(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi everyone! I just found out that im pregnant! Yippeee....about 4 weekss...
I wanna find out what type of excercises are good for me n baby. Im not the sporty type...but i feel its time right..any suggestions?
Ohh...ive been takin folic acid...anything else that is good for both of us??

hi steph77, how to obtain the samples?

hi, purplecurlz, congrats... have u seen yr gynae... i think hor... right now, dun think too much on exercises... wait til 2nd tri... maybe u can go brisk walking

Hi Lynn,
Nope...I m not the one...me ROM in May but Year 2003.

Hi Golden Pig,
Thanks for the info. Ya, maybe you r right...if I delay one week then I do not have to visit my gynae consecutive for 2 weeks oredi.

hi goldenpig,

Thanks for your info. I guess you got a point too..maybe first trimester no need those additional supplements yet....

Back to a long week at work...arrgh...how I wish got another public holiday..haha...but guess already looking forward to next gynae apt on Sat....

Congrats to all the new MTB who just found out you are pregnant!

Just came back from Suntec IT fair. Wah, v crowded ;@ Oh, several maternity shops hving sale. Spring mum sale till 10 June. 20%-40% but things not that cheap. Any of u bot clothes fm Perfect Mum? Any idea if it's good? The tops ard $30+. Then if u buy 1 pc(5%), 3pc(10%), 5pc(15%) & 7pc(20%). I din buy 'cos tot now still early, after 1st trimester then buy to celebrate
So if any of u interested can go buy together then can get 20% discount 'cos dun think I will buy 7 pcs all by myself ;b

Dorothy,
my nx appt still long long tm, 23 June
everyone like seeing gynae nx week. Me wait until my hair grey liao... Thanks, hope like u say, no news is good news ;) but I really hope to see heartbeat soon then can feel more assured... Do post aft yr appt on Wed! ;)

purplecurlz
Congrats! if u r up to it, swimming can be good ;) Otr than folic acid, just eat a balanced diet. Your gynae will advise if u need otr supplements.

MORE FREEBIES!
I found these info from another thread so on top of Mei's, u might wanna check these out...

No Item Type Where Comments
1 Babycare Book http://www.motherhood.com.sg/babyplus/
2 Drypantz / Drypers Diaper 1800 466 3002
3 Fitti / Pet Pet Diaper 6861 9155
4 Huggies / Pull Up Pants / Little Swimmers Diaper 1800 484 4437
5 Mamypoko / Pull Up Pants Diaper 6265 1648
6 Dumex (Mamil series) Milk www.dumex.com.sg 1800 265 3188
7 Friso Milk http://www.friso.com.sg 64198484
8 Abbott (Similac / Gain / Grow / Pediasure / Isomil) Milk http://www.abbott.com.sg/family/free_sample.asp
9 Wyeth (Promil Gold / Progress Gold / Promise Gold) Milk http://www.wyethnutrition.com.sg
1800-6886886
10 Nestle Milk 1800-6011633
11 Mead Johnson (Enfa series) Milk http://www.meadjohnsonasia.com/
12 Karihome goats milk Milk Punggol Plaza 2nd floor kids shop
13 Baby Bliss cashcard worth $38 Misc http://www.southwestcdc.org.sg/1164335762503.html
14 Misc Vouchers Misc http://www.mumcentre.com

If u hv more 'lobang' can add on to the list!

morning all,

congrats to all "new mummies/mtb".
wah ...MS getting bad ... this morn jz vomitted.
manage to see my bb's heartbeat on fri. haha din manage to go in full bladder so have to do a vaginal scan *ouch!* haha but worthwhile cos can ensure tat bb is ok. got prescribe to duphaston again ... n tis time 2 more courses
got "warning" fr gynae not to over-exert myself.

good morning all...
I also seem to have a different effect today..a bit more MS feeling..mouth also tastes weird..a bit sourish...
No actual vomitting, but nearly a few times this morning...hope the day gets better..

good morning ladies,

another workweek comes by, so tired and nauseous that feel like taking an MC today :p

hope the week will be better for everyone.

morning MTB!!

Gintonic: oh!! i got e wrong person becos she hav e same nick as u..

Sandy: yep! i'm interested to go together to Perfect Mum but only aft 1st trimester..

i had a big bao for breakfast, dont feel so gd now...

can i drink yakult? becos i tink i got a bit indigestion..

good morning all,

finally for the first time i saw gynae on last sat(@7th week). i drink 1 big pack of soya bean milk b4 going to the clinic but becoz of the long waiting queue(1 hr), i cannot tahan the full bladder & all gone into waste effort!!hahaha... :p but doc did show me & hb the heartbeat - a little white dot blinking. but becoz of my lying angle i dun really know wat i c leh... but hb say he saw something blink blink..
so is the blink blink really the heartbeat??

i also asked gynae abt the cramp, headache, backache, hunger, etc - his answer is all are normal & safe as long as there is no spotting. then i also ask... "can we still continue to".. he get the hint & say its ok as long as no spotting so seems like everything is as per normal as long as no spotting bah....

hammies03, i was also given folic acid & multi-vit pills which is pink color & damn big to swallow... thats all i have to eat everyday & suppose to go back in 2 wks time...did ur doc give u that medicine too?

mei, how r u?? haven't hear from u for a few days... hope u r ok... btw, i will b seeing Dr Adrian WoodWorth & EDD is 17-Jan.
thanks for updating the record.

luvv, ur ultrasound scan can show the weeks & days of ur bb?? i saw some of the MTB post the bb dimension too... i got the black & white pic from gynae but it didnt state anything there leh...

golden pig, does the gwc shop sells black working pant? i m thinking of getting one so that i can start wearing as all my black pants r fitting type...

hi sandy, i m also a dec 06 bride! my date of conceive & edd is not very far from u so i guess u shd b able to see bb heartbeat in ur nxt visit...

well well, dear all, let us all jia you....a few weeks more to go and we will pass the first trimester and we should feel better by then.

Like i say...week 8 will be the peak for MS etc

i also dun feel too good...always feel breathless

superbee,

tink the dimension is stated in the scan pic that u got fr Dr Adrian. if i m not wrong ... shd be somewhere in the bottom left of the picture. it is in small fine print.

Re: MS
jia you! we will soon pass the stage and things will be better ... lolz.. aft this stage will come a stage whereby bb keep kicking in our tummy. I missed that stage

Good morning everyone. How are you all doing?? I very tired during the week end and today!

Went to check up last sat. I am in my week 8 taday. My BB size is 1.28cm. Just wondering is the size normal. Anyone has any webby to check the BB size and different weeks?

Mei,
Can u update the record for me? My EDD is 13 Jan and its my first BB. Thanks...

ernmum
my doc say peak 9wk.. which is where i am now. i felt fine ystrday actually. Hope really subside, then can heave sigh of relief.

superbee
erm... i think have ley.. can Dorothy or other mums who just went pls shed some light? Coz i didn't browse thru 100% coz my husband and #1 waiting for me, i just scan for what i needed and paid and left. I've got some black working pants from #1 pregnancy, so wasn't looking for those. U can try kiddy palace.. i bought cheap ones from there. abt $30. Not as stylish as Mothercare ones la, but for fraction of price, i dun mind la.

Good morning,

Guess what I sneezed and coughed yesterday and my stomach hurt like hell. I had to hold it and try to stop coughing.

I am starting to feel a little MS, but not sure if its really MS or just pyschological. :p

Btw, can we still sleep on our sides?

cheers to a good week ahead for all.

angelsky
as baby gets bigger, we're encouraged to sleep on our left side.
but i'm sleeping on my front for now.. making the most of the time i have left..

hi ladies, can u please advice me what week i m in now? i tested +ve on homekit yesterday and LMP is 28apr2007. i checked on different website and some said 4week, some 5week, and some 6week. *confused*

2nd question: is it true our body resistant will be weaker? i m down with slight fever and cough and runny nose and feeling tired. is tat normal?

tnks. appreciate ur replies.

superbee,

yes can see the weeks and days of baby, should be at the bottom or top of the u/s, small fine print though. It even state the EDD from the u/s.

mommom,

you're 5 weeks preggy already, congrats!

not sure whether our resistant is lower or not, but remember only get medicine that a preggy lady can eat from the GP/Gynae.

ok, so week 8 and 9 are the peaks...sigh

all i know is i getting more uncomfortable each day and counting down

you all feel breathless or not

i cant really carry heavy or moderate thing cos i really feel breathless.

forgot no 1 that time when then i feel breathless liao

tnks luvv! so confusing all the different website. i wanted to know cuz i dont want to visit a gyne so soon. seem like if visit too early have to waste another trip down. was told should be able to see heartbeat on 6-7week so will wait till then.

i m a little worried cuz i was quite sick late last mth and not aware i was preggie then. so took a lot of different medication for my fever flu and sore troat. so i hope all tat will not affect the baby *worried*

tnks again!

Can I join in? I have tested +ve on pregnancy home kit & my LMP is 26 Apr 2007, based on the web EDD calculation, it will be 31 Jan 2008, year end piggie.. hehehe.. so guess now I will be around 5 weeks ++. This is my 2nd child

Going to see gynae today to confirm it & see whether can see the baby yet or not..

hi morning ladies!

Mommom, i oso gunna fever when i found out i was pregnant. Gynae say it's bacterial infection so it is better to seek gynae attention if fever gets worse. Preggie can only take normal panadol.

Hey my friend sent this info to me & i wanna share with you MTBs, hope u find it useful.

Common pregnancy problems

Often pregnancy brings with it some of these troublesome conditions. Here are some of the more common pregnancy problems and how to deal with them.
Anaemia: If you find yourself tiring easily, chances are that you are anaemic. Apart from the iron pills from your doctor, eat plenty of green vegetables, lean red meat, dried fruits and nuts as a natural source of iron. Iron supplements may cause constipation
Backache: Sleep on a firm mattress. Maintain good posture standing straight and not slouching when sitting. Keep to low-heeled shoes to avoid adding further strain to your back.
Morning sickness: Take smaller meals instead of three big ones. Nibble on plain biscuits when you are feeling hungry. Try some ginger or ginger ale which is supposed to quell the nausea. Avoid spicy foods and strong smells.
Frequent urination: Your baby is pressing on your bladder causing frequent urination. At night, lessen your fluid intake so that your sleep will not be broken by trips to the loo.
Breathlessness: Your uterus pushes up the diaghragm and your lungs have less room to expand fully. You find yourself becoming more breathless because of this. To help you breathe better when lying down, prop yourself up with pillows to raise your head and shoulders.
Constipation: Pregnancy hormones relax the gut, so food passes through the system more slowly. To help your bowel movements going, eat more fibre, get plenty of fluids and do some light exercise going for a stroll after dinner.
Cramps: You may find yourself experiencing cramps in your legs or feet. Calcium tablets may help. Or include a little more salt to your diet but check with your doctor before you do this.
Fainting: Many women get fainting spells especially in the first trimester because of the poorer blood circulation to the brain because of the increased progesterone. You can help yourself by moving your legs to keep the blood flowing. When seated or lying down, and you need to get up do so slowly.
Haemorrhoids (piles): These can be made worse if you constipate. Labour often aggravates them. Most times, they should subside after you have given birth. If not, let your doctor know and he may prescribe suppositories or ointment to shrink them. To help yourself, drink more water and include more fibre in your diet.
Heartburn: Because of the baby pushing on your stomach, this may cause the digestive juices from the stomach to back up into your throat area, causing heartburn. Tell your doctor if it gets unbearable. He may prescribe you drugs to safely prevent it. For some people, drinking a glass of milk helps prevent it.
Water retention: You may find your ankles, feet and hands becoming very swollen. This is caused by water retention. You can try to minimise this by reducing your salt intake and putting your feet up whenever you get the chance.
Rashes: Some pregnant find themselves getting rashes especially under the breast and in the groin area. Avoid tight fitting clothes and go for cotton underwear.
Tiredness: This is normal, especially in the first and last trimester. Try to get at least eight hours of sleep every night, and if possible, take a nap during the day.

wow!!

thread so fast...

i also dying....breathless.. a bit of ms this morning...hope not cos my #1 no ms at all...

mummi, my LMP is the same as yrs. 28apr.

superbee, i think the pants at GWC not veri office. u go n c c...

thnks for sharing steph.
hey chris can u update after ur checkup today if baby heartbeat can be detected? i have yet to schedule myself for a check. not sure if its too early.

hi dorothy! same date! how long is ur cycle? my is 33days. i think i also start to feel excited after posting here
think will make an appointment next week oso la.

Hi Mummi,

Sure, no problem
..think dorothy & ur EDD will be more or less the same as mine as our LMP only 2 days difference.

Hope the gynae able to detect baby heartbeat, must drink a lot of water before check up.. have you found which gynae to go to?

Congrats WLML2402

think still in time for a piggy baby...

Anyway TAKE CARE hor.... Me near the end of road while u are starting

"Your uterus pushes up the diaghragm and your lungs have less room to expand fully. "

but then right now still early.....so early push liao ah....book say breathlessness usually start in second trimester.

i carry backpack while going shopping also breathless...end up go home la.

hubby gotta carry no 1....really hard to manage in 1st trimester

Good morning galz

Welcome to all new MTB..

just came back from gynae, feel so relieved to see bb's heartbeat
last 2 days no spotting but still be on hormone tablets for i dont know when? today baby is exactly 8 weeks and acc to today's US EDD is 14 Jan 08 hmmm so difficult to wait till then specially while suffering from bad MS or shall say whole day MS :p

Any mom is going to GWC for maternity wear shopping today? just went on friday but now feeling dint buy enough

chris, is this your 1st appt? do update us ok...

mummi, maybe we have the same edd? my cycle is 30 days.

mum, congrats on the seeing bb's heartbeat.

i going for my appt tomorrow morning....wish me luck

shorty,

thats good which hospital u r planning to ? mine will be Mt Alv and Dr. Adrian B Woodworth...

goldenpig,

ya they have black/offwhite sterechable pants which can be office wearing plus they do have skirts..

dorothy, thanks for the wishes actually could see the heartbeat by 6weeks+ but coz of spotting for last 10 days was bit scared...

golden pig,

my gynae didnt say anything.

i still carry him whenever nec. Cannot suddenly dun carry, they will suddenly feel withdraw...not nice la...he will think why mummy dun love me....

when i feel out of breathe, i stop carrying him

me too leh. I'm still carrying my son. worse still up and down the stairs. And sometimes my son refuses to let my husband carry. sigh.

i think it all depends on individual's health lah. If feeling tired and weak, then better not..

Welcome yah, all the new mummies!!!

ernmum
when he ask for "mama bao", i will say "at home no need to bao", or that he's big boy and so heavy i hv no strength to carry him.. and ask him to look for papa. hahahaha.
i still hug & kiss him & he sits on my lap, so he doesn't feel any less loved.. i hope! kekeke

my husband also take care of him liao...but sometimes he will demand for me to carry...he just want some love...so cannot deprive leh.

at night when he wants milk and sleep....it = mummy

for those buying from Perfect Mum, just be careful.
the sales staff can be very pushy.
they may even push for nursing bra which is too early to buy now.
They may also tell you, after delivery, you can bring the clothes back for alteration and can use for normal wear.
This is to 'encourage' you to buy more.

other than that, their clothes okay.

fyi
i saw $9.90 nursing bras @ Giant Tampines..
plain la, but serves its purpose. Those with expanding bust may find more comfy to wear cloth bras without wires, so just buy nursing bras rather than maternity bras (which dun hv flap for bf).

hi!

fishia: oh... perfect mum's sales v pushy ar??
hmm... i dont like pushy staff.

anybody bought clothing fr them? is it nice?

superbee, my gynae only gave me folic acid for 2 weeks. Then going back to see him. Never prescribe multi-vit...which was why I was asking ard whether you all take additional supplements on your own...think Goldenpig was telling me that first trimester most impt is folic acid..later stage then got more supplements? Hope to confirm these with gynae when I next see him...

yes. pushy. but i would say in a nice manner. will keep psycho you to buy more lah. if more than 1 staff there (suntec branch), worse, their mouth cannot stop. they will keep praising you and bringing you clothes which i find it very irritating.

i'm that type who will just give a stern face to pushy staff hence they can't do anything to me.

i bought from them before. some clothes quite nice. stretchable material safer. can wear for full-term. those cotton shirt type usually cannot if buy now. cos now mine still too big for me.

yes. pushy. but i would say in a nice manner. will keep psycho you to buy more lah. if more than 1 staff there (suntec branch), worse, their mouth cannot stop. they will keep praising you and bringing you clothes which i find it very irritating.

i'm that type who will just give a stern face to pushy staff hence they can't do anything to me.

i bought from them before. some clothes quite nice. stretchable material safer. can wear for full-term. those cotton shirt type usually cannot if buy now unless it has ribbon to tie at back. Mine no ribbon one now still too big for me.