(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Good evening ladies! It's indeed very exciting to know that quite a no. of us will be sharing the same due date. =)

Hi Fern,

How was your scan? =) I hope everything went well.

Sometimes I hang around here till 10pm+, but I think this place isn't as crowded as night, so I just logged off. Also, I have to hit my sack by about 11:30pm. Like today, I was basically dozing off while writing my weekly report! *LOL*

Wow, u are only 26? So young. *green with envy* ^_^

Hi Steph77,

Yes, the Isetan baby fair is at both Katong and Scotts. =) I think baby fairs seem to be a good time to check out the variety of items and compare prices. Just note that isetan one starts this Fri, while the Taka one ends this Sun.

Hi mist28,

If I am not wrong, I did read a bit about Aveda pump on another forum. I remembered the gals were saying that compared to Medela, Aveda's electric pumps are quieter.

I will try private msg u the link. I tried to paste the thread over but they ban this other forum.

Hi Joyce,

Yes, I do think the Pigeon steriliser is a good deal. The other steriliser is from Avent, but it has "fixed slots" for 6 bottles, while the one from Pigeon is "open concept" so I can put in any kinds/ sized bottles I want. So that's the reason I got it. The good price is also another reason la =P

For anyone who wants to check out the Taka sale, weekday night is the best. Very crowded when I was there last last Sun afternoon =S

FInally came back from my detailed scan today.
I am having a baby boy
No more pink stuff
but now brown and blue
... But very thankful that my baby is healthy and the detailed scan was indeed very specfic with all the measurements and very pics. which I will only receive at my next visit! Just that my plancenta a bit low but gyne says its normal as the placenta will move up when pregnancy advances
Finally can get all the right specific colours for my darling boy!

Mei, can you add me in the list

- First child
- EDD- 24 Jan 08
- Boy
- Hospital (TMC)
- Gyne - Dr LIm Teck Chai

Wind....
I don't want to sound gross here, but am I the only one who has lots of wind ever since I am pregnant??

Orange & Papaya..
Even papaya also must avoid when I hit 8 months? But it's my new found friend =(

Like Steph77, orange juice is one of my new found friends. Plain water still taste yucky, so I choose orange juice instead. I don't dare to eat so many oranges now that the aunties said must avoid. Just eat 1 every few days =P

Hi Fern,

Welcome home! Very happy for u. =) Can u imagine that your second child will have a big bro, how nice! =)

Don't have to just settle for brown and blue for boys. U can even choose orange, yellow and orange. It will be lovely on your son.

I simply can't wait for my turn =P

Ah Capp,
Ya men, True
Didnt think of that! haha
ya- will look for orange, yellow and even green. can look quite cherry on my boy. hehe

26 not young lah. OF age. Can close shop early by 30.. haha

Very soon will be your turn! Keep us updated men!
MOst importanly, we must pray for a healthy baby regardless of what gender

Just came out of my shower..

U can close shop at 30, I just started my shop at 30! *LOL* But I agree with u, I just hope that my baby is healthy regardless of the gender. Perhaps I am the eldest in the family, so I have always wanted an elder bro. So that's why I think it's very cool to have a son for your first child. =)

Bathing during confinement...

I was reading somewhere that some mums didn't bath during the confinement. She smelled so bad that her baby didn't want to drink her breast milk!

Sorry but I confirm will shower and wash my hair during my confinement. But using the water boiled with the special herbs. I met up with this confinement lady who is my colleague's mum. She agrees that most important is personal hygenie.

Where do you all usually get your maternity wear? I am petite in size having problems buying clothing nowadays.... Do you have any suggestions?

Anyone went to Le bloomingchic at orchard Delfi before? Saw their clothing on the magazine seems not bad.

Ah Capp,
30 still ok lah.. not that bad! Think postitive and you will definatley get a boy

Re confinment, my mum says cant bathe for at least 3 weeks. so better listen lor.. i will try tahan then wun suffer backaches lah. Definately cant blow fan and air con. only fresh window air. lol worst case bathe with herbs in two weeks but must be vvv fast. definatley not washing hair.. But still its based on indiviual thinking. lol. We must rally take good care during confinement.

You getting a CL in? Better to, so that can take time to rest and build up our body then

hey fern...glad to hear that all is well for your detailed scan ya. Trying not to think too much for mine upcoming, but certainly looking fwd! Each ultrasound scan is like the only time we can see how our baby is really doing hor? hahah..tts always something I look fwd to man.

ahcapp, about the wind thing, i also burp still lor. My gynae said cannot be helped leh. It differs from person to person. It's due to the hormones changes that cause digestion to be poorer or something. So sianz. He only suggest eat smaller meals each time and more frequent.

on confinement thing right, actually im getting a bit more concerned about how things will work out for me and my MIL who will be doing it for me. A bit worried can't communicate correctly with her, or if I want things to be done certain way she may not think its necessary etc. Haiz....but hubby no intention to get CL...

THis will be the first time my MIL do confinement also..really pray and hope that all will go well next time...

Hammies,
Yup, thankful that all is well for the scan
Detailed scan is a very through one. can see all baby's organs very clearly. You will know what i mean soon! Dun think so much. take things a step at a time and i am sure all will be well and good for you too. take care

Hi, hubby got notice to do reservist about 1 week after my EDD which is 1 Feb 07. So shuay.
Do you think I should ask him to apply for deferment? But I scared if he ask for deferment, don't know when they will call him to go for reservist again. Because at least during the 1st month, I got confinement lady but not sure if I can cope with just CL. Second MTBs, what's your experience for the 1st few weeks after birth?

Hi Chaye,
Hubby and I are also maple story fan and we thought we must be one of the oldest couple playing. Hee! Some of our friends are also playing.

Hi Nexyanne and Kitsune,
I'm sharing the same woes. My hair used to be straight but after pregnancy, my hair seems thicker and has natural waves! I hate it as it's difficult to manage. I also thought of doing rebonding. Hair also in two tones of black and brownish. Sigh!

Hi Steph,
My hair lenght touches my breasts, is that too long? Recently been feeling more warmth than ever and hubby asked me to cut hair but I don't feel like it leh. Will we really start to drop a lot of hair soon?

Hi Hammies,
I heard from friends that if baby in the womb is active at night, when they're out, they will tend to be active in the night too. Oh sheesh. Hope that's just a myth or else we won't be getting much sleep next time!

Ah Capp, I'm 32 and expecting my first BB cos took a while to get pregnant. But at least conceived naturally. So don't worry, you are not the oldest. ;)

Violet ICe,
Ya men! me also got thick and natural curves so really cant wait to do rebonding after delivery
haz. now dun dare take risk. Hiaz. sian men!

All,
Any recommendation if we need get for baby a special pillow to prevent suffocation. read a lot and me starting get worried. Should we get some specific ones huh? bolster also? saw some at taka fair at 19.90 but pillow seems a bit big leh. any good recommedation for me?

today went for my first antenatal class by mrs Wong at TMC. Very enlightening and fun. She taught us a lot about myths and stuffs on preggie Dos and Donts and also during confinement. Like washing hair la, cannot bathe la, etc etc.

I also asked her about hair colouring cos i have very obvious grey hairs since i was 14! She said colouring is ok...cos when gynae advises u not to colour, it's not more on the scalp absorption, more on the inhaling of the chemical. So jus make sure u cover your nostril with towel or something, and like my gynae said, dont do it at home...do it at salon by professionals.

Haha....kitsune...u're also not the oldest...me 33 this year leh.
But feel young at heart

Steph, me added u to my msn liao...icy...u got msn too?

morning all.

here oso got age thing ar? haha u all not the oldest lah ... me 34 tis yr liao lor... so old still preggie.. but i married late mah ...

weekend coming ... tink of the rest we can get

hmm, think only fishia and i really see eye to eye with the confinement period thingie cos we have the same problem.

If you are not staying with your MIL and getting her to do MIL, be prepared for some ups and downs...cos you will be spending really long time with her during that period. Seeing each other once a week vs everyday is going to be very different. And if she is those traditional type, good luck....cos you are not going to have the same idea on lotsa thingie...whether to bathe...whether she knows how to use steriliser etc.
Cooking style suits you.

Me too like fishia cried a lot and also keep calling my hubby. Especially worse when baby having colic and cry for no reason in the evening starting from abt two weeks. So i was on standby at abt 5 plus everyday cos its the same episode from my boy daily.

Hubby been supportive for bf. I didnt bother him at night...ask him to sleep cos he gotta work. So i did everything on my own. Day time also take care of baby most of the time cos i have a bit of post natal...then i dun really wan my MIL to touch baby...also maybe aggravated by her good intention nagging (like must eat now etc)...but i felth irritated cos i independent and dun like ppl to nag lor

so after one month, i told her i will handle baby on my own...so i take care of baby all on my own for the next two months.

Now our relationship ok....she is still taking care of my number 1.

think confinement shouldnt be too bad liao since we have number 1 to break the silence...haha

furthermore i will not be eating any confinement food...

but now she still looking after my number 1

AhCapp: thanks for the link.
I still can't decide btw the Ameda and Medela. I have not seen the Ameda pump but reviews so far mentioned that its the quietest among the pumps. Will make a trip down to Robinsons tml to see. Maybe after seeing it, I will be able to compare better.

Fern: Congrats to having a healthy baby boy!

kitsune: my husband is also scheduled to go for reservist 1 wk after my EDD but he is applying for a deferment. he say he does not want to be away from me and baby.

kitsune,

frist few weeks is really tough, think you will need your hubby by your side.

next time if activated and if need be, you can go and stay with your mum during that period?

I will be staying at my MILs house during my confinement cos she needs the grandma to guide her on the cooking of the confinement food and also easier for her to do marketing at her place. This is also the 1st time my MIL is doing confinement. They strongly believe in no bathing, washing of hair, fan or aircon. I have told my MIL that I will still bathe. This is one request that I must have for personal hygiene. She told me its my wish that I insist on bathing but when I old and have backache, do not complain. Another difference is my MIL did not breastfeed her kids last time and I am not sure whether she will like me to breastfeed. However, I will insist on bf as long as I can do it. I am also worried that this one month of confinement will cause conflicts btw us. So have to try to bear with some of the traditional thinking but if things that I believe should be done my way I will try to speak up too. Just hope everything will be ok.

Fern, Congrats on having a boy!

I also had my sacn yesterday...confirmed baby boy! But baby really tortured me a while becos I had to go in & out of ultrasound room 3 times as he was too cosy in his curled up position...sleeping probably...so his leg/thigh measurements couldn't be taken. I had to climb the stairs to try and make him change positions...haha. As "punishment" for me, he gave me one of the hardest kicks last night, even hubby could feel it! Probably protesting that he was "ill-treated" earlier that afternoon...haha. I'm surprised that a little baby weighing 321 grams can really kick hard man!

Mei, can you update for me. Thanks.

Good morning....
Any petite sized mummy here?? Do you have difficulties buying clothes? Where do you all buy maternity clothing?

I went to taka yesterday, also bought the Pigeon sterilizer set for $139.90. Really worth it since it will cost about $235 if you buy the items separately.

Yvonne: congrats on ur baby boy too! seems like lots of baby boys hor? when I went for my scan on tues, I also had to go in and out of the room 3times cos my ah boy was also not cooperative... haha... i still can't feel the baby kicking yet... i can't wait for the first kick!

Hi Fern & Yvonne,
Congrats to both of you having a boy!!!

Today it is my turn to do detailed scan...hope that my baby will be "guai guai" and also very excited to know the gender...but boy or girl doesn't matter as long as my baby is healthy...

I also scared that MIL and i will be having some conflicts when looking after the baby as my MIL is her first time to do it. My mum give me advise that just close one eye for this 1st mth after that u can do what you like liao...

Fern, congrats! hehehe ... how is it when u are in there? hehehe

fishia i understand but hor no choice loh ... my MIL volunteer to do confinement for me .. i cant possibly say no mah ... somemore that period confinement lady quite expensive leh haha .... and i really scare those irresponsible one read up some stories abt confinement lady. so bo bian loh .... hahah but of cos will bao one ang bao for my MIL end of the confinement ....

Jacelyn: i bot some maternity wears from Spring maternity. Most of the clothes has S, M & L sizes so if you are petite, maybe can try those size S clothes.

Yvonne congrats ... hehe think ur baby tired ... lately i feel like my tummy like got ppl knocking just a small little touch ... dunno is it baby or me XIN LI ZUO YONG 心里做用

actually u all small size can buy bigger size clothing not neccessary to buy any maternity wear ... just my 2 cents worth ....

Hi good mornie,

Hope all have a good sleep
kao_yawn.gif

Fern & Yvonne - congrats on having a boy boy ; )
Wow we got so many baby boys here...

Jacelyn - You can try to look out @ Perfect Mum in suntec, think got other branches like international plaza, etc.. I manage to get some 3/4 pants (with adjustable button) to last till last tri.. quite reasonable $39.90 before 5% discount if u purchase 1 pc & think 10% if u purchase more pc.. the maternity dress also veri trendy & color quite sweet too abt $69.90... can even wear after delivery.. suitable for small size preggie ; p

Steph - I happen to passby Tangs & brought the bra extension (truimph) selling at $3.90.. Btw, i saw John Little @ Jurong Pt having some sales.. triumph bras cost 3 for $29.90... displaying outside "This Fashion".. Think we got to "upsize" our bra quite often.. notice it outgrow the bra pretty fast...

<font color="0077aa">harlo morning

Congrats
to Fern, Yvonne & mist28 on having a bb Boy!</font>

<font color="119911">QQ,
I rec'd the fish oil package yesterday! Woahh alot...very cute miniture bottles...i stack up the 15 bottles like pyramids..like playing lego toys. My hubby was asking me, why i so happy, i say..."cannot ah?..i like leh.." kekeke

Steph hahaha ..... i thought will be today then u will receive heehee ... i posted on tuesday evening ... hehe .. thats fast ..... lucky cos when I am there to post the postman is collecting the mails hehehehe anyone want mamil milk powder?

morning everyone, yesterday went to taka baby fair. have bought the Pigeon Streilizer but its a gift from my sis. hehe.... will be getting Pigeon Manual breast pump but not now. will be getting after delivery cos i dun wan to waste money if i ended with no breastmilk.

>bathing
i think i will follow the traditional cos have been suffer from headahce since young i dun wan to make it worst. Maybe will have special herbs bath.

>Confinement
Will be at my mum's place for confinement. Hubby will not be staying over. Hope i will not cry for him. But i will make sure he visit us everyday... if he dun, will tell him i and baby will forever staying at my mum's place liao..haha....

today, 1st day start taking bird nest. got it as a gift from my bro-in-law. so sweet of my sis and bro-in-law. anyone have you start eating? we should eat once a month or once a week?

mist28, what no bath, no fan or aircon? how to tahan? i will faint with no fan or aircon but if is cooling day den ok lah.

Morning gals ! wah so many posts liao...

Contrats to Fern & Yvonne for having a boy !!!

Valencia
U mean u really pluck it ? pain or not ? will bleed or not ? isit thick ? :p

Violetlce
Old in maple ? I'm same age as Mylvera
yes indeed old liao... but young at heart ma... kekeke... When I play MS I can communicate better with my nieces (13yr) and nephews (12yr) !

Chaye,
No mah, all the youngsters playing in maple like little kids but you're right, can communicate with the kids much easier. They always asked me to buy the Maple Card and buy things from Cash Shop for them. *pengz*

Fern, Yvonne and Mist28 congratulation on having boy.
can start shopping liao.. dun have to puzzle between blue or pink. yesterday have eager to get clothes for my baby at taka baby fair but a bit hard choose cos dunno gender yet. anyway shall wait for next appointment. hopefully my baby dun cross the leg or squat down.

dear all, i have created a blog for my baby. feel free to take a look at gemofjs.blogspot.com

those who have blog, kindly update me yr blog address so that i can make it as a link.thanks.

violetlce
I dun wan to waste $$ to buy anyting fr cash shop yet but those things r really kinda cute ! Until such a day when I find my char look so boring then I'll spend $ on makeover ! hehe...

Joyce: i tink i will try to tahan the heat until when i cant take it, i will switch on the aircon. pple say fan is even worse than aircon. i have just went to check out your blog. nice! i dun have a blod to share... hehehe... too lazy to start one....

Mist28 & eRnrose,thanks for advice. Think I'll ask hubby to ask for deferment. Even if he comes home everyday also won't help right? I also don't know how I'll react after baby's birth. Plus, I'm also the kancheong type. Wait become pek chek and depressed because of the first few weeks also no good. :p

aiyo...serious no aircon? I aircon all the way with my no.1. She born in aircon rm and slept in aircon rm all the way.

Just 1 comment, do rem not to catch a chill when u go out during confinement period coz that's what happen to me. Garang din wear much when I brough my bb to chkup 3 days after discharge. End up break up in cold sweat for a few days...terrible...

Looks like Jan is a bb boy mth..ke ke ke...

Yvonne,
Congrats to you baby boy too! Indeed many of us us having baby boys! hope they will not be too naghty but cute and adorable!
QQ,
THe detailed scan will be a very thorough one. Me was feeling super sleepy and cold in there.. kinda of bored too.. very lengthy and my gyne super detailed and he keep pressing the probe on my tummy. Quite pain just to get the perfect shots. But by looking at how well and healthy our babies us, we will find that all these are worthwhile! YOu will know what I mean when you do your scan then

All- Thanks for all your congratulations too!

All- Me asked you regarding the pillow me saw at Taka fair, to prevent suffofication. anyone getting that. Its a big though. SHould we get those kind of pillows and bolsters for our babies esp to keep them safe? please advise me?

<font color="0077aa">Yvonne,
for the detailed scan, do we need to go in full bladder?</font>

<font color="ff6000">JanBB,
Nowadays alot of lingerie sales going on...but so far, i didn't buy any new bras for my new bust size. Pre-preggy small B cup, now only small C cup...use bra extension can olreadi. I will buy some nursing bra when i proceed 30weeks, i think that will be the closest bust size after we give birth bah.</font>

<font color="ff0000">Anyone bought the Avert Sterilizer at Taka BB Fair? Can i know how much? Any freebies...milk bottles etc? thanks.</font>