(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

my hb actually wan to go today but in the end he say dun wan go. i tml got wrk oso... but maybe tml will go see.. tml oso have.

chaye am staying at eunos crescent i can catch a better view if it is at stadium heehee .....

my hse can see heehee .... am oso staying higest floor keekekeke

fireworks at marina there loh NDP there

firework tonite at Marina there, where NDP was. firework display by Spanish team and Saturday by China team.......both at 9pm sharp.

my hse at houngang n can c too.......i on highest floor too.........relatives/frens coming over for the firework!!!

thread move so fast.........!! Cant keep up!!

Still no one here sniff at Epax capsules to help my colleague confirm the smell of it???!!!! It sure smell like Atheletes foot!!!!

hi all!

i am new here.
My edd is 14 jan 08. and i think i havent done or buy or read up on a lot of things! haha. have u peeps all found your confinement nannies yet? argh, have difficulty finding one, since its crosses the CNY.

my first baby, so i am clueless abt everything. hope to learn more from u peeps

<font color="119911">QQ,
today so quiet b'cos cannot access the thread at all. I've sent email to the moderator, Bee Lee since this morning. This occurs when the server can't cope with the high traffic. So annoyed but what to do & till now then able to access.

Wow...the fireworks finished liao? must be very nice, can see from yr home.</font>

hi nexyanne, welcome

Initially i wanna engage confinement lady but they are too ex (abt $2,600) during CNY period so my mother in-law will do it for me instead.

the thing is, my MIL is oredi packed up with her 2 other grandsons... and my mum is working... sigh...

$2600? i got 1 quote me $3000!!!!!

the rate $2,600 is quoted when i enquire CL in early July. The CL did mentioned that towards quarter 4 of 2007, the price will increase to $3000 & if u book last minute in Dec, price will go up to $3,200!!! How about getting your mother to do confinement? This will help save u alot of $$ so that u can buy baby stuffs. The usual off peak rate for confinement is ard $1,700. I dun think it is worth to spend the money unless really no choice. Ask for recommendation/referrals otherwise CL will mark up very high during peak period like CNY.

Just came back from Taka Baby Fair. Spent over $200 on Sterilizer, some newborn clothes, Pigeon baby wipes, Nappy liners etc. Not bad I would say. Went with 2 pregnant friends and everyone has something to purchase.

Hubby compared the Avent and Pigeon Sterilizer.
Avent has 2 models. One is the Express Electric Steam Steriliser ($135), the other one is iQ 24, Eletronic Steam Sterilizer. ($160)

They are giving away a full set of freebies like Avent milk bottles, brushes, teats, pillow and bolster etc. Quite worth.

Pigeon's Sterilizer seems bulky and costs $139, also with freebies like warmer and the above mentioned.

We chose Avent bec it's Made in England and hubby is cautious nowadays esp what happened with Fisher Price and Mattel. But I do know many MTBs who're using Pigeon too.

They have Philips Humidfier on 50% sale! Do you think it's necessary?

Hammies,
I checked the milk bottles for you:
Avent 260 ML - $16.90 for 3 bottles
Avent 330 ML - $9.92 for 1 bottle

Pigeon 200 ML - $7.04 for 1 bottle (wide neck)
Pigeon 300 ML - $7.36 for 1 bottle (wide neck)

Hope the above are useful.

The fair lasts till 2nd September.

Somebody told my husband... the baby born in Jan will be a Fire Pig and will be in the element of Fire... Haha.. though am a christian... Its kinda of interesting thingy.. Anyone aware of this?
Does anyone has puzzle pubble 2? The bubble puzzle 1 game certainly made me smiled.. loved that game very much.. hahaha

FYI- am gtg baby fair tommow.. Anyone else going too???

Fern

Hi Nexyanne

Welcome ! I've booked my CL for 2400. I have asked ard and most of them quote me this price altho they are taken and finally mgt to find one. And I have to agree to let her go off on cNY eve and back on 3rd day of CNY. No choice I guess ppl also need to celebrate CNY ma.

Hi Fern
So wat abt Fire Pig ? Good or bad ? Most of us will be having Jan bb here.

Hey gals,

Any check list for new MTB? Guess everything will be so cute at babt fair but need to know what are the main stuff to get first..

Any thing that you gals can share?

Fern

violet
b4 #1 born, i bought Tollyjoy wipes. But he kena bad nappy rash, & i thought it's coz the wipes were quite wet.. so i switched brands, tried Johnson & Johnson, then stuck to Pigeon. Same for diaper rash cream.
The key is, dun invest too much in 1 brand. After all, it's the baby who will decide which brand is suitable. Some babies born with eczema, can only use cotton & water.

I also bought nappy liners & cloth nappies. In the end give away nappy liners & cloth nappies only used to swaddle baby... babies poo so often, wherever & whenever... i was quite glad to use disposables.. =PPP

Steph
dun b annoyed la, we're using this forum FOC ley. If i'm a paying member, then i would demand service.

Fern
my advice is: dun buy anything 1st, c if anyone can lend u big ticket items like cot, steriliser, breastpump, used baby clothes, blankets, bathtub etc. Wait until baby hampers arrive etc. Then use whatever u have on hand & decide if u need more of the same brand, or gotto switch.

Chaye,

Me book my CL for $2,500 and told her that she needs to stay with me throughout new year so she agreed... thats why cant give me a cut in her salary... really steep to deliver in Jan men!

Haha, regarding fire Pig me dunno men! Its just a business associate who told my hubby abt this.. haha.. guess all horiscope has pros and cons... TO me, nothing much to dwell on as long as our baby is healthy.. yeah?

Golden Pig,

thanks for that advise... haha... me not into sharing or using second hand things for baby lei esp being a new MTB.... no offence huh?? So being new MTB, we tend to get out of control when we see cute things we can get for our baby lor but I guess we need to exercise self control... haha

Hey, check with you I took iron pills and realised my stools are greyish color.. looks kinda of wierd so me worried and stopped... Anyone same problem?

fern
i was a 1st time MTB once..

my "out-of-control" started after my 3month ML. Overspent on clothes & toys.
For me, used items are fine as i've got my eyes on budget all the time. Even until now my neighbour still passing me her boy's old clothes & shoes. My boy already 2YO.

hey anyone been to 10 Ubi Crescent b4? There is a Piccolo House set up in October last year, a one-stop shop if you're decorating your newborn/child's room. With products sourced from all over the world, incl Thailand, Germany, Australia & the US. You'll find customisable bedroom sets, gorgeous wall murals, jigsaw floor mats and more. Anyone been there b4?

goldenpig & Fern,
i am oso on budget all the time however it is my hubby who is more gan cheong since this is our #1. He prefer to buy new stroller & playpen instead of using 2nd hand. For clothes, 2nd hand is okay since newborn out grow them very soon.

steph
yes i also bought a $300+ new pram, and my sis blessed me with a $100+ playpen for baby's gift. Our friends blessed us with a $200+ car seat. And many other items also given.

this time round, maybe they just give ang pow..

I am back from the bb fair, we bought a play pen for $199, the avent bottles set on offer and the pigeon sterilizer set. To me, I wanted to get avent initially as it looks better...but find out from my mummies friend that pigeon is more appealing to them and the pigeon sterilizer is much cheaper as it is a bundle set with a food/milk warmer, milk bottles, brush & pacifier for $139. since my friend uses the pigeon one and that can fit avent bottles too, so I buy that one since the price is quite a big diff from avent. save cost to get a better stroller. =p

Also bought a pooh bear receiving blanket.

As for the dark color stools, it is due to the iron tablets as per wat the gyne nurse mentioned to me, it is normal. just drink more water or take prune juice if u constipate.

Fern,

the iron tablet is impt for the bb...cant stop eating. suggest u drink more water. or take fruit juice.

have a nice weekend gals.

Happy Weekend! Feeling pretty tired lately. My legs feel like they were swollen at night after a long day of walk. So have to raise them up with a pillow to ease the problem.

I am still wondering what items should I get at this stage. So many items to consider! What is the main difference between Avent and Pigeon Sterilizer? Or their bottles? I seriously know nuts about them. =( And pumps. Which brands do you ladies recommend?

I will be looking for a CL too. I was quoted $2600. My colleague's mum has about 5 CL under her who she trained and send overseas. I hope I can get a good one from her.

I am currently into my 19 weeks. Still no feeling of baby movement yet. My detailed scan will be on 31 Aug, simply can't wait! =)

steph oh ya i thought the forum is down so i try gg back o history and click on the link hen i can chat here loh ...

as for the fireworks i am disappointed cos is very low cant really see
only hear

Hello everyone!

Violetlce ,thanks for your info! Seems like u bought quite a bit! Hehe.. I can't wait to go check out the fair too. In the end, should be going on Sunday instead. So you bought Avent steriliser. So does it mean you have the Avent bottles that come together in the pack? I told my hubby abt this, but he seemed to feel that can just stick to normal pot to boil water and sterilise the bottles!! Don't know whether he will want to buy or not....

Oh yah, I just went for my checkup at gynae this morning. Blood tests results all came back fine, DS probability also very low, so happy and thankful. Baby seems to be growing well, so relief again. Somehow he measured baby at about 315g ad I'm about 19 weeks already. Then gynae also showed me baby face and eyes and the gender!! Looks like me and hubby's guess were wrong. We thought we are having a girl...but gynae showed us..the little 'thing'! So he is quite certain it's a boy... Well, guess we are both happy no matter boy or gal, just that my thoughts of having all things pink will probably have to start changing to more 'manly' stuff now!

Btw, for those who went for detailed scan, how much did you all pay? Or was it part of your gynae's package? Mine told me I can do a detailed scan at MAH in 2 weeks time. Is it really necessary? He just said advisable to do so.

Anyway, quite an exciting weekend for me. Can start planning more now..

hammies congrats on having a boy and ur tests are all fine ... hope mine will be like urs heehee .....
my detail scan have to pay is not in the package ... if i didnt remember wrong is $180 will let u kw again heehee

Hi Hammies,

Yes, the Avent Sterilizer comes with a small(4oz) and big (9oz) milk bottles, extra teat, brush for washing bottles only (need to get small teat brush),a thermometer for measuring baby bath, pillow and bolster, tongs etc. So quite a good bargain. I heard if you buy during normal offer there aren't such freebies. Anyway since it's free together with the Sterilizer, hubby and I don't mind. My mum also told me not necessary to buy Sterilizer but hubby and I have heard about people boiling the milk bottles till it melted into different shape. Maybe it's the uncontrollable boiling point but for Sterilizer it's safer and you can continue to go about doing your own things without standing over there looking after the boiling process. Anyway, you discussed with your hubby lor.

Hi GoldenPig,
Thanks for your advise. Won't be buying excessive milk bottles as I'm also concerned about whether the baby can get used to it and if he/she will prefer a different brand. However, heard that once your intro a brand of milk bottle/teat to a baby, they normally will get used to it so perhaps the first bottle is relatively important.

Hi all, is it necessary to get humidfier?

Just to share with u gals some news:

1. I only started to feel the baby at week 18. Like some mothers-to-be, it is like heartbeat but stronger. My gyn said some people will only feel it at week 20. So, dont be too worried

2. Went for a detailed scan at TMC yesterday. It cost $118 (before GST). It was very exciting experience. The sonographer was very friendly and explained all the test in details. Confirmed the baby is a boy again. He is so cute, we managed to see him licking his toes. So flexible, haha

I went for my detailed scan this morning and confirm that im having a little girl again. But my gynae told me my placenta is low so hopefully will move up in the later pregancy otherwise i have to go through caesarian.

Any idea to get poster or book on 'foetal development chart"? i.e. telling us how foetus look like at certain weeks etc??

i'm using NUK bottles for my boy and i find it really gd. no one else here using NUK?

someone asked abt whether it's necc to latch bb on at nite instead of giving bottles rite? i recommend that u latch on direclty for at least 2 mths lor so the bb will get used to the breast. if intro bottle too early, bb might prefer bottle n then its ver hard to get the bb back to the breast again.

i think the main prob with insfficient milk when u express is how often u u do it n which breast pump u use. i invested in a medela Pump in style which i hv never regretted cos it enabled me to BF my son for 7 mths! not all breast pumps are created equal, but PIS is really 1 of the best around. but u hv to be prepared to pay more for it lah :p

for those having constipation, drink prune juice! it really helps a lot ;)

i think buying steriliser is very useful too, cos when ur bb arrives, u will find u hv 1001 things to do n u certainly dun wanna hv to wait for the water to boil, then still hv to jaga the boiling process. with the steriliser, all u need is to press the button n it will take care of itself after tat!

goldenpig
i'm living in melbourne and in australia the standard practice is to scan a preg woman only 2 times thro out the entire preg cos they dun believe its necc to do it at eery visit lor. so only at 10 wks n 20 wks got scan.

I went to taka fair today... Was quite ok.. bought the Pigeon sterlizer.. as got good bundle package, and also the baby bouncer... good priced.. got many cute toddler clothes.. lovely...

Wanted to get a pram and cot but couldnt find anything nice... the nicer ones are just too costly... saw one with a giraffe - very cute but 800 plus... ex.. Whats a reasonable priced cost for both pram and cot actually? What brands are good? Heard combi is good and also one with reversable handles.. Where can I can good buys for cot and pram? What brands are good huh? hope to hear from you soon.
Would need to get a white cot to match my room colour as my rooms are all wall papered kind...
Is it really necesary to get a plan pan too? Besides a cot and pram?

Anybody knows where I can get classic pooh, comfortor and pillow set and good priced huh?

Today, didnt have a very good day.. had a fall at Wisma as slippery.. Terrible..
Thank God baby is fine.. as I fell on one leg... Really need to get a good anti slip pair of shoes men!

Fern

G Tan,
Congrats to your baby boy. So cute to see baby licking toes. Btw, how many scan images they take and give you? What do they checked during detailed scan?

Jenie,
Congrats to your baby gal. Don't worry about your placenta. I heard the placenta will shift during different periods so maybe it'll move up soon enough.

Anisa,
A lot of website has baby development images. Think babycentre is one of them.

Michelle,
My friend also commented NUK is good bec it most resemblances a mum's nipple so baby can suck on it easily. Wow, latching even at night, think will be tough and get eye bags. Really admire your determination.

Anyone got lobang for nanny in North area? I'm looking for one.

Anyone has comments on Infant care?

G Tan, So amazing.. can see baby licking toes... thats so cute and adorable! Wished I could see every single cute thing baby is doing in my tummy.. that will be so cute!

Hammies,

Its great to be able to see baby's face at this tender age... How sweet.. to be even able to make out to see look like who.. heh

Congrats on your new baby boy!

If anyone been to the Taka Baby Fair today, maybe we could share what you guys bought and exchange tips in case we missed any particular good buys out?

Lets catch up here?

Fern

HI Fern
I guess that's the difference between our CL huh? Mine got to go back 3 days for CNY but nvm la I shd b able to handle by then.

Re : 2nd hand items
Ya I'm one who dun mind using "hands-me-down" items. If ppl wan to give me and I find it useful then I'll take loh... if nobody gives me I go buy loh... juz so simple. I wont purposely go round asking for 2nd hand stuff la...

I think for first time MTB u shd buy new stroller, new cot, new etc etc cos u will eventually have no. 2 or 3 and u can use them again !