(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Thanks G Tan!!!
May i know what is the title of the CD that you bought?

goldpig ok ok thanks I shall try to serahc lata .... back still pain

abt the music i oso heard mozart one is good for baby i think i see mothercare selling it

google Mozart effect.
i just read smthg abt this.. seems like current research findings indicate that the sample that the researchers took were skewed.. c what u can find on the net.

goldpig ok ok thanks I shall try to serahc lata .... back still pain

abt the music i oso heard mozart one is good for baby i think i see mothercare selling it

Have you guyz heard abt tai(1) jiao(4) ? How to engage in tai jiao ? do I have to attend any lesson on it ?

Some mommies claimed that having tai jiao the bb will born healthy and less fussy type. :p wonder if it's true.

Hmm.. talking abt prenatal "classroom". What I did for #1 was, I got a fetal mircophone and played to him. Started that at wk 20. Think thats the time when the hearing starts to develop. The "1st lesson" I conducted with him, I actually sang "shi shang zhi you ma ma hao" LOL~ He moves a lot. Maybe singing too awful. Haha.... But its like a communication btw us.

Thanks icy!!!
Mayb this wkend go n find one...

Hi Valencia,
hahaha...its very interesting way to communicate with ur baby...is it helpful?

Hi Kaili/Golden Pig

<font color="119911"> I waited last than half n hour for the NT scan cos I did it on a weekday not so crowded. I got to cough to wake my bb up cos bb is sleeping during the scan. so cute when u cough the whole bb actually jerk up and moves !</font>

Hi Cheryl

Ya I also duno wat test he is goin to perform on me initially until I called the clinic the next day to find out. She said it those normal blood test for HIV, low blood and etc.

JanBB - I also heard that our gynae is quite popular too. But we known him more due to the tax evasion issue a few years back. My SIL said that he is good and he has strength to help during the delivery. I also find him very patience and answering my questions. At least one good point is that his clinic is not that crowded and waiting time is not long.

here's what i found on the limitations of Mozart Effect on Wikipedia. I remembered reading that the "effect" is only short term, eg spatial skills improved within 15min after listening to Mozart.

Limitations of the effect
The size, nature, and very existence of the "Mozart effect" are disputed. But assuming that measurable effect of complex music on cognitive function actually can be demonstrated, two limitations or misconceptions should be noted.

First, popular presentations of the "Mozart effect" almost always tie it to "intelligence;" thus, as noted above, Alex Ross's comment that "listening to Mozart actually makes you smarter," and Zell Miller's asking the Georgia legislature whether they "felt smarter" after he played them some Beethoven.

Rauscher herself, one of the original researchers, has disclaimed this idea. In her 1999 reply to Chabris and Steele et al. she wrote:

Our results on the effects of listening to Mozarts Sonata for Two Pianos in D Major K. 448 on spatialtemporal task performance have generated much interest but several misconceptions, many of which are reflected in attempts to replicate the research. The comments by Chabris and Steele et al. echo the most common of these: that listening to Mozart enhances intelligence. We made no such claim. The effect is limited to spatialtemporal tasks involving mental imagery and temporal ordering.
Second, it is frequently suggested or stated that exposure to the right kind of music in childhood has a lasting, beneficial effect. (Circa 1999 the state of Florida created a regulation requiring toddlers in state-run schools to listen to classical music every day).

On programs like these, Rauscher commented in 1999:

"I don't think it can hurt. I'm all for exposing children to wonderful cultural experiences. But I do think the money could be better spent on music education programs."

Wow..i'm also interested to get some music for baby to listen to. So Mozart is one recommended eh? Anything else you all tried?

Also, what is the method that you let your baby hear? Must we buy some special music player??

hammies
the findings are that the research has limitations. Mozart effect is just marketing hype. Altho babies do prefer classical music over pop music.
i've also read that there's no need to put headphones on your tummy. just play the music at a comfortable level for mummy and relax. Baby will be able to hear.
Equipment & gadgets out there are just opportunities that mktg companies capitalise on, knowing how eager parents-to-be are to spend on baby.

sigh.

Hi Chaye,

I just boiled my own barley and drank 2 cups without sugar. Feeling so much better now. My lips were swollen yesterday - a sign of heatness. Guess it's ok to drink as long as it's in moderation.

Joyce: I just read the link you sent. At least I know headache is one of the preg symptoms and not that I'm ill or something. But then again, why do we have so many problems? As if vomitting isn't bad enough. It's kind of strange also that a lot of us are experiencing morning sickness and headache dispite passing our 1st trimester. Lets hope all these will pass and we'll get healthy babies.

As for music, feel that as long as we mummies are enjoying ourselves and feeling relax, it's ok. I know some ppl listen to hymms or buddhist chant to keep calm and relax. Some ppl may even dislike classic music cos it may be too boring.
Most importantly, we are happy so we can have happy babies.

Hi Kai Li

I cant remember the name of the album. But there are about 5 different kinds at popular. all are classical music for babies.

choose one that have more titles that you are familiar with.

I also wanna get the fetal microphone, can anyone share here to get it from?

I got craving for sushi, but my mum say eat too much will cause indigestions

Been having a lot of pleghm recently, so sian.

Went to buy fruit juice just now, the aunty so cute, she ask me if I was expecting, then she say drink apple juice good for the baby. Don't eat big banana, very liang, can only eat small ones. Hmmm, also dont drink and eat too much orange, she say will cough a lot. She stood there and rattle off all the can and cannot, I also wanna laugh, cause she sound so excited

I've also heard about the effect of Mozart Music. Though it might not be affirmed but no harm trying if you don't mind classical music. Hubby bought a Mozart CD and we enjoyed the music each time he drives me to work.

Anyway, here's some info I've found on the web, for interest purposes.

Twinkle, twinkle little genius
If you happen to mention classical music and children in the same sentence, then you're likely to hear someone mention Mozart because, as the theory goes, listening to the work of this musical genius will ensure your baby's intelligence. This year would have been his 250th birthday and record companies across the world are releasing various versions of 'Mozart for your baby' CDs. Read on to find out if Mozart really can brighten your child.

Magic Mozart
Bopping Bumps
And the band plays on
Baby IQ Boosters
Magic Mozart
In 1993 a small research study concluded that listening to only ten minutes of a Mozart piano sonata temporarily raised the intelligence of 36 college students in a test of mental ability.

While any parent with an older child (or indeed anyone who cares to remember back to their own college days) will no doubt tell you this isn't necessarily anything that impressive, nevertheless from this study the Mozart Effect was born.

The theory claimed that playing classical music to babies boosted IQ, improved health and even produced the occasional child prodigy and since that time, people have taken every opportunity to make use of this theory in an attempt to promote children's mental ability along with record sales for various classical compositions.

The research, however, is controversial as Classic FM GP Dr Rob Hicks explains. "Other scientists have not been able to reproduce the findings of this initial research, and replication of research is important if it is to be properly established as fact. "However, the possibility that Mozart's music can boost IQ has gained huge support and is still practised and talked about."

Bopping Bumps
Music has always played an important part in human experience. It's instinctive for a mother to sing to her child and, regardless of whether she sings like Vera Lynn or Vera Duckworth, her child will respond to her voice.

Dr Hicks says, "Once a baby is born, music can help the process of bonding. As your child grows, music plays an integral part in games and other activities and in the learning that takes place through these."

But research now believes that music can benefit your baby while you are still pregnant. Numerous studies conclude that playing music to babies in the womb and in the early years helps build the neural bridges along which thoughts and information travel. And research suggests it can stimulate the brain's alpha waves, creating a feeling of calm.

However, if the thought of parading around your living room with earphones attached to your bump doesn't appeal, don't worry.

Dr Alexandra Lamont, a Lecturer in the Psychology of Music at Keele University, says, "It used to be assumed that it was really noisy in the womb but actually it's quite quiet so the baby should be able to hear your stereo at a reasonable volume." In other words, playing some harmonious music on your stereo while you sit back and relax will have much the same effect on your baby.

Babyworld midwife Hannah Hulme-Hunter agrees. "From 28 weeks onwards, a baby's hearing is well-developed. Babies can hear external sounds, although these are muffled by the amniotic fluid and the muscles of the uterus and abdomen."

And the band plays on
Dr. Lamont found that if you play the same piece of music every day for the last three months of your pregnancy, and play it back to your child at one year old, he will recognise it. The study does not say, however, if your one year old will enjoy hearing it again. As many adults know, you can only hear the same song so many times before it changes from a favourite tune to one much less favourable. Perhaps a more vocal one year old would be able to say 'Not that tune again. I've only just got it out of my head!'

Nevertheless, there is no doubting the abundance of research that says music is good for your child.

For example, music playing in the background at nursery schools can help these children to have more positive and better social interactions. Research has also found that playing background music within a classroom environment helps children perform spatial skills as well as improving attention span and concentration. And despite the name, the music does not have to be Mozart to be of benefit. Other classical composers such as Bach and Haydn have proved just as effective as background music.

So strong is the debate for the benefit of classical music that in Florida, all state-funded pre-schools are required to play classical music by law, and many US hospitals give classical CDs to new mums.

Baby IQ Boosters
So what is the best music to play to your baby?

Whilst pregnant, Dr Lamont suggests, "Any kind of music that you like, although bass frequencies will travel through fluid better and be more audible to your unborn baby." Dr Hicks recommends some appropriate classical tunes to fit in with your child's day but stresses, "With regard to the child, let them listen to whatever they like."

Getting up - to start the day off well, play something cheerful by Chopin or from Vivaldi's Four Seasons.
Playtime - a great way for your child to burn off energy is by jumping around to Tchaikovsky's 1812 Overture or Haydn's The Seasons: "Autumn"
Creative time - aid your child's concentration with calming music, such as Bach's Brandenburg Concerto No.6 - 2nd movement.
Concentrating time - avoid becoming too relaxed and falling asleep by playing something with a moderate tempo like in Offenbach's "Barcarolle" from The Tales of Hoffman.
Avoiding sickness - classical music has a recognised stimulating effect on health and listening to cheerful music such as Delibe's Coppelia can stimulate production of the body's antibodies to fight infection.
Sleep time - slower pieces will of course help settle your baby and for many years, tunes such as Brahms's Lullaby have been used to settle and lull a child at bedtime.
Whilst the Mozart Effect remains controversial, the same cannot be said for the general benefits if playing music to your child, even your unborn baby. Research has proved on many occasions the positive effects of music which is not all that surprising considering the apparently inbuilt response that most of us have to it. But if you want more proof regarding the Mozart Effect, you may want to hear what one baby Mozart CD has to say.

"We know one baby who listened to the music on this CD all through his early, formative years and he grew up into a genius. His name? Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart."

Where to next
Have you tried the Mozart effect before or after birth? Enjoy the debate on our forums
Dear God. At what point, if ever, should we introduce our children to religion?
Enjoy more babyworld features
Read today's news

sorry been absent for long...lately have been sick and hvg on and off fever. My headaches are getting from bad to worse. Really throbbing pain. I guess it's from this very BIG ulcer that has grown on the side of my tongue...it's so big and cos it's on the side, each time i eat, the tongue will get bang against the teeth sending me to excruciating pain. I cant eat anything at all without feeling pain. Called my gynae and she confirmed say can use Bonjela, but personally i tink Bonjela quite useless to the ulcer of that size. Every morning i woke up with exruciating pain and can taste blood in my tongue..cant even talk properly now...sigh...my mom commented say how come my pregnancy like peppered with problems and illnesses. Jus when i tot i have survived the MS and looking forward to eating normally...now this ulcer...has been there for almost a week plus and gosh...getting bigger and bigger.

Sorry have to vent out my misery here...big painful ulcer, cant eat, blocked nose, cant breathe properly, major throbbing headaches, cant sleep....sigh...when can i jus enjoy my pregnancy??? Yday, pain too intense..broke down and cry before dinner. Hubby stood there cannot do anything. I guess i jus have to tolerate and hope everything will go away soon...

i am really worried baby come out will be as moody as me now...sigh..

Btw, anyone knows where can i buy those giant posters with cute baby....would like to paste on my wall and smile...

hi mylife - dun be sad & think too much...watch some variety shows or books that you like & days will pass by faster... hope your ulcer will go away soon & you can eat like normal... Drink more water ah... Be happy & baby will be happy too

Hi mylife,

I also had the same problem as you, I had a big ulcer at the big of my throat, make me keep feeling that I had bones stuck in my throat. Must be all the puking and coughing.

Try to gurgle some warm water mix with salt, I did that. Also drink warm water
Hope it helps.

I found the fetal microphone online, but they dont ship Singapore
. ANyone know where to get in Singapore?

Kai Li,
Helpful? Meaning? From my reading previously was, when mummy talks, the bb actually cannot hear as clearly as daddy if daddy talks to the bb at the tummy. So in order for my bb to hear/recognise my voice, I got the fetal microphone and put it on my tummy. With that, I can talk to him and also play music for him.
Dont know if its by chance. Once, when he was 1 mth + or so. He was very cranky and crying non stop. While comforting him (TV was on and it was playing one of the usual songs that I used to played when he was in my tummy), he stopped crying and started looking around. Expression like "hmm...this sounded firmilar ah".
This is just my personal experience.

angelsky,
I got mine from Mothercare.

Hi mylife,

Sorry to hear about the mouth ulcer. I used Bonjela before and it doesn't work for me. I used ORACORT E. It's soothing and numbing so the mouth ulcer seems less painful and more bearable. You can put it in the fridge so it's cooling.

As for baby posters, my sister got it from me from Kiddy Palace.

Wow, the thread moving very fast. Been real busy at work and tired to catch up.

Anyway I was mentioning about massage lady the other time. Mdm Rokiah hp 92716091. She uses jamu herbs for tummy and forehead. Enjoyed her massage. Not pain and very relaxing..

Yeh lor, Im getting busier at work! Yesterday found out tt one of my dept colleague resign, then my team 1 staff will be transferred over permanently...so my own team down by 1 person. Haiz...

mylife, hope u do get well soon. Dun think too much into it. Just try to be happy and drink more water. Perhaps eat more fruits too?

mylife,
the big ulcer & throbbing headache must be miserable. Hope u recover soon! You can try to drink chrysanthemum or barley twice a week to cool yr heaty body. Drink plenty of water.

angelsky, speedy recovery!

Hi mylife ! hope you get well soon... ya drink lotsa of water...

Hi babe
Mdm Rokiah is massage lady for post natal massage ?

Ladies, do u have the intention of buying milk bottles sterilizer for our new born? Is this necessary & useful ? I saw the pigeon brand sterilizer...wonder if really need it. Normal washing & soap cleaning shld be fine bah.

steph,

Sterilizer is a must to disinfect germs n bacteria that soap cannot remove, esp impt for new born coz their resistance low. The pigeon brand is good, can fit most bottles size n very durable, have been using it for 2 yrs+ liao. Try to buy it during promo when they will give free milk bottles etc...

Hi mylife,
Maybe u can try out tap water with salt...rinse ur mouth and drink abit of salty water...this help to reduce the heaty more faster...During my first trimester, i have fever on n off and also have soar throat...after using this method taught by my mum...it helps alot...hope it useful for you..take care...

Evelyn,
thanks for advise but some of my colleagues/frds say the sterilizer not much useful or maybe they lazy. The older folks/generation say to use hot water to disinfect milk bottles. The pigeon brand sterilizer comes in two model. One fit for two bottles & the other model which looks like a dustbin can fit up to 4 bottles. Which one do u recommend. Thanks

steph did is a need bah all my frds bought tat ... my sil say will pass down her avent sterilizer

steph,

Hmmm, not to sure which model u r referring becoz mine can fit 5-6 bottles in the lower tier, teats n caps in the upper tier, maybe mine is an old model but try to get the one that can acommodate more bottles then u can sterilize more bottles at once. U can use hot boiling water like wat the old folks say but very troublesome, have to boil water upon each disinfect. So it is up to u.

qingqing,

Avent is as good, the downside is it can only fit Avent bottles but Pigeon more universal can fit most brands. I hardly buy Avent coz they r more costly.

Ladies, do u think this Stroller cum infant car seat worth to invest ? Price at S$799.00 from BabyTown Singapore
905247.jpg

The Cortina Travel System by Chicco is made up of the Chicco Cortina Stroller and the Chicco Key Fit Infant car seat. The aluminum frame Cortina stroller with one hand fold comes loaded with extra features you and baby will enjoy. The mutliple position, fully reclining seat and adjustable leg rest provides comfort for your baby. The seat has "memory" recline for your convenience - it remembers the position you last left it in before folding. The adjustable, removable canopy is water repellent. The large basket - which is accessible when the backrest is fully reclined - provides plenty of storage for all the things your baby needs. Linked rear brakes and a 5 pt harness provide safety and all wheel suspension gives just the right ride to baby. An adjustable handle make strolling comfortable for Mom or Dad. This Chicco Travel System comes with the matching Chicco Key Fit Infant Car Seat. The KeyFit infant carseat has an innovative LATCH management system, easy belt routing and a spring loaded leveling to make the infant carseat installation process easy. The "One-pull", centrally located tightening strap has made tightening the LATCH attachment simple. The KeyFit base also has wide belt routing loops with a built in belt locking system if the vehicle does not have LATCH. Leveling the seat is easy with a spring-loaded leveling foot and easy to read liquid, level indicators on both sides of the base. The enclosed underside of the KeyFit carsear base helps protect your vehicle's seats from damage. The harness has one-pull tightening & loosening for quick harness fitting. The thickly padded infant insert gives extra support for a smaller baby around the head, neck, back & bottom. The carrier shell is lined with energy absorbing foam. Conforms to FMVSS 213. Works with babies from 4-22 lbs. -- the newborn insert from 4-11 lbs.

steph,

Wow it is really ex wor. I bought a Pre Prego stroller at $360 1 yr+ ago n regret it coz i hardly use it nowadays. Used to use it when bb still small but when she started walking, she refused the stroller. As for car-seat, i had 2 pass downs by relative but again my gal refuse, she prefers me to carry. So it is al up to individual whether it is worth to make tis investment. Now i have to make sure i make full use of the stroller n car seat for my 2nd one, haha...

Evelyn,

yah v ex, that's what i thot. My budget for stroller is ard $350 & nowadays infant car seat v ex too, unknown brand cost easily ard $200.
My niece still small (ard 20mths) still need the car seat otherwise i can get pass downs from my sis. My hubby wanna get new playpen & not pass downs, he say this is our #1 so must get gd one so can reuse when #2 comes along. I *faintz*. Beside that, not sure whether need to buy baby cot, walker etc..