(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Chaye, ya lor, better to be paranoid. My RL lost so much weight, one eye from single eyelid become double eyelid last week. :p Thanks for your kind words, I also hope to wang wang wang, but still far from it lar, hehe.

Aqua, psf is expected to be at least $1100psf since Sengkang's The Luxurie already around this price range. Bedok is mature town and this is integrated with shopping mall so developer might price a bit higher. Will be launched soon, in Nov/Dec. I think once school exams are over but before people fly off for year end holidays.

But we are already collecting cheques first (ie. blank cheques to developers' account) because only those with cheques will be allowed priority to view the showflat on VIP preview date and book the preferred choice units before the showflat is even opened to public. Important to book early cos you can get the good stack with nice unit numbers and good facing.

Aqua, some say 2 months, some say 3 months. Depends on how cold your freezer compartment is, whether you put raw produce in the same compartment, how often you open and close that compartment, how comfortable you are bah. I bought a separate freezer so I kept for 3 months at least.

Kitsune, my hb told me buy a freezer n sell of nex time. By I nt confident I will bf long.so actualliy hope freeze some milk
If got raw foodies. In our fridge. Will. It affect frozen milk? Heard frozen milk has fishy smell?

Aqua, frozen bm all got fishy smell. Can put in separate lock n lock box but I think difference is if keep raw food, you will keep opening n closing the door many times when u want to cook so temp not consistent.

hello all!

Been very busy this week, work and personal. So didn't post anything though I logged in but see no post :p On half day leave today, later will go meet hub for lunch then go lawyer firm to exercise the OTP, meet banker for the loan, then fetch kids and go visit some childcares at Yishun/Sembawang. Going to be a very busy afternoon.

pixie,
I called 5 ccs so far, most are nearer to the Sembawang side, all have vacancies leh. Probably your sis and I are looking at different ccs?

Aqua,
Frozen and thaw BM tastes different. Most babies won't have problem accepting.

Morning all!

Need help here. Need contact for installing window grilles. Remmeber numbers were passes around in this thread before, couldn't remmeber who though. Can you please PM me? Many thanks!!!

May be moving in less than a month time, will confirm by today. Panic and stress ah.

Congrats Kam. Its always exciting to shift house. A lot of work though especially since its just you and hubby doing all the packing.

We are thinking of buying a 3 bedroom private unit near my alma mater, PLMGPS and renting out our current hdb. Just waiting and waiting for the prices to stabilize to a reasonable point. But cos my alma mater is a girls school, I gotta make other plans for my boy.

SOS!!
sos coz i need to vent ah...my work is getting worse, last thur i had to work from 8pm to 2am...then ko, then friday early morning go to zoo...really no time for rest lo...DYING soon!!

kam
i see got 1 new cc at sembawang hills? issit there ah, coz i got the flyer yesterday...but hor, i forgot name of cc and the exact location. but its new it stated. my maid take the paper to put fish bones for dinner liao geesh paiseh

so how? any shortlisted ones? if have i can help you "listen" for feedback from my sisters and friends staying in sbwng

aqua
you can remove the fishy smell but its gonna be a tedious method. must scald the bm then plunge the bm into ice water. mah fan de lah!
but to minimise the fishy/metallic smell, best to chill your bm before putting to the freezer. cannot pour diff temp of bm into the same bag or cup etc...

prata_queen,
Wah, 1 kid 1 school, very ma fan leh :)

I wish we had the money to buy the condo without selling off our current HDB flat. Our current flat is at very good location, very good rental yiled!

Yes, a lot of work, don't know how to start :-(((

Pixie,
Aiyoh, how come your work time becoming so hectic? Your boss not around?

Viewed 2 cc last Friday. The Star Learners cc looks good and clean and nice, BUT they like the kids watch tv before the assembly at 830am, and then in the evening, make them watch tv from 530pm onwards. We cannot accept this. Another one is Gluklich cc, totally CMI. So the search is still on. Good thing is, like I said, most still have vacancies, so at least we don't have to worry no place to put them in. Just have to pick one that we feel better at.

Went to Zoo with both X or just X1? My hub wanted to go but HR said didn't want to go, he said he wanted to stay at home, and so we stayed at home to whole day yesterday, except went out for piano lesson. It's been a long long while we didn't go to anywhere on a weekend.

Dear mummies, I’m a reporter from Straits Times Lifestyle and I’m doing a family feature on mummies who met on the forum and have ended up as good friends. If you don’t mind being interviewed, could you please email me your contact details at [email protected]

Thanks very much!
(I've informed the moderator/Chin Leng about my posts)

Pixie,
I understand your pain here coz I am facing the same situation too!!
Haiz, being forced to take up in a new project and hence weekends maybe burnt at times. I also work everyday until 6pm+, get quick dinner for myself, pick up kids, put them to bed at 10pm, continue working at past 12am.... Can die right?
I was telling my hubby and coll, feel like quitting liao if this goes on for next year... No personal life and quality life for family. No good, even if I get to WFH....

That is why I seldom post now, only read the posts...

Only happy thing is I called up new CC just now and they got vacancies for my kids since I have been on waiting list for 9 months!!! Hahaha, will be going down tmr to get them registered.

Kam,
Good that those CCs you are looking at have vacancies. You can be choosy. I can't. Just need to grab whatever I have here, nearest to my home. Even if on TV for hours, also no choice...

For your reno, you are doing DIY??? If so, really alot of things to think abt and coordinate... Or maybe get some quotes from contractor... Don't have to be designer ones (I know you don't go for that)... If budget is ok for you, why not. Can save hassle and spend time with your kids.

Kry which cc are u sending ur kids?
Kam most cc let kids watch tv while waitg for parents, u got try my first Skool or my Skool house under Ntuc?

Pixie, ur wrk so siong now is it due to ur boss goin treatments n u covering her?
Btw. Anyone got see fengshui for new house? Can share contacts n price? I also wan gd contractor contacts too! Yls

Prataqueen, I wish I can afford condo too, bt gd location is almost 1 million, impossible to hold on my hdb n buy condo! Second property usu can loan 60% nia

Aqua,
Will be sending them to PCF Sparkletots near my house but need to walk 15 mins, no bus...
only worry if rains how...
No choice as the CC opp my block is still full for next year.

I like My First Skool too but none is near my area.
Nearest is Bedok Nth which I need to take bus. But that is one of my backup choices.

Ya loh, good location are at least $1M... Euhabitat too... Townhouse there is $2M... I wonder how come still got people can snatch up like nobody's business. Does this mean I am too poor???

Kry, my elder is going my first Skool too, but will put her on trial first. If nt gd, I will send her bac to church 3 hr kindy.

Yes, I also y these pple do rich, can onli envy eh. One of my peers already drawing 8 k mthly and work same no of years as me. While my salary still far fr 8k, her first house is already 2 bedroom freehold condo... ;p

Krystle,
Aiyoh, work like that very jialat loh. When will this project end?

Hehe, u know me very well :) Yup, surely not going for designer deco. This unit has simple deco, which is good enough for me. Will just add a layer of new paint and that is it. My hub wants to do the painting himself, but I doubt if he can manage, think gonna pay for help lah. Other than that, will be the window grilles and ceiling fans in all room. Then packing and unpacking. Nothing else.

Aqua,
I know. Their current cc let them watch from 6 to 630pm, I am totally okay with that. But to watch tv first thing their arrive at school, plus another 1.5 hours in the late afternoon, that's too over our tolerance level. I called a few more cc, most still have vacancies, but we can only view o. Sat.

Congrats, Krystle on successfully enrolling the kids to CC next yr.

Kam, I did my window grilles 2 yrs ago, but give away the namecard to one of my friends. :p It was recommended by one of the mummies here.

prataqueen, you are an old gal of PLMGS? A few of my cousins studied there cos they were staying at Blk 112, Lorong Ah soo. There are a few condos near there, the latest one, The Minton is within 1 km of PLMGS.

Kam, we have not worked out the sums. When we bot our current 4-rm, we paid less than $300k so our current monthly instalment is low. Ideally we wish to rent this out & buy a condo near the school for convenience but hubby cleverly pointed out that if we buy a 2nd property, the trade-off is that, I cannot stop working when #1 starts primary school which is in 3 years time. I’m not sure if I’m ready to ‘give up’ my dream of being a sahm where I can be around to guide my children, cook nice food for them when they come back from school, shower them, ensure they have their afternoon nap etc etc.

Hi kitsune, yeah, my 2 sisters and I are old girls of the school. My family used to stay in hougang then moved to pasir ris where most of our relatives are. There is bus 53 which is direct from my place to the school. So if we end up not buying a unit near the school, then it is school bus or I resign and be sahm, take 53 with her each morning.

Then what school will my boy boy go to? Nearest to my place is elias park. Some say pasir ris primary and white sands primary are better. But if #1 is going to plmgps, then I can also consider a boys/mixed school near paya lebar. Not sure what’s good there other than rosyth.

Hi kitsune, I dun really need to be within 1km of my alma mater cos the alumni phase (2A?) doesn’t go by distance, I think.

Hopefully the travelling time to reach the school is less than 15min by car/bus but I need to be within 1km of a good (above average) school for my boy.

didnt manage to log in for quite some time.

Kam,
I cant accept it if cc allows my kids to watch TV in the morning. I am fine with watching in the evenings though. good luck in your CC search.

krystle,
congrats on getting a cc for your kids.
hang in there,i am sure u can work out something for your work so that you do not need to work in the weekends..

prata_queen,
rosyth quite difficult to get in rite? My cousin couldnt get it even though staying at the blk besides the school.
I am also looking for a house near to my gal's future primary school cos i am unwilling to spend the time travelling long journey on the road. Cant imagine waking her up at 6am just to reach school by 730am.

Kam,
Initially my boss said help out a few weeks but now I see like I am a perm member of the project. Being "con" to take it out, cannot back out now... Haiz....

Prata queen,
I also thinking of buying 2nd property but facing the same dilemna as you... I also want to be SAHM at least by when my #1 goes Pri 1.... Haiz...

Since you went to the girl's school before so really abit wasted not to send your girl there... But if consider boys'mixed school near Paya Lebar for your boy, chances of getting in are slim since you don't live near there. Unless you move within 1KM. Really need to think hard about your options...

I saw Telok Kurau Pri is offering higher Chinese so I am thinking if just take it rather than Maha Bodhi. In this way, I don't have to change address and sure will get in. (Even if I change address, may not get in Maha Bodhi...) But hubby still said want to take the chance... Haiz...

Hi 5! Found another mother who wants to take the sahm route. My hubby doesn’t think its necessary nor see the value in me being a sahm. Or rather, he thinks that being a dual income family is more impt and the kids can go basc.

The ridiculous thing about the PV program is that there is no guarantee of entry even after you invest the hours and commit to a property within 1km.

Even tho I have my alma mater for my girl but I still cannot escape the stressful P1 registration!

shannonbaby,
Ya lor, when the principle told us that (good thing is she was being honest!), we were like, errrr, she saw our face changed, then stressed that they only played "educational" programs. We were still not please. When we were there, they played some Chinese songs for the kids to sing along (but those quality is really not good one lor, like the MV is irrelavant to the song, if you know what I mean), and then played Barney. How "educational" could these be??

prata_queen,
I want to be there for my children too, when they start primary. One of the reasons we chose Yishun is also because my co will be moved there too, very near indeed, so imagine my home, my workplace and their school all within 1km radar. I may not quit my job, but would certainly work out something like either working part time or work from home. Like can go in to the office after sending them to school, then leave office to pick them up, then continue to WFH, and by then, I shouldn't need to travel already - my idealistic plan :)))

Kam, my line of work definitely cannot work from home. So for me it is either I find another job that allows me to work PT when the kids are in school, or switch line to give tuition. But giving tuition is not straightforward with the changes in syllabus etc. What we learned 20 years ago in primary school is definitely not relevant now.

It is great you managed to plan everything (work, school and home) to be in 1 area. I am working towards that, at least school and home.

Re TV

My kids do not watch tv. So unlike other children, they are not ‘plugged-in’. they do not know the latest craze, cartoon characters etc. but #1 hears and learns about it from her friends at school. There are times where I doubt myself, if what I am doing (no tv rule at home and I chose a CC which has no tv) is right. Others say that my children will be laughed at or teased, cos they do not know what is ‘in’, sua ku (no tech toys like ipad, iphone – cos we do not own one ourselves). Hubby feels upset about missing out on his fav programs. So there are all these which make me wonder if what I am doing is right.

Looks like quite a few mummies thinking being SAHM after our kids enter pri 1. I have that dream too. Was hoping to build up some savings in the next 3 yrs, then I can coach the kids after they come home and work freelance as RE agent since viewing is usually at night and hubby will be home.

prataqueen, ic, my cousins family 5 gals so I also don't know which is a good school for co-ed in that area. Yes, no need to be within 1km is good. I agree that it can be very devastating not be selected if you already volunteered your time as PV. I am guessing that's the reason by Maha bodhi pri doesn't have PV system. 一切随缘. Pure ballot only, fairer for everyone.

kitsune, u are wrong! maha bodhi no PV, BUT THey give priority entry to members of singapore buddhist federation only. so not reali on fate too.
i also wan be stay home mummy, but not stay home huang lian po! kekek

shannonbaby , u manage find the battery for me? can i pass the cc uniforms to the teachers if i dropby?

wah prata queen
it takes alot of effort to restrict the no tv rule. kudos...really....i dont think our family can live without tv
but x1's cc no tv

kam
we went zoo with both x's lor, x2 no sit stroller. we either sarong her or bjorn her. its so easy

eh shes 8mths soon and getting heavier n heavier anyway

pixie, how heavy is ur X2? she so guai, can stay still inside the sarong /carrier?
hw is ur kitchen now? manage to restore to original state?

aqua
kitchen ok now. got specialist to come n assess, humidifier on for 24hrs, for $250 (claim home insurance) then they say will resolve wor

x2 now ah....maybe 8kg? dunno leh, last mth is 7kg

she can stay still, very happy to be inside sarong/sling coz it means gaigai mah

hows ur bb??

pixie, bb is good, juz eat n sleep. she onli starts to be cranky from 6pm to 8pm. usu tis period, she will wan us to carry her or pat her... so far still manageable .

going to start lookin for contractor for reno and btw, did u see fengshui for ur new hse? i dunno if i shld... dilema.

aqua
i did
we went back to our "in-house" fsm, he settle my whole family fs matters
he stays opp balestier plaza, beside boon tong kee

pixie, can u share his contacts n pricing? can sms or pm me. did he ask u buy many FS ornaments?

las week, i finally sneak out and met up w Jess n her boy. v happy to go out though onli 2-3hrs nia, while my poor bb still home n never stepped out since she is borned.

aqua,
if you intend to see fsm, then be prepare to follow all his instructions, else no point.

re tv
i think we can't survive without tv too, my hubby say that's his only entertainment now.

Kam,
Remember the leapfrog DVD...Finally my dad dug out an old Philips DVD player which could play that disc..Hurray!!

prata_queen,
You are a very hard working mum, great job :) We have recently cut the kids totally off the TV, for about 2 months now. Very pleased with the "results". My hub is a TV addict, but because he works late, so not affecting my plan. But he is veyr cooperative during weekends, which I am very thankful for his support :) iPhone and PC they don't really touch/play much.

I came across an article about not watching TV does not deprive the kids of anything, really, they have nothing to lose. Don't have to feel bad about it. I am not :) Though I am not very strict type, whenever HR asked for TV, I would let him watch for 30min or so. Just that I don't want to make use of TV to "babysit" them no more. But your hub can watch after they go to bed mah? Or you don't have a TV at home at all?

blackbatz,
Good for you :) The 2 sets of leapfrog DVDs, my kids haven't watched for months liao, I offered HR to watch on Sun, he said don't want.

Hi kam, its tough to want the best for the kids but end up depriving the hubby. He likes to watch tv during dinner, killing 2 birds with 1 stone. If he watch when the kids are asleep, it is taking up his internet surfing time. So end up we do not turn the tv on at all cos there is no ‘right’ time to watch tv!

Yes we have a tv but hubby sometimes say we might as well put the toy kitchen set in front of it so that we have more space to walk about, since the tv is never turned on. I sense his ‘deprivation’ but to me, the ‘no tv’ rule stands.

Kam,Prata_queen,
I'm so guilty of letting B watch too much TV. Our TV is always on in the mornings and evenings. B gets to watch okto or sesame st for 1.5 hrs before he goes to school. In the evenings it our turn to watch so he'll watch whatever we're watching but I'm concerned about the foul language he might pick up from the shows we're watching.

Was down with food poisoning yesterday...torture! Slept for the entire day but still not feeling too good now. Hopefully can send B to school later.

Yvonne,
hehe... I feel very guilty too when I see Kam's & prata_queen's posts!

C watches too much TV/ipad/iphone in my opinion but can't really do much about it since she is in my mum's home. When she is at our own house, I try my best to restrict her. But.. uphill task :p

Anyway, get well soon! What did you eat to cause fd poisoning?

Ptata_queen,
love your NO TV rule. hehehe. Never a fan of TV so I can do without TV. Unfortunately, my hubby + father must watch tv kind. TV will be on even if no one is watching :p