hello mommies!
suddenly realised very long never pop by to read. Was jus reading one archive back and headache liao *lazy* Wahhh, now talking about schools already? Actually SG not very kiasu liao. HK even worse. I always tot Sg very kiasu, but at least, it's balloting, and everyone got fair chance. HK is all about interviewing. I think i said before right? Can u imagine there are actually educational centers that is blooming right now to target PRESCHOOLERS how to ace that interview??? Really want to pengsan ah. And biz is blooming, so i heard. The forums here were talking that this is due to parents wanting their kids to go to through train schools, or Ivy League universities, and the deduction is, to go to Ivy League Us, u need to have good results so must go good colleges, to go good colleges, must go good high school, then must go good primary schools, then it all boils down to good kindy! Hence the crazy interview concepts! Siao! Can u imagine if so happens ur child is cranky that day, there goes ur chance lo.
The ESF Schools here (English School Foundation) which is half subsidized by govt was originally set up to provide schooling for english speaking families who cannot enrol their children to chinese speaking schools. They have branches all over HK/Kowloon and same like Sg, the selection process is due to catchment area of residential address. But can u imagine, the demand is so strong now, some of my expat mom friends say even if they're in Category 1 (english being mother tongue), they dont even have the chance to interview! All FULL! So they have to fork out extra money to go to other intl schools!
As for me, i'm also headache cos not many schools offer strong mandarin programs. I dont want Rylee to enroll in local schools cos the english sucks. And i'm not inclined to put her in SIS (Spore INtl School in HK) cos i want to expose her to IB (Intl Bacclaureate system)
Anyway, enough on schools! Will see how.
Congrats to Verene for #2...paiseh 2nd trimester liao, then i know cos hardly come in here to read. Is it boy or girl this round?
Actually Malaysia and Singapore not as scary as Europe. I've got a fren here who's originally from Beijing, her hubby is a french guy. She said when she goes home to Beijing to visit her family, she's not as nervous as when she goes home to France/Europe to visit in-laws (she has stayed in France since teenage years) cos child abduction is most rampant in Europe! Esp mixed kids. And asian kids cos consider exotic looking! She said she herself has witnessed before 2 child abduction where the kids jus got grabbed and disappeared! So scary right? China always hearsay only, but she has never witnessed anything. So if ur planning to go Europe with your kids, be careful lo!