ang</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>34</TD><TD>Steph77 (Stephanine)</TD><TD>23-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Fong Yang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>35</TD><TD>Fern Lim (bibi81)</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lim Teck Chai</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>36</TD><TD>fishia</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee Keen Whye</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>37</TD><TD>Mrs Piggy Piggy (Evonne)</TD><TD>24-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>38</TD><TD>wildcherry (Hazel)</TD><TD>26-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Chua</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>39</TD><TD>Babyshannon (babyshannon)</TD><TD>27-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Lee I Wuen</TD><TD>Raffles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>40</TD><TD>angelsky (angelsky)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. LC Cheng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>41</TD><TD>calbee (calbee)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#2</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>42</TD><TD>Joyce (lj2)</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. TB Lim</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>43</TD><TD>Krystle Kee (krystle)</TD><TD>28-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Tan Hang Yang</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>44</TD><TD>baby26 (baby26)</TD><TD>29-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. PC Wong</TD><TD>NUH</TD><TD>#1 (Twins!)</TD><TD>Boy and Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>45</TD><TD>Jennifer Aniston (jennifera)</TD><TD>30-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Woo</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>46</TD><TD>split (split)</TD><TD>07-Jan</TD><TD>Dr. Ang</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>47</TD><TD>gintonic (gintonic)</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. Wen Lim</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Boy</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>48</TD><TD>kitsune_sg (Pauline)</TD><TD>01-Feb</TD><TD>Dr. Judy Wong</TD><TD>KKH TPS</TD><TD>#1</TD><TD>Girl</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

morning everyone, how's yr weekend? busy or relax?

yesterday went to my hubby's friend baby full month celebration. her baby so cute but too bad cannot carry or touch only can see cos pan tang.

Fern, hope you have feel better.

<font color="0077aa">Harlo Morning all,

Monday blues... so quiet today...

Tomorrow is our gathering!!! excited?? haha...

i am having triple choc chewy brownie for breakfast, very sinful but delicious! My hubby say brownie is very high in sugar content...
Errr..I wonder which month/weeks will gynae test us for gestational diabetes?</font>

<font color="119911">Fern,
hope u r feeling better today! me too, sometimes feel pukey but after meals, i felt better.</font>

i had claypot frogleg porridge at Chinatown last sat... went there to watch e mooncake festival parade.
i luv the frogleg porridge at geylang too.

i got a wedding dinner dis fri, someone mentioned abt e tube top or "bandaeu" whr can i get it? i need a black color one.

Lookin forward to see u all tomoro..

Joyce,
congrats on having boi boi

Lynn,
i luv frogleg porridge too. The Geylang G7 i tried b4 but hor, the frogleg very skinny..me & hubby usually order 5 frogleg then enuff wor!
Chinatown stall, are they oso selling other porridge variety too? Izit near roadside & CK dept stores one?

<font color="ff0000">For those interested in gestational diabetes/glucose screening test...</font>

I found out from babycenter.com that Most healthcare practitioners routinely recommend a glucose screening test (also called a glucose challenge test or GCT) between 24 and 28 weeks of pregnancy to check for gestational diabetes, a high blood sugar condition that some women get during pregnancy.

<font color="ff0000">How is the screening test done?</font>
When you arrive for the test, you'll be given a sugar solution that contains 50 grams of glucose. The stuff tastes like a very sweet soda pop (it comes in cola, orange, or lime flavor), and you have to get all of it down in five minutes. Some centers keep it chilled or let you pour it over ice and drink it cold.

An hour later (bring a book or magazine!), your practitioner or a technician will take a blood sample from your arm to check your blood sugar level. The idea is to see how efficiently your body processes sugar. Results should be available in a few days.

If the reading is abnormal (too high), which happens 15 to 23 percent of the time, your practitioner will have you come back for a three-hour glucose tolerance test to see if you really do have gestational diabetes. The good news is that most women whose screening test shows elevated blood sugar don't turn out to have gestational diabetes.

Hi Steph,

usually they wont check you for GD unless you have sugar content in your urine test or you previously have GD.

i will be doing mine on the 28 weeks.

right now i do finger prick to see how well my body doing...just for my own info

hi!

steph: Yep! e chinatown stall is near to e roadside, itz been there for many years already... normally Hubby & mi we ordered 3 frogs.

my mum ask mi to tak more frogleg so bb will hav strong leg wor!! hahaha!

eRnMum,
ok so if our routine urine test is normal, GD test will not be necessary.

Lynn,
yup, frogleg makes bb strong legs..keke
Steam frogleg with essence of chicken is good too!

in a way...not all will have to do the terrible test

the drink is very horrible to drink one....soda also test horrible.

Hi all ... i am back from my monthly check up ..... baby id growing well and she weigh 492g my gynae say my baby very big heehee

QQ,
gd to hear bb is growing well
So fast yr monthly checkup is due?? Mine is on 8Oct...now my scheduled checkup will be done once in a month except closer to due date, maybe 2 or 3 weeks once bah.

hi mei,
Oh yes, we are meeting tml! So excited! Sorry I hasnt got the time to log on recently.

hi fern,
Dun worry too much...u will be alright. Btw, I am also travelling to bkk this weekend for a short getaway with hubby n friends. Dun noe when we can travel again with the little one.

hi split,
Our EDD is close. I am due on the 8 jan 08. So excited! I have added u in msn.

Hi MTBs,
I called up ParentCraft at TMC and asked if we could pay the fees on the actual day as didn't want to make extra trip now. My cousin said they allowed you to make payment on actual day. But the lady who answered said we have to make payment within these few days if not our names will be taken off. Not long after, they sent a mass sms, I think, to all MTBs to ask them to make payments. Grrr...anyone also received it?

So nice .. u all have gathering tmr..
Have fun! me unable to go.. cos got extreme bad lower back, buttock thigh pain till can't walk?

Sad sad..
kao_sad2.gif

Steph,
is it common practise for GD here??
Didn't heard from my gynae lei..
anyone been thru it before??

QQ,
Nice to hear ur ger ger.. growing well..
My chk up next mth..

violetlce...

I oso just rec'd the sms.. from tmc parentcrafts...
mine date 11oct... wondering why they so scare we don't pay??

Some more say, don't pay... will release slots..

Tattyhug,

Exactly lor. Like we have the cheek to attend class yet not make any payment. Sigh... So exaggerating. Some more my date is on 10 Oct, now still got 3 weeks to go lor. She kept telling me to make payment within these few days. =(

Re: Lunch

Had lunch at Breeks. Wow, the Cookies and Cream milkshake is unbelievable! Much better than any milk shake I've tasted though I'm also not a milkshake person.. not too sweet nor creamy. Just nice. Yummy!

Tattyhug,

I think like what eRnMum said, if our routine urine test is normal, normally gynae will not ask us to do GD test. If gynae didn't mentioned, i think we shld be safe bah