(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

JanBB,
I went to dig out my PSLE for you!
Yes the school name is printed on the PSLE cert but I heard report book is a must to bring too. So prepare both is better.

Krystle & Kam,

Some mummies who are registering this year told me that those neighbourhood school are all about the same standard. The more impt thing is to get into the TOP 1st & 2nd class in these school when comes end of P2. There's no exams for P1 & P2, only until end of P2, there is a test to see how they fare & then will post them accordingly. During P1 & P2, these kids are graded by doing "show & tell" or other projects/presentation. I feel that it is kind of unfair cos the kid can be very outspoken & do well in these areas but not so good in academic and vice versa. Not too sure whther all school are changing to this way next time??

Did you all catch QQ on TV yesterday??? superparent?? She looked great ;)

krystle,
My mum never even complete primary school education but I'm glad she understood the importance of a "good school", not necessarily academic but should not have bad company lor. During our time, she still go and queue up to put me and my sister in a girls school even though there was a school right beside our house but that was a gangster school lar...lots of ah bengs and got alot of disciplinary problems. That's the kind of school I want to avoid.

My alma mater is plmgps (all girls school) & I intend to send my gal there. Only thing is I stay pasir ris & we’ll need to rely on school bus.
My #2 is a boy, so he’ll prob have to go to the nearest neighbourhood school- elias park primary school

I will go all out to do PV if it is foolproof way of getting into my choice school BUT since it is no guarantee, I won’t take a gamble. As it is I have so little time to spend with the kids, no time to sleep.

Yvonne,
alumni fees depends on sch. my sch alumni fee only one time $80.
think the hotter the sch the higher the alumni fee? hahahaha

JanBB,
No worries lah. I am also curious to find out too.
I think by the year of our kids, there is definitely no P1 exams (saw the news before).
So even if we put our kids in normal school, we still face another level of stress which is streaming right?? Haiz... I think streaming process will depend on individual schools standard too. I look at my nephew's pri school, still very academic based. I hardly see him doing any projects, only saw him doing workbooks...

Aiya, I forgotten to catch QQ on TV. Yesterday I was doing solo stun coz hubby OT... And I am down with flu yesterday and super drowsy then...

Yvonne,
My mum only studied until Pri 2. She simply don't have the time and just put me in the same school as my elder bro which is 5 mins walk from our block. My pri sch was not exactly very good too and my PSLE results were avg too... There were bad company in the school but luckily I am not influenced by them.

Now come to think of it, my neighbours' kids all went to Telok Kurau. So far they looked ok so maybe I need to consider that to me.

Kam, I like your system of priority!

Krystle, keke, b/w Poi Ching & St Hilda nearby to each other, St Hilda is more popular. B/w Ngee Ann pri & Tao Nan, Tao Nan is more popular. So actually I'm only eyeing the A2 schools so should have more chance.

Yvonne, easy, come and be my neighbour then Brien and RaeAnne can go to school together.
But one thing to note, Poi Ching's Pri 1 & Pri 2 classes are in afternoon, some parents hate that cos logistically difficult for working parents. By 2016, all primary schools will be single session (morning). But our Jan08 toddlers are entering Primary 1 in 2015, so dun know whether it will be morning school by then. :p

JanBB, yes, I heard that the schools do 'internal streaming' since no exams. Wa, show & tell? Is it for all schools? Think RaeAnne will fail then, she freezes in front of an audience. 4 more months and her CC will have speech & drama, I can't wait for her to start. She needs to learn to be more outspoken. :p

My mum only study until Pri 2 too, my dad until pri 6. But both me and my bro dun have parents to coach us in homework but both of us went to uni, very lucky liao. :p

hmm...if within 1km will have the top priority, then the value of the houses around all the top school will definitely go up..

yes, show and tell is very impt and parents need to help the child prepare for it. I just helped my colleague prepared her son P1 show and tell on his favourite food (chicken rice), find pictures on the internet, cut and paste, prepare the speech. Somehow i feel that what happen if the child does not have computer at home? hw can he/she find the info and prepare for show and tell?

Yvonne,
alumni fees depends on sch. my sch alumni fee only one time $80.
think the hotter the sch the higher the alumni fee? hahahaha

I was convinced by the NTUC promoter to buy and boil crocodile meat herbal soup for the kids cos it's good for frequent cold/cough. Anyone knows if crocodile meat is heaty cos I'm boiling it for dinner tonight and just remembered RaeAnne has an ulcer. :p

Thanks, grumpus.
Raeanne keep asking me to bring her home after school instead of Nai Nai. Today, I saw her classmate has a runny nose so decided to bring her home and cook the soup again. Last week, I cooked it too but portion very little, more for them to try.

shannonbaby,
I thought properties around top schools, as of now, are already selling at a higher price, comparatively, no?

JanBB,
Gosh, that's so...... speechless ;-(

krystle/kitsune
Hoho. Then my parents are considered "highly educated" for their generation liao :p Both went to secondary and my dad went to NIE equivalent to be trained as a teacher. When we were young, they set the timetable for us, so there were certain hours we need to do homework and reading, and some hours were for play, and limited hours for TV. Till we were at secondary 3, after the N level exam, we have full freedom in planning what we wanted to do.

I grew up in kampung so yes, I agree, peer influence is very very important. But parent's monitoring and involvement are equally important. During my primary years, my best friends were all those at the bottom of the classes, and when they were at lower secondary, they were really "ah lian", can't even make it to N level type loh. Thanks to my parents who guided me and lead me to the right way, but they never stopped me from mixing with them.

Somehow I feel this show and tell will in some ways put certain kids in disadvantage? Like what Shannonbaby said, no internet how? Well can go library but what abt this those with financial difficulties, cannot print colour, maybe can't even have access to b/w printer? what abt those whose parents have no time to coach them or help them prepare materials cos busy earning a living.

Hope the teachers of this age are discerning when they assess the kids....

wah, i gone 1 day and so many posts,...all about schools!
i no keep track de le......i doubt i have lots of things to write like u mummies

but one thing im sure is, my hb's report book is still around and i told him MUST keep, cannot throw. maybe 1 or 2 years down the road, we will have to decide if to enroll x in fairfield (as per this yr stats, must ballot), or fuhua (as per this yr stats, no need ballot, super super lots of vacancies!)

blackbat
nolah, not eyeing mee toh school, last time i wanted to enroll x there if we still staying there. who know shifted liao. i went to look at the balloting page from MOE webbie, and saw that the school opp my block at sengkang oso need to ballot??!! wtfiak? its a super super super neighbourhood school lor!

prata_queen
in my mind, i would be doing what the mother is doing too, BUT BUT BUT being a kiasu mother, i will tend to forget that "flying the kite" is better than "helping the kite to fly"....and so will worry they no do this or that...must remember to fly kite lor...
can you share the blog link with me please?????

kitsune
when i was young i had the semi asthma...hei gu, is that how the old ppl call that? every end of the year, my lungs will flare up and i will have bronchitis....so for ONE whole year my mom cooked crocodile meat with dong chong cao...after i plead her to stop, she switched to pork, frequency i think once or twice a mth
but, after that, no more lung probs!!

im starting the parenting workshop conducted this sat, 3hrs x 4 saturdays, hope can get more good parenting skills out from it.
best thing is hb and i going so at least we see and hear the same words and can discuss etc
i hope with this can argue lesser over how to parent our kids

Blackbatz,

Kam,
My hubby prefers a Jan bb too. feeling much better now in 2nd trimester. My appetite is improving, hope I can start to gain weight soon. My tummy is showing but my weight is not increasing. I am almost the same weight as my previous check up.

Re: Cough
My boy also prone to cough which leads to slight bronchitis last month. We are trying to brew soup for him too. bought the soup packet for EYS to try out next week. My mum grain Chun Bei from medical hall for him also.

Re: P1
My alma mater is at River Valley Pri (central). can't go there cos too far from where I am staying now (sengkang). Taking school bus for long distance is a torture. I experienced that when I was young. I also feel nausea when I am took the school bus in Pri 1, am session. I don't stay far away but I was 1 of the few who board the bus first (got to wake up very early) cos the bus turn round and round to fetch the rest...by the time I reach school, my face is half green. I don't want my boy to have the same experience, so I rather stick to a neighbourhood school. I prefer those with single session, not the usual AM/PM sessions.

Kam,
Yes, I think nw the houses near ultra popular school r higher too. The buyer for my ex-house also brought my house cos it's near to red swastika.
For me, my hb n I decided to move nearer to my alumi school so tat next time our kids dont need to travel so far.

Actually, Do all school have the same curriculum? Cos both p1 but both my colleagues son have diff amount of work. One got tropical test every 2 week but the other one got nothing even though both also no exam.

Pixel,
Ya la..That one is 3:1 chance only la. Tomorrow sure got TV crew go there.

Shannonbaby,
P1 and P2 only can have bite size test (ie topical test). Some schools may inform but some schools just do it without informing parents, so that it takes the pressure off the children. I normally don't know about my boy's mastery test till he has taken it. Whereas my niece's school provides a schedule to inform parents about the tests, so naturally SIL would prepare her for the topical tests.

blackbatz,

thanks. no wonder my colleague is so stressed. She said her son having test every 1- 2 weeks. worse than having mid yr exam.

My #1 is having her Show and Tell next week. Topic is visit to Jurong Bird Park. The requirement stated in the letter is to show some pictures and discuss about it with the class. We can even do it into ppt to show the class. I am thinking do I really need to do ppt ??!?!?! kua zhang leh. I will just let my #1 take the map of JBP which we already have to discuss with the class.

Morning mummy! TGIF!!!!!!! Going for our short 3D2N holiday in Malacca early morning tomororow :)

Re: no exam for P1
I think hor, this is really a "fake" system lah. As in though there is no official exam to take place, but I don't think students can benefit from it, as there would be a streaming as early as P2? Meaning teachers sure want to make sure her/his students will be at their best for the streaming, as so they have to start giving them pressure in P1. No use one, exam or no exam in P1. My ex-col sends her girl to St Hilda. During the first month in P1 huh, her teacher already briefed them on the P2 streaming and asked them to study hard to prepare for that. Parents are very stress out too.

Good morning mummies,

Kam, enjoy your short trip!!!

Re: no exam for pri 1
i think as long as the education culture in singapore don't change, more or less with or without exams, it will be the same?

Kam, enjoy yourself.

I hope to go to KL in Dec if hubby's book launch of 'Why Study Smart?' in KL comes true. I haven't been to KL in years. Publisher wanted him to go in August but he said can only go during school hols, idea is to make it a family trip. He is behind time for his next book which is supposed to be out in Nov, supposed to submit first draft next week and he can't make it in time so I've got to help him with editing. :p

Yeah! RaeAnne's CC is bringing them to Jacobs Ballas Garden on 14 Aug. I know most of your kids have been there. Finally after these years, she gets to go, but without suaku Mummy and Daddy. kekeke. ;)

Kam,
Enjoy your trip!

Chaye,
Use PPT? So your #1 needs to bring laptop to school? Wow... I won't be surprised when comes to our 3 year toddler's turn, it will be "please bring your ipad to present".

Luvv,
I agree with you. The regular tests are not helping too as it will create regular stress to the children, even though it is not an exam.

Kitsune,
RA is not suaku. My kids never went too yet! No chance to go coz hubby lazy and says too far, not convenient.. excuses...

MY girl's school is organizing a field trip to Paya Lebar Airbase but I am not letting her go coz she is scared of loud sounds of airplane.

Thanks all! We sure try my best to enjoy the trip. More so for my hub lah, he really needs a break.

Aiyoh, the school thingy ah, don't want to talk liao lah.

kitsune,
Wah, another book! I always envy those who can write. Such a powerful skill!

Jacobs Ballas is nice! XY was there a few weeks ago since she can walk (went before that but before she can walk). They both had such a great time, holding hands walking running, climbing up the stairs, sliding down the huge covered slides. But hor, we got a lot of stares from the adults, cos XY was the youngest at the playground and we were not tagging behind her, they all worried she would fall. One ah ma even came to tell us to be careful, we said, never mind, she would just have to stand up if she falls, maybe cries a bit, but that's okay. She left us with a super disgusting look :p Most other children, even those older than HR, have parents tagging behind them.

Kam, not easy to write. Need a lot of discipline and perseverance to knock on publishers' doors, get rejected, revise and edit your manuscript, then try again and again. Even tougher for me to edit cos I need to know his thoughts, know what he has written previously, research online for quotes, anecdotes, definitions, make sure what I'm writing makes sense. I can only do one chapter at a time cos it's too mentally draining. kekeke.

lol @ krystle
That's a good one ! hahaha. I guess we have to save in thumb drive lor. But I'm not doing it la.

Kam
I'm one of those parents who tag behind T. cos he is timid la. I got to go up there to ask him to take the slide but still he didnt dare to do it.

Chaye,
I am one of the "following" parents too.
My girl wants to play but very timid so must follow.
My boy run and cheong everywhere, bums into people so must follow too. :p

im back!
I dun tag along but if im out with hb, i have to, else hb show black face. So nowadays i say, ok i look after bb u follow x1 lor...
Honestly i think our kids so old liao, once can walk properly, dun need to follow lah. Wthin sight can liao...somemore is GARDEn, follow for what? Its for them to RUN mah. This is one of the many topics i wud slowly be broaching to hb...there is no who is wrong or right but at least we can discuss, know each other's reason of why can's and why cannot's n perhaps come to neutral grounds
Its always a big struggle when the parents have vastly views about how to raise their kids

chaye/krystle,
Hehe, "following" parents you are. No offence, k, just different parenting style :)

Actually I cannot be as relax as my hub, he really bochap one, say just let them explore and they will come to us when they need us, just have to make sure where we are. For me hor, I will follow them for at least the first 5-10min, make sure there is no obvious hazard, make sure they know how to play with whatever the stuff are, then I join my hub, sitting down and watch them. My hub already said I am too kancheong :p

But hor, I thought the more timid they are, they more you should encourage him/her to go explore and be independant, no?

pixie,
We are very relax when we are in SG. But hor, whenever we are out of SG, including malaysia or any other countries, we watch them like a hawk, cos just couldn't feel relax about the safety, not in terms of falling, but of abduction!

Kam, Pixie.
I wish I can relax and let my kids explore too. Hubby also said I am too gan cheong, just let them play.
But my girl is so timid, she will pull me along to climb the playground and slide with her... I got to keep telling her it is ok, you can do it yourself. She is slow, need to do many many times then dare to slide by herself.

As for my boy, he is a walking hazard. I am afraid he will hurt other people (that will be very paiseh), besides himself. Just cheong without looking one... if I don't follow and look after, other parents (like the one Kam encountered) will think why I never watch over him and let him bum into people or knock younger children down...

Kam, pixie, krystle, hmm... I watch over RA more than RL, no choice cos she always wants me to follow her. People talk to her, she'll get anxious. For RL, she hardly cry even when she falls down so I will sit at the bench n watch her. But a few times, she also gave me a heart attack n i got to quickly run to her cos she will try to climb down the firemen ladder even though there's a big gap from the top. :p

Kam there was once we were at the Singapore river n I walked in front both hubby n shaun behind . After that I turned bc saw hubby only without the boy. Immediate reaction , shocked. Many ppl walking behind us, but where's the little guy? First time felt so scared n ran to look for him. Found him standing beside the river . Phew!!! Luckily we were in Sg!!

Malaysia u feel so insecure meh? I felt it was same leh

hi mummies w maid, may i check if you all actualli paid the maid loan upon collection of maid? or payment can b in installment/staggered?

2 weeks liao, i still havent collect my maid wrk permit and passport, is it normal?

pixie, i withhold $500 from maid loan n told agent i will pay at the 5th mths. then she told me the co is changing licensee n i mus issue a cheque to her personal name. i duntink it is right n also unsure if she will continue to give us svc n support after the co was bought over?

hav u settle ur maid off day issue? else i advise u quickly contact the agent if need to!

Last week was so hectic. Elliot settled in very well in his new school. No fuss no cry, 1st day went half day, 2nd day say dun wan go this sch, but still went in and stayed for fullday. This week started sch bus... hurray, now I get back more freedom!!! Hoho..

blackbatz
I am like you, usually dunno abt the test until my girl has taken it and brings it home ask me to sign. But her form teacher really good, every week sends a long email of updates. Wat the gals learn in the week for her subjects, the common mistakes, wat homework for the weekend, wat to to sign, wat's happening in the following week. She v on ah! hahaha...

Will you be taking unpaid leave after your ML over?

aqua
dun say liao, E "fan lian" with me coz she sent me sms last week to chase for the balance payment of $500, i didnt ack her sms. she say called me, i never rcv her missed calls; she say sent me invoice, on the day of sms, i only rcv the invoice in post box...
wah kao, super long sms to chase me machiam like loan shark. then oso chase my aunt to get my payment! now my aunt oso TL with us that we drag payment...
big drama over the weekend, i told her, pls dun chase me for the $$, i no rcv ur missed calls, invoice was received late, i will pay u the $500

u know whats her reply??

"no comments"

damn fiaking rude rite
when find maid, super nice, after maid delivered liao, super rude

Tongtong, that was scary! Because the river is just nearby and it can be dangerous. We still have to keep an eye somehow... My mum also kept telling me to keep close eye.

Pixie, at least ur maid is stable now, u wont need agent svc. My still new n reviewing her performance! My hb say we shld nt pay to her personalname , invade she took$ n later the socalled newco claim we still havnt pay!

Any one interested in this musical play for children: The Elves & the shoemaker.

http://www.itheatre.org/Elvesandtheshoemaker.html

I brought J to the previous one "The Gingerbread Man" and he likes it. so I am bringing him to this one. Venue at the Central National Library.

I am on the mailing list for iTheatre so they offer me a special price (I left my letter in office so cant indicate the price) which is cheaper than early bird discount..can start buying from 11 Aug.

verene
auntie mode on again; if you purchase with that special price, can buy on behalf of eg me and my son?
i dont mind bringing him to this play

Hi verene n pixie,
I am interested in the show too. I got the ocbc platinum card, so there is 25% discount. Per ticket is $24 for cat 1 n $21 for cat 2. Verene, is yes cheaper? If yes, can I tag along? Else I can help u gals buy the tickets too.

Pixie, Shannonbaby:

I can help buy the tickets. perhaps I will try to get them on Thurs to secure good seats. U interested in the Cat 1 or Cat 2 tickets? I am not sure if the credit card discounts apply for the special price &/or early bird price tickets. If yes, we can save more. cos if i compare the early price tickets with credit card discounts, it is cheaper than the special price on the mailing list.

Which day u interested in? and time?

We will be going on the 29 Oct Sat 7.30pm show...most prob...

hello mommies!

suddenly realised very long never pop by to read. Was jus reading one archive back and headache liao *lazy* Wahhh, now talking about schools already? Actually SG not very kiasu liao. HK even worse. I always tot Sg very kiasu, but at least, it's balloting, and everyone got fair chance. HK is all about interviewing. I think i said before right? Can u imagine there are actually educational centers that is blooming right now to target PRESCHOOLERS how to ace that interview??? Really want to pengsan ah. And biz is blooming, so i heard. The forums here were talking that this is due to parents wanting their kids to go to through train schools, or Ivy League universities, and the deduction is, to go to Ivy League Us, u need to have good results so must go good colleges, to go good colleges, must go good high school, then must go good primary schools, then it all boils down to good kindy! Hence the crazy interview concepts! Siao! Can u imagine if so happens ur child is cranky that day, there goes ur chance lo.

The ESF Schools here (English School Foundation) which is half subsidized by govt was originally set up to provide schooling for english speaking families who cannot enrol their children to chinese speaking schools. They have branches all over HK/Kowloon and same like Sg, the selection process is due to catchment area of residential address. But can u imagine, the demand is so strong now, some of my expat mom friends say even if they're in Category 1 (english being mother tongue), they dont even have the chance to interview! All FULL! So they have to fork out extra money to go to other intl schools!

As for me, i'm also headache cos not many schools offer strong mandarin programs. I dont want Rylee to enroll in local schools cos the english sucks. And i'm not inclined to put her in SIS (Spore INtl School in HK) cos i want to expose her to IB (Intl Bacclaureate system)

Anyway, enough on schools! Will see how.

Congrats to Verene for #2...paiseh 2nd trimester liao, then i know cos hardly come in here to read. Is it boy or girl this round?

Actually Malaysia and Singapore not as scary as Europe. I've got a fren here who's originally from Beijing, her hubby is a french guy. She said when she goes home to Beijing to visit her family, she's not as nervous as when she goes home to France/Europe to visit in-laws (she has stayed in France since teenage years) cos child abduction is most rampant in Europe! Esp mixed kids. And asian kids cos consider exotic looking! She said she herself has witnessed before 2 child abduction where the kids jus got grabbed and disappeared! So scary right? China always hearsay only, but she has never witnessed anything. So if ur planning to go Europe with your kids, be careful lo!