(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mom2nat,
so far no menses yet.
but for #1 i had spotting off and on. not regular at all. i asked gynae before, he say is breakthrough bleeding. cos although bf, sometimes the lining will still build up then if it gets too thick, some of it will slough off and we get spotting. is not counted as menses but is also normal

Finally have time to come in after a long day at work.

Janbb,
I have lots of home learning materials. from flashcards, mazes activities, maths, phonics, memory games, linking memory, etc. I dont mind lending it to mummies who are interested. Just return after use can already..

Kam,
Chongfu shld b doing higher chinese from P1. cos i remember all hokkien huay kuan clan school do higher chinese from P1.

QQ,
Yr hb from Kong Hwa also? Me too.

Aqua,
I will look for the charger for u this weekend k. cos its keep by my ex-maid thus i need to find it from the storeroom..:p

I cant wait for the price of houses to drop so that i can get a good unit near to my kids future primary school. I dont want to wake up so early in the morning just to bring them to school.

Blackbatz
Mad ah, homeschool?! I still wan my sanity leh. My cousin home schools 5 of her kids and I think she is mad! Lol... I dun have the expertise, patience & passion. Even guiding my girl i already lazy. I dun mind attending courses to teach me how to teach them though.

Today I went to Ku De Ta for lunch for restaurant week. Quite a disappointment. Tmrw I m gg saint julien at Fullerton hotel. Hopefully nicer.

kitsune,
Thanks! Hope we can find a suitable unit within our budget.

We thought if we were to buy a HDB, though we fetched pretty good COV, we still have to pay high COV also when buying. So might as well get a condo, and hope the price appreciates faster than HDB :) Actually our flat appreciates quite a lot also, so quickly sell. Valuation report will only be out on Monday, can't wait to know what's the price. But hor, I will be flying off the India on Sunday night. Can only get 2nd hand news from my hub :p

shannonbaby,
Really ah? Wah, that'll be soooooo good, muak muck, thanks! Glad I made the right choice! My friend compared the "normal" chinese and higher chinese before, and she said the syllabus really different by a lot! I will confirm with the school when I call up for parent volunteer next year after we move.

Mom2Nat,
Ku De Ta's lunch is not nice ah?
I almost went y'day as friend had reserved for Restaurant Week too but can't make it as need to entertain my US boss who was in town.
I guess that place is ok only for clubbing. The wine there is not bad but I don't like the music played though...

Kam,
Wow, you are getting a condo?? Nice! Then HR and XY can swim everyday.

Buying a 2nd condo needs how much % of cash??
I don't know that much about 2nd hand condo market price and how they trade... they don't have COV right???

Kitsune,
Can you advise me on the above???
Coz now 5rm HDB in my area is selling up to $600K valuation. Hahahaha, 2x of what I bought... Abit tempted to sell but will hold another few years bah... coz they are now building Downtown Line MRT station just 5 mins walk away. Hopefully by then value will shot up further??

But hoh, I think I may end up buying more exp unit later coz hubby still wants to stay in this area... Don't know really if selling is worth it.

Krystle, what is the main reason for selling ur unit? If juz buy n sell to earn $, u will hav to pay a hefty stamp fees eg in case if you buy a new unit 700k, stamp fees is 15-18k. Excluding insurance n legal fees, maynot 'earn'. Much coz u sell n buy a higher pc, Reno?
Private property no cov, based on mkt forces. Good for pple who dunwan pay more cash

My fren sold a condo at pasir ris in may 800k n end up buying a bigger unit 1 million back the same condo ! Juz exec condo 1million! So u must do it sum .

Aqua
U check the EC at bishan, 1mil is small unit hor! Scary hor.

Krystle
Not nice leh. Dunno isit bcos tat menu not nice. I wanted yo book today to go with hb, but I dun wan to eat tat food again today! Lol!! Try table at 7, heard nice food, but I dunno bat their restaurant wk menu.

Time for spring clean again...

Who wants my pediasure voucher $3 off for the 900g tin?
Also, i have a longchamp in dark purple, medium, short handle, selling at 160$..... brand new yah, no used keep in cold storage leh

Mom2nat
Nope i havent menses yet. I hope can stay off as long as i can....but i shld be dropping to pumping 2x a day in dec...once hits 2x i think menses will come back
Wat to do, bb not keen on bm....u know, she drinks max 120ml n most of the time is 60ml in daytime....night give 100ml, dreamfeed 120ml really v rare

Mom2nat,
So yesterday and today is one of those "me" time for you. Come to think of it, your lunch is quite expensive leh.

When my CL leaves in 2 weeks' time, I think I will go mad.

Blackbatz
Those r the expensive places but more affordable during restaurant week, so can try
this wk I v busy. Hee...

Now I still v tired, cos sleep late wake up early. Sch hols u have 3 at home, tell me how it feels hor.

Pixie
Last time my girl oso drinks v little, nibble here and there. V waste time and effort. Pumping oso take up time. After I stopped bf for her, I felt so much happier and more time for her, rahte than counting hours and milk.

Kam
U say won't send your kids to tuition. Does tat include enrichment classes like berries?
I find Chongfu's papers quite Bo Liao. Doesn't mean set difficult papers the kids will get smarter or do better in exams. Instead the kids get demoralized, theparents get upset. I feel the school should teach/guide the kids more, but now the burden is usually on the parents, who might end up sending to classes.

krystle,
Haha, yes, i asked HR if he wants to move to a place with swimming pool and playground downstair, he thought very seriously, and then said yes :)

If you only have 1 property (like us, sell off the HDB first), then can loan up to 80%. But if you are buying a 2nd property (e.g., HDB + condo, or condo+condo), can only loan up to 60%. Yes, no COV, price according to the current market, and bank will give a valuation price as reference.

We don't have money to buy a second property, so have to sell off our HDB and use the sales proceed to buy a condo. Luckily my co will be moving to Yishun, as that's one of the estates with the cheapest range of condo, hehehe, else we cannot afford. And so lucky there is a "chinese" school within 1km. And it's closer for my hub to commute to town (his workplace). So win-win for everyone.

Wah, you place increased so much! You bought first hand from HDB is it? We bought from resale market, so already quite ex when we bought. Now after 3 years, also increase, but not as much as yours, probably 15-20% only. But it's true loh, if you want to be at the same area, not point selling and buying, like aqua said, you will lose on the hefty stamp duty. Some more yours already 5room, cannot upgrade liao leh, hehe.

mom2nat,
Yes, that's include Berries. I am very confident that I can handle the Chinese up to lower secondary. I didn't know that much about Chongfu actually. As long as they offer higher Chinese, so that my kids can learn more chinese, I am happy liao, whether they can score high marks or not, doesn't bother me :)

Pixie, u dropping bf by slowly dropping feeds? I realize my supple v constant or decreasing Liao, daily onli 1 liter despite more pumping. My bb drinkg more lately, supply nt enuf soon.mus eat supplemts increase supply?

Hw often u pump in office? Once or twice
Going office on public w a heavy pump realli mafan

Mom2nat, the new condo at Geylang n boon Kent 1 million Fh, nt worth buy Ec at pasir ris so expensive! Bishan is diff, prime land

KAm yishun condo how much Psf

I also find it abit bo liao for me to sell my current and buy a condo... Hahaha... But the prices are tempting loh so a random thought for now. Anyway, I still have 9 years to settle my HDB loan so can only get condo by then, as an investment bah....

Kam,
My current flat is a resale too but then it was buyer's mkt so very cheap!! But hoh so sianz that we still have to pay $30k in cash for the HDB loan in final 3 yrs as cannot use CPF to settle that. So unfair, what type of stupid rule is that??

Half day course today, yipee. Hope can end earlier!! Going to do pedicure later!! TGIF ;)

My fnd is a chinese teacher also aiming to put her gal @ chong fu cos nearer to her hse. She also shared that Berries is a better enrichment class for pre sch level. Tien Hsia will be more suitable for pri sch level.

Come to think, Kam, u are not totally "bo chap" lah. Cos HR still attend piano & u buy so many chinese story books & read to your kids. Already consider a diligent FTWM ;)

Very happy to share that my boy was able to play "yankee doodle" by himself yesterday!! This is the very first piano piece that he is able to play so far ;) Cos there's a LCM test in nov, so ask him to practise for the past two days. But he seem to remember the chords of this song rather than recognising them. I'm quite lazy in this area, no time to practise with him at home. But glad that he has interest in piano ^.^

Krystle,
Maybe u want to start your gal in seimpi again? Perhaps last yr was too young for kids to start music. You may able to discover the other side of her talent since now turning 4yo soon. It really make a diff. But i'm moving on to place him @ yamaha next yr & enrol their 4yrs program ;p

Shannonbaby,
Thot your material are softcopies & printable ones & can email us, haha. Anyway, thanks for sharing ;)

Mom2Nat,
U rock!!! Envy your TaiTai life ;) But true, must get away for lunch or shopping once awhile to make SAHM's life more happy & meaningful.

kam,
u study chinese back in malaysia? Cos most of my malaysian did malay and they can only talk in mandarin but cant read. Your chinese is very good. I like your choice of chinese storybook.

Janbb,
Yamaha teaches music by listening rite? i heard they dont emphasis alot on the musical notes. From what i understand, seimpi and yamaha teach music differently. Why do u want to change? I decided to place my gal in private one to one lesson instead.

krystle,
I was saying if sell HDB and buy back HDB at the same area, and same size flat, then bo liao lah. But if you sell HDB and buy condo, then it's upgrade mah, not bo liao what :) My current HDB loan also have about 9+ years to settle.

What do you mean by buyer's market? As in when you bought that time, it's to the benefits of the buyers than to sellers?

JanBB,
I bo chap in the sense of I bo chap the "academic" part. I still do things with them, but all non-academic ones, like arts and crafts, lego, pretend plays, etc. We have never done a single workbook, we don't do flash card at all, no structured type of learning, and I don't teach them read. Our reading is story-telling lah, HR still cannot recognise a single word till today. A-Z and numbers he has no problem, but no words.

Can see the different lah. You see your J and shannonbaby's S can already read and do worksheet!

Wow, that's very good, J can play a full song already!! So when you switch him to yamaha, it'll be fully on piano, and it's the music class?

We send HR to piano cos he insisted on it!! He didn't pay much attention last Sunday. Will see how it goes this Sunday. If he loses his interest, might stop him and restart again when he is older. See how. Think he still prefers outdoor play then piano classes on weekends, haha.

Hehe, these few weeks, I'm going to office everyday so will not be so active in forum.

Krystle, depends on why you want to move as Aqua mentioned? Cos you said your hubby still want to stay in the same area.

1) Is it because you need more bedrooms? Eg. 4 bedrooms?
2) Is it because you want to move within 1 km to a good school?
3) Or because you want to upgrade to a condo with facilities?

If you just want more bedrooms, and your combined income salary is within $10,000, you can consider DBSS which is $700000 for a 5 rm unit (105sqm) but has 3 bedrooms + 1 study. DBSS you don't need to sell flat now, can sell only when they TOP. Cos by then your HDB flat may have gone up in value.

If you are in no rush to move and don't mind sending the kids to Telok Kurau Primary or Damai Primary, I think you can consider either new condo at bedok res area (got another one coming up in 1-2 months).

If you can't wait, cos next yr need to register as PV, you can consider getting a resale condo Waterfront Waves just TOP or older ones like Aquarius by the park or Baywater which are within 1 km to Red Swastika Primary and walking distance to future MRT.

Pm me if you need to know more lar. ;)

shannonbaby,
Actually, it was a Shichida mummy that introduce me to seimpi. She shared that Seimpi for age 3-4yo will touch on keyboard & learning music chords. However, yamaha age 3-4yo is called (wonderland?) is more like music appreciation, a bit waste $$. But yamaha is good at the listening part & the class for age 4yo & above will cover keyboard & more. So Seimpi is more like a stepping stone.

This is what her older gal in P3 went thru last time. So she repeats this "steps" for her #2 which is same age as our kids. Her #2 is a genius in seimpi!!! She can play her piano so well after attending 1 yr. We started together but she is so advance now. Cos her #1 also practise piano at home, so #2 follow suit. Practice makes perfect ;)

Why u like 1-1 private lesson? Personally feel that is more fun to learn with peers ;) And the 4yrs yamaha course is parent a/c.

Kam, i feel that at their young age (some more is new to music) shld attend muisc class with abt 6pax. At least, is not that boring to face the teacher 1-1 for 60mins class? Unless HR is really ONZ type, can sit still & enjoy the full lesson every time? But must share hor, kid has mood. Not every week is the same. Sometimes, my boy can be very attentive, sometimes super un-coperative in class. Don't give up so soon, monitor a term then decide. Is very cute to see their little fingers moving on the keyboard. Some more is both left & right hand leh, i see my boy playing with two hands, feel so proud of him ;)

aqua
1litre is consider v good, u finally did it hor....
i pump equal amount still but decrease the sessions and drag the hours. so eg if 3hrly i can get 120ml then 6hrly i should be getting 240ml. cannot lower. lower means more work to push it back leh....

i pump once in office.
now my timing (you can try to follow too) goes like this:
7am, 3pm, 9pm/10pm

if 2x a day best timing for working mothers is 10am and 10pm

JanBB,
I am dropping the idea of learning piano for my girl coz never once she thought of piano again. Sometimes I reminded her that she learnt piano before and ask if she wants to go back to Seimpi, no answer from her. Well, that is a sign that she is really not interested at all. NVM, I will let her try other stuff next year. Must settle the CC issue first.

Kam,
Yes, I said buyer's mkt because COV is none of what the mkt is right now. During then, buyers chose the flat and sellers had a hard time getting buyers. Hahaha... my COV was only $1K then.

Kitsune,
Thanks for your analysis for me.
Yes, more for reason 3).

In my area, only good schools are Red Swatika and Maha Bodhi. But I given up hope for Red Swatika and focusing on Maha Bodhi. Since MB has no PV, I don't have to rush to move house to do PV. Will most prob use my BIL's address instead since his current flat is within 1KM.
Not interested to get DBSS too.
Checked out Waterfront Waves already but out of my budget. If I really move, maybe will get the older condos bah.... Anyway, I think for next 6 years, most prob staying put first.

Janbb
Lol!! U oso go pedi relax leh!!
Ur boy can play v gd Liao. Mine rolls his cars over my piano!!

Kam
I half baked for mandarin. Can't even read some Chinese words in my girl's story book.
Today E ask me wat is the diff in Chinese n mandarin. Hopefully his sch can give him gd foundation.

Aqua
U r saying my house not worth to buy!!! Lol... Many units sold. I decided to hold back a yr or 2.

Mom2nat, now it is sellers mkt! U shld sell pte property, cz prices high! Given price 1 mil, I chose FH instead, coz mkt value dun drop much. Heehee u mean u stay esparis or whitewater?

Pixie if bb demand more, my 1 liter nt enuff. I pump every 3 hr I get 150 ml but when I pump 6 hr my supply 250 ml nia, dropped! When can we maintain bm ss at same time drop pump sessions?

Krystle if u use bil or grandparents address, even if sch is within 1km will treat within 2 km to be fair to other student. Any one here can confirm ?

mon2nat,
haha.. hi-5! I stumble when I read my daughter's chinese story books
So now, if I'm hardworking, I will read the book first and make sure I can read fluently. hee.. To think that I used to take higher chinese last time! Really embarassing.

krystle,
If want 4 bedrooms then come to Tampines..lolz HDB 5 room flat with 4 bedrooms and area 132 sqm (same size as executive in SK and PG but cheaper...SC&C also consider 5 room's price :p

aqua
if you 3hrly get 150ml then 6hrly should get 300ml...so u only drop 50ml only...nevermind, must work hard.
after getting 250ml, take a short rest, go toilet, drink water, shower etc etc...rest for eg 15mins...come back to pump, u should be getting another 20-40ml...then keep pumping even though no more - for extra 5mins...its ok if you dont see output within these 5mins, you r sending signals to brain that you want more milk

aqua,
from what i know that is correct. They called it the foster parent thingy and that foster parent must not be working full time. So another way is to change your whole family's address over.

shannonbaby,
Yes, I studied Chinese all the way till O-level. In Malaysia, the government-funded education system is divided very clearly into, in layman terms, "Chinese-educated" and "English-educated".

I am obviously "Chinese-educated", which during primary school, everything was taught in Chinese, except English and Malay, during secondary, Chinese language is only a subject, but everyone used Chinese as the main medium of communication.

Your friends hor, should be "English-educated". They either went to a malay school, or a christian/methodist school. In these school, there is no provision for learning Chinese. They didn't get to learn Chinese at all in school. Some of my uni friends couldn't even speak chinese.

mom2nat,
Then you no choice lah. You have to spend money and get help loh :) My Chinese is better than my English :))) If I read Chinese novel ah, I can easily finish 2-3 books in 1 day. But if I read English ah, I can only finish one book in a few days, even if I like that book (but I hardly read English novel).

JanBB,
HR's piano lesson only 30 min per class. Only when he is older, can consider to increase to 45 or 60 min. Yes, his teacher also suggested to monitor him. If we see he gets bored, can consider moving him to group keyboard classes also. And oh yes, they definitely have mood swing! Plus har, my parents are here now, think he even more distracted.

Pixie, after ur las pump at 10pm, do u still wakeup middle of nite to latch bb? My bb can sleeptru so no need wakeup n pump. But sometimes my breasts so rocky n force me up at 4am to pump!!!!

janbb,

oic. my gal is in seimpi previously. But recently i decide to switch her to private teacher cos she shows interest in playing piano.
The main reason why i choose private piano teacher is because i want her to learn at her own pace and timing is more flexible for me. I dont like to rush for classes as we r always late. furthermore, she is someone who can sit for 45min during piano class independently, so not much a problem for her.

thats one of my fave blog too.
more to share:
http://www.schoolsparks.com/kindergarten-worksheets
http://www.schoolexpress.com/fws/cat.php?id=2247
http://www.superteacherworksheets.com

aqua,
4 pumps a day should still get the same amount. i used to pump 4 times a day, 1.2l per day. very standard. but when drop to 3 pumps, very hard for me to maintain already.

u all tok abt chinese, can i tok abt maths?

yesterday, i was on the phone with my HKG colleague
i asked him about IP address thingy, then the rule is, the last octet eg 10.10.10.12 - "12"...must be a digit divisible by 4...cannot eg 10.10.10.13
just some technical rule for some kind of IP lar...

so in the end we concluded the IP address would be 10.10.10.0....then i ask him, huh, ZERO is divisible by 4 meh??
then he said yes ah, 0 is divisible by any number, just that you get 0 as the answer lor...

but hor, my maths very bad, i dunno leh...

my computing maths hor, i failed my paper, then fail my sub paper, then retain 1 semester more for this module, fail the paper again! and finally only managed to pass my sub paper after intensive coaching from the lecturer ONE to ONE tuition ok...else kena kick out from poly

haizzzz....

KAm u r fantastic! Chinese edu n can go Uk study n compete w British english! Clapclap
I did very well for A level Chinese, but now I realize any Chinese words I can read but can't write, so sad

Shannonbaby yes .. he is your senior ahaha .... Pauline is your classmate right .... their family including cousins almost all from Kong Hwa.

Mummies ... my menses here again ... kinda sian cos I have tried many mths liao sigh ... maybe is fated I only have 1 child

aqua
i latch my bb on demand so my boobs not that bad...initially first 3, 4, 5 mths rock hard, cannot tahan, i will wakie at 5+ or 6 to pump liao, now my brain got the message liao so dun produce so much at night...
body very amazing, at night produce lesser, then daytime will go back to the higher amount de...

but u know hor, milk produced at NIGHT more FATS!
so those pump in the middle of the night mummies get rewarded for having fatty milk lor

btw, u mummies seen the newspaper? say some mummy pumped and store 500bottles of bm during her ML....

qq
dun worry, jia you...my boss who is currently preggy tried for 4 yrs...my close fren 3 yrs...and now 1 more still not preggy after 3yrs, she trying IUI next mth liao

I kind of miss this chating forum, esp on the posting, waiting & refreshing mode, haha. Since being SAHM, very seldom to stay tuned like this. But so sad, next week going back to half day work reality. Can't login & chat like that ;(

Few weeks ago, i still complain to itok that my workscope is so bored. Aiyo, projects & work started to pile up last week. But i like to keep myself busy at work so that time pass faster. Rather to "act busy", haha.

QQ, jia you!! Don't be sad. Stress not too good for TTC. Hope u can strike next month ;)

Pixie, scary lo! That woman duno eat wat when preggy so much milk! Tink she advertising herbalife

Qq, mus jiayou! If need to, go gynae for helP. I think they can help u time ur cycle or give clomid!
Else go holis w hb alOne n trytry?

Mom2nat,
There are days when it is really crazy. Even my CL also shakes her head. I'm not looking forward to the holidays. Hoping that my cousin would bring them to the church camp.

For all you know, I might chio u out for lunch to maintain my sanity soon.

How often do u pump? Not sure if I should stand by a fresh bottle everyday..

hmmmmm my 1st is on Clomid ..... wonder will she give again ... actually she asked me to go xray
but i busy at work ... so never go yet

Qq, dunnstress! Dr Heng v nice, I tink she can help lah, but u also mus relax n enjoy? Mebe u move Hse, better fentanyl will strike Liao, jiayou n stay +ve

Pixie, I diligently pump 6 times also never Lose weight. Duno y the fats so stubborn... But will tong bf till dec before go bac office.

Lunch break now. Haha. long time never have feeling of coming to office everyday then have lunch break liao. ;) But too bad no one to go lunch with me.

Krystle, I think like you too, the upgrading to condo dream of many Singaporeans. I think if you don't mind to wait, then yes, can sell after MRT is built then buying resale condo nearby is good idea. By then, waterfront series should be all built up but still quite new. But price still won't be cheap, cos most Singapores who buy pte prop have good holding power. They won't want to sell at loss. :p So, if they buy high, they will sell even higher. If you buy the older condos, will be cheaper, but further from Maha bodhi. :p

QQ, jiayou! I know that sian feeling. Yes, maybe a change of environment will be good. Good luck!!!