(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

aqua,
my maid also eats a lot! and i came to realise that the more i feed her, the better she perform!...lolz

mom2nat
I will never allow my maid to talk to me like tat leh. I cannot take it de. What attitude man ! I will send her off. If really so experienced need me to tell u there's dirt here and there never clean properly meh ?

I realise the tel no u provided has more than our usual digit. hehe

PIxie/ aqua
Ok, one of the worse things! She walk right in and out of my bedroom even when doors are closed! She doesn't knock!!!! ONe night ard 10+pm, she went right in to hang the clothes in the cupboard, my hb was on the bed reading bible. She doesnt' apologise, just continue to do wat she needs to.
So another time she did it, I ask how come she doesnt' knock. Her reply is "I no knock"... But last week I hear she learn liao, knock, but 1 knock! then open, no wait for pple to reply! Sorry to say this, STUPID lor. I dunno how to teach pple with no manners or dumb. We so awed by her.

She complained to mil, say we are rude, cos we scold kids v loud, sometimes oso say at mil or mom not to interfere. But she dunno herself! All along, I din tell agent abt it, finally agent call, I really scold the agent! Tell me this maid v good, v guai... Dunno how her ex employers tahan her oso.

grumpus
thanks for the link, i wanna find but cant find it, bz at work leh...im alone for so long liao, last week trying to float, this week drowning

mom2nat
until today my maid has no access to my wardrobe. she put the clothes folded on my bed, i keep it myself. she irons the clothes and hang on my door handle...i hang up myself
i dun like ppl to ransack my wardrobe

if my maid is this rude, i sure go ballistic
KUDOS to U

mom2nat
you are power ! I dun like my maid to enter my bedroom door when I'm inside and she has never does that. And I have asked her to leave folded clothes on my bed and hand the iron clothes on the other room's wardrobe. Just like Pixie's practice. Sometimes I went into the kitchen and back to my room I can see my clothes on the bed. It's like wah she's so fast and know my moves and quickly dump the clothes on my bed and left quietly w/o me even notice it. But I wouldnt know if she does open my wardrobe when she's cleaning the room la. And and and, I will always lock my doors when I go out. She has no access to my room when we are out.

Chaye u lock ur bedroom eac time u go out? So troublesome eh, for mi, if I m nt home, I wan maid quickly sweep mop my bedroom, was mbr toilet before I m home. I onli lock valuables, anyway, if stay together everyday in n out must lock, I also won't rem ;p? But my maid also leave our clothes on the sofa, I keep myself, but who knows way hapen we r away? Anyone here got CCTV to eye ur maid?

aqua
Used to it liaoz. So will rem to lock whenever we r out. And I got cctv at home too :p more to monitor my kids not so much of maid. It's only in the living room cos most of the time they play, quarrel and fight in living room so I can see.

Chaye
I tempted to put CCTV, but later end up my hb monitoring me how?. Lol... Imagine he calling him "time to prepare dinner, stop chatting on SMH!" hahahah...

Pixie
Frankly, we were so shocked she is so rude. All me previous maids v polite! We told ourselves, this fella v experienced, so when she came, we see wat she can do, wat she dunno.... End up realize she too stuck to her old ways...

Mom2nat, pixie, aqua, chaye, today's topic on maids?

Sigh, this morning, RL's diaper leaked onto her bed and RA merlioned her whole milk feed all over the bumper mat and floor cos she coughed. Hubby also late for work cos helping me to clean up. Everyday is a morning rush. Brought RA to school but forgot that it's RA's CC year end photo taking, so forgot to bring white socks. Got to walk back home to take and deliver to CC again.

This morning, just washing clothes, bedsheets, mopping floor, hang out the clothes, I'm all hot & sweaty till I got to shower at noon. All clean, lazy to go out for lunch and sweat again, order pizza in. Will eat that for dinner also since tonight got to work.

Really thinking of throwing in the towel and hire another maid sometimes. But hearing all your woes, reminds me of all the inconveniences I have to put up with. Sigh, 3 months plus of maidless life and counting. Tahan, tahan, tahan...

kitsune
what happens after 3 mths? i forgot your current plans....

my maid has good work performance (compared to aqua's, mom2nat's etc), so i bu she de to let her go after 2 years. but my initial plan was to have a maid for 2 years, cannot get complacent and get lazy and say "ok pay $500 a month for a live in helper not that ex" then continue hiring her for the next decade...by then i would be super lazy, the kids dunno how to wash cutlery; scrub their own undies...
u get what i mean

kitsune
east side weather not very hot, the sun is hidden...not sunny at all, just nice to go tamp mall or TAMPONe, eat lunch, buy KOI

time for another round of BP; work overload, need to do BP to clear stock, rush here n there everyday...i sooooooo tired

i oso wanna throw in towel (dirty, smelly and grimy) - quit, and stay in some remote village with my 2 kids. those no need to wear clothes, free spirited, run around with the chickens kind for them kids

Aqua,
Actually when my new maid first came, also like yours, everything also duno. She will forget to close my fridge door, mix raw n cook food. N she got lots of scoldings from hb n I. During that time, I almost want to send her back cos she is so forgetful n blur. But my MIL is willing to train her and also MIL told me that she came from village. No fridge and very chim chai one. Imagine, she never heat up overnight food. Just take out from fridge and eat.
I am so glad that after 2 months of training from my MIL, she is so much better nw. I think the most impt thing is she is really willing to learn.

Kitsune,
My boy vomitted a few times in the middle of night yesterday. Hb n I were the one who clean up everything while my maid is sleeping away..he he..

I think I can't survive without maid at moment. :p maybe when my kids are older I will take up part time maid instead cos I definitely want them to learn to b independent.

Pixie, no fixed plan. Was thinking if I can make enough from RE, then hire a maid so that the kids no need to go CC. But chances are slim, cos with my hubby's long working hours, plus must mark scripts at night after we put the gals to sleep, I also dun want to work until no day no night and no time with my kids. For now, looks like the easiest way out is for both gals to go CC next yr lor. Then no need to get maid liao, or else maid will be too eng. :p No lar, I never go out cos I am also waiting for the kids' bedsheets to dry in the sun. Dun want to 'double handle' liao. Best is dry liao, I keep, then go out to work.

Shannonbaby, last time with maid, we also do that but at least next morning, someone else to do the laundry and hang the clothes. haha. Agree with you, I also expected to have maid for another 2 years but my maid had other plans. hee.

kitsune
yup yup, if both in CC, then not much need for a maid
i plan to put x2 in cc when shes eg 2yo so maid has to go after her 2yrs contract....at most drag to 3yo then put x2 in cc at 3yo
im sure my helper would want to go home and then come back to SG or go to HKG for more $$

she quite savvy, say the $$ earned cannot anyhow loan ppl or send back. shes NOT GOING to send back $$, but will park in bank account here. ask me to open bank a/c for her.

she must be rich at home hor....no need to send $$ back home de leh

Pixie, ya, my maid every month must send back money, but she always wants to shop every month, buy something new from head to toe. So end up even after 2 yrs, she can only bring back $1k+. How old is Xandria now ah? Sorry, I lost track liao. :p

Pixie, ur helper so rich? Y she wan come sg n leave kids Aline in philip? My maid is here coz bf jobless n no $ support her bb, but she spends her pay on call card n
I forsee nex time she can't save muc too.

Kitsune, hang on tough! I wouldn't hire a maid if I dunnhav bb. Now got maid, no.1 becomes less independent n spoilt! Wan be fed n bully maid, las time she much independent. Eat on her own, fold her laundry, pack her bag etc
Quite sad to see her backtrack like tht after my hard wrk

Aqua, yup, that's quite true. My RA is more aware now and will pick up her toys when told but also partly because we scold her for throwing toys around or dropping crumbs all over the floor. Last time, got maid so don't really bother. Even if she wants to vomit, she will run fast to the toilet bowl (if she can hold it lar) to avoid being scolded. I feel sad also leh that my gals got to 'grow up fast'. There are two sides of the coin, I guess.

Wah liao, talking abt maid i also almost limit liao. want to throw in the towel and hire one!!
everyday shack with 2 kids and housework.
then i rememeber all the -ve comments abt maids and i tell myself to hold on. but buay tahan already, finally got a PT cleaner. hope she's good.

Grumpus, wa kudos to you! The week after I found out my maid is not coming, I engaged my first PT cleaner liao. But sigh, now I'm already onto my 5th one. PT cleaners no loyalty, and some slack off after you 'confirmed' them. But sigh, better some help than none. :p

hello all,
Been a busy day since 9am, plus boss' around, hehe, cannot post.

But hor, on maid topic, I cannot contribute also, but "fun" to read.

Mom2nat, you are really champion lor, can keep your eyes and mouth closed until like this huh.

Grumpus, you are a very hard working mum leh. SAHM with 2 kids and no helper.

kitsune, I think we are actually happier without the part time helper. My hub helps out a lot whenever he can, so he feels a great sense of contribution to the family, which is really good. Of course if there is help, definitely better lah, house cleaner for sure, now we are doing the bare minimum or even a little less than minimum hehe. But until my previous helper comes back, which I doubt she will, I am very reluctant to try new ones. Plus my parents are coming to stay with us on and off when I need to travel, whenever my mum is here, she does all the ironing for me (which I hate the most, but my mum loves that), so I just need to physco myself hang on for another month.

kitsune,
where did u get yr PT helper? thro agency or privately. i also worry whether they can do a good job since they clean so many different houses and only come once a wk. but anyway will try out first cos i see my house getting dustier and dustier and the kids need more and more attention.

kam,
my #2 is very active and fearless. aiyo cannot keep my eyes off for one sec. plus now she is only solid food so i need to cook for 2.
we are already doing less than min and relying when our parents come over on some weekends to help fold laundry, otherwise most of the time laundry just sits in a pile and we just fish our clothes out when we need them :p

grumpus,
No worries. It'll change again when your #2 is older. Like for me now. Though my gal is at the terrible twos phase (luckily a mild one), in general, it's much much much better than 1 year ago when she needed to be watched closely and when she stuck to me like superglue (separation anxiety). So just hang on there, few more months to go :)

My hub does most of the folding of laundry when he watches the news at 10pm or 11pm. If he doesn't do that, then I will fold till it's pilled up too high :)

I cook dinner for them. My girl is a little more picky, but I don't care leh, just cook as usual, don't follow her taste. If she doesn't eat, doesn't eat loh, she has lots of reserve anyway, keke. Don't want to stress on this. Just try to be relax and enjoy the time with them.

kam, keke, my hubby usually KO before me and the gals KO so no chance to get him to help since he has markings to do even if he is awake. Sigh, both my gals got no reserves to spare, when they don't eat, I stress... :p

Grumpus, I get mine from FB recommendations. Very effective way to get contacts.
Put off by agency fee, $200+ so didn't try in the end. :p

can u believe it im starting my 2nd shift into my job - at home...geesh

kitsune
x2 will be 7mths next mth, fast hor

aqua
i heard that my maid's own parents rent farming machines, so they r quite well off. her hb is a driver, earns so so but her own mom top up with whatever they need lor. so in a way, they are not like eg dirt poor kind...she say the $$ earn she wanna build a big house

about dependent on maids:
i agree my son does lesser housework eg wash up his bowls n plates. i treat him like adult literally, my hb dont like

or, hang or keep laundry from poles
scrub stuff
mop floor

but with maid around, he learns other skill sets eg cooking, preparing meals...i still push him to do his own chores. but cfm get lesser. he is reliant on me, not on my maid leh

Pixie, wa, already more than 6 months. Seems like just yesterday when you were asking us to guess if it's boy or gal for your baby and thinking of names for baby girls. LOL. So, does Xandall like his baby Mei Mei? I am wondering if big brothers will dote on their baby sisters more.

<font size="+1"><font color="ff0000">Hi, mummies

Have a special request:
Please, please, please help vote for my hubby's latest teenage self improvement book "Why Study Smart?" which he authored and illustrated. It has been shortlisted for the POPULAR bookstore Readers' Choice Award!

CLOSING DATE IS JUST 3 DAYS AWAY!!! EVERY VOTE COUNTS. Please help to spread the word and get your friends and family to vote too! Thanks!!!

https://www.popular.com.sg/readerschoice/</font></font>

wah kitsune
Will support your hubby ya !

Brought T to see a PD last nite. Rem I wrote here saying that he has mild fever last wed ? His rashes came in on thurs nite with little red dots on his face and body and slowly spreaded to his hands and legs and his whole body except the palm and soles of feet are covered with rashes. It's like heat rash kind. Brot him to see GP and say it's fake measles. It shd go away in few days time. By yesterday still no improvment so brot him to PD and immediately PD says it's Scarlet Fever. This is 1st time I'm hearing Scarlet Fever !

Scarlet Fever : It is caused by the streptococcal bacteria, which produce a toxin that leads to the hallmark red rash of the illness. To read more : http://kidshealth.org/parent/infections/lung/scarlet_fever.html

So I'm still keeping him at home for the next 2 days eventho the doc say it's not contagious and ok to go sch. But he will itch and start scratching if he perspires. T is so weak
always falls sick.

And his cc just updated me that there's a total of 10cases of HFMD and 1 case of chix pox.

kitsune,
Voted!

Chaye,
Hope T gets well soon.

Think someone's kid got scarlet fever before, couldn't remember who, or maybe not from this thread. Ya, think fake measle (roseala) has very similar symptoms as scarlet fever.

Chaye, Luvv, Kam, thank you very much! MUACKS!!!

Chaye, RaeAnne also very weak, always fall sick, yesterday suddenly started a fever. :p like me, body resistance very low, I just started sneezing n runny nose again. Hiaz...

pauline
I am very weak too. Got asthma when young and always visit doc. My mum got to piggy back me to the clinic de I still rem. So spoilt hor. And she always say that Indian doc is my godpa. But I duno when I outgrew the asthma. Think when I am like in teenage years. I am very discipline. I cut down cold drinks even till now. Somehow when you are older you know your body better and know what can indulge and what not to. I can never drink KOI daily. That's no no to me. And even if I drink I will not finished all, will drink 1/2 or 3/4 only :p. Chocolate is like once in a blue moon kind.

hello mummies! back to night shift @ work again sighs

kitsune, will vote for ur hb. i do flip his books when im in popular. but damn, some times wrapped up cannot see de leh

about brother doting on meimei:
xandall dotes on her alot and always wants to hug, sayang etc her. but he dun like to share his toys with her LOL
i think on the surface he likes xandria alot but subconsciously hes struggling to accept another sibling. he displays complex emotions that he cannot understand, wants our attention 100%, and cc teacher feedback that he got weird behaviour...everytime got such feedback, we will pile more on the "love" then his weird behaviours will go away. i think hes trying to adjust

nowadays we even have 1to1 time with him. i take 1 weekend eg sat and hb takes the other weekend eg sun. then each of us can either spend x no of hours with him, and really get down to his level to be with him. no hp, no shopping, no distraction kind lor...
we do alot for him liao, almost to a point where xandria gets neglected but hes still ever demanding of our attention. even if we split right, he will go disturb whoever is looking after meimei

headache....

but im sure he'll grow to accept it one day. patience bah....

chaye
hope T get well soon!

mom2nat
<font size="+2">congrats!!</font>
you have taken the 88888th post for jan08 mummies

HUAT AH!

while me took the 88889th post...hurhur, huatz to me too!

Pixie
<font color="ff0000">you are very cute ah!!!! Huat ah</font>
You scare me, wat congrats! I m v sleepy, just come in c posting a while, ur discovery woke me up!

pixie,
Ha, that's funny. How did you know that? I couldn't see the 88888 anywhere leh.

mom2nat,
Quick go buy 4D, it's wednesday today. Huat ah!

Thanks, Pixie. Oic, sometimes I feel that RA doesn't dote on RL. Because she always wants to take away the toy that Mei Mei is holding. Her Mei Mei is like a little puppy, will fetch RA's shoes for her, fetch toothbrush, water bottle for her but Cheh Cheh 不领情. Sometimes, RA will deliberately refused to take from Mei Mei or even take and throw away to spite Mei Mei.

RaeAnne gets her own time with us cos we pick her up after CC then go for dinner usually to Tampines Mall. Sometimes, we let her buy small stuff eg. stickers. I will always remind her that she gets to go out with us, eat her favourite foods, see fish/toys, buy stickers etc but poor Mei Mei is at MIL house, so she must be nice to Mei Mei and give in to her. A few times, she did give the toy that she snatched back to Mei Mei but need constant reminder or bribes for other things before she will do it. I will exaggerate my praises for her when she does it so that she feels appreciated. :p

But come bedtime, they are best friends. Play and hug and sing and tickle each other. Don't want to sleep till 1-2 hrs later. If I try to separate them, eg. ask hubby to bring Mei Mei to living room to sleep. RA will run out to rescue Mei Mei or whine and plead with me to let Mei Mei come back to the room while Mei Mei will be in the living room, crying 'Mamee Come, Mamee come, Mamee come'. Then I will get soft hearted and let hubby bring her back to the room. End up both of them sleep very late, 11+pm. -_-

Kam, I also can't see 88888 anywhere. Maybe, Pixie subscribes to email updates of this forum thread?

Congrats to Mom2nat on hitting such a magical figure in our thread.

Pixie, how you know ah??? Are you the moderator???
I like the elder bro, little sis relationship. I get to experience it myself and happy I got a wonderful bro. My first Barbie doll is from him. I will always remember that.

Too bad my kids are the other way round...
My girl acts like a princess at home and always complain abt her little bro. The boy now bigger, knows how to fight back too.. They are still young so hope they will be more loving when older. For now, I take all these fighting as sibling love. :p

About sibling's love, C1 is very doting on C2 too, she loves to hug and kiss her and play with her but but but same, will snatch the toys from her, don't want to share most of the times, etc...

hi mummies! How's everyone?

Congrats to Blackbatz &amp; Elmo...they delivered liao hor! so fast...who's next? mystery mummy...:p

Chaye,
Hope T gets well soon! My #2 also got asthma attack last Friday
Still on inhaler daily...

Kitsune,
voted for your hubby's book!

Re: Sibling's love
Z is very li rang towards R. He is willing to share his toys, iphone, food &amp; his new bike! Where as R is not so understanding, if he can't get what he wants, he wail &amp; fake cry else will bite his Gor Gor, pull his hair or beat him! Is always Z who came up to us &amp; say, Mummy i am ok. The only bad thing was when they play together roughly, Z will throw his toys purposely, R will follow suit...&amp; follow whatever Z do...like jumping &amp; somersault on sofa etc..

<font color="0000ff">POLL...
Mummies, can i have your opinion...</font>
Do u think i should keep or chop my hair &amp; keep it short like bob style? rebond (short/shoulder-length)or keep the curls?
I am gg for my JB photoshoot in End Oct so was wondering if i shld cut my hair short...cos stylist say short hair more pattern to create...

hahaha mom2nat ! huat ah !
didnt notice that page until u mentioned it.

re: sibling love
My #1 and #2 cannot play together for more than 5 mins without supervision. They will start to quarrel or fight but it's always T who will beat his jie jie first. If jie jie not in good mood she will beat him back. Tho most of the time she will come complain to me. Their age gap is too wide(4 yrs) so I find they are not very close to each other. Jie jie also duno how to take care of her didi.

btw, do you mummies with 2 kids favour a kid more than the other ? Or maybe more patient to one than the other ? For me, I am more patient towards towards T which I dont know why. I dont have much patient with #1 since she's young leh. Altho she is considered easier kid to handle than T but I dont have much patient with her. Whereas my hubby is opp. He sayang #1 more than T. And he's so impatient with T. So most of time hubby will handle #1 while I take care of T. Fair and square.

Steph
Cut ! Bob is in !

kitsune
xandall is not until that bad towards xandria, but definitely not willing to share toys, now better abit, sometimes he will check himself and say, oh must share toys with meimei and give 1 out of many many many toys scattered on the playmat for xandria.
paiseh i dont mean that RA is "bad" lar. no kids is "bad" imho.

i pity xandria. she really not nurtured as much as i can or as much as i did with xandall. maid is taking care of her 60% of the time

steph
i think long hair more pattern to create? didnt know it would be the other way round? definitely need a change of hairstyle for you, your face very suitable for angled or sharp bob....
i going to cut my hair, again! getting long and short hair must go back to maintain more often than longer hair....this one must put into consideration lo...

mom2nat
hee hee hee, i scared you? well, to hit 88888 is very very rare lor, how LONGGGGGGGG more can we post before we hit 888888?? another few year? judging by our slow rate, so many mummies MIA liao

chaye
i favour BOTH, but sadly, i have to spend more time with #1 nowadays. i miss those ML days where i can bring her out 1 to 1 time leh...
yest #2 woke up and play from 2.30 - 3.45, i panda liao...

Chaye,
i saw many ppl cut bob style, the slope down V, back v short &amp; front kept long at jaw length. But not easy to maintain like what pixie say, must trim regularly to keep the shape!

pixie,
ya at first i tot long hair more style to create but apparently not leh. bridal makeup &amp; stylist say they prefer short at jaw length more versatile woh...like can put fake long hair etc...