(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

qing2,
i like coke esp put a bit of salt then taste even better during hot weather. But now, i stop drinking coke cos very acidic & got caffeine. Do u know if u pour coke in the toilet bowl & leave it for 10mins, yr toilet bowl b'cum very clean!!! imagine what it will do to our stomach. Then again if u got cravings, still can drink la but moderate loh.
Nowadays i drink Zappel (gassy apple juice) & orange juice once in a while...a mug of sugar cane juice share wif hubby.

Hi Mei,
can you help me to update my particulars:
EDD:13 Jan 2008
Gynae:Dr Adrain Woodworth
Hospital: TMC
Child:1st child

Thanks for updating....

I've also lost 3kg till nw...haven't gain any weight and already about 14 wks...my gynae said baby grown more important than mummy gain weight...So we don't need to worry too much about the gain weight...

steph
i bought my normal calcium (Caltrate, blue bottle, 60 tabs) at abt $20+. Gynae clinic advised me not to take those with added Vit D as my prenatal vits already contain Vit D, so no need extra... save a bit $$. Obimin i think it was $11 per bottle of 100 tabs.
Gynae clinic will only sell monthly dosage, which is 30 or 60 tabs/ caps, depending on how many pills to take per day. Dat's why i asked the mg also.

steph,
me also low blood.. but doctor din say anything.. I just go with normal diet.. maybe slowly can try chinese tonic like ginseng and bao sheng during 2nd tri.

i will get cramps when i drink coke, so i dun dare to drink anymore. only drink ginger ale.

golden pig,
yeap, i get the dry version so that it is less gassy. When i have craving for soft drinks, i go for gingle ale. :p

goldenpig,
ya lor gynae clinic sell monthly dosage. The prenatal vitamin (Pramilets) oso come with folic acid but contain 500mcg & was wondering if we still need to take the folic 5mg/tab daily since we are now in 2nd tri ? mcg higher dose or mg ?

icy,
gynae din say anything but nurse advise me to take more red meat.

Can we start taking tonic to pu & bird nest now ?

steph,
yes, i heard abt red meat and spinach is good for iron and hence helps to increase blood supply. I think i will start soon in 2 weeks time when i am week 15.. at first maybe i wont made it too strong becos my body naturally heaty already... i prefer to use 1/2 portion first for a few times on anything my mil intends to give me. :p At least see how body react before i go full portion.

birdnest, I also heard 4-5 mths start is good enough, maybe before that mummy can benefit bah. That Gu Hua store advise 2 weeks drink once.

hi ladies, did your gynaes ask you to start taking supplements so early. Mine said enough to just take folic acid. The rest (calcium, iron etc) she said to start after 1st trimester. Was quite happy to hear that cos I hate popping pills.

I like the first one to be a girl cos girls mature faster, easier to look after when I have no. 2. I think my hubby has no preference.

kitsune, i took folic n duphston .... my gynae gave me another two weeks of duphston during her last visit so now i only take folic

kitsune
i'm into my 2nd tri liao.. just started taking the whole range.. 4 tablets every morning.

steph
mcg is a smaller unit than mg

icy,
i oso heard that liver helps to increase blood supply but not suitable for preggie. I will oso start slowly on tonic & bird nest when i proceed 16 weeks onwards. I like double boiled tian qi black chicken soup & peppery pig stomach soup.
If yr body is heaty, can drink barley water to cool down.

kitsune,
gynae gave me supplements when i proceed 13wks, Is this consider 2nd tri ? Throughout 1st tri, gynae only ask me take folic & progesterone pills.

hihi!

Wow! so many msgs...

ernmum: wah! really envy dat u only gained 8kg in ur 1st pregnancy. u really maintain ur weight.

qing qing & steph: my mum told mi can only start takin bird nest aft 5mths wor!! actually i hav some bird nest at hom, wanna so much to drink it becos my face seems dry & got a few pimples. my mum said can start takin tonic soup but not bird nest yet..

Icy: how r u getting on over there? hav u receive e pic i send u?

hi everyone, been quite bz at work..so glad today's friday. tmrw gg to gynae for check up and blood test...nervous...hope the nurse know how to poke properly!!

For those in second trimester, how many supplements u all taking? Gynae only gave me 3 types leh...

Looking fwd to eat bird nest too. hehe. my mum said she will help me make soon...how come can take tonic soup ah? What type? Not too heaty one ah?

Went for my Oscar test this morning, they drew like 6 vials of blood, faint. Going to see doc again in a whilst time.

I also looking forward to starting bird nest. kekeke.

steph,
yeap.. but liver too much vitamin A or something like that.. so cant eat too much. MIl mentioned things like red dates tea and dried long gan but all very heaty.

I dun dare drink barley becos friends told me too liang. Not suppose to drink during pregnancy, perhaps i drink more water bah.

Hi lyn,
my hb is back in sg for like 4d until sat. So i am alone now.. so boring have to cook for myself both lunch and dinner since i have no appetite for outside food. :p

I got the photos, thank you very much. :D Cant wait for my checkup next thursday. :D

hammies,
my gynae here never give me any. I had to get my sg preggy friend to help me buy from sg.

Was it me or something was wrong with the website last night as I have problems logging in. So annoying.

>Ah Capp,
I also love cold drinks, been this way since before pregnancy but now got cut down a bit though still find them irresistible. My mum said Iced Lemon Tea very liang but I still crave for it sometimes. I try to minimise lor like taking cold fruit juices or Ribena.

>angelsky,
I've been eating laksa and curry. Though not often but I love spicey food. My mum also asked me to cut down on "yellowish" tinge food like yellow noodles etc because she said baby will be prone to jontis..dunno how to spell haha.

>Joyce,
think your colleague is right, better talk to your hubby, you need him to know what's going on and after moping your back also aches. Not good for yourself or baby.

Good morning ladies,

This thread is growing bigger day by day, just like our babies.

Thank you golden pig for the link. Will be checking it. I think my weight should have gone up this past 2 weeks. My tummy is already showing that even a normal high waist top become maternity wear in the eyes of my colleagues! *LOL*

I am still trying to cut down on my cold drinks. Limit it to 1 or at most 2 per day. Don't know why but still feeling very thirsty at night. Thank you to the suggestions on ginger ale and ribena. My fav is lemon tea! But don't tell my MIL ok =P

Feel like checking out Mt Alvernia this weekend. But feeling soo sleepy and tired. =( I still get breathless easily, like just now after hanging up my laundry.

Vitamins...
My gynae started me on this one-a-day nutritional supplement which comes with high dose folic acid, Vitamin B1 and B6 (According to the box). The brand/name is Obimin. It costs me $18 for 100 tablets, before GST. I ate this once a day together with my cheapo folic acid tablets bought from Guardain. Other than this, I just try to eat as much fruits and vegetables. My gynae did mentioned about fish oil, which I guess will be will be prescribed to me later on. So I will wait till further notice for now.

yesterday couldn't login forum..the board was on maintenance...yeah agree so annoying.

Anyway hope all our blood test results turn out fine.

Re: waistline
Shld we measure our waist or tummy area cos it's a lot of difference wor... my waist was 26 inches & now was 28 inches. Tummy now measure 33.5 inches coming to 14weeks. I thot might as well measure by butt...haha...i did increase fr 34 inches to 35 inches...i think pelvic/butt will expand as we proceed to 3rd tri bah...so sad...wonder will it shrink back to our pre-preggie size.

Barley cannot drink? Lemon tea also cannot? O dear, I still got drink barley and sugar cane le. Maybe my mother quite trendy, so she not very particular about food can or cannot le. So she still make barley for me, when I drink tea and stuff, she also never stop me. On the other hand, I am the old fashion and "pa si" one, everything before I eat or drink, will ask her can or not, but so far everything she also say can le. Hmmm.

Her friend was telling her got bird flu, cannot drink bird nest but then can make bird tonic soup for me. Funny right, my mother hear already also think it sounds funny. kekeke.

I went for my OSCAR yesterday, results very good, my results were like 1: 12367 whilst the norm is 1:722 for my age.
I forgot to ask my doc for multi vits, so blur. Will only see him one month later, think I will call him again on monday to ask for vitamins.

Hi, all. Ya, can't login forum last night. So frustrating. I measured where my belly button is, don't know whether correct or not? Anyway, my belly button used to be well hidden. But now, I realise that the 'hole' is expanding because of bigger tummy. Hope my belly button won't pop out. :p

Hello ladies....

Went to see gynae this morning and glad that baby is doing fine still....currently it seems like I'm about 15 weeks plus...took the blood tests today too...but won't know the results so soon...

Gynae said my placenta seems a bit low at the moment, but he tell me not to worry as it may shift, but I feel a bit worried leh....I duno if it will move about one? Sigh....

Also went shopping to buy a bit more maternity bottoms. There's this shop at Vivocity, near BK. Got some discounts till tomorrow only. Won't say their variety is a lot..but at quite glad to buy at least a pair of jeans with discount..

Good Sunday morning to all of u!

2 more weeks to go till my next appointment with my gynae for another checkup and my blood test. A bit impatient already. Already started asking my hubby when will I be able to see the gender of my baby ah. I want to buy baby clothes! Hahaha

Told my colleagues and my boss about my pregnancy on Fri. Everyone was really very excited. *LOL* ^_^

Hi Angelsky,

Good to know that everything went fine. =) Happy for you. My gynae actually kinda told me that I only need to start my multi-vitamin later or when I am free from morning sickness or vomitting. But I told her I don't have any of such problems during my 1st trimester. That's why she prescribed me already. I think no worry. I am sure your gynae will remember during your next visit.

Hi kitsune,
I remembered my SIL's belly button did pop out during her pregnancy! Oh goosh, now that you reminded me, I better make sure my tops are not too tight =P

Hi Hammies,
I will be going for the blood test in 2 weeks time. Do u happen to know how long does it take for the results to be out? 1 week?
Don't worry too much about your placenta. I am sure everything will be fine. Have faith in yourself. Remember that your gynae is keeping everything under monitoring =)

Hi all, i have not recover from my illness.. gp did gave me medicine but i didn't take any of it...that make my hubby mad...as this few day my cough and flu sometime good and sometime bad....

violetice, thanks. i'll talk to my hubby...anyway this few day i can escape as i have the excuse....

kitsune, me too.. my belly botton the hole is getting bigger....

Hi AhCapp, gynae told me the blood test results should be ready in a week. But he said will only call if any high risk thing, if not will wait for next visit to see results. So in a way, I rather not hear from him! haha...

Thanks too for your encouragement. Ya, I actually went to read up about it already. If you ladies want more information on a possible condition, you can understand more here:

http://www.babycentre.co.uk/pregnancy/complications/placentapraevia/

Anyway, from the article, I believe it's still too early to tell for me. There is still the possibility of uterus expanding and placenta moving to a more normal position. So hope for the best!

hammies,
My cousin had low placenta for her 2 pregnancies and she delivered her 2 babies successfully so no worries. :D

Weekend seemed to fly by too fast! Still feeling sleepy and tired easily. Heard that Vivo got nice maternity shop but as I stayed in the North area, it's too far for me and I tire easily. =(

Recently been having flu for the longest time that affects my sleeping either with running nose or blocked nose. Saw GP but doesn't help. Is anyone facing the same problem? As I found blood in my nose mucus, GP said it's bec pregnant women has higher blood count but it's a bit worrying for me and hubby.

Hubby dreamt about our baby last night. So strange, he dreamed we had a baby girl but monsters and ghosts were trying to catch her so he kept protecting her against them. Then baby told him "Daddy, I'm sleepy" and he had to find a safe place for her to rest. What a strange dream right? Haha!

Hi, Ah Capp and Joyce. I went out today wearing a loose polo T-shirt and caught myself in the mirror. I really look pregnant now. Wonder why colleagues didn't start asking yet. Ordered some maternity clothes through BP (1 dress and 1 bottom) at this site, hope I receive the clothes soon. Hee. Actually, I'm prepared to come clean this Fri if anyone asks cos will be 13 weeks by then. Start of 2nd trimester right?

As I've intention to buy either Oto PowerFoot or Osim Usqueeze for my Mum's birthday, does anyone knows which is better and more value for money?

Good evening Ladies,
A quick one while I am waiting for my facial mask to dry. =P Oh dear me, I just noticed that my belly hole is getting a bit bigger too. =O

Hi Joyce & VioletIce,
I was down with fever and cough during my first trimester. As I mentioned before, I didn't dare to complete the whole course of medicine each time, even though the doctor and my gynae re-assured me that the medicine is safe. In the end, I took about 2 weeks+ to fully recover each time. Quite bad huh. I actually coughed so hard that my left chest ached like mad and I thought I might have breast cancer! No kidding. Thank goodness I found a female GP who was very nice and understanding. She did a thorough check for me and found no lumps or whatsoever. But she reminded me to continue to do self-examination every month even though I am pregnant.

Anyway, if you are not comforty with medicine, take more rest and drink lots of water. I can totally understand when you don't feel like taking medicine, all in the name of your babies. Mother's love. =)

I did read in some pregnancy books that we (poor pregnant mums) will tend to have nose bleeds easily. Perhaps this is also the reason?

Hi hammies,
Thanks for the info. =) I still to wait for 2 more weeks till I can go for my blood test. I am sure your gynae will not be calling u. =)

Hi kitsune,
I think your colleagues are too shy to ask you! =) Don't be surprised that when you tell them, they will be telling that they have been guessing too, but didn't want to ask you. Can u imagine my horror that even the men in my office noticed that I am a bit big recently. My poor hubby was making noise as to why on earth the men are noticing his poor wife (me!). *LOL*

Hi AhCapp,
Thanks for sharing. I've seen the GP on 2nd July and now it's end of July yet still not well. The GP wanted to give me antibiotics but I didn't want to so he gave me mild flu medicine. He did say it'll take longer to recover but it's long enough, isn't it? Hubby wants me to see another GP but I'm still considering.

It's a bad Monday start. This morning, left my gal sitting there on the stairs just 1 step to the ground to juz turn on the steriliser in the corner. Then who knows "boom" she fell and hit the marble floor. Was crying so badly...Dun even how she fell and where she hit herself. Couldn't find red marks or bumps...feeling so bad now...

Morning everyone, just bought a packet of nasi lemak and a can of nescafe for breakfast... only took 2 mouth of nasi lemak and throw away the whole packet... it taste so bad, chicken wing not well cooked, still can see blood, fish over cooked, rice don't taste nice... lost appetite...

Ahcapp, me and my hubby were so worried abt our baby... cos when i cough and pee the area that we use to have menses cramp ache and there's once i saw blood clot in my phelgm, my mum said because my body too heaty... my tummy seem getting smaller...and i'm losing weight.... and again i puked....
my hubby suggested me to fix an appt with my gynae either this thursday or friday (my gynae who will only be back to work this thursday) to have a scan instead of waiting till 11th aug.

I'm very confused abt when is 2nd trimester... Last week, i went to see a gp, she told me 2nd trimester only start on 4th month (divide 9months into 3 parts)and my beautician also said week16(4th month). When i go online to check some said start from week 13 and some said week 15... blur.... faint....

yo babe,

understand how you feel when your girl fell. Dun worry too much. Just continue to observe her and make sure that there is no vomitting and she continues to be active.

Bring her to see doctor if vomiting occur. Need to observe for 24 hours.

Kids will fall. Part and parcel of growing up.

But as parents, cant help it but to feel the pain

I went to the BabyHybermarket near Eunos. It is a bit crowded, many things put together, but price is cheaper than retail.

I plan to buy Maclaren baby stroller as it is easy to use and well known. cost about 460 at retail and 300++ at hypermarket. and maybe buy cot from there too. 299 including delivery and matress.

My husband is very keen on checking baby items. now it has been one of our weekends activities. But I feel a bit shy as every woman in shop has a very popped out tummy except me....

hi morning all,
How's everyones' weekends?

hi violetIce,
hope u are feeling better today. I was down with bad flu & sore throat last 2wks & now fully recovered after taking mild flu medicine, lotsa rest & water. The reason for flu is oso lack of Vit C so increase intake of Vit C will speed up recovery!

ladies, have u heard of or use "Bella Band" before? my colleague bought one from marina sq. The band could be use for pants, skirts & shorts aren't fitting quite right during preggie. Easy fix, just slip the band on at our waistline (over our unbuttoned pants)..will give instant hold & comfort & no one will know our pants are undone! We can still wear our non-pregnant girl clothes a little longer.
Visit: http://www.ingridandisabel.com/

seems like most of us is takin e blood test these few wks... pray dat every result turns out gd!
i'm having mine done tomoro.. a bit scary!

hi JanBB,
wonder if u will login today...anyway just wanna inform u that Sheng Siong is officially open!
Yesterday wanna drop by but was raining & so many cars & crowded...so we turn ard & went Gek Poh. I am not sure whether the food court is fully open cos yesterday was closed, no lights, no operation.

hi babe,
aunty Steph sayang yr girl girl...aiyo..kids are like that...just like my 19mth niece..she like to climb here & there & knock herself..sumtimes gunna blue black. eRnMum is right, just observe her & if she is still active, shld be fine.

Joyce,
u can call gynae clinic to check if yr appoint need to be brought forward. Meanwhile drink plenty of water & cut down on cold or gassy drinks to reduce phelgm. Take care.

Hi Sisters

For your update, I am having a boy !

Went for checkup last Friday. It was my 16 week plus.

My gyne didnt tell me the sex of my baby straightaway. During one of the scan, he told me " These are the legs, you see something sticking out in the middle?" I asked him " So, it is a boy ?" He didnt reply me, just smiled but said 90% confirmed.

So happy!

I just went for my scan last friday at 12 weeks plus, then i asked my gyne if I passed first trimester, he said yes by a few days.