(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Prataqueen, both my big slow cooker n my tiger thermal pot have been in cold storage since I bought a pressure cooker pot. but the endo pressure pot cover getting loose after frequent handling by ex maid. :p

Kam, congrats, can save a lot of pd medical bills.
I will love it even better if my kids do not fall sick for 1 whole year though. Trying to give them more manuka honey n vit c, hock hwa medicated powder also seemed to help when they were a bit sick last week.

kitsune, i heard of pressure cooker too but have not seen one in use. noob cook question - does it use electricity? what's the advantage over thermal pot?

Prataqueen, pressure cooker doesn't use electricity, just close the cover, put on the stove for 10-15 mins using high heat until the button on cover pops up then, turn down to low- medium heat for 30 mins if using pork rib soup or bak ku teh. If herbal chicken soup, another 20 mins should do. One thing to note is that during cooking, cover is always closed until end of cooking process. I love it cos the meat is so soft, it falls off the bones.
I tried using tanyu claypot, slow cooker, thermal pot but none can make the meat as soft unless boil for 1.5-2hrs. :p for beginners, the endo one is good enough, less than $100 during isetan private sale, the wmf usually $299 for 1 set of 2 pots.

i cannot remember if xandall has been sick for the past 1 year or not......errrr bad memory leh!!!!

the only one i remember was the weird swelling on the hands.....which in the end i did not gave him the prescribed antibiotics

but i think x1 havent been sick for a long long time....just a "cold" cough that clears up in 2 days kind and runny nose ok the next day kind?

i oso lazy to medicate. and i dont wish to medicate too

kitsune,
Thanks! To me, falling sick or getting infected is not a bad thing, that's what they HAVE to go through to build up their immunity (without the infection, their body won't make new antibodies). As long as they recover fast and won't affect their daily activities, that's perfectly okay for me :)

Thanks kitsune. I invested close to $300 on this tiger thermal pot. If I switch to pressure cooker like bo hua.

Cos I usually cook in advance for dinner, so the thermal pot suits my purpose & keeps the contents hot inside while extracting the flavors. Can pressure cooker keep contents hot too for 12 hours?

Realized that cooking soup isn’t cheap. 1 sakura chicken (no antibiotics) + 500g pork + 2 slabs of beef for 5 days of soup base costs $20. That isn’t including the other ingredients.

Wanna share with you all that I am currently shooting a programme How to Be A Super Parent with Channel News Asia and today is the 1st episode topic is about:

Is pre-natal bonding effective? Should you avoid any foods during pregnancy? And what if the mother develops gestational diabetes during her second trimester of pregnancy?

I am on the 8th episode which will be shown on 3rd August

Kam and Steph the programme is at 830pm .... today is not me is another person hahaha ours is on 3rd Aug ... just that wanna share with u all abt this programme might help us to get some tips for our parenting hood

Kam, I know you r a naturalist n a super mum so dun mind the inconvenience of looking after sick kids. ;) For me, i think no urgency for them to fall sick n gain antibodies now. I rather they fall sick when they r older n can take care of themselves better. Cos now they r still young, can't vocalize their needs, refuse to take med/injections, or get sent to hosp if they got high fever, infection etc. Children suffer, parents also suffer. :p

Prataqueen, yup mine was $200+ too. No, pressure cooker cannot keep hot for 12 hrs but u can still transfer the soup to thermal pot to keep warm. One of my ex colleagues buy those electricity power cut off/start timer plugs from DIY shop, in the morning they just boil the ingredients first, pop into slow cooker then 'program' the slow cooker to start cooking a few hours before they reach home from work. Hot n piping soup when they r home.

Qq, long time no see u in forum, so that's what you were busy with. Congrats! Tong tong going to be 小童星,n you a 星妈。hee. ;) What is the theme of your episode?

krystle I have a frd pass my contact to them and they called me up and asked me which question I like so i choose Bonding with child heehee ....
ok will remind u all but is good that u all can catch the whole programme actually might help too

Qq, that's nice, nowadays, hardly any bonding with the kids cos I am either busy cooking or cleaning up. :p next mon is school hols, thinking of asking hubby to bring us out for family day. ;)

Btw, saw email from mom2nat n babe, is there another duck tour being organized? Anyone keen to go for kids cooking or baking class as a playdate? I saw it at bps http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/5632531.html?1309327313 n also at nex shopping centre. Prefer to have the mess elsewhere than my own house plus I can't bake lar. :p sat late afternoon is good for me.

kitsune,
What day is next mon? Why school holiday?

I find the baking class very ex leh, can do at home kinda free. Ya, can be very messy, but if you take that as part of the fun, then won't feel too bad.

The ducktour thing is a miscomm lah. Don't know why mom2nat suddenly decided to reply to the old e-mail :)

Oh is youth Day next mon ... correct me if I am wrong but dunno will TT have tat ....

I am ok with the baking class idea always wanna let TT have hands on on that ...

The duck tour is 2010 mail ... i was shockes to see pris reply also .... cos I remember that is last year event

Kam, next mon is school hol in lieu of youth day. RA's Cc still operate though cos I asked the teacher this morning.

Hehe, I know I can't bake lar plus those I have r instant cake mixes nit those start from scratch type.

I thought mom2nat's email said she missed the last round (Oct 2010) so she is asking if anyone is keen? :p

Paisey, I din c the date. I dunno y the email came up to the top of my inbox, so I tot is the most current. Using iPhone I oso can't c full view. Hee... So sorry for the mis com!!!

I still told hb, 1st oct GG duck tour, then I say how come plan so early!! Haha...

Mom2nat, QQ, me, pixie n a few feb08 mummies r having playdate for 'what a noisy zoo' children play on 22 Oct (sat). You can still buy tics n join us. ;)

Besides QQ, anyone keen on kids baking class? If got, maybe I can pm the organizer to ask if can give better rates if we organize n go as a group. ;)

Kitsune
I bot tix for 11am show. Wat time u GG?

QQ
It's quite funny cos the email sort of woke some mommies up & responded! Hee... Maybe we can organize one. Cos I missed the previous one.

Prata queen
I agree cooking soup not cheap. Imagine the ingredients like dried scallops n oysters, red dates, red seeds. Lotus roots, radish, blah blah.... Yest I cooked a fresh chicken in soup, $8, think next time I buy frozen ones $5+ have Liao! Kampong chic $11 here.

I used to plan my menu for the wk, now take for granted market nearby, so buy daily. But v tiring to think n buy. Really run out of ideas oso...
Hb asked me " how come u buy do many recipe books but everyday I eat the sane things"!!!

kitsune / QQ,
There is a deal on Today's Motherhood for ice-cream classes, if you are keen - http://www.todaysmotherhood.com/deals/?cid=7&id=33

I am not interested to join classes. Jio me if you plan for other type of gathering.

mom2nat,
I personally quite enjoyed the duck tour, but I don't think I want to get on it again. Not sure about others.

Any other idea for a gathering? It will be fun to see the kids play together. Free one like a picnic at a park?

Kam
I like polliwogs. But need to pay la. I like cos got place to sit n i dun need to climb tog cos the playground not too high like explorer kids. Anyone keen? But need to go v early to chop seats.

Kam, I saw that deal but it is for 4 n above. ;)

How about picnic at east coast park? I have been wanting to do that too but think got to organise potluck n some activities for the kids, if not everyone run off doing their own things, defeats the point of a play date. :p

Mom2nat, I like polliwogs too ESP they have cafe so can settle lunch there too.

mom2nat,
I used to like Polliwogs. But after going for a few times, even HR got bored of it liao, the last time he went, think a few months ago, he asked to leave before the 2 hours was up.

kitsune,
Okay what, our toddlers are 3.5 years already. As long as they are able to follow instruction, should be okay.

Picnic at ECP sounds good to me! Ya, I agree, must have someone to plan something for the kids to do.

But food at Polliwogs are ex and not nice. HR ate one mouthfull of their spaghetti and rejected totally :p

Prata queen
Here as in the market downstairs my place. Realise wet mkt more exp than ntuc!

Kitsune/kam
Oh I tabao macs for myself to eat while waiting. Luckily the staffs din chase me off!

I had picnic at ECP last wk. But the sand v dirty. Usually we go v early n leave by 10am cos the sun is up.

Kam u made my day! Hehe. Glad that somebody agrees to my method , lol.

Pauline, actually it's better to start early or rather building a goOd foundation for them. This can avoid them from getting sick often later when they grow up ma.

I'm also lazy to medicate kind but will medicate when it seems serious to me. Hubby is the one who will ask why i didn't give medicine when he sees runny nose, hear cough etc..lolz..i'm sort of in between...

Food Festival @ takashimaya
Thu 30 Jun to Sun 10 Jul

Getting ready for an Asian surprise of food glorious food! With a multitude of dishes, sweets and snacks from Korea, Taiwan, and Hong Kong. Plus, a dedicated zone for all things Japanese. So work your appetite down to Takashimaya today. And satiate your cravings!

Kam, too bad you are not the organiser lor. I find that for a lot of activities whether CC organised or enrichment centres, 4 years old is always the minimum. When I ask about 3 yr plus, they always say too young to follow instructions, attention span not there, not ready etc. Think they dun want the young kids to slow down the progress of the class or worse throw tantrums and cry. :p

Tongtong, I was sickly as a child but still sickly as an adult. Don't think all the childhood illnesses helped leh. :p But I do believe that eating healthily, more fruits, more veg, less heaty stuff, more exercise, dressing right for weather conditions will help prevent a person from falling sick easily.

Mom2nat, we are going for the 11am show too!
Er, actually my hubby doesn't like ECP too, he thinks too crowded n very dirty. He prefers Pasir Ris Park but I find that amenities there very limited. Cos no fast food, no hawker centre unless walk over to Downtown East, if not only a few bike kiosks and toilets, 1 seafood restaurant. :p Anyone been to Punggol waterfront? Anything good there?

picnic sounds great .... let me know if u all planning one ... so I can arrange a time but Sun preferred cos TT have enrichment classes on sat

Just wanna share. I did lots of studies on healthcare n I realized that our body is so amazing that they can self heal . U know when the animals are sick , they dun eat. They just hibernate or rather they will find a quiet place n sleep n sleep n sleep. After few days they will come out healthy again. Animals are more clever than human indeed. I m not saying that we shouldn't see the doc, we need them to do surgery or ops. But if ur body is detoxing, listen to your body n dun suppress them, just let ur body expel whatever unwanted stuff naturally.

Last month my whole department staff fell sick one after another . I had fully eliminated any waste in the body. But they are still coughing away after taken medicine. This further strengthens my belief that our body is able to function properly without any intervention. The best is to fast like the animals , if not possible, take mc n rest n lOts of fluid.

I know it's hard for adult to follow this since our body is so Polluted already from our bad eating habits n stress n etc, but the kids aren't. They r pure n clean , except the bad genes inherited from parents, their body definitely has the energy to do the work, provided parents are clOsely monitoring their condition.

Pls read up more before u agree to what I have shared above.

morning ladies.

wow QQ u r going to be a star ! u better remind us on the actual day of screening

I suspect all schools got affected by Monday's holiday. My #1 pri sch and T's cc also not opening on Monday. I'm contemplating to take leave....

ahhh whats with monday's holiday? blur....my cc no close leh

btw, x1 is at home today...sianz
yest cc called n say got rashes on the back...i say just give him lots of water, cool down his body...then 3pm called say got somemore, scared hfmd, put him in principal room liao

so rushed back home brought him to gp, gp say most likely not, gave him 2 days mc to monitor at home....

now working from home...me trying wfh and with 2 kids. only diff from krystle is ive got a maid to help out

actually yest a bit pissed at my mil. she brought x1 to see doc. saw him coughing and having abit of runny nose, go n ask doc to prescribe us cough and nose medicine.
i never say we DONT have meds at home
i never say im going to give those meds to my son
my company claim only goes to max $30
why act smart n ask doc for meds? arrgggg

i told hb upfront those meds buy n throw one. cfm no eat
and x1 today no more runny nose. no more coughing. how??!!

fux fux i hate ppl like that

tongtong,
I myself is one who don't take med and are the one who stay strong when everyone at work was down :) I was not confident enough to do it on our children until I read and learned more about it, and when I gained enough experience to know how to monitor the kids.

pixie,
HFMD meaning only got rashes on hand food and mouth lah. Most teachers are too over loh, how to link rashes on the body to HFMD????

I have heard of lots of rashes apprearing on the body recently. Think it could be another type of virus attacking. I received a letter from HR's cc, giving warning to parents from the Ministry about an outbreak of Scarlet fever (hope I remember the name correctly) in HK and that took away the life of 2 children in HK. One of the symptoms is rashes breakout when having fever (unlike Roseala whereby rashes breakout after fever subsided).

i oso dunno the occasion on monday leh

kam
my colleague told me her most recent outbreak of hfmd of her son, only buttocks kena. so she dismissed it and think nappy rash. but didnt go off and cc say go to gp n check to cfm no hfmd lor...
the doc saw the spots in the throat, and cfm it as hfmd leh. those spots in the throat we cant see one de...to us, we think its not hfmd mah since only buttocks kena

so, yes, its appearing on other places than hand, foot, mouth liao

mom2nat / Pixie,
Monday is in-lieu of Youth Day. So schools and some ccs not open.

pixie,
Really??? Hmmm, let me read more.....

yes, nowadays, hfmd is very different. sometimes it only appears in throat, not in hand, foot, or lip. at times, it appears on arms. thus very difficult to spot it..

Pixie,

Taken from the MOH website - Parents should consult a doctor early if their child has fever, mouth ulcers and rashes on the palms, soles or buttocks.

Apparently rashes can appear on buttocks (I didn't know that) but none has reported on the body. HR's teachers ask the children to open their mouth to check for mouth/throat ulcer every morning. Apparently mouth/throat ulcer is the most common symptoms.

kam
aiyah x1 had it on his back. just too cautious cc and gp lah. now he is fumbling with my spare mouse and zooming it around the house like a car, while im here typing n working
>.<|||

mom2nat
never asked, dun give. one lesser bad habit to break in future hor

my gal i give her she takes but sometimes she reject. she prefers my nipples. i rather break tutu habit than nipple habbit lor imho

Pixie
Cos I can c he WANs to suck on something, but when I offer breasts, after a short while he cries. Then mil n maid having hard time patting him to bed, he doesn't wan to be carried lying down way.

mom2nat,
We forced HR to take pacifier to stop him from crying (he was not breastfed). He refused but eventually accepted and it really did help to minimise his crying. He auto weaned off at 4 months.

For XY, I also forced her to take pacifier when she wanted to use me (or my nipple) as human pacifier. She only started taking about about 3 months, for her to fall asleep, ie, before nap and bedtime. She is still taking it now at 22 months, but strictly before bed only.

In my opinion, it's okay to give if you think the pacifier helps to solve a "problem", but CANNOT let them use it as comfort sucking anytime and anywhere, as in have to limit when they can have it. There is one girl at HR cc, about 2.5 years already and still must have pacifier every single minute, takes it out she cries like mad, her parents and teachers all headache don't know how to wean her.

tong tong / kam,
that means u don't give your kids supplements and only healthy food? seldom eat out?

I'm the most healthy person at home i think *touchwood* even my maid always complain here pain there pain...

Kam
Yah lor, I dun like to c kids sucking all day long. Even for my #1 &amp;#2, they dunno why naturally wanna suck thumb. But only do when I give their "chow chow", at nap/bedtime.

I am skeptical cos I tried giving the older 2 n end up they rejected the bottle, thinking it is the pacifier again. Sigh... Dunno wan to give or not. Though I bot Liao!!! Haha...