(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Kam, pixie, luvv, steph,
I also Bo chap mummy lei. My elder girl spends her time at home playing with Thomas trains or watching DVD :p
If not for sch I think she won't learn anything :p

KAm me also Bo chap , too lazy, sonpaisey when
Mummies r sharing the enrichment prog, hehe.

Steph, which cc z is changing to? The present one nt gd anymore?

Okay, okay, all welcome to the camp - me, Luvv, steph, grumpus, aqua (and more......, hehe)!! One day we should really arrange a Mummy's boot camp for the hardworking mum to conduct lessons for us :)

aqua,
Z is changing to St Andrew's Cathedral CC (non air-con), together with his little bro R starting 3rd Jan 2012
His present one turn over rate too high, 95% malay teachers (mostly new or temp staff, no experience/proper certification i think) & new principal, 5% ROC. Despite the fact, the CC is still full for playgp/nursery intake! Seem like alot of CC have increased their school fees by $30 to $50/mth more starting next yr
For the share & grow package (budget 2011) announcement, did the govt say wanna give $100 subsidy more on top of the $300 subsidy for full day care? any idea?

checking in after MIA for a few days.
Thread seems very active. Too much to catch up.

Pixiepixel,
Your kitchen is really disastrous. Must really make the contract foot the bill. How to salvage the kitchen like that?

Anyone knows wher to buy the hospital glass bottles caps? He much are they? Is it beter to store milk in glass bottles or those avent milk containers? Frozen
Milk does it taste werid?

Kam, yup, it has come down a bit liao for some areas. Previously, $80k-$100k COV for high floor, corner, unblocked view. Now, sellers a bit more willing to negotiate maybe cos they know next year may be worse if market downturns.

I also join bo chap camp. Never teach the gals to hold pen, write, read, phonics etc. Never even play the leapfrog phonics dvds to the gals for months too. :p

Steph, sorry, got it wrong. RA is like Zander. Poo almost everyday. RA likes fruits so she is easier to deal with. Give her papaya, she will poo. Oh ya, Raelynn's poo colour last night was not mustard but it's not hard either, quite soft leh. I put the pic on my blog cos dun want to gross anyone out. Steph, can you pls pls help me verify if it looked like Rayden's poo? I don't know whether need to bring RL to GP or PD. Thank you so much! http://anewpiggy.blogspot.com/2011/10/anal-fissure.html

Luvv
I dunno got diff with enrichments or not. My #1 & #2 different in character n capabilities. I dunno isit the classes or nature. or boy n girl diff. But i have heard oF many kids who learn things faster though started older. Many start music late but catch up fast n have an easier time compared to younger peers cos they can read notes better and faster. But some pple belief in exposure.

Dun feel pressured to give classes cos pple also have or scared ur kid lose out. Just trial and error a bit. I din wan to give extra art n gym, but my girl wants v much. Now I give art, next yr she wants gym. Not always going in my directions! Lol

Pixie
Poor u. It is really tiring when kids not sleeping well and we too. I so afraid I will drop bb when patting him. I get v little sleep each day. And though I am at home, so called can sleep anytime, but I can't. So i can't function properly n becme short Fused.

Kitsune
With my #1 in our room, hb n I acted like thieves for 6 years!! Little noise oso cannot. I dun give pple my home number so tat there are no unnecessary phone calls when my kids are sleeping!

mom2nat, you up late too? Can't believe I took 2 hours just to compile a listing excel file for 10am meeting tom. Geez. :p

Keke, yes, I used to scold telemarketers for calling after 9pm too. Oh yes, she used to eat dried prunes, but we haven't bought in a long time. Must reintroduce. Yogurt she likes but must be kept cold and I worry about her cough. Already, MIL is giving yakult. :p

Kitsune, when u give yakult, dilute w water, less sweet n less prone to cough. U can go pharmacy buy the probiotics to feed Rl, usu it wrks for less severe constipation.

Don't worry about not bringing kids to classes. For me it's different, cos I am in this line, thus, I have most of the materials ready made already which I can use on my kids.
But I must say the P1 standard really scare me. My friend son is having compo exam today, must write not less than 50 words at P1 level, and he is not even at branded sch lor. School claims that it's not exams but only SA2. This week he has spelling n dictation exam, listening exam and compo. I thought P1 no exams? Imagine those days we only learn ABC in P1 and now they r writing composition.

Shannonbaby
My girl P1 learning multiplication n division!
Which line r u in? I wan to get small eng word cards. U know where to get? I sold away most of my SM materials n the bulky Glenn doman ones.

Kitsune
Hee... U took v long ah.. Will get easier as u more familiar.
Use the bottled prunes. Just keep 1-2 at home. Take half then put in fridge for next day if u find too much. Yakult I feel cause more phelgm. Yogurt I always take out to thaw outside for a while. 15-30 min it's ok.

aqua,
those glass bottle caps can be bought from the shops selling medicine etc from hospitals. I bought mine last time from Mt. A. 1 for 50c? Dunno if I still have or not, cannot rem if I pass to friends or not. You want? Can pass to u.

Pauline. It looks like something she has eaten but wasn't digested. Doesn't look like blood to me. Did she eat anything red in color?

Kam, u forgot abt me, being in the bochup camp? Haha

Shannonbb, p1 needs to do compo? That's terrible. If I homeschool I am only planning to teach him 1 to 10 n a to z, after his milk teeth drops at 7.. Lots of things for me to consider now about his school life later.

Mom2nat, aqua, thanks, will try diluted yakult n prunes. Thanks for reminder, I forgot I have probiotics in the fridge. Problem is she hasn't pooed since that night so I dun know if stools r hard or soft. :p

Tongtong, grumpus, I got hubby to call mil that very night, but no papaya, no beetroot, not even sweet potatoes. Actually, I am even more scared cos of the colour cos I googled n blood in Poo that looks like 'red currant jam' may mean intestinal obstruction cos it is blood mixed with mucus. I am trying not to scare myself but will probably bring her to see dr tonight since she is still coughing. :p

Mom2nat, I took so much time cos opened many internet windows to take out relevant info n compile on excel file Next time, Should just print out, easier to Pick out info this way. But I stinge on my ink cartridge lar. :p

I'm also bochap mummy!! Last time still read to B daily but nowadays very lazy liao. B is actually a fast learner cos he knows his A-Z before entering pre-nursery so I'm a bit guilty that his learning has slowed down. But hubby still do flashcards with him a few times a week so he has learnt to recognise quite a no. of words.

pixie,
6 years is the life span for most electronics these days. I also had to replace things in my house around that time. Now 10 years liao, getting some of my lights replaced this friday, also getting painter to do up my living room and master bedroom end of this month. Also bought new sofa...aiya...neverending one.

aqua,
I have heard of mummies found crack lines on the glass bottle stored in freezer after a few weeks/months!! One found totally crack bottle!!! Must be very careful checking for crack lines if you use glass bottles to store BM.

pixie / tongtong / yvonne,
Welcome to our camp :)

QQ,
HR has off diaper at night for close to a year already. Think kitsune's RA, pixie's X, mandy's J, and a few more toddlers here also off diaper at night already.

And guess what, mummies, surprise surprise - we will be selling our house :) Already have done verbal confirmation with the buyer, now waiting for the valuation report and the reply from HDB to issue OTP :)

Mom2nat,
thanks for your views. #1's classmate is attending chinese, ballet and abacus, another one is also attending ballet and similar presch class in the morning (she's attending 2 presch daily classes in different sch). It's scary to hear that and at times really wondering if i'm depriving her. So far she's only asking for ballet class which i've decided to sign her up for next year only for junior creative dance at nafa, foundation for ballet and chinese dance so she can choose either one when she reaches 5 years old (i personally prefer chinese dance).

QQ,
my #1 still goes to bed with diaper :p

Oh no Pauline
Pls bring RA to see a doc tonite. The poo looks like it's coated with a layer of something ? NOt papaya, not beetroot then what else ? cherries/strawberries ? Nowadays we alternate Duphalac (stool softner) and prune juice (80ml) to give T. It helps altho he doesnt poo daily but alternate days now. His poo is not as thin as RA's. His are much thicker lor tat's y will tear and bleed if not careful. And I cant take a pix of it cos he poo directly into the toilet bowl ! cant dig it out hahaha

1300-1400 psf is very high wor. Meaning a 1000sf will cost 1.3mil liao and only a 2 bedroom unit. V small

QQ
yes T is diaperless for many moons le.

steph
glad to hear that R's poo is ok now but he still need to be medicated daily ? Is mamil all in one good ?? I want to change T's Grow milk too but wondering to what. Now heard u mentioned Mamil all in one. Is this recommended by doc ?

wow all diaper less liao har ... my TT still on diaper cos I am a lazy mum I sleep throughout .... lazy to wake up and ask her to pee ... any suggestion for me?

Kam u have market your place? Where will u be shifting ... actually I already sold my place too .... and my 1st appt with HDB will be on 19 oct

QQ
is her diaper v full the next day ? For T, his diaper was also v full the next day but I talk to him a few days then finally he agreed that no diaper at nite. So before he sleeps we ask him to pee. But surprising he will wake up around say 1-2am to pee. We always put a potty in the room now. Think you have to talk to TT first to see if she's ready. BUY A WATERPROOF MATTRESS PROTECTOR TOO ! That's very good cos if accident do happen it will not sip into your mattress.

U applied for a new flat already ? or u bot those leftovers in mature estate ?? where u moving to ?

Chaye..... hmmm TT diaper is SUPER FULL every morning when she wake up ... and this small piglet of mine love to sleep also ... *sigh* I dunno how now ....

Chaye I upgrade to a 4rm and buying one unit away from my current house haha ....

mom2nat,

I am in preschool line. used to teach thus have lots of learning resources, but now doing curriculum planning and administrative (aka answer parents complains) hehe..

I seldom buy any word cards. its much cheaper to make it myself. But i think popular bookshop do sell flash cards.

tongtong,
Yes, the boy just has a so called SA2 composition paper yesterday. given a picture and need to write not less than 50 words. My friend has a hard time guiding him. haha. she keep telling me u better teach early else will suffer. which is true cos another friend told me that her son no exams in P1 n P2 and now struggling in P3 when suddenly need to write compo etc.

QQ,
mine still on diaper when sleeping too.
Diaper is always full after sleep. Must wait until dunno when before she is ready.
But I'm not going to force her.. coz she already automatically weaned off her thumb sucking so it's a big milestone for her this year. :p

Anyway, C says she is not ready for diaperless sleeps.. so I gotta wait until she is ready lor.. My headache is that I realised that a lot of brands don't have XXL size.. including the cheap cheap petpet C's currently using. only mamypoko have.. and it's so expensive. :/

shannonbaby,
what are Nursery children supposed to learn? Like must know how to write A-Z (Capital letters and small case) by end of the year?
What about Math? Addition/Subtraction only in Kindergarten is it?
And Chinese???? Hah.. C's Celeste is sooo bad. She can hardly speak in Chinese.
And realised that she is also choosing not to answer in chinese even when I try to speak to her in that language.
Die liao...

btw, I think P1&p2 compo is not those in paragraphs. More like 5 sentences only. ;) I guess most kids should not have a problem saying the sentences out, but writing them? OMG.

Good luck to all of us next time..

mcfluffy hmmmmmm ... think I will just go slow bah ...... she dun wear diapers in the day already a bonus to me haha

QQ/mcfluffy,
my girl's diaper also very full the next morning...asked her a few times, she insist on wearing diapers to bed, so i'll just wait till she's ready.

QQ, moving house will be a breeze, don't need transporter..lolz

mcfluffy
precisely. i think our kids oral very well but writing...sure die die die to the max! my son can say more cheem words nowadays like "satisfaction", "navigation", "parking lots", dinosaur species like "argentinosaurus"...but pls lor, u get him to spell n write it out??! he dun even know how to write his name yet leh (only can spell)

GOOD LUCK TO US!

QQ
where u bought the new place?

kam
where you bot your new place? and you selling with how much COV? you stay opp YT mrt only rite shld be good COV?

Oh yes yes ... I sold my 3 room ..... at 440k ... and bought the 4 rm at 665K damn ex!!!

and yes super near MRT thats why I upgrade only ard my area .....

Qq ur house superb location, not very expensive considered it is onli5 yr. All the wiring n piping concealed nicely! I like the hawker food ESP the yong Tao Fu n satay
Btw, r u still grassroot leader

aqua yes I am still a grassroot leader .... the market is in the mid of upgrading now so not much food ard at the moment

Chaye, yeah east reali lots gd food! Move bac leh! Here also many gd sch, fr pri to jc, all at marine parade katong area

aqua
marine parade katong area is expensive lor. I only stayed at my current place for coming 2 yrs nia. Ytday kitsune says the new dev at Bedok will be at 1300-1400 psf wor.

Wow, 4 room valuation so high now?then if 5 em shld b 700k or more liAo?
u take long to sell ur existing unit? I m sellin ourselves, dunno how market is like