(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

goldenpig, you very funny,
at least your fil tell you to eat more tau huay. kekeke. my friend's hubby told her cannot eat tau huay, say the tau huay contain something no good, i think we talked about it in the beginning when we were talking about tau huay, so i told her can eat, but she say her hubby will get angry if she dont listen to him.

about snorkeling, hmmm do you think will have difficulty in the water? I think difficult to move about with such a big tummy, plus i thought usually snorkelling is done in the ocean? I went swimming the other day, but halfway through my ears became very very painful, I wonder if its the pressure. Since then I dont really dare to go, coz the pain did not go away till about a few hours later.

So nice of those mtb who can travel
Good chance to have some time with hubby before baby comes along. Initially we were also planning to go somewhere, but I scared I cannot handle the crowd, so decided hopefully if baby is healthy end next year we will bring baby to australia instead

Have you gals signed up for the prenatal classes? Would it be strange to go alone? Since my hubby not in Singapore?

<font color="ff0000">fishia,
oh ok. i think it's kitsune then. Mm... i am getting more blur & forgetful nowadays.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hi Mei, thanks for updating the chart!</font>

<font color="ff0000">fishia,
oh ok. i think it's kitsune then. Mm... i am getting more blur & forgetful nowadays.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">hi Mei, thanks for updating the chart!</font>

fishia,
I think that is due to sudden loss of weigh, for like 2 weeks, i lost 2 kg bah. Thigh also get smaller. lol

Steph,
that is the risk of having bb with Down syndrome.

the first is average based on ur age.. and then depending when u did the test, that will be ur stats.

My detailed scan also on 10th sept.. I manage to get someone here to do for me. :p

angelsky,
i have signed up the prenatal class at TMC, lesson starts on 6Oct till 13Nov. It is okay to attend alone. I am sure other MTBs will help u out if u need anything during the classes

Mei,
your baby's taking away your calcium. must drink more milk or take calcium pills wor..

angelsky,
with a baby/kid, it's even more difficult to travel unless you do it when you're still bf and baby hasn't started porridge. Or baby > 12mths can take outside food.

i actually thought of going perth. nice weather now but the tax itself is already abt $300 each so it's off my list.

Re: Prenatal class
It really depends on what kind of person you are. Most of them will have hb around. I sticky one so feel really lonely when hb couldn't join me for 1 session. but it's good to sign up for 1st-time parent.

Hi, anisa.

My gynae is charging me $33 for a bottle of Neurogain. It is really cheap in JB. Good if it happens that you go there. But I think in JB, medication is cheaper.

icy,
thanks. So after detailed scan, u'll be able to know the gender. The 'someone' u mentioned..are u refering to hospital/gynae ? Detailed scan in S'pore cost ard $150++. I wonder how much it cost in Japan ?

babysuki...me delivering in TMC. But my gynae's clinic is in Bt Timah. My gynae cant be sure if mine's a gal r boy yet cos the umbilical cord was blocking the genital area when she tried to scan. So i prob need to wait another month to confirm this...but she said high chance it's a girl!!!

Ladies, me too wan to go for a short trip before i give birth leh...but dunno where to go...europe and uus is definitely out of the question cos too lengthy flights. Tot of going Australia but my fren said OZ now very cold. Sigh.. Initially wanna go Japan Mt Fuji area but hubby said no point cos cannot go hot spring, cannot eat sashimi. Sigh. Anyy suggestions?

Mei,

Your gynae didnt give u Calcium supplement? Gum bleed cos lack of calcium/Vit C when baby is developing.....baby needs lot and lot of Calcium for bones/blood cells formation. Our bodies somehow will give priority to babies so preggies will get deficient in Calcium/iron/DHA etc etc. But, must check with gynae b4 taking supplement!!! I was shocked to find out that Arachidonic Acid in Epax/Neurogain is no good for preggies.........!! In fact, other thread says that Epax was wrongly labelled......!! sianz.......

mylife, maybe Hong Kong? But may have typhoon around this period. Sigh...also wanna go one more holiday, but most likely no liao...alr spent budget on Japan recently just before knowing preggie...then now I also sianz as to where to go also. haha...

Steph, congrats on having a boy! So nice to find out..i wonder if i will be able to tell this Sat! If not have to wait again!! Baby better be good! hehe...

Steph,
I wanted to attend prenatal classes, but i think when I am back by week 30.. it should be too late.. wonder what else can I attend.. maybe something like Yoga or what.

I very anxious to know the gender. My hb went US for training last week and could only buy unisex romper for bb. It was cheap there since they had summer sale. For detailed scan, I managed to find a gynae to do for me since my doctor in hospital don't have the equipement there. I still don't know how much it cost.

One thing good abt deliver a baby now is 80% of the medicial bill is covered by my hb company insurance, since we are in an expat package.

anisa,
yap i been having calcium given by my gynae but i not been drinking milk cos' i puke each time i drink milk...guess i need to eat more cheese then.

Hi ladies, I am back from durian party kekeke ... having some durian with my GM & president just now ... kekek miss some chatting here.

Steph congrats for having BB Boy ...

mei thanks for the update

goldenpig so cute leh u heheehe ..... eh my mil side still no action on giving me any tonic ... hehe my mum made some red dates tea for me yesterday heehee

hammies,
thanks. Try talk to baby to be cooperative & that's what i did for 2days prior scanning..hehe.

icy,
Woah..so gd can claim fr co. insurance. Then u can spend yr $$ on bb necessity/stuffs...like getting gd stroller,playpen & cot.

By week 30, would our grown tummy be getting in the way for Yoga?

angelsky
snorkelling = swimming = weightlessness when floating on water..
just try to be careful not to hv sudden movements. If fishia snorkel in phuket, shld be calm seas so ok right?

not like my honeymoon snorkel in Cairns in choppy water, my husband managed to get seasick while snorkelling.. *pengz*

hi steph - congrats for having a baby boy.. ur hubby muz be happy & u dun nid stress liao

Juz to share..heard there is a baby fair at Taka coming soon this thurs..

JanBB,
ya lor...imagine my hubby's big smile on his face when gynae say it's a boy. But hor...scare later cha hu "false alarm" so i told my hubby to wait till detailed scan then tell my ILs.

Taka Baby Fair starts Thu 16 Aug to Sun 2 Sept. Are u going after work ? very crowded in trains/public transport aft work...so thinking maybe this Sat then go down.

Haha.. same same... i also caught my hubby smiling to himself when gynae said is boy.. Our hubby same pattern.. but think they happy, we also happy rite.. my "xiao ni ren" thinking.

Most likely will go during weekend. Very tired to shop after work... imagine i m still in office now..waiting hubby to fetch.. going home soon.. tata ; )

hey icy, tks for the story... scarey huh.

steph/ janbb
when gynae pointed to smthg in between baby's legs, husband said "Huh? So small ah?!" haha
i think this being 2nd time round, we quite numb whether it's boy or girl.. so dun hv excited feeling etc. haha.

Just signed up for antenatal class at KK. Wanted to sign up for a Fri class but they are already full. Class will commence next Tues, 21 Aug. Recommended commencement date for antenatal is 16 weeks. So MTBs who are waiting, better do it soon.

<Steph. My blood test is 38.7 IU/L for Free beta-HCG and 9.781 IU/L for PAPP-A. Adjusted risk for my blood test alone is 1:3594 for Trisomy 21 (DS) and 1:19364 for Trisomy 18+13 (Edward's Syndrome + Patau's Syndrome). Background risk for MTB 30-35 is 1:504 for DS and 1:969 for Edward + Patau's syndrome. Hope that helps.

JanBB and Steph, my hb also smile smile when saw the little thing in the scan. Haha...come home still keep looking at the scan..so funny...but of coz waiting detailed scan to confirm.

I also wan to travel but with a toddler abit tough. Hb suggests going for a cruise in nov..not sure if that's a good idea coz the weather may not be very good then.

How much calcium pill can we take? I taking less milk now coz of bad tummy last few days and nurse from the clinic ask me take some calcium pills. So I juz got some off the pharmacy.

Good morning ladies.... How have u all been doing? I do experienced fainting spells nowadays... This happened usually in the moning while on train or waiting for bus. Wondering if anyone have the same experience as me.

By the way anyone here registering for the hyponbirthing at fourtrimesters? How is the feed back?

Good morning,

babe - Your scan pic got show that part ah.. that's cute.. I only see it from the screen.. shld have asked gynae to print that out..haha ; )
also looking forward to the detailed scan to do a double confirmation ;p

Re: Calcium
It is prescribed by my gynae, not sure how many mg but i take 1 tablet daily. Think better check with your gynae.

angelsky: r u gg to sign up e prenatal class at TMC? becos most of e time, i'll b alone too as my hb will b out station.. anybody hav e contact no?

Icy: Wow! ur hb co. benefits v gd! haiz.. my hb co. cant claim anyting, same as mine too..

talking abt swimmin: i went swimmin once per wk aft my 1st tri. so far went twice liao.. actually in e water, u can feel someting inside ur tummy but is weightless
so i luv gg for a swim becos i can feel e bb inside.
Luv wakeboardin but now pregnant cant ride..

hi morning all,

Lynn,
u call up TMC - Parentcraft at 62514090 to block your booking schedule first. Classes by Mrs Wong is fully booked for Sept slot. Oct classes are running low too. If u cannot go TMC to make payment personally, we can make payment thru cheque. I did that too. The course fees is S$214.00
If u intent to subscrib to the First Born Incentive, you'll get 10% disc for the pre-natal classes. Hope the above helps.

<font color="119911">hi kitsune,
thanks for yr reply on the blood test. My results seem not very detailed..didn't state Trisomy probability.. the medical readings i oso dun understand what it means. Anyway, it doesn't really bother me much since gynae say everything is normal.</font>

preggies need 1000mg of calcium daily.
Normally each calcium tab contains 600mg.
so drink some milk, take green leafy veg, yog/ cheese to top up.
info avail on the net.

Hi Gals ! good morning !

Juz went for chkup last nite. Now at 18wks bb weighing 258g. Gynae said 100% that I'm having a Boy ! Din really see *grin* on hubby's face leh... tho I know he wanted a boy. As long as is healthy boy or girl doesnt matter la hor...

I asked gynae abt the triple tests but he mentioned that if I've done NT scan no need for triple tests as that NT scan is even more accurate than triple tests. My detail scan will be early Sept.

Oh Mei, pls update my details. My EDD is now 11 Jan instead of 15 Jan.

Re : Swimming
I've been visiting the public pool every weekend but I worry that there may be bacteria in the pool or the floor ? :p do u think it's harmful ?

Hi golden pig
My gynae no give calcium leh. he said the multivit tat I take every morning contains calcium liao leh. I muz drink more milk n eat more cheese then !

QQ thks ! Have u scanned ?

Icy, the newspaper article on KKH quite scary hor... they can even say it's not uncommon leh...

lyn,
the package is only for this overseas programme. :p So hb used to say this period must try to have BB.. cos save a lot. :p

Chaye,
Congrats. You can start your shopping for the taka fair. :D

KKH say not common but the possibility seemed to be so high.. eeek.

thks gals !

Icy, tat's wat my gynae said last nite ! can start shopping liao ! keke..

QQ how many wks r u now ah ?

Chaye,
We still cannot see the gender of our baby when i am 16 weeks....Have to wait until the detailed scan which end of Aug...So happy for u
and u can go shopping liao...

steph: thks! i've called up and booked on sat classes commence on 6Oct 4.30-6.30pm. anybody e same as mi?

Craving for burgers.. Oh my god! been having burgers since last fri..

KaiLi I'm actually quite surprised tat doc adrian mgt to scan from the buttock angle last nite ! tat is when I saw his bums and his groin area from tat angle. then he pointed out "u c it's a boy ah"...

<font color="aa00aa">What's up for lunch ladies??
I had mixed veg rice for lunch, no meat..fried scramble egg, fried potato & stewed cabbage. Actually wanna order mutton (my favourite) but heard from colleague to avoid lamb/mutton during pregnancy. So i forgo loh.</font>

Re: newspaper article on KKH
<font color="119911">so scary & i happened to know the gynae, Associate Professor John Tee. He used to be my gynae who did lap surgery for my blood cyst & endometriosis about 4yrs ago. I changed to another gynae which is my present one for second opinion for infertility issue.</font>

I am Fern here. I am new to the forum. Please welcome me.. haha.. I am 4 months pregnant and due in Jan 08. WOuld like to get to know more mums to be during this period and share our views togther ok?