(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

jennifera
Golden pis & QQ are rite. NT scan is to measure the thickness of neck. If the thickness is >2cm (I think) u will need to go for further test for down syndrome.

FT scan is full detail scan where all major organs will be scan include spine, features, leg bones, head size and length of body.

I've booked mine to TMC on 4 Sept.

can I sidetrack a bit here ? :p anyone knows where can I find courses on Adobe Acrobat Professional ? Need to upgrade leh...

Anyone experience loose stools situation like this:
Where you can't control and some leaked out while you trying to go to toilet. What comes out is abit jelly like, something like mucus and not stools when cleaned.

Not sure what is happening. It's as if I suddently become lactose intolerant. Noticed a few times this happens after I drink fresh milk.

Golden Pig- Thanks for your explanation in why I do not get all the replies. I understand as everybody is busy with asking varied ques. Thats what a forum for anyway.. hee

Mylvera- Yupz, Planning to get NUK bottles says 4 for a start.. haha... Heard NuK bottles has very soft teet that babies would enjoy but guess it all varies. Shall see my baby prefernce in future. Intending to get a baby cot that can convert to tod bed too.. hehe.. the room that I am putting the cot is quite small.. Haz.. you know how small new flat rooms can be men! so hopefully can find a perfect fit cot for baby men! As for playpen. I still wana get one for the maid's room so that baby can play during the bed and not be confined to the cot lor. haha

Lynn- Haha, well.. at least you take effort in reading bible to baby.. sure he/she would enjoy. I do also read to baby.. but i usually sing more chritian songs and pray for baby every nite. think its a good thing to be prayerful

Verine, Welcome to the 1981 mummies.. Wow. so nice.. gtg HK? Wanted to go in July to catch summer sale but guesss now no more sale but better weather?

SuperBee- Glad to hear you are also a christian MTB! I've got that book too.. Yupz.. its a good book for all Christians out there!

ALL- I would love to get the microphone but a bit steep.. do let me know when the price drops .. hehe Also, can I check which milk sterlizer is better? Advent or Pigeon.. Is it true that for Advent can only fit advent bottles whereas Pigeon can fit all sorts???

HOpe to get your replies... soon

Chaye, mine is on 6 Sept

QQ, i think no need to wait. coz i also booked my gynae's appt straight after that. the nurse told me the results will be known immediately.

All- Can I check with ya... IS Mrs WOng of Thomson Medical centre good in conducting Antenatal class... I actually called for a Sat SLot in Oct.. Hopefully she is good.. as heard a lot about her... yupz..... What can one expcet at the Antenatal class. hope it will be useful for all MTB...

jennifer hhahah i am require to wait for the result kekeke ... thats why ask u all need to wait anot

QQ
You can choose to wait for the printout if you want to actually. If not they will send to your gynae directly and your gynae can explain to you in detail of your report.

I didnt wait for the report the previous time. During the scan the radiologist will tell you what she sees from the scan. Big eyes, small eyes, sharp or flat noes, organs functioning well , etc... very interesting one....

QQ your gynae ask u to wait for results and bring the report and back to clinic to see him on the same day izit ?

QQ,

i'm require to wait for the results also, will takes about 1/2 hour, thereafter going to gynae's clinic for review

QQ your gynae ask u to wait for results and bring the report and back to clinic to see him on the same day izit ?

Chaye-Wow detailed scan so exciting.. can see all baby features meh??? heh

What printout are those... can also see look like mummy or daddy.. Can i check with you how come my 10 week scan.. baby's head looks longer than body and legs.. a bit not so in propotion. so a bit worried lor? Is it cos its not fully developed yet? anyone got same problem? Is this normal?

Chaye-Wow detailed scan so exciting.. can see all baby features meh??? heh

What printout are those... can also see look like mummy or daddy.. Can i check with you how come my 10 week scan.. baby's head looks longer than body and legs.. a bit not so in propotion. so a bot worried lor? Is it cos its not fully developed yet? anyone got same problem?

fern,

this is normal at this stage, as the baby grows, the body will also grow in proportion of the head, don't worry.

chaye
the previous time i almost fell asleep during the scan... took so long and the room was so cold. Hb had to wait outside for me, he also complain such a long wait.

that's what the nurse told me of coz perhaps might take longer then 1/2 hr, my scan will be on 07th sept.

Luvv,

thanks ya.. hopefully baby's head would look rounder in my next detailed scan..... haz.. mothers tends to worry unecessarily..

Fern

Hey all.

Side track.

Anybody knows where to download mickeymouse, Disney or free wall paper for samsung hp- the latest ultra model.. wana get some nice theme for my new hp lor.

Fern
All these are being told to me by the radiologist la. I cant make any picture out of wat I see from the scan machine leh. I hope TMC has upgraded to use a 4D scan machine instead of the old one. 4D can see more clearly leh. But my gynae still using old one. Any mummies's gynae using 4D scan ?

As for the size, it is normal for the head to be bigger than the body now. Really it's normal. It will slowly grow in proportion.

QQ,
1 hr go eat something then go back take report lor. Balestier many things to eat leh... kekeke

luvv
the other time he waited outside for abt 30min, then last part he was invited in where the radiographer/ sonographer did a quick summary & point point point to screen here & there. Coz earlier part she had to take measurements etc & she wasn't particularly chatty, so i just stared at the ceiling, so boring.

no matter how much water i drink, my pee is still yellow... this morning drank in excess of 700ml already.

goldenpig ! Same here ! the previous time my hb cant enter but it was due to Sars !!! If not hb can usually go in with us.

Not to worry gals ! No more Sars now and hb can be there holding your hands and watch your bb together ! so sweet... hehehe... But I didnt make to wait too long for the scan leh.

i can't be watching bb during the scan, coz the screen is next to my head!!!! get neck ache ley.

Unless TMC upgraded their facilities within past 2yrs and put another screen abv my feet.

qq
not unless TMC upgraded their facilities within past 2 yrs...
i could still c, but had to turn my neck etc. i can't hold that position for 30min lor! so i just lay back and stared at ceiling..

golden pig so ur husband there? can ask him to tell u heehee ..... so interesting leh ... i am so hungry now ...

only the last bit he was invited in the room. 5min summary, i could still strain my neck to see la. but not for the whole 30min scan.

Ya men... the detailed scan sounds very exciting.. usually during scans, we cant really see baby due to the angle we are lying down... haz... the detailed scan seems very lengthy hor... hopefully can see baby more clearly this time round..

I'll be gtg for the scan on the 29th.... really excited to see baby's gender soon.. would love a gal so can doll up.. keke

Hubby usually can go in with us to share our joy lah... haha

goldenpig,
it depends on which room u are being seen in TMC. At least 1 room i went for my NT Scan, they have a monitor tat is so nicely placed tat i can see the scan. However, as bb is notti, i hv to change rooms for a few times for my NT Scan. Happen to see e other rooms does not have tat "facility". I also understand fr the staff there tat certain rooms will hv warm gel to apply while other rooms still using those coooooold gel to apply on our tummy lor.

Re: 4D detail scan

I have checked with my gynae, Mount E has 4D scan, but ofcos the price is quite high, I thk shld b $250 if I rmb correctly.
and my gynae was saying tat 4D is simply computer graphic stimulation lor. and the machine respond much slower than 2D one. So for a 45min 2D detail scan, it may take up ard 1hr neh. Some ppl comment that a bit of 'scary' to look at 4D scan.Just some info, dun noe hw true it is...but i give up the tot of 4D detail scan after discussing with my gynae.

if any1 here gg for it, can share share ur experience then.

for my usual scan i can always see my BB clearly cos there is a monitor on the top so when i am lying down i can see BB

golden pig,

my gynae ask me to inform the doc before the scan that hubby also want to follow in. she say otherwise, they will let him wait outside.

i was told not to eat too full also else will be very uncomfortable during the scan.

Re: sterilizers
thanks to those who replied. So far I've heard brands of Avent and Pigeon mainly...ok, guess will try to see how's the prices like at Taka baby fair. Anyone who went, do share some insights of any good buys or what! hehe...

hammies, i think avent is more expensive compare to pigeon brand wor ..... i see my sil dump all milk bottles into avent sterilizer leh ....

hammies,

think avent is the most expensive brands all, follow by Nuk...comments from friends is that pigeon products is cheaper and durable.

Going to see my gynae later. feeling excited and stress. been a month since i last saw my baby in the ultrascan. Wondering how is she now?

hubby was asking me the other day that what happen if today gynae tell me that baby is a boy instead of a gal..i replied him that i will cry on the spot. haha..actually boy or gal also never mind la, most impt is my baby is healthy.

For those of you concerned with the safety of China-made products, especially with the recent recall of Mattel products due to high levels of lead, can consider buying a home test kit from this website

http://www.leadinspector.com/

I will be buying too as I am worried that the cot I purchased has lead-based paint! The kit can be used on many other things too such as toys, bibs, even water!

QQ,

when i went for the 1st trimester scan, the gynae already told us is 80% a gal cos can see the line very clearly. he even enlarge to show my husband. hehe.

QQ,

my tummy become a little hard already.
but sometimes look big, sometimes look small le.

hehe..the gynae says the straight line shows that its a gal, if something comes out from that line, means its a boy. thats the reason he gave my husband when my husband asks whether is he sure that ia a gal

babyshannon
but what if your baby doesn't like avent? my boy didn't like the hard avent teats in the beginning - had to switch to pigeon.. after several months then he accepted Avent teats.

yes my lower abs quite hard liao.. and the belly line is showing... and my nose is growing..