(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Been out of contact with this thread for only a few days and there's so much catching up to do.

Speaking of knowing the gender of the baby, heard some mothers say can see if it's during the 12th week, else most prob will be a girl. Is that true?

My Dr didn't want to confirm with us leh. Said to be sure next scan then can tell us. Sigh. Can't wait to think of names and go on a shopping spree for baby.

talk abt nasi lemak i have craving for it every morning hahah i feel disppointed if the nasi lemak sold out hahahah

Steph - i dun drive but my hubby does.. tink i noe the mkt that u are refering... sometimes also go there for b'fast ; )
Do u like roti prata? got one recommendation at that coffeeshop (level 2) in Gek Poh shopping near our hse.. the prata veri crispy.. yummy.. think i only like all this "junk food"... dun take proper meal.. veri bad hor..
Now i m eating KitKat ice-cream cone ; p

JanBB,
Wahhh u make me swallow saliva upon hearing KitKat ice-cream!!!
yah i know abt the crispy prata stall in Gek Poh too! So far, i got no particular cravings but i like MacDonalds double cheese burger & Japanese fried chicken. Are these junk food too??hehe..

hi wildcherry,
When is yr next scan? by then how many weeks? keep it secret...keep u in suspense...baby is playing hide & seek with us! At 13wks now, me oso can't see gender.

Steph & fishia
Thank u for the info.

JanBB
we share the same experience. My mum force me to eat, cos she said is for the sake of bb, nt me. Then i bo bian, have to eat some. then feel bloated, during shower everything taken during dinner r all out. My hubby kept flushing while i m puking... (cos really alot.)
My colleague said if nw we still hav MS, its most likely it will last till our 5th mths...
dun noe hw true it is. I hope my MS wil go away next wk...
*finger crossed*

>Joyce,
you're very filial and understanding. If my MIL told me to mop the floor, think my hubby will have a fit. I'll faint too. But since you're staying with them, maybe that's why she expected that of you. Be more careful or try not to mop lor. Coz still prone to be slippery. =)

>mspiglet
The massage lady is called Munja. Her mobile number is 9487-7034. A friend of mine used her 3 months ago, said she's pretty good. Once I got another contact from my cousin, will inform you gals.

Am I the only one here who wants to drink cold drinks all the time? Feel very thirsty and "dried up" all the time. My hubby is going to faint if I drink cold drinks every night. *LOL*

Did someone talk about nasi lemak and chicken wings? They have been on my mind nearly every day recently. Bet they could be pregnant mummies #1 comfort food afterall ;)

Okie, I confess. I drink every day, although when I was not pregnant before I used to criticize my friend for not resisting. I usually drink 1 cup of cold juice for breakfast, one cup of cold/gassy drink for dinner, another small cup about 8 plus after dinner. guilty. But I really cannot resist. Drink hot milo I puke, drink plain water also, honey water I get cough and pleghm. So how? Stress.

Frankly, I am already very "kuai" coz I also got craving for teh and coffee but so far I have not drank any.

I wanna eat laksa, nasi lemak, fried chicken wing, BBQ stuff also. But BBQ stuff unhealthy and the rest got coconut.

However, when I drink cold drinks my mother never stop me le.

ernmum, i not too sure is a gal or boy leh...

violetice, i will be careful if she ask me to mop again... told colleague abt this, she said "talk to yr husband, tell him if anything happen to baby(touchwood) due to mopping, the whole family members cannot blame u" actually after mopping i have pain ard my tummy, i was so scare anything will happen to my baby...as i have m/c once. so worried... and till now my back still super suan...

haha... me too love to drink cold drinks... no hot drinks for me....no plain water as i'll puke...and not all gassy i can take...cos some will leave my mouth taste wierd....

angelsky, my mum too never stop me but during the last visit with gynae, she complained to my gynae, lucky my gynae also never stop me cos now weather very hot...hehe

Steph, I'm only at 12 weeks plus. Would you prefer your first kid to be a boy or girl? Agree with all of you that as long as it's healthy and growing well it doesn't matter... but it's so tempting to say I wanna have a girl. Can really doll them up. hahahah. I was at Gap's infant section a few days back and was so tempted to buy some girly baby clothes cos they were so cute.

hihi, just wondering. Anyone measured your waistline yet? I started doing it last week, and I was close to 31 inches. Before pregnant, I was 26-27 inches. Just measured today, and it was around 32 inches and I'm not even 12 weeks yet. Sometimes, stomach feel so bloated, don't know if it's because the skin is stretching. Very uncomfortable.

joyce ^high 5. Some gassy drinks, I drink already the mouth also got a funny taste, like flat flat very uncomfortable :p

kitsune, I was puking like mad and I was not eating much after my 9th week scan, then i had fever, so went to see my gp about 1 week after that scan, I actually put in 600grams. Nearly fainted. I was grumbling to my hubby, if never eat already 1 week put on 600grams, then at the end of the 9 months, I bet I will balloon till 20 kg.

Ok, great to know that I am not the only who drinks cold drinks =P Yes, normal plain water tastes just BAD =( It was not like that before! The recent hot weather doesn't help too. Goosh.

I also try to be as good as possible. But it's really difficult ;) Just bought 2 big tins of Enfamama just now. Dear me, wanted to buy only 1 tin, but hubby said buy more first. I really wonder how am I going to drinnk 2 glasses every day (as recommended in the tin) =S

Hi Angelsky,
I ate all the food in your list =P I am a greedy piglet mum! Is coconut milk bad for us?

Hi Joyce,
we are all in the same boat about cold rinks. I don't dare to tell my mum or my MIL that I am drinking cold drinks. Already "bribed" my hubby not to betray me and mention anything already. *LOL*

Hi kitsune,
I didn't measure my tummy yet. Let me see now... it's 32inches! Goosh, I was a 29inches gal. *sob sob*

Anyway, I have long abandoned my jeans and only wear my low waist "stretchable" jeans. I started wearing my new pair of Old Navy maternity stretchable jeans. SOOOO comforty! I think I am slowly phasing into my maternity wardrobe soon!

Oh yes ladies, can i ask how much weight are we supposed to gain in total? I am hungry ALL the time. Already tried to have some control by eating fruits or just bread in between my normal 3 meals. I just worried that I might overeat and do more harm than good to myself and the baby.

Good Morning to all,

"High 5" to all cold drinks lovers!! I seldom drink cold or gassy drinks b4 pregnant... but now i am so "addicted" to them... Fav now are F&N orange & Calamansi ; ) smell already also happy... haahaa..

But are we suppose to cut all these stuff during 3rd tri?? Cos heard that we preggies will have high tendency to get diabetes... True??

Aiyoh.. wish i can put on some weight. I've lost about 2kg since. During the last Dr's visit, she told me not to be too bothered by my weight lost cos baby is still very tiny and will not need much of a nutrients from me yet. She mentioned that it's more important to be hydrated.

Been drinking tons of water and like many of you, i'm begining to hate plain water! hahaha. I'm so tempted to have cold drinks every lunch time leh. Heard it's not good but sometime really cannot resist.

AhCapp - My gynae has advised to increase 12-15kg on average.But some plp can increase up to 20kg >.< faint... dunno how they slim back to normal size if put on so much..

Hi kitsune,

I measured my waist. Used to be 25" now 29" already and i'm at 14 weeks!!! As for my weight i have not even gained a kg yet.

janbb
my first gynae gained over 20kg when pregnant, then became slim again when she started work. Coz gynae v busy and irregular hours. haha.

Hi, ladies. Good to see my waistline is quite normal then. I haven't gained much weight either. Colleagues commented that I lost weight. Maybe, I've been hiding my tummy quite well.

Morning everyone, how r all of u?

i'm down with sore throat, cough and flu. This morning puked all the drinks.... and when i start to cough, i'll feel like vomiting.... is it advisable to see gp? cos dunno will they give me any medicine...

kitsune, i nv measure my waistline but i took photo of my tummy....so that i can compare did my tummy really grow.... future also can keep as a memory....

my 1st pregnancy i gain abt 8 kg...

not all mothers will get gestational diabetes but if your daddy got it, you will have a higher chance. Gynae will usually screen at third trimester.

I had it in my first that why i am more careful this time round.

mei,

mine too. wished it is bigger so that ppl can give up seats to me in the mrt train. the good thing about small tummy is we need not spend money on clothes that early. still wearing my normal clothes leh.

wildcherry
if u're unwell, just look very weak and pale and sick and tell the other passengers. Regardless whether u're preggy or not, i believe some kind soul will give up the seat for u, esp crowded train without enuf ventilation.

ernmum
u had GD with #1? When were u diagnosed? Did u hv to sacrifice a lot of food? And after give birth, when did gynae do followup chk to confirm it went away?
Coz for my #1 i was on borderline.. but after the GT results came back normal. I hv family history of diabetes.

ernmum - oh dear, my family got diabetes history..that mean i muz be more careful on my dietary from now onwards? no more gassy drinks?
Sorry, did u mean u got diabetes problem in 3rd tri? Can i ask after u giv birth, the diabetes problem will improve? Thks.

About the cold gassy drink part, my friend actually during her 7th month, one day she was super thirsty and she drank one plastic bottle (small version) of coke in one shot straight from the fridge. Then her water bag burst and she delivered her baby gal prematurely. Luckily her baby gal now healthy and strong. But at that time when she told me, we all panic thats why I always felt it was no good to drink cold drinks and ask her why she could not control. But now that I am also in the same situation I understand fully that sometimes its really difficult since we have that craving all the time.

basically i was diagnosed with GD (gestational diabetes) from 32 weeks...i failed my urine test and took OGTT...then went on a strict diet...horrible weeks ....but baby gave me enegy to continue. At first couldnt adapt...eat not enough cos dare not eat too much or else will affect the sugar level. The dietitian will give you some guideline to follow. and gotta do finger prick seven times a day for two consecutively days a week. The only happy thing is a can of diet coke per day...haha....sweet ma.
On the day of contraction, i told hubby "think i can drink iced milo" soon. After giving birth i told my gynae and she told the nurse to make ice milo for me...haha

This time round, i brought the glucometer to test my blood sugar as and when. That time after eating one packet of fried bee hoon, it was 9 for sugar level....scared me....cos only 9 weeks leh...then i decided to go for OGTT...thank goodness, result is normal. But now still try to control my diet...at times, i still indulge in my chilli noodles, KFC etc....

btw, if you have GD later on, enfamama is definetely no no...cos it is very sweet.

at the end of pregnancy they will ask you do OGTT again.

i always drink cold drink....i dun restrict my drinks diet leh...must put ice somemore....but i only drink diet drinks....

angelsky, your friend's early delivery is due to coke?

ernmum
test blood 7 times a day?!?!?! *faint*
my dad diabetic but at most he test once a day. He got all the portable test kit, actually i can test anytime i want, but who so free go and poke poke right.
U mentioned "9" for sugar level, what's the threshold? 9 wks preggie only u went for OGTT liao? Poor thing.
I read up a bit on how to avoid GD - control weight gain, dun take too much carbo. V hard to find protein snacks... my gynae could only suggest corn cup and chicken salad..!! Coz our regular snacks like biscuits and bread are all high carbo.

i was quite the fan of Coke Light and Coke Light Lemon before #2 preg, but now i dun like the taste, only want the REAL THING, but i try not to drink everyday coz high sugar.. alternative i take iced lemon tea/ ribena

Her MIL felt it was becoz of the coke lo, else she finished the whole bottle quite quickly, as if she just finished running marathon and trying to quench her thirst. After drinking, she had contractions. But who knows it may be the result of her MIL scolding her that made her deliver earlier. kekeke

must prick before and after food....3 meals means 6 times and once before bed.

daddy they all only poke once...for us must 7 times for 2 consecutively days somemore.

norm before food is 3.3 to 5.5. Two hours later should be 5.5 to 7...and mine is 9.....so i decided that i wanna test so that i have a peace of mind.

i like coke light

Morning all, I love cold drinks too ... hehehe i drank ribena every day for lunch kekeke cos am very thirtsy

wow u girls really fast ... i just went for my breakfast come back so many post liao hehehe

i went to my gynae thereto pick up my package list i have lost it

saw on the package triple test is @ $120 and my $600 which i am Gonna sign include monthly consultation, urine test, ultra sound scan and vitamins supplements fish oil selling at $40.00 per bottle

Normal delivery at $800.00
Assisted delivery (vacuum/forceps) $1000
Caesarian - $1800

qingqing
i got my fish oil NEUROGAIN PB from Unity Pharmacy at $34+ per bottle 30 caps. Plus my dad got senior citizens 5% discount, plus Link Points.
Plus my calcium supplements, Obimin etc. Save me some $$... Gynae clinics mark up a bit.

i think i will buy one from them then i go out see how much so next time buy from outside kekekeke ...... they wanna earn more heehee

qingqing
yeah i asked the reception how much they charged for calcium, fish oil, obimin, how many tabs/caps, how many mg... thank God the lady was patient with me and answered all my queries. Then i went to do price comparison... EVERY ITEM they mark up wor... esp the FOLIC. haha.
Wanted to buy before GST increase, but too busy and only bought this week.

Morning all,
Wa...so many post to catch up in the morning....

goldenpig,
my gynae oso gave me NeuroGainPB (fish oil) too. I like the smell...very nice like eating handroll..fresh seaweed smell. So next time can buy fr Unity instead of getting from clinic.

qing2,
yr package sounds reasonable. I can only sign package when 20wks onwards
By then, already spent 2K plus...dunno can tahan anot.

Re: Cold/Gassy drinks
I try limit myself to 1 or 2 cans per day cos i got weaker constitution b4 preggie, my womb is liang so when preggie, it is best to avoid cold drinks.

violetIce,
thanks for the contacts on the massage lady!

wildcherry,
i got no preference for boy or gil since this is my #1 but my hubby prefer Boy. Every time prior gynae's visit, he will ask me whether we can see birdy (boy pp) during scan...i will say he bias...pian xin hor.

My guess is that its more that she drank the drink too fast, after that episode she was so upset for a while coz baby premature ma, that we just did not want to ask her and make her cry and upset. I think its not the "coke" that is the issue but that she drank too much and too fast.

I also liang type, drink too much cold drinks I will cough, last time I used to drink cold drinks and then menses come will cramp like crazy, then after I ate bai foong wan much better. But I really love "liang tehs"

Steph wow u drink one can by urself ... i drank mug in the evening but share weith my husband ... i only take few sips to ease my craving hahahahah a

golden pig ya folic is very expensive 1st visit i didnt kw she gave me folic i gong gong take go home then realise i still have so many at home which i bought in unity hahahahha

when i had menses, i didn't experience extra cramps if i took cold drinks.. i even ate pineapple. Side effect of pineapple = menses will STOP immed. Sometimes i forgot i was having menses and take a pineapple slice/ pineapple drink/ pineapple rice/ achar. Then b4 i know it, menses STOPPED. Resume following month. Not so good hor. So everytime i gotto remind myself NOT to take pineapple when i'm having menses, to "clear" my womb of all the dirty blood.

goldenpig,
My gynae charge me $67.00 for Calcium+VitaminD3, NeuroGainPB & Pramilets.
If Unity sell NeuroGainPB at $34+ per bottle, then $67 - $34 = $33 for the rest of the supplements...i will check with pharmacy on the rest & will know whether clinic got mark up alot anot. For Folic, i always buy from Unity...so much cheaper.

Ladies...ask u huh...izit ok if preggie got low blood pressure? Normally preggie will get high blood pressure right? For me, i am slightly low blood. Any ways to improve the conditions? thanks for yr advice in advance.