(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

My gynae says if u take fish 3 times a week, dun haf to eat fish oil pills. Heehee..hardly even finish 1 bottle when I had my first one.

Hmm..u all feel tummy hard hard but me dunno y recently fill it soft and as if there's alot of space. Not so tight and taut like a few weeks back. ARghhh...still not feeling baby's movements.

babe u not alone i oso cant feel baby yet ... always lying down to rest and will put my hands on the tummy and tell BB to move hahaha but still no feel yet

QQ, sorry, yes he give Folic acid too.
babe - your gynae same as my lor.....eat fresh fish & dont bother with pills, he said. But i tot Sg kids r, in general, more clever n smaerter than M'sian kids so there must be u gals doing or eating to produce smarter ones....haha

for me i dun really eat alot of fish cos mostly 3 meals all eat out so fish oil is a must for me heehee

Steph
I got mine 500ml (no leather grip) for $16. Yours good deal ! good to have be it bfg or not cos when your child grow up u can still bring it out. Like now i store hot water and bring it to swimming pool. So right after swim i mixed the hot water into my girl water bottle and she can drink some warm water after swim !

YunBB
Doc Adrian's appt v easy to change one. You can change it to 10 Sep (Mon) but u may hv to wait lor.

thanks for the recommendation of the baby's microphone. Will check it out a Taka's fair...btw, how long is the Taka fair?

Talking abot bottles and sterilizers....how much is considered cheap and got discount ah? Sorry...cos normally didnt really pay attention to the norm amount, so i wudnt know whether got good price or not. Hee.

My tummy also got more "hairier"...very strange the hair is like one line all the way to pubic area. ewww

had my appointment today, baby super active, actually was in a good position but then baby kept moving about that doc was unable to get the gender. Doc says since cannot see anything protruding, means likely its a girl. Yeah
Time to go shop ard for some baby clothes tomo, so happy.

I asked doc for multi vits, but he say if I eat a balance meal then he will not wanna give, so I ask for fish oil instead, since I am not much of a fish eater.

Next visit in another's month time for the detail scan.

Can really see the baby growing, today doc did the tummy scan and can tell that he is using the scan much higher than before. So happy.

See that the avent sterilizer is quite popular, I will go check out the prices tomo. Guess can buy sterilizer first, then milk bottles can buy slowly and in smaller quantity in case baby dont like. Today I survey the mommies who were bottle feeding at TMC, and they were all using Avent.

gee.. this thread moves so fast really cant catch up with all the old posts!

anyway i see u r talking about sterilisers? seems like i am the only one using tommy tippee brand here? i actuall find it pretty gd. can fit all brands of bottles and even my breast pump parts! i think i bot it for ard $80 at moms n babes (united sq. so if u hv time, check it out lor.

as for those of u planning to breastfeed, all i can advise is that it is VERY tough in the beginning. but if u perservere n get past the first mth or so, u will find the experience extremly rewarding. my case was slightly challenging as i intro the bottle too early so my son didnt wanna latch on directly, n i had to express all the way for 3 mths. this is very siong, because u need to pump every 3 hrs in order to get your milk supply established in the first mth! so u really feel like a cow lor. but after 3 mths, i tried to 'lure' my son back to the breast n to my amazemt and happiness, he did! latch on! so i enjoyed direct breastfeeding for about another 4 mths till he turned 7 mths old then i stoped. anyway if any of u hv qns abt BFing, feel free to ask me
most glad to help!

angelsky
i also used Avent bottles, but fitted with Pigeon teats. some of my frens do too

hi michelle
think abt the expressing i sian liao.. i'd rather latch on all the time. I still remember those days express 3 times a day in the offc.. wah!!! looking back, i feel like i'm such a hero..

goldenpig
haha yeah i hate pumping too! n u r rite... i think we did a great job
so now for 2nd one must make sure we dun make the same mistakes we did for the 1st one!

Detailed Scan
I'll be going for mine on 28 aug. very excited too cos hv not seen my bb since i was 10 wks! cant wait to find out abt whether boy or girl. but if my instincts r rite, i think i'm having a girl this timr round ;)

Wow, Angelsky. You know your BB's gender already. I'm so envious. My last appt was on 1 Aug, gynae said BB's legs are closed so can't see. My next appt was supposed to be 12 Sept for detailed scan but I kan cheong and don't want to wait so long so I've booked another appt to see my gynae next Tues since got 90% company subsidy. Think she'll be surprised to see me. Hope I will know BB's gender by then. Hee.

<Michelle, is it true that you have to breastfeed directly even through the night so that baby will latch on? I'm thinking of expressing and bottle feeding leh so that hubby can hellp feed BB so I don't need to keep waking up esp if I go back to work after ML.

Hi Hammies,

Will let you know the pricing tomorrow as going with hubby to the baby fair.

My tummy is quite hard, my sis said it's like a ball.

Goldenpig,
Can pigeon teats fit into Avent bottles ? Izit those pigeon anti colic teats tat is for bigger bottles ones ?

Re : breastmilk
I lasted only 3 weeks for the 1st born cos the reservoir juz dried up naturally w/o any engorgement... :p

haha...kitsune..me 2 feel like calling my gynae's office to go fr another checkup to see my baby's gender...cos she said most likely girl but still i wan to confirm ma...cant wait till 3rd sept for the detailed scan at hospital leh....but i'm afraid she thinks i'm super kiasu loh..hee

chaye
erm, i dunno if it's anti colic, but it's called peristaltic teats for wide-necked bottles.
2nd time wiser, so for this time round, must hang on to bf for min 6 months ok. work harddddd

michelle
your doc dun scan for u every visit huh.

Talking about pumping...really sianz...enjoyed direct latch...
But no choice gotta go back work so have to be attached to that silly machine and I didn't have enough that way.
Hmm..introduced bottle to my gal abt 3 wks old for 1 feed off and on coz got hassled by my mum and MIL to do it. Thank God she didn't reject latching after that...Was using avent bottle and pigeon peristaltic teats as well. Not bad but felt that the flow was still a little too fast for newborn even when using size S.

wow girls u all make me more wanted to go for scan immediately leh ... hheeh i weigh myself yesterday again my weight isnt increasing .... and i am very worried dunno how's baby didnt feel the movement yet .... sigh

Juz to share... Took pm leave with my preggy fnds & went to Taka Baby fair yez... Think is worth making a trip down especially first time mtb like me who never been to baby fair.. haha..seems that can buy everything cos realised got so many stuff to buy... i see until blur..baby clothing is soooo cute ; p

<font color="0077aa">ok what they have:
- Big items are stroller, car seats, cot (limited), playpen...
- Steriliser : Avent & Pigeon are selling in combo packages (incl milk bottles, pump, food warmer) with attractive prices (cun rem exact price, will be making a trip down with hubby again)
- Baby clothings: Pigeon (new born, 3-6mths) having sale 3 pc for $9.90... (haha, manage to grap 3 sets) and many more...
- Misc stuff : toys, baby detergents, shampoo, wipes, cotton wool...etc etc... many many more..</font>

Btw, i cun find the equipment to talk & listen to baby there.

Advise is to go during weekday after 2pm... cos during lunch time still got long queue but after that is lesser crowd. Weekend shld be veri crowded ; p

Have a good time shopping

QQ, how many weeks are you? actually I have the same concern as you coz I didn't gain any weight too. but i can see my stomach is a bit bigger.. slightly only.
but i think you dont need to worry too much coz i trust my gynae. he said mayb 5th month onwards then i will gain.

I went to e taka baby fair yest too ard 6plus... not crowded
can shop ard..

i spend ard $100+ didnt buy real big items.. juz some clothing, bibs,mittens & towels..
Agreed wif JanBB there r lot of stuff to buy for 1st time mum..

saw a combi brand pram weigh 4.2kg only but cost $405 is it worth e $$?

Steriliser : Pigeon brand cost $139 in combo packages.. one of my frz wanna buy dat for mi so i juz msg her e price yest but cant remember watz inside e package.. hahahaa!

Jennifer I am 17 weeks now loh .... i dunno what happen on tues hor i poo poo all black color one .... scare me ... then yesterday poo poo 3 times ..... then got blood
so it makes me more worried and I slept ard 11plus for these past few days but i always have weird dreams and when i woke up i feel that like I didnt get enuff sleep .... sigh

Oh Lynn thanks I can go over on Monday then after my check up heehee .... see what my hubby says .....

good morning ladies,

looks like some of you went down to the fair already, intending to get my steriliser there, great that there's some promotion going on.

QQ,

don't worry, i also has not feel bb movement yet, gynae say not so soon. sometimes i get worried also cos cannot feel movement, but the time we can feel is coming soon!

QQ, me too. cant sleep well at night. i donno if it's becoz we think too much in the day then night time our minds still very active.

i think you can talk to your gynae about your concerns on Monday? im sure he/she can assure you that everything is ok

golden pig i dunno leh i very scare .... when i told my hubby he say maybe not enuff fibre.... eh not really hard leh my poo poo ..... sigh .... really worried .....

I also have not felt BB's movement yet. I'm 16 weeks now. But I read that first MTBs can't feel it so fast so I think should be ok.

if enuf fibre, poo will float. If eat too much meat, poo will sink. If black, means your iron intake is hi (ie eating red meat). If smelly, means smthg also... dunno what.

I also cant really tell what is baby movement, so when doc ask me if I can feel, I just say no. But sometimes at night when I wanna sleep, I can hear my stomach area heartbeat very loud and fast, but not sure if its baby or just me. But during scan, baby was very active, kept moving about, so I guess even if I cant feel should be okie ba
Since me new mama, not very familiar. My friend said she could only feel late into her 5th month.

kitsune, well doc says cant see anything so just be a girl for now till the detail scan next month
. This time, he did scan for me, but he never print out for me and also never measure the length of the baby. Hai~~~~ I got so many questions to ask him that I also forgot to ask him why he never print out.

QQ, I also got the same issue, but mine is not black, just that half the time I feel I have not cleared my bowels and also got a tiny bit of blood. Doc ask me to continue to eat mixture of fibres like guava, apple (hard fibres) and not only soft one likes banana and papaya, coz you need both wo. Also ask me to eat more leafy vegetables, which I told him I do eat alot but still cannot manage to poo. Bo bian.

Okie, so I guess the avents bottles are quite good and the sterilizers too, though the combos are quite good, coz really sound rather cheap le. But my mum was nagging at me, saying if I buy so soon, no place to keep all the things, but I really tempted to buy le. kekeke. Can get good deals also. hmmmm. But I currently going to be full time stay home mummy for the next year, so likely I will keep trying to latch unless no milk.

O i forgot, I strained my neck and back, yesterday I rubbed with tiger balm and then realised the packaging says to ask doc if advisable to used. Pengz.

angelsky,

i heard that we got to bring our pump to the hospital too, cos the 1st 2 days won't have milk and we need to start pumping to get the milk flow coming, kind of stimulating it.

Pumping

I hate it too!!! Everyday like very "bo eng" washing, sterilising, pumping and fully occupied by the boobs. LOL~ Weaned him off the breasts at 6 months cos I felt I was a walking pacifier to him. Came back from work, the moment I carry him, he "dived" into my boobs. Continued EBM for another 3 months or so. Really too tired to express. Since now I am SAHM, guess I wouldnt mind so much to be a walking pacifier as much as b4. Target to bf till 1 yr old.

angelsky,
Guess the lound sound is juz fm ur stomach not bb. Perhaps, you may wanna try lying on your side then change position to lie on ur back while u place ur hands on ur tummy. You may experience the kick. Sometimes, my little ones has not been kicking me for a few hrs and I wanna feel her kick, thats wat I do. Hehe~ Might sound a bit silly ah?!!? But so far, it nv fail me to feel her. As this is #2, I can feel at wk 17 but for #1 I only feel towards end of wk 20.

QQ,

if you never red meat, then most probably could be the iron. iron tabs are very heaty.

valencia,

sounds like all of us will become walking cow!

QQ,
recently my stools are quite dark in color...dark brown. Dun worry too much, inform yr gynae during yr next visit abt the stools conditions.
I had a bad dream this morning too. Dreamt that a crocodile bite my legs, it was so painful & i was so scare until i woke up from sleep!

woah.. so many posts.. unfortunately i cant go and see. I only can start my purchases when i back in sg ard wk 30. My friends say it could be very tiring for me.

QQ,
I also have black stools.. *sigh* i give up.. since preggy my stools are of all werid colours.

Steph77,
I also had bad dream, I dreamed spiders on my hair, i woke from my sleep... and then hrs later dream spiders again.. Urgg..

regards black tools

i oso have black stools. there are 2 times after i preg i poo got blood. scary... i think the stool too hard, maybe too heaty or not enuff fibre