(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

mon2nat,
u mean your #1 & #2 still suck thumb now when they sleep?

My boys since 2mths old till now still take pacifier to fall asleep for nap & bedtime
I hope i can wean them off the pacifier by this year. Hmmm...but how to wean off as in any best methods?? cos my boys will pester us (my PIL, my hb & myself) till we surrender
pester as in cry non-stop or find ways n means to make sure they WIN! faint

haiz...so sad...just heard my coll has lost her bb (fetus not healthy gotta abort)

Kam,
Agree with you totally. Zachary weaned off at 18 months cos PD was worried that his teeth might become crook. He went cold turkey for 1 week plus. Quite cruel..Cry, we give him so water from milk bottle to suck..

Pixel,
Those medicines can last for 6 months as long as it is not opened.

Steph,
Cut a tiny hole at the pacifier. "lao hong", they won't like. Tell them the if continue to eat pacifier, cannot speak properly. That's what my #1's teacher at Julia Gabriel told him. After class, he took off immediately and stopped sucking. He was 4 years old then.

Blackbatz,
really? those bottle medicines from PD/GP can last for 6mths but usually is not air-tight...the small plastic bottles were filled from big bottle type when the clinic order from manufacturer...i saw kidslink the staff DIY by pouring from big bottle to small bottle for cough medicines etc? If opened & i put in fridge, can last probably 1 year. Just like paracetamol in original glass bottle can last 1 year+ if kept in fridge after opened.

Just got a hfmd pamphlet from RaeAnne's cc yesterday, cases on the rise again? :p

Tong tong, agree that with rest, our bodies will recuperate with time.
But now as a mummy, rest is a luxury. Even though I am SAHM, also cannot rest if sick unless some one to bring my kids out of the house so that I can ko in peace. :p

Both my gals dun use pacifier, RA rejected totally but I didn't try for RL. She is a born thumb sucker, been trying to wean her off by tying up her sleeves (wear long sleeves for her) n wearing long socks for at least 6 mths, still work in progress. Once I out her in short sleeves, she will start sucking. Hiaz.

Thanks, Steph!!!
Nowadays, I dun have much time to trawl BP threads. Actually, I saw it online on US websites before, wanted to buy direct but didn't cos it says for 3 years old and above plus dun know how much shipping will be.

But this BP organiser's son is 17 months plus and the size of his hand look similar to RL's. Think I'll order one for RL then I dun have to put her in long sleeves anymore. She is always sweaty, hubby n MIL call her 小汗人. :p

Steph / blackbatz
#1 suck until 4 yr old. Doesn't suck so hard so teeth ok.
#2 suck thumb until nearly 3. We stopped when dentist said his teeth protruding Liao. I put the nail bite from pharmacy, stopped from day1 we put.
To stop elliot from running ard making noise, the maid n mil gave him his chow chow, let him suck often!!! I was angry when I found out.

Luvv,
Yup, no supplement for my kids. Supplement to me, is needed when you are lacking of it, it doens't help to boast immunity (doesn't make sense scientifically). Unless you have a medical history and doesn't eat well, it's very unlikely you don't have enough nutriets from your food and hence unlikely you really need supplement. That's my view.

Our food is not as healthy as tongtong's one and I have to admit I don't put much effort in it. I just try to give them a balanced diet, with fresh ingredient as much as possible and we don't take any canned food at all, processed food also at the minimum, no fast food. Lots of veg and fruits, less meat intake. I am okay to let them dine out, but I am particular in MSG. Drink a lot of water is another key. My mum is actually very surprised that HR eats so much veg, I told her before, but she didnd't really believe me until she sees it now. She is very happy cooking for HR and sees him finishes whatever she cooks :)

mom2nat,
My hubby also reminded me, 不要想太多!Do what's the best for the present moment, live at the present!

steph,
Where's that place? In Sg? Jurong East?

blackbatz / steph,
For the med we got from PD's clinic, there is an expiry date on it. Their PD said opened or unopened doens't really matter, it's more of how you store it and don't use after expiry date, usually 3-6 months, but there are med that cannot be kept, have to throw once opened.

kitsune,
Yes, HFMD is on the rise again. I heard from a fellow mummy that the cc her kids go to have coming to 20 cases!!

Steph, just scrolled up the BP thread & realise that the thumb guard costs USD$70!?!
Think hubby will baulk at that price. Cannot just buy liao, must ask him.

Maybe like Mom2nat said, use nailbite better (i bought for RA who bites her nails but didn't work for her) In the end, she weaned off herself cos she wants her fingers to be pretty. But nailbite can only use from 2 yrs onwards cos of the chemicals in the polish so dun think can apply for RL yet. :p

Kam, aiyoh, 20 cases, that means nearly half the CC got it liao. Hope RA's CC stays clean, ILs will faint if they got to handle 2 kids. :p

Today, MIL already lamenting that ex maid should have stayed on for another 2 years, then after that kids r 3 n 5, can sack her liao. wonder if it means she misses the maid. ;P

mon2nat & Chaye,
BINGO!!
I didn't know MBS got an indoor skating rink until i went there for lunch 3wks ago!
But the rink flooring is not made of ice but of some smooth coated marble/concrete flooring?

Mom2nat,
Elliot got habit to take his chow chow when he's on travel/outdoor or just when come to sleep time? Do u wash his chow chow regularly cos usually after wash, no more their smell & some kids make a big fuss?

Kam,
Jurong East entertainment centre used to have one ice skating rink but the complex already demolished 2 or 3 yrs ago & now a new shopping building (still renovating) is on its way!

kitsune,
yup the thumb guard not cheap, when i first saw the price tag, i was like...swallow saliva! Then again, the thumb guard looks bulky to me.

Re: Rise of HFMD
talking abt this...i gotta cross my fingers & toes & hope Z wont get it again! He has been medicine free for 3mths except for the vomit case due to indigestion of quail eggs!:p

Steph
My girl had 1 chow chow, so difficult to wash last time n v scared lost. When I tried to buy another, she din like cos the smell was created when they sucked n bit on it when bb... So.... I bot 3 for Elliot!!! Haha.... Later on bot 1 more, he c already tell me dun wan, cos v new!! Each cost me $25!!!

I oso just discovered the skating rink recently. The surface doesn't look n slippery. Looks difficult to slide.

Luvv, no supplement. But I take wheatgrass myself so will feed him too, so that's considered some kind of supplement too. Oh ya I also give him sea mineral sometimes when he has a lot of junk.

Pauline agree. Last few week when I was sick I was glad my mum was here that I could go to bed at 8 pm!! Ya if u dun have any help it's very hard for u to get enough rest

Health booklet: is the health assessment necessary for our kids to enter into school? Cuz I realized s missed his 2 to 3 assessment. N now he already 3.5

Tongtong,
I think health assessment is not a must...
I have not brought my girl to any assessment since birth...:p
Can any mummies confirmed?
I think most important in the health booklet is the vaccination schedule to ensure that your child has all the necessary protection.

Morning Steph!

Chaye no lah not star hahah good that the expert share some points with u in the show so ask u all mummies watch that programme oso can get some tips ....

yawn ... morning mummies...
steph I'm here.
I realise I hv been sleeping only for 5-6hours daily. I have been watching this TVB 读心神探 every night till 1am.

hi mummies, anyone got recommendation for gd confinement auntie and how much the auntie charge ?i may need one in aug coz mymil may nt be able to help and reali duno when my maid comes.

pixie: are u still selling or giving away ur old pigeon sterilizer?

Morning, everyone. Today, I asked my mil to pick RL from pg so that I can go for tuina later, hope it will help with my bad back aches. :p so lucky that today is also first day of Hokkaido fair at Tampines mall so can go for early lunch after tuina.

Tongtong, ya lor, even when i close my room door to sleep, one or both gals will bang on my door, how to sleep like that? -_-

Aqua, my cl is good n pro bf but your edd so close, I think she already has assignment. Most mummies book her after testing positive. ;)

Chaye, who is starring in that show? I need to learn Cantonese, my real estate team leaders always speak in cabto n I catch no ball. :p

kitsune, u hav side effec from ur accident har?
ya lor, dunno why my hb las min said he had slipped his mind n forgot to inform mil to help during my confinement. so she may nt be able to help coz she is bbsit another kid now

Chaye that show is nice ... heee I finished it le .... oh ya dun watch 洪武三十二 not nice ... waste my time watching tat haha

Aqua, ya lor, it gets worse when i need to bend down n prepare ingredients or cook n when i need to carry RL. the dr n physio told me not to exert but how to do that when i need to take care of the kids so at night it gets really bad, either inask my hubby to help me massage (but he doesn't know how) or I apply yoko yoko. Nowadays, once i say i got back pain, RA will rush to get my yoko yoko. I think it is going to be a chronic problem. But I am only in my 30s, hiaz...

pauline
ya watching cantonese drama is a good way to learn but make sure your subtitle is on. The main cast are Bowie Lam & Bosco Wong.

QQ
dont intend to watch tat 洪武三十二. What else is nice har ? I'm finishing this current series v soon.

kitsune, mebe u shld try tuina or acpunture? can try make some time once or twice a week? u r still young, bes to cure it n nt worsen it.

kitsune,
If you don't mind a bit old series, I can post you one, I don't remember the title though, you want? Quite okay show.

ya, agree with aqua, acupuncture may help your pain.

QQ,
I wanted to watch but forgot leh. Can you remind us here every week, hehe :)

oh QQ
I just finished 鱼跃在花见 quite nice also. That 点解阿sir系阿sir also nice ? ok I go rent next

ok have applied leave for Monday !

Intend to bring kids to Polliwogs. Found on their website that they have this promo.

OCBC Platinum Mastercard Promotion

a) 1-for-1 entry on selected weekdays*

b) S$50 discount on standard party packages

*1-for-1 entry is valid on Mon to Wed, excluding eve of and public holidays. Offer is valid from now till 31 Dec 2011. Other terms and conditions may apply.

But too bad we do not have ocbc mastercard lor.

May I ask those who has been to Polliwogs how to get there. We take taxi and how to tell driver har ?

Chaye,
Can tell the taxi drive to go to where the Burger King is, or the Long Beach Restaurant, or the Waraku.

Go SAM lah. Much better and FREE! Your gal already primary, still like Polliwogs? Won't that be a bit boring for her age?

kam
my gal loves all these activities de. whereas T is the timid one. He dare not even jump on those bouncy leh. So if I go polliwogs is more for my #1. SAM really good har ? hehehe

Kam ok ok ... I will remind u all ...

Chaye I love Hokkaido so beautiful!!! That Sir show funny lah hahaha and I am watching Jacky on 30 aug .... heehee last day!

Polliwogs is at Burgerking there? I thought is Big Splash there :p