(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

So glad I can join in this forum. My edd is mid Jan 08 therefore confinement is likely to stretch over CNY. Will like to check if anyone has already confirmed CL and how much are they charging?
I have a quote of $2500 for 28 days of confinement but she need to go back to hometown for 2 days during CNY. Not sure if this is a common/fair practice?

Re: Detailed scan
Ok, thanks for the info. My gynae told me MAH one costs about $100, but don't know have include GST or not. Btw, so what level of detailed information did u get out of it?

Fern - hey, hope you are ok after your slight fall. Just have to be more careful ya. Oh, the baby face thing is seen thru ultrasound, so also not like very clear, just that gynae tried to show us where the eye sockets are. So long time more before knowing how baby really loooks like

About feeling baby movements, I think I've started to feel mine already! yup, over the last 2 to 3 days, have felt this sudden movement in my tummy. Today even more so just now when I was watching TV. Got my hubby to feel it too, so quite interesting feeling! For those who have not felt yet, think just be patient, around 5mths should start feeling already. Can be quite amazing feeling for the first time

Violetlce, thanks for the tips once again. Sounds like quite a gd bargain. ALso wish I could have pp to pass me hand-me-downs, but so far all those that can, are still having babies at this stage. Guess have to invest a little bit for the first one then use for next time...

Hi Fern,

think for pram / stroller, alot of friends bought them from baby hypermart and baby kingdom located at kaki bukit. their price are cheaper than other retail shops. baby hypermart carries brands like Peg Prego, Maclaren, Qinny and maxicosi (car seat)etc...not Combi. For baby kingdom, they do have Combi. (I am only naming those more popular brands). U can go there to source. I saw that they have cots & play pen too. I am interested to get the combi miracle turn model. prefer those light weight ones as I am a petite mtb. hope this helps.

Hi Verene,

Thanks for info.

Are both baby hypermart and baby kingdom industruial estate kind. NOt shoppoing centre kind? Do they sell those more unique cots with animal imprinted on it.. seen some of those before.. what are the price range? IS is much cheaper? Any sale gtg on at both places.. I am living at Sembawanhh.. Kaki Bukit seems miles away.. But if can get good buys, would be worth it men!

I am petite too.. wana get lite weight stuff too.. haha..

Btw, whats this micrale turn model? One with reversable handle pram huh?

Fern

Hammies,

Ya.. gota be more careful.. Do ya gals have any special shoes to wear during pregnancy huh? Me like wearing flat pointed shoes as that matches my clothes better.. But guess that doesnt really work for me now as its quite slippery when I walk on certian type of floorings lor.. HaZ!

Oh yah,

Regarding baby movements- Me kinda of felt something within me last nite.. like heart beating quite fast.. dunno if mine or baby's haha... And can feel some subtle movements...But still not sure.. I somehow can feel where baby is lying on my stomach lei.. NOt sure if am rite..

U ladies... got the same feeling? Its like butterflies in the stomach men! haha....a bit of discomfort though

Hi Fern,

I think for cot, those are the standards plain wooden kind. mayb can consider pasting stickers on it. I settle for a playpen (cheaper and not so big as my room is small). the place is kinda of thoses low levels industrial area. I do not know the price for cots as I did not ask them. I only view the strollers. It depends what is ur budget i guess...the better brands ones can be priced at as high as 700+. for a standard combi, the price is around 200 or so bah. u can further bargain the price i suppose which i intend to do as they dont offer a fantastic discount the first round of price enquiry...haha.

most combi design have the feature of the reversal handle turn. As for the miracle turn, it is one of the latest model combi haf now, comes with 2 colors - purple & orange. it is a 4 way wheels turn design and with easy closure, better quality cushion material and with full canopy. this is wat the staff demo to me. but of cos, it is also the most exp piece...retailing at $629 before any discount.

For shoes:

I am wearing flat mary jane kind from charles & keith - quite slippery sometimes though. I also haf a mary jane crocs shoes too...i find this good enuff as it is rubber so not slippery esp during rainy days.

Any other good place that I can get cot and pram deals besides kiddy palace as I've seen some nice stuff there and prices also very reasonable. (the one at Toa payoh branch.)

I have yet to check put baby kindgdom and baby hypermart. hope the prices are far cheaper as there are located in industrial estates.. hmm..

Anyone, of got better good deals, let me know . am looking at Mcclaren and combi or whichever is more durable and better? Budget preferbly not more than 200 .. yupz. Can get it? Hee!

Hi Verine,

We seem to be the only ones on forum now.. haha. why not chat on msn.. if you have got one? Add me in [email protected]

Me cant wear crocs as that doesnt match most of my clothings.. haha.. vain lah.. hee..

Me also got small rooms.. but my study room is adjoined to my MBR.. INtend to put cot in study room.. anyhow.. sure k find one sizes that fit the area perfectly I hope? I've seen cot that can also convert to plan pan... That will be great!

My intention to get a play pan is cos I feel that its kinda of not very saffe to put new born there.. that should only be used when baby is older? Actually me plan to put cot permantly in MBR and play pan in maid's room or hall. should be ok hor?

Actually, Whats a plan pan for? Meant for playing only and not sleeping rite?? Tot play pan is meant to be confined comfortable area for baby to play in where we can throw in all baby's favourite toys?? IF I am right? haha

Regarding Pram- Me dun need the micrale turn.. super ex lei. Me rather get a nice cot.. haha.

Guess a normal pram with reversable handle is good enough. Me looking into one that baby's facing me.. and want a three wheel kind..Is it ex for this kind?

How about those at NTUC or carefour.. not more than $200, but never heard before brands.. haha..Are those reliable? Keke...

Hey Verine,

Check with you, me bought the followings at Taka Baby Fair.

Are they worth it huh?

-Baby Bouncer (Fisher Price) -$99
- Baby milk bottle sterlizer(Puple colour) - Many freebies like milk bottles, food warmer, etc.
- Pigeon baby wipes (Saw many pple grabing.. guess very cheap_
- Pigeon manual breast pump (Got free milk storage bottle)
- Pigeon freezer bag. (For storing milk) - Hope this comes in handy when you need to pump milk when we are outside)
- Many nice and cute baby clothes (Lovely!)
- Baby head support cushion

Guess only lacking in baby cot, beddings, pram and play pan. haha

Anything else me lacking huh?

Can someone share if its too early to buy baby's potty.. Saw this combi like a motorrider at Taka fair at 19.90. Not sure if its worth it but cute lor. Also, for baby bath tub, whats a reliable brand that I can get for baby. Is one for newborn -3years safe enough for newborn? DO i need to get a antislip mat as well.

Saw one at baby fair brand- Safety first at 39-90. Is that worth it huh? Seen soem at Kiddy palce less than 10 bucks.. How come so cheap. Would the ones at Kiddy palce be safe enough too.. Doesnt mean ex ones are better right?

Ladies, advises please?

Fern

<font color="119911">harlo morning!

hey anyone been to 10 Ubi Crescent b4? There is a Piccolo House set up in October last year, a one-stop shop if you're decorating your newborn/child's room. Visit:http://www.piccolo-house.com/contactus.htm</font>

<font color="ff0000">Congrats to hammies & jenie on knowing baby gender</font>

i am going to Taka Baby Fair later afternoon to check it out...

Hey Steph,

Thanks for the Piccolo webbie.. Looks interesting.
Have you been there? How are the prices like? They dun seem to have cots and prams of wide variety? Looking into these things currently. Hope to get good deals

hi Fern,

Nope not been there yet so asking ard if anyone has been there. I am interested in their jigsaw floor mat...very cute. The place is rather far for me (in Jurong) to make a trip but if i am considering visiting baby hypermart and baby kingdom located at kaki bukit then perhaps i would make a trip there. Do u know which part of kaki bukit? address?

Hey Steph, me also plan to go Baby hypermart and baby kindgdom sometime this weekend too. Piccolo seems to have more children thingy.

Try calling them and check at 6844 1123 baby hypermart & baby kindgdom- 6547 1677.

Was rather dissapointed at Taka Fair, couldnt find nice cots nor pram.. guess smaller items are more attractive due to the freebies.. lol

WIshed could find cuter and nice prams and cots with good deal.. let me know if you have any?

Hi Steph,

Thanks for link on prams. What about baby bath tub. Any particular good brands? Or are those normal 10 bucks from kiddy palace safe for use?
Trying to save when I can.. u understand too rite?

Steph,

Regarding cots and mattress.. Ay particular brands or any links I can read up for a better understanding too. Realised many cots comes with free matress. Are those fine? What to look out for when getting baby mattress, quilt, pillow and bolsters huh?

Hi Fern,

regarding ur buys from the fair. I bought the same sterilizer as well. for breast pump, i decide to get it when i give birth cos scared no milk..haha. my hubby don't want me to get it nw also. for baby wipes, think we are still early to get them..scared they might dry up after few months of storage. my friend advise me not to buy too many clothes as she got lots of them from friends & relatives...used & new ones. esp during bb full month time. since bb never go out during confinement, no need to buy some many clothes. I cant resist myself too when i look at those super cute bb clothings, but then i try to get those sizes for 3-6 mths. hubby had restrict me to get more further
for bouncer, I am still thinking whether to buy, as i have 2 dogs at home...if i put bb in the bouncer, the dogs will most prob disturb him...haha. think those are still good buys bah since some many mtbs grab them and the cashier queue so long also.

regarding ur budget...think cant get maclaren for 200+. the infant models i enquired at baby hypermart cost 350+ and above. combi still can bah. those 3 wheel kind usually are for u to attached a car seat on it, usually pple get Quinny for those i think. but i find it too bulky for us petite mummies to be.

btw my msn : [email protected]

Hi Verine,

Me thought of getting breast pump later too but thought what happens if got milk in the end, then how? haha.. so just get ready first.. If no milk, next time just sell it lor.. haha

Regarding baby wipes, think cheeap so grab lor.. it has 3 years expiry .. did check on that. Bouncer was good buy... been wanting to get there long time liao. haha.

FYI, me have a dog too.. not going let doggie out when baby is born men! He will be locked in the balcony except for daily walks downstairs.. haha. You shouldnt let your doggies out too much when baby is born too...hahaa

My choice is either Mcclaren, capella or combi lor.. heard combi nt very good huh? is queenie better than combi? Never heard of this brand though.

What about cots? oh you be getting play pan huh? you mean get play pan nop need cot already meh? tot that for play time only? heh

Bath tub
Some hosiptal provide bath tub. However, its the "small" one. BB outgrown it very soon. I got mine from Mothercare. Personally like the design & quality. But the one that I got need to put in the anti slip mat.

Pummp
In my opinion, I think a pump is necessary. If engorged, need the pump to pump off the excess. If no milk, still need the pump to stimulate it.

Fern,
Babysafe latex mattress is good investment. The one that I own is 3 yrs old already and its as good as new. However, its ex.

Hi Valencia,

How much is the bath tub that you bought? Is there one that doent require anti slip may or all types needs that anyway. Whats the diff btw a 40 plus tub and one that is less than 10 bucks?

Anybody can add their input too.

Most mattress are given FOC when one get the baby cot. That kind should be fine too rite?

Side track a bit,

Anyone knowss how can one prevent snoring. My hubby been snoring quite a bit latley and am kinda of affected and irritated by it as am a light sleeper esp during pregnancy. Though not v serious, wished there were some med out there. ha

Fern,

i am back from the baby fair! Indeed alot of baby stuffs, bundle promotion for sterilizer & special offer going on... i bought a Graco playpen at $199 (last day today usual price at $339) & Maclaren Techno XT Crimson at $367.20...this stroller at retail shop cost ard $459 so we decided to grab this gd deal.

I don't have the intention to buy baby cot yet. I saw some baby bath tub at the fair today, i like one with the green frog design (white in color) anti slip mat & special design for newborn/infant till 6mth cost $39.90. In the end, we didn't get it cos i wanna shop for this later & compare prices at some other places like kiddy palace, mothercare etc...those in ma ma shop sell only ard $12 bucks, plain tub with no anti slip.

Hi, looks like many of the MTBs went to the Taka baby fair ya? I decided not to go this weekend. Think still too early cos I don't have space in the house. Bought some baby clothes during the JL closing sale and they are still in the plastic bag. Haven't bought a wardrobe or cupboard for Baby's room so no place to store the stuff. The earlier I buy, the more I need to maintain and clean the stuff. Think will start buying later in the year when I have the nesting instinct. Hee.

Still went shopping today though. Charles and Keith having storewide sale up to 30%. Bought 2 pairs of flat shoes and a sling bag. ;)

Hi, Michelle. Wow, must let baby latch on for 2 months. Ok, will be very tiring to do that at night but at least should be still on the maternity leave so I'll try. After that, time to activate hubby. But he's a heavy sleeper plus he snores, don't think he can hear baby crying. :p

Hi Fern,

combi not say no good...each & every brand have their pros & cons. if u prefer light weighted ones, then combi (japan), capella (korea) or aprica (japan) will be the choice. for big and bulky ones...usually is quinny, maclaren(england) and peg prego (Italy) which those ang mo like. buying a stroller is like buying a car for the baby...hee hee. for quinny,the only ones for infant are those that need to fix on a car seat (those with 3 wheels). maclaren is all time favourite for locals too. playpen not only for play when the child gets older. there is a bassinet attached to it which the baby can sleeps on when he/she is a infant.

Hi Steph, we bought the same playpen. =)

think for bathtub, i read from a baby buy list written by a mummy saying that the antislip mat comes in handy only when the baby starts to sit up. infant time, not so useful.

Hi Valencia,

how's much is the babysafe latex mattress?

I went to the taka fair but did not buy a lot. Mainly bought the sterilizer, which I decided to settle for the Avent package. Was contemplating about the breast pump too, but in the end did not buy...hopefully at a later stage then can decide again. I was wondering..what if not enuff milk to pump?! haha...

Oh ya, for those who bought baby clothes already rite, what sizes did you buy? Newborn? How about like 3-6mths clothes?

Oh, another thing...for those of u having baby boys..ask u ah...have u all start thinking of names already?? Any that you are considering??

Hi hammies,

for clothes...i bought only a bit of new born...most of them i bought 3-6 mths and some bigger ones. i find that diff brand diff cutting, some looks so small though for 3-6m.

Me & hubby still cracking our heads on english names.

Fern,
I used to use the FREE mattress but bb kept crying as its very hot to sleep on the mattress. Those free mattress are usually foam type.This may be one of the reason y bb refuse to sleep in cot. So, after doing some reading and feadback from other mummies that were using the latex mattress, I got it. Then I kept the foam one in the storeroom. Months down the road, one fine day. I was tidying the storeroom and found the mattress got mould. IMAGINE!!!! My son used the mattress merely for 2 months or so. And another mummy from the forum also experienced the mould thingy and his son was then still using the mattress. Thats y I think if financially allows, its really a gd investment. And the latex mattress provide good support for the back. Support for NB may not be crucial. But dont forget, they grow.

Verene,
I cannot remember exactly how much. $150? or so.

But there again, I do not encourage getting the mattress now cos you do not know if bb wanna sleep in the cot also. Gotta trial when he/she is out first. Unless, you "die die" not going to co sleep. Eg. myself. Doesnt like the idea of co sleeping.

morning all,
RE: bathtub.

it all depends on how u mummies view. I m still using e free bathtub for my son who is 13 mths plus. No prob with it. When he still a bb, we carry him n bathe him. When he is older, he sits in the bath tub n we shower him. As he grows older, he stands inside the bath tub n we use water hose to shower him down. So far so good n save $$ too.

Well, perhaps i m a stingy mummy who refuse to spend on anything unnecessary, but when it comes to safety, I m prepared to spend $$. I bot a Graco car seat tho my hb n me dun own a car, I bot a Graco stroller cos we find it more sturdy. all these costs me few hundreds to 1K. Clothes i dun buy exp stuff (cos they outgrown very fast).. but make sure it is 100% cotton with no embroidery as my son has a very sensitive skin.
I rem seeing a pedi last fri. She recommends those creams for the butt n says "as a bb grows older, the more he/she requires the cream unless he/she does not wear any nappy." hence we must apply those creams aft every nappy changes, not jz after every "big" biz lor.

Hi Violetice

TMC gave me a total of 10 pictures for the detailed scan. Got side view, head view, face view, footprint, baby licking toes etc....

They will check for cleft lips, bladder, heart, blood flow etc ...

Jenie

Dont worry about the low placenta, my gyn said that is the last thing to worry now. We are only 5 months, most of the time the placenta will move up later

<font color="ff0000">harlo morning, hope u all enjoyed a great wkends!</font>

hi Verene,

Let's share our playpen features that we've bought at the baby fair with the rest of the MTBs here...

929900.jpg

babytown.com.sg selling S$289.00 and we bought for $199.00...that's abt 31% disc!
Features:
* Removable full-size bassinet with quilted bumper pad provides cozy nap-time space
* Washable quilted sheet for babys comfort
* Enhanced electronics unit entertains and soothes with: o 2-speed mattress mounted vibration o 5 Classical songs and 5 soothing nature sounds o Night light to illuminate controls o Check light shines on baby's sleep area o Timer settings of 5, 10, 15 or 25 minutes * Deluxe diaper organizer provides diaper stacker, refillable wipes container, and storage compartments for all diaper changing necessities * Indoor canopy with detachable soft toys provides shade and amusement
* Folding changing table for quick diaper duty
* Push-button fold makes folding easy
* Wheels with locks for better mobility in the home
* Unique swept frame makes functionality stylish * Mesh on four sides improves air circulation
* Easy to store and transport in handy carry bag Recommended Use For use by children unable to climb out, less than 35 tall, and less than 30 lbs.Changing table for use by children less than 25 lbs. Bassinet for use by children less than 15 lbs.

morning. hope all of you had a good weekend either shopping/resting

anyone know the address of baby hypermart and baby kingdom? I tried searching online but can't find.

Here's the stroller i bought from the baby fair Maclaren Techno XT Crimson at $367.20
Anyone have this at home as well ? Pls give me your reviews (if any).

929922.jpg

Features:
High-tech flagship buggy with superior comfort, performance and sporty style.
Specifications: * basic weight: 6.5 kg / 14.2 lb (with out hood, shopping basket or raincover)
* child capacity: 25 kg / 55 lb
* appropriate from: 0 months, birth Features + Functionality:
* Suspension in single-spoke wheels
* 4 seat positions
* Adjustable leg rest and handles
* One-hand fold
* Reflective accents
* Tilting zipped hood with sun visor and 99% UV protective viewing window
* Buggy available in Storm Grey with five colourful Comfort Packs to choose from that include a head rest and shoulder pads

<font color="119911">This is a gd web reference for you to compare price range, durability & grade of stroller for different brands
http://strollers.baby-gaga.com/reviews/strollers-by-brand.php
Hope u find it useful. Happy shopping!</font>

Hi G tan,

the 10 pictures you had from the detailed scan, were they clear? or like those taken from the usual scans at our gynaes?

hi jennifer,
Fern has given me the contacts...try calling them and check at 6844 1123 baby hypermart & baby kindgdom- 6547 1677.

hi Morning!

Does anybody hav e lucky baby website? wanna tak a look at their items..

i was interested in a Combi pram cost $405 weight 4.2kg at e taka fair, is a old model not e new one..
is it gd?

Hi,all.

I think everyone has an exciting shopping experience at Taka last sat. Really lots of people.

To share with everyone, I only bought Avent sterilizer set at $135(which can hold 5 bottles, comes with one 120ml bottle, one 260ml bottle, measuring and cleaning tools). Also bought 2 330ml bottles at less than $20. Later my SIL told me baby doesn't drink that much yet. So, I will be getting another 120ml bottle later.

Hi, anisa.

I checked with my gynae on Neurogain DHA supplement. He said it is ok to take. Never heard that AA will cause high blood pressure. I took for around one month too and my blood pressure is still normal. But my gynae said it is not a must to take. Up to individual.

Hi, mei.

You may want to update your table. My EDD is 28 Jan 08 and I am expecting a girl.

Steph,

Wow, you managed to get many good deals at Taka huh. That play pan you bought is indeed worth it due to the so many functions and the price is good too. For me, I'll like to check out the hyper marts for wider choices and do not intend to get play pan so early as have yet to clear up room for it. Can we buy and assemble later? Also, do there have any other colours as I personally prefer darker classic colours. yep

Re Bath tub, yup, I like the green frog design too! v cute but not sure if functions are really good for that price? Yeh, kiddy palace sells it much cheaper but not with antislip mat. Heard a fren saying thats impt as baby would be scared while bathing as floor might make tub slide.

Verine,
I kinda of like Capella design.and Mc Claren also seems quite nice. As for whether bulky or sleek, I guess I gotta see actual pram and make a comparison then. Of cos fuctions and price also need to consider. Definately looking for one with reversible handle as read up that this kind is better. Would love a 3 wheeler kind. Does Capella or Mcclaren has those?

Valencia,
Thanks for your opion on baby's mattress. So which means I gotta check out if the free matrees is latex or foam kind right? But right now no point getting latex kind or rather check if I can get a better deal if I would prefer not having the free foam but pay slightly more for the latex kind? ANyway, we would not know baby's prefernce till baby sleeps in the cot huh?

Hope to hear from you gals soon

hi Krystle,
Congrats on having a baby girl. Can i check which model of Avent sterilizer u bought? the new model Q...? but it doesn't come with milk bottle warmer feature?

Hey, you gal willing to pay so much for the pram. My budget for pram is not more than 300 and cot not more than 500.. hee.. really wana get good deals soon men. WOuld prefer spending $ on a good mattress for baby.

Hope you gals really had fun shopping at Taka and to keep more inputs coming.

G Tan, Yah, me would be going for detailed scan soon, Do let me know how clear those scan are.. as getting really excited men!

Fern,
point to note on selecting playpen...look out on any sharp cutting edges, not just on design & color so that the playpen is safe for our baby/children to play in. Yes, the Graco playpen that i bought can be assemble by ourselves later..there is a Push-button fold makes folding easy for storage!

Realised many of you got the Advent sterliser. Me got teh Pigeon one (Purple colour) Didnt really study the features b4 getting,.. But from the way the lady described seems quite user friendly with timer and also free bottles and foor and milk warmer.. FOund that useful and good deal..

Any of you gotten the same?

RE: The hypermart, is it a good time to go down next weekend? Are they having good promotions and deals currently. Am staying at Sembabwng.. Going to be quite far traveeling down.. HOpe wd be a fruitful trip.

NOw really looking in to cots, prams and playpan at good deals.. yup

Steph,

Point taken.. Yup, that was a good deal.. Will look out for something similiar as you too... Does it only comes in one colour for that Graco playpan? Will need to check up more details. SO I guess you wun be getting a cot too? just play pan will do for baby's sleeping huh?

hi violet
first bottle & teat impt? No ley, i had to switch around to find one that my boy accepted. Tried Avent teat, NUK teat, finally he took to Pigeon teat.

michelle
oic.. your treatment is not the typical Sgporean one.. everything also scan, everything also test, in the end everything also pay. They're just out to suck our $$$.. i was so tempted to go Polyclinic for my monthly chkups to save $$.

Fern
i also went to Taka for the Baby Fair abt 4pm on Sat, but was extremely put off by the long queues @ cashier, so in the end i went up to 3rd floor Taka baby dept & walked a bit.. bought a spoon and a toy for my 2YO boy. Nothing for #2

chaye
cot for #1 was borrowd fr my SIL who more or less closed shop after she had 2 girls. Then i loaned it to my colleague, then i'll be getting it back soon for #2. Great mileage for a free item huh..

hammies
i borrowed baby clothes & stuff from friends who were waiting for age gap to widen b4 having another. Then returned to them when my #1 outgrew.

Fern,
pigeon sterilizer is quite good too. Alot of my frds are using this brand. Did u saw the digital sterilizer (3 in one) c/w warmer at $127 i think plus free 2 pigeon bottles.
Graco playpen comes in several design & colour but for the model i bought, only one color.

At the moment i don't think i will be getting baby cot. Maybe invest in a good mattress will do.

Hi Jennifer and Fern

The pictures are clearer than the one I took at my gyn's clinic.

Guess, they are using different machines.

I can see my boy's tongue, when he is licking, so should be quite clear lah.

You can ask the sonographer questions when she is scanning. Both your husband and yourself should be able to see the screen together.

Golden Pig,

Yep, the queue was indeed long.. but can really get some good buys... YOu should try gtg on weekdays, perhaps queue not so bad... I went around that time too!

What pissed me off is they were saying can get free gifts above 500. I spent more than that as I wanted to get the free rocking horse for my baby. In the end, was told that that was sold out and was given two disney toys insetad, which I already had. Dun understand, why cant they like ordered more given the expected crowd. Haz