(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

I wonder if this happens to any mummies ard 20 weeks. I could just feel breathless the moment I laid down on bed.. Sometimes I feel choke on my throat and have to quickly get up for air.

And on monday and yesterday, I would suddenly feel breathless, as if something pressing between my bust and tummy.. then I would slowly feel like I going to see "stars" and break cold sweat.. and I know I am about to faint. I did not do anything tedious. Just sitting in front of the PC and do msn chat.

Jacelyn,
Yes, it happens to me and the area ard my belly button.. so ugly sia.

tattyhug,

i bf till i got myself preg again for abt 9 mths .. but mine is adhoc bfeeding.. cos i in/out hospital cos of gallstones n hence din manage to give him full bmilk. tried full bf when son was born but can't ..cos he was admitted cos of jaundice .. n thereaft me of gallstones.

Hi, steph (steph77) ... the 2nd hand breast pump can buy not very X.. as long is in working condition & clean; not yellowish i think u can buy from the 2nd seller...

regards
evonne

QQ,
Congrats on having a baby princess!!! can buy alot of pretty clothes for her..

Jacelyn,
I have pimples and rashes behind my back which look very ugly..

Superchoc,
Must stay strong and think positive...your gynae will help n protect you n ur baby to go through these hard times....

All / 2nd time mummy,
have u tried using/heard of the "Klorane dry shampoo from Guardian"? I heard that some ladies used it during their confinement to reduce itch & prevent oily scalp.

Can i check with you. Whats a receiving blanket. Me tried finding it at Taka fair but couldnt find. Me ended up buying a fleece blanket which I dun think is right. REalised that fleece might cause allergy in babies and also asmatha. Heard from some friends. so worried. Any advises on what to look out for in this receiving blanket?

Mrs piggy,

actually i got two breast pumps (all 3rd time hands me-down) one from Tollyjoy (electric) and the other from Pigeon (manual) but both are worn-out/dirty, rubber cup yellowish so i was contemplating whether to buy the 2nd hand Avent offered at $180 only (UP $279).

I think most hospital will give you a receiving blanket for baby upon discharge? izit? i think 100% cotton is still the best for newborn bah.

hi Tattyhug,

we shared same gynae n same EDD n same Hosp n same Gender (i hope so.. will be going detail scan tmr to double confirm) !! heehee ..

fern
i bought smthg fleece for my #1 before, but realised it was too warm for our weather, even in air-con. Receiving blanket is like any blanket.. to wrap the baby in. Dun wrap also nvrmind, Sgp so HOT!

anyways, those delivering in TMC will get a hooded towel that u can use to wrap bb up as u are discharged. They will also provide a sleeved top for bb. *wonder if anything has changed.. my info is abt 2 yrs old. hee hee

i thought this one not bad
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/950508.html?1189056736
but i gotto 'lun' coz i bought too many blankets liao.. got 2 BN ones waiting for #2, coz bought too many for gorgor.

yunbb
eh, but i noticed the design for diaper bag changed... looks a bit better now, but i still wouldn't use it coz i prefer haversack

here's what i found fr TMC website

What to Bring For Your Stay
For maternity patients, please bring along your:
61 personal nightgowns (front-open types for easier breastfeeding)
61 maternity brassieres
61 cardigan or dressing gown
61 bedroom slippers
61 sanitary belt (optional)
61 sanitary towels (optional)
61 polythene bags (for your soiled linen)
Note: It is advisable to have a bag ready with these necessary items packed 2 to 4 weeks befoe estimated delivery date.

We will provide the following for your newborn baby:
61 baby vests
61 disposable diapers
61 toiletries
61 a baby bag
61 wrapping blanket
61 a pair of mittens
Basic toiletries throughout your stay with us will be provided. However, you may also like to bring along your personal clothing, cosmetics and toiletries for a more comfortable stay. You are advised against bringing large sums of cash or valuables.

Besides receiving towel, how many should i get? One is enough? How abtt towels? MUst get a hooded towel? What kind of material is safer for new born to use? Also. for those small hankerchief to clean their face or slivia. Can we just get from those simple kind. Or is there a specific brand? like those cute ones from KIddy palace or robinsons?
Advises please.

re: blankets to swaddle bb
i used cloth nappies to swaddle bb, so initially i only had 1-2 blankets for use in aircon rm. Blankets no need to wash daily, so no need to buy so many.

re: hankies
buy cheap ones can liao.. unless vain then buy cute ones lor. Those u can afford to get more, coz good to use to wipe breastmilk spills too. The other time i din know, kept using tissue paper, within 2wks finished a large box! Shld've used hankies then can wash and reuse.

in this climate, go for cotton material.

Golden Pig,
Thanks so much for your advises. So guess a simple hooded towel will do fine. I keep my fleece aside first lor. Yah, think hankies those pasar malan got both cheap and cute one! haha. One of a vain mummy

Jus came back from lunch and it's super duper hot weather out there ! Almost turning into a suckling pig liao !

Golden Pig,
Are you using cloth nappies for ur bb instead of diapers? How are you going to wash them? Is it like normal washing? Thanks...

had fried guotiao for lunch. yummy...

re: hook blanket
...hmm...i rem my aunt bot me a hook towel from ikea...quite big and nice...lambs designs on it...

re: diapers
most likely will be using disposable diapers. cloth diapers me will use it as pillow for the newborn.

Golden Pig,
Thats nice. SOmemore got nice design for the receiving blanket. Is one enough? Do we need get another. We only use it to bring bb back home. After that won't use liao hor?

Re diaper- IS cloth diaper btter? Me prefer pampers as easier rite? IF not lei chei leh. What diaper brands are good?

fern,
receiving blanket, u can double-up as blanket at home or wrap bb when go out or when go back clinic for checkup.

cloth diaper is said to be better so that bb butt can breathe and less prone to rashes. otherwise, get a good nappy rash cream and apply some on bb delicate skin just in case or only apply when rashes appear. just rem to change soiled diapers regularly and not too long in btw.

so far i only tried pampers and mamypoko for newborn diapers. it all depends on what brand ur bb butt suitable.

mylvera,
oic.. 9mth on/off bf.. good work..but quite tought to bf when ourself oso not in tip top gd condition..esp when bb's teeth's growing... *Ouch*

Yunbb,
Is it... so conincidence..

But mine EDD keep changing each time go for u/scan..
Oh, ur no#1 boy.. so now no#2 wan ger..
Heehee..

Golden Pig,
Re: Blanket..
Yup... i oso brought tat blanket as too cutie lei.. broughtt the yellow one.shld be receivng it in this 2days..

Nez,
FBI - $148 for 2yrs..Got some freebies comes along..
But heard if u got std char, now got disc... $118.. Too bad i didn't hv std char..
I Apply FBI on spot, 10% disc on My FA detailed scan.. Annetal class also 10% disc

nez
info on FBI/SBI here, including charges
http://www.thomsonmedical.com/facilities.htm#firstborn

fern
the one from TMC i used as towel for bb after bath. We didn't wrap bb up when we brought him out - only swaddle him with cloth nappies.

kaili
i bought a pack of cloth nappies thought of trying it out, but got lazy - dunno how to fold & din even buy safety pins.. in the end used disposables instd. Turned out to be a good move coz really can't predict bb's poo.. so in the end the cloth nappies are used to swaddle bb & like what mei said, for bb's pillow.

Steph u saw my blog? No clear cos is very big A3 size diff angle of baby ....

Tatty, I will check with my thyroid doc .... shall update u again .. he is on holiday will only get to see him on 26 sept

how come it's hook blanket ah? I thought it's hood. or hooded.

steph
it's a nice present! but i wouldn't buy it for my own.. cloth nappies cheaper, 1 pack of 10 for few dollars only. kkekekeke

QQ,
yup saw yr blog...ya not so clear but very exciting cos u get to view yr gal gal from different angles, on diff parts of her body hor
How come some pple get to keep 6 to 10pcs of scan pic instead of consolidate one ...like yours...in one A3 size...diff hospital practise diff things ah?

hehe goldenpig, i put babywraps in my wish list...hopefully my close frd will sponsor...i hint them loh...buay pai sey hor

actually how a hooded blanket looks like? what is the difference between other blankets? so confusing...

GOlden Pig,
Me prefer pampers as really much easier to handle for me.

Re Hooded blanket. Steph, real cute. where can I buy. Dont want too ex one too
keke

OIC thanks goldenpig

then hor..what about Diaper bag, Haversack, KitBag, Therma Bag etc...where can we buy all-in-one nappy BAG so that we can put everything (milk bottles/diapers/bb clothes etc..) when travelling or go jalan jalan (shopping)?

QQ,
My MIL helped us to buy bb clothes from the Bugis shop there and also some passing down clothes..

Re: Diapers
My MIL bought 2 dozen of cloth diapers and would like to check which is better - cloth or disposable diapers? My friend recommend me to use disposable so that we do not need to wash them so oftenly.

Hi mummies, remember we did say b4 to meet up together after our 1st trimester?? Are we gg to meet up? hehehe

QQ,
I wanna meet up.. when I come back. :p I would be back by early Nov. Mummies go ahead and snap some pix to show me. :p

QQ,

aiyo pai seh leh...1st time meet up
Can la, no prob. Poll somewhere central...meet up for lunch during weekday then we can go shop shop bb stuffs together, how? Weekday not so crowded. ALL - any suggestion?

If too tired to shop then go Karoake ai mai?? my 2cents suggestion onli la
Shall we wait till all of us have done our detailed scan then meet up?

Kai Li,

your friend is right. Disposable will bring a lot of convenience.

nappies you will wash till siao...they always poo in the beginning one

dear all..

FYI pamper (red in colour), they diaper is better for Baby. My MIL baby some for me to keep for my 2nd bb.. Now pamper pricing keep going up. she bought the Pamper (red In colour). ** 2 month ago at $11.80 at NTUC. Now the price go Up till $14.80.**

I think ur gals can buy some n keep.BTW MANY POKO not so good my girl use liao got leakage. Pampers better..

++ FYI red pamper packing n Pupler pamper packing the quality not much different ++

PETPET Diaper also not bad. I use petpet in day time. PETPET diaper can last for 5 - 6 hours; much better then DRYPERS. Cos few of me n my frens try DRYPERS, endup our bb backside got rashes so we try PETPET N we found PETPET better.... ** PETPET I BOUGHT LAST MONTH THE PRICE IS $9.80 FOR S SIZE 40PCS NOW UP TO 11.80 AT NTUC**

icy,
I got the breathlessness for quite a while, juz last week or so I felt that it was so bad that it warrent me to call my gynae. So the asst there suggested that I go down. My gynae checked my heart beat and even sent me to do ECG. Report and all appear ok. Then, only on tues, I got the very bad breathlessness together with ear blocked. So immediately, I went to see my GP, wondering does the ear blocked got anything to do with my breathlessness. So after examining all the possible causes. Concluded that as I got sinus and if r u also aware, preggie gets blocked nose v easily. So I couldnt breath properly. Thus, leading me feeling so breathless. This is the case for me.

diaper wise...actually different babies...fit different babies

they must try one. the diaper that fits other babies well might not fit yours...best to take samples

mrs piggy,
for me, i tried pampers red and purple packaging. the red one cutting seems smaller than the purple one. quality is no as good as the purple one. my girl tried the red one and develop rashes...

re: meet-up!!?
when? where? wkday? wkend? PH? day? night? so excited!! ah!! maybe we can have a BBQ!! haha...or we look for dinner place where we can have buffet! eat till we full!! haha...or is there any trial lessons ur wanna try? we can see if there is any trial lesson for pregnant mummy? or ah!! a manicure/pedicure session to pamper ourselves!!!

<<resent>>
<font color="ff0000"> All - anyone heard of this?
2nd time mummy, have u tried using the "Klorane dry shampoo from Guardian"? I heard that some ladies used it during their confinement to reduce itch & prevent oily scalp. How effective?</font>