(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

har nor BOY ah!
should've known la, my husband's side male genes v strong... my grandma-in-law has 3 sons, my FIL has 1 daughter 4 sons.
1st comment gynae said was "can save $$, recycle clothes & toys". but in my mind, even if it were a girl, she'll also hv to use gor gor's clothes & toys! ekekekeke

The detailed scan sounds so interesting, like so many things to see!

Can i ask if the detailed scan is for everyone? Coz i took the Oscar Test at 13 weeks where they did a scan as well, but it doesn't sound as detailed as what was mentioned in the forum.

Is the detailed scan taken at 20 weeks? Coz i'm due to see my gynae at 20 weeks but at the previous visit, he did not mention anything about a detailed scan at the next visit leh..

Re:Detailed scan

TMC is 2D scan or 3D scan? Anyone know roughly how much for detailed scan ? i will be doing mine on 10Sept at 10am TMC 4th floor x-ray room??...oso got to wait for results & on same day afternoon see gynae for review.

i still dun see the belly line ... is suppose to shown already ya ....? my tummy just started to get hard only leh ... not very hard still ....

Re: Sterilizers

Have asked around my friends/family/colleagues, most of them recommended Avent as they said can also put in other milk bottles like Pigeon and Nuk.

Will be going to Taka Baby Fair tomorrow afternoon. Anyone here wants me to pay special attention to any items in particular?

Will be buying Sterilizer and Milk Bottles. Didn't know must buy 4-6 4oz Milk Bottles. Hee!

goldenpig,
GongXi GongXi...your elder boy got playmate, at least they can share their toys & clothing & that save u some$$.
For my case, gynae say most probably a Boy...can he be wrong? Got possibility of cha hu "false alarm"? My colleague say Boy normally very obvious if gynae can tell so seldom go wrong.

Re: belly line

Do u mean the line starting from belly button all the way to pubic area ah? then this line will slowly b'com darker when pregnancy progress? Mine not so obvious but very hairy around tummy...wonder why like that? b'com hairy monkey liao...so ugly

muhahah steph u so cute leh heehee .. anyway i dun see my belly line oso .... wonder why .... and i oso have lotsa hair oso hahahhah

Hi Steph77

i also get a bit hairy ard tat area leh !!! yucks hor

Re : Belly line
I still hv no belly line leh. I cant rem when it will show also...

Re: FT scan
The scan will be exciting provided you have a chatty radiographer.. hhaha.. If not ask ask ask ! We can ask qns during the scan ma...

I tot every expected mothers will definitely go thru FT scan ? No meh ?

Starbust
What does oscar test do ?

Hi goldenpig,
Think will see the prices first, if not much difference, probably won't get so much. It's exciting, finally can buy things for baby. Haha.

Hi chaye & Steph,

I got the belly line also, getting hairier as well. My sis commented that my tummy also hairy. Sigh!

Just now was talking to my gynae's clinic assistant, asked her whether the 20wks scan is 3D/4D. She said it's a 2D scan. Only when during 32wks then you can opt for 3D/4D but she said not worth as 6 pics cost about $250!!

yeah.. stomach been feeling hard and also sometimes got cramp and itch.. wat belly line you gals talking about..

Re milk sterliser so advent is better huh?

Re: belly line

ya lor, maybe hormones haywire & changes during pregnancy. Breast area (the areola) very dry & itchy too. I heard that we will have pigmentation ard the neck or armpit area when pregnancy progresses...erkkk so scary.

Ladies, do u apply stretch mark cream ard tummy only?? please oso look out for thigh area & butt cos these places are usually not focus & not easily spotted by us. If they do get itchy, apply stretch mark cream too! Sometimes, due to different skin tone we have (some fair or tan skin), we might have silvery or brown stretch marks.

yeah.. mine also hairly below the belly button till the publc hair part.. so ugly.. do you girls shave the hair away? as very unslightly leh during scans leh....

at nite me have problem sleeping too ...as back and side hurts if no pillow support.. haz.. bough the pregnacy wedge pillow but not much of use.

Seph, huh? pigmentation arnd neck and armpits would be v ugly.. not every preggie woman will have it rite is one is slim? haz. sob

hey, we've discussed so much on sterilizer and how about the stainless steel flask for hot water to make formula milk for our baby? How big (size) shld we buy the flask ? 750ml or 0.5litre will do? Any advise experience mums??

Any of you gals, feel baby movement yet? me at times feel baby move a bit sometimes feel heartbeat a bit.. and sometime no.. dun understand lor. ha

Do we need a stanless steel flask? Thats when we bring baby out huh? Any particular brand that is good and can keeo water hot for long time?

Steph77
why need flask ? only when u bring bb out u will need tat. A 500ml will do. And tat's wat I use cos u only need tat small amt of hot water to make milk. Of cos u will hv to add in room temp water as well. If u r breastfeeding better still just latch on bb can drink to his fill liao !

At home I hv those airport tat is keep boiling one.

chaye,

The Oscar test also to test for risk of Down Syndrome. Heard fr my gynae tt it is slightly more accurate, and also can test earlier, so opted for Oscar lor.

Fern maybe ur bb sleeping thats y no movement .... for me i still cant feel any movement yet dunno is it becos i fat so hard to detect it

Hey Violetlce, help look out for cost of milk bottles and sterilisers mainly. I guess I'm interested in that. Of course, if u see any other good stuff then let us know!

Btw, what's with this hard belly thingie? U mean our tummy gets very hard eventually?? I didn't realise that, it seems not that hard to me as i press down..tot inside is water bag?

chaye,
b'cos one of my supplier can sell me the 500ml flask with leather grip at $10 so i wanna buy from him instead of buying off retail shop, more expensive.

goldenpig,
provided got breast milk. The flask is a must i think when we bring baby out & formula milk is standby incase no bm.

Re: pigmentation

I am the one kena pigmentation due to hormone changes. my neck & armpits all become darker, and a lot of pimples popped out. Really beh tahan, so went for facial, whitening for neck and normal purifying facial for face. Pimples condition do improve, but neck and armpits stil black. ppl dun noe may thk this lady nv clean herself properly.. haha.. vy paiseh one, so nowadays try to avoid those sleeveless top liao...

Anyone of u get sweaty easily... nowadays my room's aircon are on for 24hr as long as I was at hm leh..
Hubby complain vy cold, but i find the temp just nice...

steph
then wait until after birth to buy. If u work at bfg hard enuf, sure got milk one. must be diligent to pump 3hrly, latch on as much as possible etc.

goldenpig,
i really doubt myself whether i can handle bfg cos i lazy but will try for sake of baby loh. If we latch on then how long on one side of breast huh? do we need to interchange otherwise later left breast smaller than right, not balance liao...

piglet i sweat alot! and always very warm .... my colleague cant stand cold so one of the aircon is being adjust to 25-26 degree ... somemore she dun allow me to let it swing

Lucky i brought my own fan so i on the fan whenever i step into the ofc ... if she is on leave i will be the most happiest hahaha cos i can on the aircon n let it swing .... hehehe

mspiglet,
i fully understand what u r going thru cos my sister oso gunna pigmentation when she was pregnant. So i make sure i scrub myself with green tea beads fr face to toe during shower, hopefully it helps to prevent loh.

sorry to barge in...!! This thread move really fast!! All you ladies r rich tai tai??

May I know, what food to eat or anything food to avoid?? am 3 mths preg now. consulting JB gynae (I from JB & working in Sg)

yvonne Congrats!

think those liang food dun take so much loh ..... moderate ... for me i totally shut down of liang food heehee

Tks QQ, my gynae in JB only believe in Calcium & Iron. anything else your gynae give in Sg? Gynae also say live life is as per normal.........i.e. eat/sleep/work as if not preg!!! Even liang food also can eat!! He said westerner where got liang or lua foods? haha

Yvonne
dat's good advice by your gynae. however, u may want to consider dropping smoking & drugs & reducing alcohol & caffeine..
folic acid is also impt for first 5 months thereabouts.

yvonne,

i still think it's better to avoid liang food. After all, asians physique are different from westerners, no way to compare i feel.

ya lor, Luvv. But, gynaes r western trained so sometimes they think they r angmoh!!! hahaha

what extra vitamins or pills gynaes give u to take?

golden pig,

occasional still ok lah, but indulgence can already :p

yvonne,

my gynae only gave me prenatal vits + calcium, that's about all. some of the ladies are taking fish oil which my gynae has yet to start on me.

QQ,
poor thing, luckily u stil got a mini fan..
my office's aircon is centralised one, so no worry for me...

Steph,
Green tea scrub really help?
I dun mind buy one and try.

ya, i also heard fish oil is good for baby's brain development but my gynae think it is a waste of $$$. normally start fish oil from which month and which brand Sg gynae recommend?

mspiglet good for u last time my ofc oso centralised but after we moved so no choice

yvonne ya folic acid is important!