(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Hi, Kam

Only E and I go. It says that kids under 2 year old are not allowed in. We can't get center-1 seats, maybe booked late. Never mind, thanks for sharing info.

Shannonbaby,
Oh your hubby worked in my coy?? When did he left?? I wonder if I knew him...
Yes, the medical benefits are really good.
Hard to find a coy that covers the whole family too.

Yes, I am planning an overseas trip with kids next year... Think of Japan in Apr in fact...

Your maid is better life than mine. My maid works from 8am to 8pm Mon-Fri, weekends we don't bring kids to MIL so she is like very free too...
But I am planning not to hire maid next year liao.. My only worry is dinner for the kids... I don't know how to cook and worry what will the kids eat after CC...

Kam,
Hope you get your wish of WFH!! Ya like me, work with Jpn operations, really make no sense to go office at all. But some bosses just want to see our face lah... Start with 2 days WFH also good!!

Kam,

Yes! I hope to become a SAHM. but my hb says I can never be one, coz I cant seems to stay at home and I love my job. It will also means less holiday trips if I stop work, which is something I am not willing to forgo..

Any mummies going for the jack n the beanstalk show?

ShannonbAby I struggling eh. Maid needs supervision, bb mus b fed often , need to express n my Gwen so high demand child! She is Hme all day, v busy for mi! I considering put her bac childcare coz can't manage, any comments on my first skool? It's near my mum plc, tot of sendin Gwen halfway n my mum help lok after

aqua,
I feel my first skool is ok. Where do your mum stay? But one thing to note: my first skool class size is very big. its like 20++ children for toddler class with a few teachers inside. Still I feel they shld separate the kids cos 20++ in a class is too big, esp during HFMD season.

Aqua,
Yes very hard to get cc...

Both my kids are still on waiting list for a new PCF Sparkletots CC coming up a few blocks from my home. They just just Reno the exterior and now starting on the interior... The thing is the principal said they don't have the license yet as must wait until everything is finished then can get license... So still no news... But I need to call them in Oct again to see how...

If cannot get in, then I will have to consider further CC in Bedok Nth, My First School... Need to take bus but in the morning my hubby should be able to drop the kids on the way to work.

Another option is Cherie Hearts at TP... But that one exp... $850 per kid...

Shannonbaby, my mum stAy aljun. The cc juz opened tis yr, so they onli hav pg n nursery class. No k1&2. No hmfd cases so far.
Krystle pcf is ok , jess son used to attend the one near bedok stadium. Cherie Hearts $850 is after subsidy? Quite x for 2 kids eh, bt I heard they hav lots of wrksheets

Shannonbb
My hb asked how come I m Sahm but I got so many pple to meet, busier than him! I was more carefree b4 bb arrived n I was using the car. Now hb takes the car, feels like my wings chopped off!
Sahm no fun leh... Initially feel spend time w kids, later realize I m not into teaching them. No income no medical benefits. Unless tai tai got a lot of $$ then diff. I can't bake, oso maid cooks, I m like a huang lian po supervising at homes.
So those wanna b Sahm better think twice. Hee...

Aqua,
I don't mind PCF CC for my kids...
If really good premier CC, then very exp... So not considering that.

Yes, Cherie Hearts is $850 after subsidy. Other branches not so exp, I don't know why TP branch is so exp. My friend's son is attending there and my friend said is good. She works in TP so can conveniently visit her son or pick him up.
Because it is more exp, still have vacancies... But I am keeping it at last resort... 2 kids very siong leh...

Meanwhile I got both my kids already registered for next year's PCF Pre-nursery (2hrs) and Nursery (2.5 hrs)... as a backup plan... I doubt they will study there... If they do, I have to continue to hire maid which I don't feel like it...

Kam,
Hope you get your WFH wish! keke

Mom2nat,
ok la, can find more activities when baby gets older. Do you plan the menu at home? or can start to learn baking when bb is older? i think i can't fang xin with only maid and kids at home, so have to stick to this arrangement and now i can't imagine no maid too, will really be huang lian po right? keke

I just got back from KK. Very crowded at the eye clinic there. Many young children like age 4-6 are all myopia. And my #1 also tested with a myopia of 100/125 and asti of 75/25

At age 8 she got to wear glasses liao. I tot it would be until maybe upper primary. I didnt even let her play computer games and limit my iphone games too. Wonder why she got this myopia at such tender age. hiaz.

Shannonbaby, Krystle, Mom2nat, i like cooking for my kids, think that's the only thing I like about being SAHM. Plus I had maid to help me prepare ingredients so my hands won't smell of garlic and other stuff. I cannot make it if it comes to cleaning the house and educating the kids, no patience. hehe.

But once both gals are in CC, I think the good thing is I can cook again at least for dinner on some nights when I don't need to go out and do viewing. Then we get the evening time together instead of now cos MIL picks up RL at 11am and she will go over to MIL house until 9+pm when we bring her back to sleep. :p

Wow, all mummies here do motherly! I tink I lazy, I dub like cooking , dun like housework or stay home. I prf wring part time n rest days juz laze w kids! So paisey compared to u all :p

Now can't afford wrk part time, takin a huge Loan for my new flat. So sad, juz cleared one hdb loan n here comes another hefty one!

Chaye,
It is the trend now, kids wear glasses at a younger age... It also got to do with inheritance bah...

My friend has 4 girls and out of them, already 2 wearing glasses...

I am worried for my kids too. Played iphone, ipad, watch TV... And both me and hubby wear glasses...

Aqua,
I have not even cleared my current HDB loan yet.
Cannot move for sure coz sure need to top up lots of $$$.

luvv/krystle
The doc say it's a common trend now. My hubby first found out that he has myopia at P4 but drag till P6 then he started wearing glasses. I only started wearing when I age 18 leh.

Ya I worry too for T ! I think the only person need not worry is Kam cos her kids are always in the open. Lots of outdoor activities helps to prevent myopia !

Mom2nat,
wahahha y u say yr wings chop off cos hb take car. u just take another car that comes with driver lor :p
i'm still enjoying my time as sahm lei. between #1 and #2 everyday like got so many activities.
but i really feel i'm getting old liao. now look at my photos feel i've aged

luvv HI-5! *MUAKS.

Chaye, shortsightness is genetics? scarey eh, my hb is also shortsighted, and now my ger hooked to iphone games, tink i mus restrict her liao.

mom2nat,

I love to teach my kids. My dream is to homeschool them myself..hehe. in fact, even though i am working now, i still prepare lots of home teaching materials for them. and I will work on those activities with my kids.

I love to cook for my kids too. but i hate to do washing..hehe

hmm.actuallty all CC are the same. It's the quality of the teachers that make the diff.

shannonbaby, btw, i hav a few sets of the cc uniform from my ger previously and they r in gd condition. do u know of any needy families in the cc who need them? i can search the uniform n give them FOC.

aqua, chaye, krystle, Luvv,
Apparently, apart from the genetic factor (which is not truly proven yet), environmental and nutritional contribute to myopia in children also.

Referring to this site at NUH (http://www.nuh.com.sg/eye/patients-and-visitors/diseases-and-conditions/paediatric-ophthalmology/myopia-in-children.html)

Is myopia common?
In Singapore, half of our children deveop myipia by the age of 12 years. Children are also becoming myopic at a younger age.

Who is likely to develop myopia?
A child is more likely to develop myopia if he/she:
has one or both parents who have myopia
is frequently involved in near work such as reading, writing, computer work for long periods of time without a break.

What can I do about my child’s myopia?
Myopia progression can be reduced by reducing the amount of near work a child does. For example, cut down on computer games, handheld games, take periods of rest in between periods of reading or writing.

I don't like cooking, but I don't mind cooking for my family. Prefer to give them homecooked food than to eat out. So if my mum is around, that's the best situation for me.

I like to play with my kids. But I don't really teach. Cos we are doing "free-style", learning through play kinda approach. So far works well for us and the kids. They reallly learn a lot while playing. Even when I read books, I focus on the story telling part, don't teach them to read the words, as I think that would come in naturally, sooner or later, so now let them enjoy the stories and be imaginative.

I love doing housework, except ironing. Cleaning toilet, cleaning the floor, cleaning the kitchen, tidying, etc, I like! But now the problem is no time. We only do housework after the kids have gone to bed. So do a little here and there whenever we have time. No part time helper for many months liao, and we are surviving, so decided not to get one anymore. My hub helps whenever he has time, that makes a lot of different. If he doesn't help out, think I would have gotten a part time helper already.

Chaye
My girl is wearing glasses too, but so far only in school. I heard it is hereditary. Cos I know a couple who dun wear specs, her kids watch tv, play games so often, yet none of the 3 wear specs! Readig affects too.

Aqua / kitsune
I like to stone at home, go high tea, come home kiss kiss my kids... dun wan to do housework or cook! LOL.

grumpus
I take cabs. the times I take bus/mrt is to make the kids happy!!! LOL... not bcos I spoilt, but I dun have the time of 1.5hrs to travel to town. I live in the far end of the island. By the time I reach time, my bb needs another feed! hee...

Shannonbaby
I used to like to teach my #1, but engine puncture liao..
When you have 3, it is like fighting war, settling this and tat. Thank God Elliot in cc now, or else peng san. I bought a lot of materials, but sold off liao. #1 went shichida, so accumulated a lot oso. Aiya, all said... it is I lazy lah! hahaha....

Kam
Wah, you like housework ah? I dun like to perspire, which I do a lot! Hb oso dun like me to do housework, he say play with the kids more constructive. I can tahan mess... he can't though! hee...

kam
thanks for the link !

mom2nat
your girl is P1 right ? also wearing glasses liao
My girl reads a lot recently. I think that's the reason why her myopia shoot up so fast cos she doesnt hook on pc or handheld games de.

Mom2nat,
Hi5!
I want to be tai-tai SAHM. No housework, no cooking.
Only play with kids and bring them to school or classes.
If this comes true, first thing I will go and learn driving and get my own car.

Hubby kept asking me to learn but I refused.
Told him no point learning when I don't get to drive the car.

chaye
Yah, P1, actually, in kindergarten they already found she myopic, but I din wan her to wear specs, so din bring her to check. But in P1, gana again, bo pian. The optician says when looking far then need, reading no need. Hopefully her degree dun go up too fast, or else always need to wear liao.

Krystle
Hahah... i no need do housework, can leave it to maid to cook. Only need to focus on the kids cos bills oso my hb settle and file up! But but... I not rich enuf to be tai tai!!!!
Luckily I learnt driving during uni days. Otherwise I might not wan to learn now liao. You should learn leh, more convenient.

wah today talk about being taitai huh
i also want....who doesnt (except aqua?)...

when i had x1, still wish to be taitai n homeschool x1. now got 2 kids, not so ez, if i am maid-less, no cc for the kids, no work, i think daily look after them oredi v shag liao, let alone nuturing them on a emotional/literal/learning level...

only today i was thinking if i will still want my maid after 2 years contract or not....coz by then x2 is 2yo, she should be in cc, then i wont need a maid anymore. only headache is the dinner. maybe all go mil house for dinner?

see how lah, on 1 hand i think can save 380 + 170 a month but on the other hand, if i dont do all the housework n cooking i could be spending more quality time with the kids. but having more time, i more nua...

errr....we humans very mao dun hor? :p

Mom2nat, I prefer to be chauffeured than to drive car myself leh. But if one day I really do well in RE to afford a car, I will go for refresher lessons and buy small 2nd hand car. haha.

Pixie, not easy to do without the maid but can be done if you are willing to sacrifice leisure time to do house chores. But having a maid is very useful when the kids are sick and keep vomitting or if you need to toilet train them. Until now, my poor RL not toilet trained cos too tiring for ILs to keep wiping the floor and washing soiled clothes and linen. I tried to TT in June but efforts down the drain once I started work. :p

Kam, kudos to you. Actually, I should be able to do the housechores if I do a bit everyday then can save $200+ w/o PT help. But I hate doing housechores leh. Rather use that time to do research for work or catch up on sleep. :p

Mom2nat,
Yes, I will learn driving if hubby sponsor the lesson fees and a car (small one also ok) to me.
He like driving his own car so I am very sure he won't let me use...

You are considered tai-tai already!
I have to join your club before my girl goes P1.

Pixie,
I agree with you. If more time, I will be more nua...
But I think if I am SAHM, will still do housework but minimum type, not the thorough clean.

Want to ask mummies with maids for opinions...

If your family or hubby's family ask your maid to help cleanup their house every week like a PT cleaner, will you agree?? Do you think it is good to let your maid accept the job? The family member said they will pay her...

Krystle,
My maid helps my mil to clean her house every week. But we didn't give her more. She prefers to go over also coz she has someone to talk to and can learn how to cook from my mil.

I also want to be taitai...but must strike toto first! But...but...I don't like to have live-in maid leh. I don't mind doing housework but things like wash toilet and cleaning windows I hate, will ask hubby to do. I love cooking though and it really pays off when B tells me he prefers my cooking than tabao food. Hehe...

Oh yah, we brought B to see dentist liao. We didn't go to those branded or "kids-friendly" dentist, it's just the neighbourhood dental clinic which we've been visiting for decades. So it's a bit run-down and we were worried B will reject but he was all cool and calm and finished his polishing in less than 10 mins. Doc said no decays and everything's fine so just need polishing. Damage is $22 which we consider reasonable.

He's not afraid of the dentist but when we tried to bring him to hair-dresser, he was practically running away. This boy so weird, scared of hair-dresser more than dentist. He insisted I trim his hair so no choice, got to do it until he's ready to visit the hair-dresser...dunno when?

I just want to be a part time tai tai ! hahaha. If I can get a decent part time job I will stay at home in the afternoon. Send the maid away and T still goes cc. Got time to coach #1 and cook dinner. How nice.... It has always been my aim but no action done so far. hehehe

I can drive but no CAR leh. Hope one day will strike some lucky draw tat can win me a car HAHAHAHAHA

krystle
Yes I would allow my maid to go help out my family and be paid ! In fact, my maid will help my sister when she's in need.

Krystle, my mum actually wanted my maid to do that but I wasn't very comfortable cos maid can complain to MOM, who knows when she will turn against you. But I was still open to the idea if my kids are at my mum's place that day. Cos MOM law said if the maid follows the kids to another place, she is expected to clean up for the kids. But in the end, my maid never come back after home leave so case closed lor. :p

Yvonne,
I told my hub we would only get a live-in maid, if we were to stay in a multi storeys landed property. So that the maid will not disturb our family in the evening, she can go to her room after dinner and not to be seen. Now we live in HDB ah, I don't want a maid, cos no way can keep our privacy, as in, she needs to go to the toilet right, cannot ask her to stay in her room for the whole night mah.

Ha, I have never cleaned windows, ops! But ya, heavy duty ones will get hub to do, like cleaning the ceiling fans, etc. Our part time helper used to do all these.

Totaly agree. The only reason I insist to cook dinner after work is because the kids eat better at home. HR told me, I eat everything mama cooks for me, I am a good boy :) He really does eat everything I cook, all type of veg and meat. While my little girl is still picky, still doesn't eat veg, but I just let her be, since I don't have to worry about her weight (she is overweight!), eating one less meal to her is okay.

Thanks mummies for the opinions...

I asked because my hubby's bro asked his sis's maid to help cleanup his house at a fee. But his sis's maid rejected. So he turned to my maid. I got concerns lah like I don't know if it is really good or not, if it will affect my maid's time in taking care of my kids. And like what Kitsune said, if she will report to MOM.

Right now, my maid cleans my MIL's hse (since she stays there) and my hse (since I am the paymaster). But my hubby gives another amt to her as a compensation for her to clean our hse.

So now with hubby's bro request, my maid like got 3 hses to clean!! I really scared she complained even though she herself said ok.
And being a nice bro, my hubby let her do it.
But later my hubby found out that his bro is giving her more amt than we do, and he said his bro spoiled market.
I was like, in the 1st place, you agreed one and now you complained???
Since involved between the brothers, I don't want to say too much lah and just let it be... Nothing much I can do bah...

kam,
My kid already drive me crazy, so I really don't need a maid to add on to it...hehe. I can't stand people who don't have common sense and most maids are like that...or they act blur lor. So I rather suffer than to pay someone to come and torture me.

My windows also clean once in a blue moon...I got 4 panels in each room and my living room has 12 panels...suicide!

B's classmate's mum was telling me her children complain about the dinner everyday cos their maid cooks the same things all the time. At least B never complains about my dinners and happily finishes everything daily. Once in a while I will take a break and eat out or tabao for a few days, then B will keep asking me why I never cook dinner? Knowing that he likes my cooking makes me want to cook even when I'm tired

Krystle, haha, should have agreed how much for your hubby's bro to give. I am super ks, even cny ap or my maid's bd ap, I will tell my mum or MIL how much we are giving and not to give more than me or else my maid gets the wrong idea that her own employers don't treat her well. :p

Kitsune, hoe much Angpow to give? Eg.$20 enuf?

Btw, I wan ask bf mummies, one side of my breast producin 100ml milk e other juz 50ml? Is it v abnormal? My bb had been hav pimple like spots on her face, ESP in day , is tht heat rashes or allergy or my milk prob? 2 weeks Liao, I apply aloe Vera n calendula Nt much use,

Krystle, I also kiasee. When my maid go my mum plc weekdays, she onli help cooking n feed #1, the rest housewrk she dun do.

Aqua,
My left side produces twice as much as my right side when I was pumping.

Those spots r v common on nb bbs. Could be hormones, heat or milk rash. Just wipe with cool boiled water aft every feed, they'll slowly go away on their own

Kitsune,
My hubby already told his bro to discuss but the outcome came out like this.
His bro's wife said becoz we are the employers so give lesser is ok since we already given my maid monthly salary. And his bro wants the maid to clean windows and ironing too, which my maid does not do for me unless I request. And also the maid needs to take a bus to his bro's place so need to justify the transport fees...
So sounded justifiable... But I still dun feel good About the whole arrangement.

Yes for CNY angbao, we will discuss with his sis so that we give same amount.

aqua,
It happened to me also. My left one produced less than half of the right. It's apparently pretty normal, though in some mums, the variation is not that big, while in some, the variation is big. At the end of my BFing career, only 1 side was producing.

The common advise will be pump more often on the less producing side, if you do latching, always latch the less producing one first, etc, etc.

Today is day 3 of fever for E. Going down liao. Tmrw can go sch... hurray!!! LOL!!! I can get my freedom back! Lunching with my ex colleagues (I stopped work 8 yrs liao)!! And do a little shopping.

Are we planning some meeting ups?

Krystle, oic, I guess just have to hope that your maid is good n dun turn against you. For me, if there is no benefit to me, after all it is maid who gets the $, not me, but I am the one who have to risk losing everything if she complains to mom, I won't do it. :p

Mom2nat, checked with RA's cc, they r not closed n having celebrations in school so think I won't be meeting up that day too. Sorry.

Kitsune,
Yes I hope so too... Feel like being controlled by my maid now...

Anyway hope everything is peacefully until Feb 2012 when she goes back to PHIL.