(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Steph, must chew meh??? I juz take 1 a day n swallow with water. Not prescribed by gynae, juz buy off shelf for $11+. My gynae gives Obimin. Recently v frequent bowels dunno if caused by milk so stop milk n take Ca tab.

I heard no good do treatment on hair during pregnancy though not medically proven.

nexyanne: i agree... if can tahan, try not to do anything to the hair now.

kitsune: the powder mix u mentioned sounds like henna. if you go to those indian salons like Rupinis. they will use the cream based henna. so far i havent try. i think as long as u did not touch the scalp area, it should be fine. as for rebonding, i won't do until after i have delivered. meantime, i am using those portable straightening iron to iron my hair sometimes when my hair is too messy.

<font color="ff6000">Re: Rebonding/Colour/Hair Dye/Digital Perm/Henna

Woahh b'com SALON market huh...hehe..luckily i did my rebonding last year October, still can tahan cos i only very slight natural curls. For colour, my black hair outgrow very fast...now can see two tones, brown & black.

You ladies keep SHORT or LONG & STRAIGHT or PERM hairstyles? I keep slightly over shoulder length straight hair...now hair very dry ends cos cannot do spa/hair treatment during preggy right?</font>

my hair is also slightly over below shoulder length. also can see two tones... brown and black. the black part start to be wavy too. i think i will keep this length and won't be cutting short cos i intend to tie up my hair everyday during the confinement month. what about the rest of you?

<font color="0077aa">babe,
dunno leh, gynae give instruction to chew b4 swallow...i gong gong follow loh

Hey if yr gynae gave u Obimin then u don't have to take additional calcium tab. I oso have frequent bowels (once a day) but i think it is good lor since i ate alot of junk stuff then must let go too right..kekeke

chaye,

Im a maple story fan, my hubby worse, glue to the game, we have been playing for more than 2 yrs liao. So wat is ur nick, maybe can add u, do u know that there is a patch today, new map will be added, look forward to it

mist28,
i've not decide to cut short or keep the length. If short must be very short. Long can tie up during confinement but i scare i can't tahan cos 1 month cannot bath leh...later dandruff will appear & oily scalp. Short is preferred.

Evelyn
Another new patch again?! wow ! gd ! will chk it out tonite. My nick is Chaye lor but I'm in delphinas world leh.

Steph
u really observe not bathing for a month ?!?!?! *shock* how to tahan ?! cannot lah... personal hygiene leh !!! I only observe for first 12 days already cannot tahan liao...

Steph,
you intend to follow the tradition ah? I bath everyday and wash my hair on alternate days...

I was breastfeeding and I perspired a lot initially. My whole body was sticky most of the time. I cannot imagine holding my baby so close and latch on to such dirty body leh. I switched on air-con, clean up before bf each time.

i also didnt observe....i shower everyday but with herb water...wash hair every two to three days...again all with herbs

during preggie, wont really shed hair....a few months (think 3 months onwards)....after delivery, we will start shedding...same for baby. I have one ex colleague who shed till quite jialat.

btw, who is the one who says taka basement there got good chocolate cake huh? what is that stall again....i wanna buy for hubby when we were there,...but dunno which stall

Hair
I had long hair initially, juz cut my hair in july to shoulder length... Now my hair qiao4 qiao4 one... shd i keep to below shoulder length such tat i can tie? Hmmm..

Dun think I can tahan not bathing during confinement... I always bathe before i sleep nowadays...

SEriously I think long hair better and tie up is cooler than short hair at neck length which is more irritating...

Anyway, I bath with herbs every day but dun wash my hair very often. haha..for that whole 1 mth I stayed in aircon room.

Steph, my frequent bowels is a few times a day though not watery kind. But sometimes noticed that my bowels never seem to clear all, especially the morning. Also got some mucus excreted while I urine without a tummy ache. Mentioned in this forum some time back but seems like none of the mommies have this problem. Don't know what's wrong lehz...any mommies can give advice?

chaye,
Maybe my maple have problem, i reinstall and install still cant play. *sigh* anyway I am not on very high level..

steph,
i think i will keep shoulder length, so that at least can tie during confinement, else the hair would also be all over the face. I think can still bath during confinement, but must use lemon grass water.. actually have to check with mil. :p

BATH:
Actually my MIL discourage me to bathe during confinement. But I think I cannot tahan not bathing or washing hair. I think i will buy the herb and ask her to boil for me. Heard from my friend that they sell those ready packets at Hock Hwa.

i oso cannot tahan my natural curl now so messy .... like just get out of bed like that hahahah

i dun think can do rebonding leh

Re: Bath

my mil oso discourage cos hor .... she say last time she didnt obey went to take bath and now she Got terrible headache everytime

<font color="0077aa">fishia,
>>"I cannot imagine holding my baby so close and latch on to such dirty body leh"
hahaha...
u make me laugh leh...
of course NOT follow tradition, i cannot imagine no water to clean my body & hair especially for one month!!! so dirty & smelly loh...later my hubby oso ran away...let alone baby!haha...</font>

<font color="119911">Hopefully my MIL wont nag at me for bathing loh cos she's doing confinement for me. Yup, will use ready packet herb to bath. How soon can we start bathing ? 3rd day or 10days later aft delivery?</font>

<font color="ff0000">Re: Bath during confinement

Older generation & my mum say if we bath during confinement (1st month), will gunna back pain/suan, short interval paralysis of fingers/limbs & head wind wor....so serious ah?
My sister during confinement, she only bath 2 weeks later & she got back pain/suan now.</font>

i will go bath when my mil not ard hahaha dun care i cant take it if dun bath .... sometime i bath liao b4 i sleep i go bath again hahahah

QQ,
if weather cooling still okay to tahan not to bath body but i think CNY period, normally hot weather...jialiat...the hair is what i worry, i hate oily scalp & if i don't wash my hair for 1 day i cannot stand liao. How to bath secretly when my MIL is ard the hse too??

thanks steph, ok, shall remember and try the next time i go taka....i feel like eating liao...haha

i dunno how true abt the backache etc...cos they usually say old liao then will feel it...

so far i ok...touch wood

they also say epidural will also ganna backpain

chaye,

Then cannot play together liao, im fr cassopeia, so wat class r u playing, ur lvl? Can't believe we r discussing maple in the motherhood forum, haha...

Steph,
I had back ache initially but that was due to posture when changing diapers. New born change very frequently and I was not used to bending. When my maid came, my back pain gone cos I always ask her to change.. hee...

Frankly, i dunno if my disobedience to these traditions will cause me any health problems when I'm old but I don't really bother cos I don't believe in them. My MIL and FIL also said cannot bathe. Maybe just once a week. I just kept quiet and look away. I'm a terrible DIL. Haha.

When I discharge from hospital, my gynae said to me, remember to bathe to keep yourself clean.

my mil will need to go back to look after her shop and two nephew when she is not ard i go bath muhahhaha

haha..on the topic on bathing or not during confinement, I think I will try to bear with it as much as I can...but have a feeling can't tahan that long also. Maybe at most 1 week? I think my main concern about the feeling sticky and dirty part, is the fact that we will have the 'period' thing right? Sorry, not sure what you call it, but it's the bleeding we get for how long till it clears off??

Already when I have period last time, cannot tahan not bathing at all. I duno how some pp can take it for confinement. Maybe those who went thru can share??

My beautician now 40+ told me when she had her 2 sons abt 20 yrs ago she bath n wash hair everyday now she is still strong and healthy leh. So body health is up to individual la...

Evelyn/Icy
I'm spearman lvl 33 now.

erm... do u gals have hair growing on nipple or not ?!!!? I hv leh ... and it's kinda thick :p yucks ! how to breastfeed like tat ?!

QQ,
If you're bf and no one at home with you, can be quite tiring leh... and sometimes bb just cry for no reason. As a new mummy, baby's cry is very disturbing...

You may want to arrange for another helper. If your MIL is only cooking and doing laundry for you, that's not good enough.

<font color="0077aa">chaye,
hopefully being pregnant don't turn us all into hairy monsters...haha..
I have fine hair growing on areola area but not nipple. Can still bf? i never thot about that leh...</font>

fishia, hmmm no helper leh maybe .... my frd will come over see me bah. she is actually my neighbour not working hehehe and i thik hubby will take leave for my 1st week ... should be ok bah

cos my mum very busy with my nephew unless she bring my nephew to my plc haha take care if him as well as me haha n my baby

fishia,

i know u r not trying to scare us, it's a fact but what u said...sounds pressure to me leh.
My MIL will be doing confinement for me but i am not sure whether she will do laundry for me. Although she stayed over at my hse, she say she will cook from her place then send food over wor...then at this time, i will be all alone with baby...dunno can handle anot. If baby cry non-stop, i think i will cry too

Hi QQ,
Ya...it will be quite tiring with you and your baby alone at home...I have a friend who has the same situation as you...MIL went back to the shop after cooking for her and left them alone...my friend breakdown after a few days as she don't know why the baby keep crying and felt very stress...

chaye, Icy

Icy, how abt u? wat world r u playing in & lvl?

chaye, u muz have lots of perseverance to play spearman, my priest lvl 99 but slowing down, now creating another noob, low luck mage. My hubby has a 102 ice mage & now actively playing lvl 55 sin. We have lots of storage charac too, really crazy over tis game, haha

Juz came back from grocery shopping... had craving for famous amos cookies... now i am eating them!!! wahahaha

Eh, dun u ladies hire a confinement lady to accompany u for the 1st month? hopefully i can learn all i need to learn during the 1st month, coz i wun have any help after tat.. No maid oso... sigh...

yah, think i will bathe, dun care... cannot stand baby so close to a smelly mummy

Steph77, i oso have fine hair the same area as u leh... yah hor, so muz shave off hur??

tat's y hor I've to engage a confinement lady no matter how much it cost ! Hopefully she's gd la :p. My MIL also said can only do laundry n cook for me. she said she is afraid to handle newborn wor. If she cannot handle I lagi cannot handle ma cos I'm caesarean one leh. my wound wd hurt ma. I'll go crazy n breakdown one cos i'll feel helpless :p

However some ppl can really take it well la... mayb some of u can take it leh ? I must admit I cannot handle alone :p

Evelyn
wah u lvl 99 liao ! duno when will i reach there man. my hb is playing priest also duno wat lvl liao. I am v tempted to train a magician leh. like so easy to kill leh.

Steph/nexy
Ya aerola area la hehehe... I'm thinking of plucking it leh. wonder if it's painful :p

QQ/Steph,

Bf for first 2 weeks is really tough. First, you may not be sure if you're bfg correctly and bb is drinking enough. Bf is usually 2 hourly and with all the nite wakings, you'll be very tired. Imagine you still have to look after baby yourself in the day when you're alone. It can be quite stressful... With healing wound and sore nipples for first week or more, menses for 2 weeks, hot weather, heaty confinement food, traditions to follow, and visitors! I think that's how post-natal blues kick in...

Thank God, my hubby was very supportive. Middle of nite, I bf, he woke up to change diapers.

Well, it also depends on bb lah. my son not easy to handle during first mth. my record was 3am. Plus my MIL health not too good, and not experienced in handling newborn.

Hi Nexyanne,
I din hire any confinement ladies becos they are too expensive near CNY...so my MIL look after my baby and wash baby laundry...As for my mum, she will cook for me as i used to eat her cooking...

Chaye,

Yeah. I regretted not engaging a confinement nanny. Me too. I can't handle baby alone. My hubby said i too kan cheong and is a perfectionist. First of all, i didn't trusted my MIL cos it's obvious that she's taking instruction from me rather than showing me how to do it. I cried pretty often and kept calling my hubby "What time are you coming back?" hahaha.

fishia
so hv u engaged CL this time round ? 1st time mum is like tat one sure very kan cheong one. Me also like tat. I hope I'm more experienced and cool this time round man but still I need a CL :p

nexy/steph
I cut it with scissors leh ... but i'm juz afraid tat it mite prick the bb's tongue when I'm breastfeeding tat's y I'm thinking of plucking it and it will take longer to grow back..keke but dun hv to courage to do it

Chaye
I dun think i dare to pluck. Eh, if u or Steph happen to pluck, let me know if pain or not :p

Kai Li
I cannot dun hire a nanny. My MIL is busy with her 2 grandsons, and my mum is working. anyway, i oso dun want my MIL to look after me. The last time she looked after my hubby's sister in law for (her 1st grandson), things didnt go well, and since then, she like no gd impression of the sister in law. she very old fashioned one lah... the sil oso cannot tahan, so her 2nd son, she got a relative from her side of the family to care. aiyah, i guess when u stay with your in laws, friction bound to happen. And I oso cant expect her to do a lot of things. So I think hire one nanny is better