(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi Chaya/Steph77,

What the KKH article about? on Straits Times today? Must go home and read tonight.

Just took an Epax capsule from my preggy colleague........smell so awkful......it is like Hong Kong foot kind of smell.......

Chaye,
Oh...that mean you can see very clearly in that angle..hmmm.. why Dr Adrain never help me to scan in this way..

QQ,
We talked to our baby before the scanning but he/she still don't let us see...we told our baby that later let us see you so that we can buy beautiful clothes for you...

Fern welcome to this forum!!!

hi Fern,
welcome to this forum

Is anyone of you going to the Taka Baby Fair on 16 Aug -2 Sep? Is it really very much cheaper and worth going?

tks Steph77. Gosh so scary...........why the doctors always used some kind of statistics to push away responsibilities?????

Something went wrong.......than they will say 2 out of 100. Wrong again than it will be 1 out of 10 again.........Why cant doctor say SORRY?

SORRY = lack of diligent?

jennifer,
i've never been to baby fair since this is my #1. I will drop by during weekends perhaps. My colleague went last year Taka Baby Fair & she got herself some gd deals of milk bottles, toys & stroller. Price wise, some branded products cheaper, some same price as retail...u decide whether it is worth to make a trip there loh. Happy shopping!

Congrats to Chaye and Steph! I'm still waiting for detailed scan to see baby's gender as baby crossed legs during my 17th wk scan. Sigh!

Went Takashimaya last week and realized the Avent Sterilizer is $200!! Is it really that expensive? I know there's Pigeon which is cheaper but hubby don't trust products from China. What do you MTBs think?

<font color="119911">anisa & shorty,
no intention to bad mouth my previous gynae but personally i don't find him a responsible gynae. Me & hubby waited for 3.5yrs to conceive & we made countless of trips to KKH for X-ray on my fallopian tubes, follow up visit, hb sperm test, clomid treatment etc... we wasted alot of precious time waiting...& every visit at KKH, we waited at least 2hrs before we get our turn to see him even tho we've made our appointment! Everytime, we (patient) got to remind him of my past history & tests that i've gone thru instead of him telling me (reviewing my case) to me & advising the next step...instead he told me & hb to try naturally since we are classify as unknown fertility & wait for another year or so, if still cannot conceive then maybe consider ivf. The point is we have been trying for 2.5yrs liao...izit not long enuff? So we decided to go for second opinion...instead of rushing into ivf.</font>

Hi Lynn, I already signed up, but yet to pay up, will make payment when I go for my appointment this Thurs. I signed up for the wednesday class starting oct, since I will be going on my own, might as well go on a weekday night.

Hi icy, same as hubby also out station overseas, we also thought good time to try for a baby, since it will help us a bit on the medical aspect
Then can use the money more for baby stuff.

HI Steph77

I actually have bad exp wif KKH too but I think there are some MTBs are giving seeing gynaes of KKH so maybe not so nice for me to elaborate here hor :p

But hey ! no worries for u cos u r preggy now !!! Which doc did u see and how did u get preggy finally? Hope u dun mind me probing cos I have a friend who has wanted to get preggy for 2yrs but still no news lor...

anisa,
are u taking fish oil according to ur own? I think only can take during 2nd tri. its too early for you.

Hi Fern! Welcome

Steph,
I think for that KKH case, it just happened that when in comes to emergency, who is that one that actually attend to the person.. eek

violetice,
I might just boil the bottles instead of using Sterilizer. I asked my cousin abt it, she used Sterilizer for #1 and boil the bottles for #2, because she finds it no difference to bb condition. :p

angelsky,
yah.. just nice and make use of the benefits. Does it cover your bb when u deliver? I have to checked on mine.

shorty,
i also drink preggy milk 1 cup everyday.. the dosage suppose to be 2 cups everyday, but i scare later put on a lot of weigh. :p

hi chaye,
i can give u contacts of my gynae to yr friend. Do u accept PM ? i can tell u my story off line.

shorty,
u make me so guilty leh. i didn't take any pregnancy milk cos i can't take the milk powder smell. I told gynae about it & he say no prob since i am taking supplements olreadi.

Hi Steph77
Yes pls pm me... thks !

Re: milk
I have been taking Anmum milk powder since I know I'm preggy leh... It comes in plain and choc flavour. Those cannot tahan milk smell can try the choc...

Hi icy,
yup just nice, have not really read how much we can claim up to and for which class too.

So nice that you MTB have such good appetite, I have been feeling very full these days, now only eat for the sake of eating so baby can grow and thank god becoz have gradually stopped puking. Just feel very bloated and dont really feel hungry.

I also hate to take the calcium tablets, big and it smells horrid.

I also cant stand the smell of milk powder and milk, so quite early doc already started giving me calcium wo.

Initially I was happy that my galpal is also expecting but now seems like at about 6 weeks plus, doc cannot see the sac and there is some bleeding. Quite worried for her. hai~~~~

icy,
i agree loh...when it comes to emergancy, it depends on one's luck. Personally i think for Ms Ching case, KKH shld handle deliberately.

icy
steriliser is just a modern day convenience for us.. so that we dun need to stand over a hot stove watching the bottles boil.. just flick a switch then can do other things, when the sterilising is done, it will auto turn off. Not as tho it's better than the conventional boiling method or anything.
I heard of stories where the mum left the bottles to boil then went to do smthg else, in the end all the water evaporated and bottles melted.. needless to say the house smelled terrible and the pot had to be discarded. haha.

I also use sterilising tablets in the offc for my pumps.

All diffrnt methods, find the best for u.

Re: milk
I'm taking Dumex too...prefer the taste over Anmum which I first started out with...

Ladies, u know what, I feel as if there's something wrong w me in terms of my stomach. I've been burping for the longest time alr thruout pregnancy. In the 3rd month onwards, seem to be always there still. Eat a bit only will burp, drink also burp...I feel as if my stomach is so weak or something. Sigh...gg to talk to my gynae when i next see him. Feeling quite sianz of the burping feeling...

Goldenpig,

Any advise if my workplace does not have any fridge to store the milk, any other methods to store it. Tot of BF for at least 6months but seems like quite lost now if workplace does not allow me to pump out...

Since we are talking about breastfeeding, its advisable to continue to pump and store the milk? How long can the milk be stored? I staying with my parents le, the fridge already used up for my mum's food stuff, hmmm coz if really need then maybe I need to go buy a small mini freezer to keep.

Hammies, if you found a solution for your burping please let me know. I have the same problem too. When I dont eat i dont feel good, also wanna burp. When I eat a little, I also burp, when i eat very full, I will burp very loudly and it will go on and on. WOnder if doing massages will help me clear my wind. Sometimes, my stomach is very hard, coz i figure must be all the wind.

For the taka fair, what would you gals advice to buy? Baby clothes?

icy,
yeah. better buy sterilizer. When in my mum's place, my mum uses boiling method. She thought she can just come back in a while to check on it. Who knows, water went below bottles and some got burnt. Now she scared already and always got to monitor. See, i'm only at her place occassionally so ok. For daily use, I would say convenience and safety comes first lor...

angelsky..so u also face the same problem? Weird right..I have fairly good appetite, but this burping thing really bugs me!! Will let u know if I can find out anything...

Baby fair..sell baby stuff? So will have strollers, baby cot?? Maybe might go check it out this weekend.

Thanks mei
new mummy la, a bit blur on such things.

hammies, i burp until it becomes so natural that I do it all the time, to the point that my sis say that sometimes when I go out I burp, pple will stare at me, but i still quite oblivious lo. But what to do, if i dont get it out, I feel choked.

Didn't log in for the longest time, enjoying honeymoon period now.. was so busy with work + tiredness to log in at home.

Still do not know th gender of my baby yet, going for detail scan soon, looks like time really flies and it's only another 4-5 mths to go for baby to arrive.

Angelsky, Hammies, I got the same burping problem too. But worse, after I burp for a while, will feel like puking because the trapped gas still can't really escape. Thought I should be over MS by now. Sigh.

My cousin also using the Pigeon steriliser for her no. 1, quite big and can put many bottles, looks like not bad leh.

Hey any of u gals feel your tummy got smaller rather than bigger? Dunno izzit my own illusion after a bulk of tummy aches and loose stools last week.

Juz sharing. Dont get so worried over the storing of BM. Cos, you dont know how your supply will be. Or can you hang on bfg. I was so paranoid, storing every single drop till my fridge all BM and still got so much surplus. In the end, I discard all those that had been freezed. And dont freeze BM anymore. The fresher the merrier isnt it?

valencia, bingo...you are right

that why i say look out...buy only when necessary.

btw gals, how big is your tummy now...mine is noticable whenever i wear my usual clothes....but when maternity wear then cannot see liao

babe,

i think mine does remain the same size and sometimes i feel that it's smaller! hmm maybe it's my fats that are burning off :p

So far i only bought the avent manual pump, have not get the sterilser yet. I think pigeon is quite good.

morning all,

milk, i used to be like you. i dislike the taste of milk powder. The only milk i drink is chocolate milk or HL milk coz i find that it has a nice vanilla flavour.

but im now taking Annum chocolate flavour. it still taste of the milk powder but at least it has some slight taste of chocolate. if you really cant take it, you can try my method. after you have made the glass of milk, you can try adding a LITTLE bit of Daisy Low Fat chocolate milk to it. then the milk will have a more chocolately taste
I chose Daisy Low Fat milk coz it contains a bit of Folate which is good for baby. HL milk doesn't contain Folate

me too i feel like my tummy shrink leh .... and my sil told me she find i lost weight rather than gain .....

golden pig & fishia,
Oic. So have some advantages of sterilizer. :D I will consider again, also need to consult mil, since she will be doing the confinement and have to see "some" of her preference.

bebe,
i thought my tummy slowed down ard start of 2nd tri - maybe becos less bloated and last week.. but sometimes suddenly looks big when I just had my meals. lol

QQ, i lost weight too. mainly coz of the poor appetite. Even though I am in 2nd trimester now, I still puke occassionally.

icy, i agree with you. sometimes my tummy looks big just after meals.

icy...but sterilizer you need to use for a long time...not just during confinement...so when you take care of your baby, you still need one.

Hi, all.

I also discovered that now in 4th month, my tummy is like not growing bigger. A bit worried. After meals, it will bloat up. Funny... But I can't wear my normal clothes already. Now starting to wear dresses and flare skirts. My colleagues commented now my tummy is obvious and my limbs are still slim.