(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

i started formal piano classes when i was 5. after 3 yrs, my mum sat me down and ask me whether i seriously enjoyed piano. if i did then i hv to continue all the way. if i did not then no pt to continue. rather than struggle all the way or drop out halfway.
i chose to continue so i went all the way.

i think that's a pretty good method. 5 is prob the earliest when the kiddos can understand and then after a few yrs of exposure, they'll be older and then ask them whether they are truly interested and want to continue or not.

congrats to aqua for having a girl.

Pixie, do not rush into anything. Think for your kids. Jia You ba !

Kam/Krystle
I started my #1 piano lesson when she is 4plus and until now. It's been 4yrs and she is taking her grade 1 in May this year. I can tell that she has no interest in piano or music and I intend to stop her after her Grade 1 exam. My hubby says it's a waste if we just stop her after the exam. He insist to buy a piano after she pass her exam wor. I told him it will become a white elephant. :p

Never let Raeanne go to school today since she is sick. She is so happy to stay home. Duh...

Thanks Tongtong, Yvonne, Kam, krystle, grumpus, chaye for sharing.

Kam, RA only answers yes to one or two of your questions. :p actually RA's class is only music appreciation but she doesn't show enthusiasm in class (in fact she keeps saying she doesn't want to go for class) but when i practise the songs with her at home, n bring out the 'pots n pans' to make music, she does join in. And she can remember the songs but she can't do the accompanying movements fast enough. Hubby thinks she has no musical flair (like me). :p her cc has pianica lessons from k1 so If hubby is right, cc pianica will be enough. :p

Actually my main grouse with music lessons is like you. Cos our sat (2-4pm) n Sun afternoons (1-3pm) are already burnt by hubby's tuition. RA's music class is at 12noon so it is very restrictive, we can't go out in the mornings for a outing or picnic n she is grouchy by the time she gets home. But her textbooks r very exp, $100+ n will last for 1 yr so I dun know if I should just give up so soon. :p

Aqua,

Congrats for having a gal! When r u due?..

RE: Enrichment class
I am too lazy to bring the kids for any enrichment class during weekends as I want to spend time with them esp since we are so busy with work during weekdays. But my gal will attend enrichment class in childcare. She chooses which enrichment class she wants to attend. ok, she chooses everything in the list and we decided to enrol her in everything she has choosen, swimming, music, eng and chinese speech n drama and phonics class. I must say i can really see that my gal is interesed in everything she has choosen. she teaches me music notes at home although i still know nothing abt what she learn in music class, try to use what she learn in phonics to read too.

wow shannonbaby
your cc is so good ! full of enrichment ! mine only has eng speech & drama and phonics lor. How I wish they have swimming and music too. So I need not bring T to learn :p Are these come with a cost ?

chaye,

of cos it comes with a cost. But my gal really love to learn or rather, she enjoys attending class and learning. It's amazing that she remember everything she learn in all the classes.

Also I am too busy to bring my gal for enrichment class on weekends or rather i tried but we are always rushing or late for class. it becomes too stressful for my hb n i. Nw we can truly enjoy our weekends without rushing for enrichment class.

Shannonbaby
Ya my speech & drama also come with a cost. Phonics is integrated into their daily curriculum. It's good that your gal loves all these enrichment and enjoying it.

Chaye, Raeanne's cc is also the same, phonics is part of curriculum but speech n drama must pay extra but everything starts from nursery class onwards. They used to have swimming as enrichment but stopped due to lack of demand. For pre nursery classes, only enrichment is gym classes for full day students. :p

Any mummies know how can I claim my VAT refund if i buy the items in Paris but will be coming back to singapore from amsterdam?

thanks in advance.

Shannonbaby,
Everywhere tat u shop n tat u intend to claim vat, u will need to tell the store at the point of purchase so that they can provide u the necessary forms etc. U collect all of them n submit them at the last departure airport. As long as still within EU.

Shannonbaby,
As per what Grumpus advised is correct, get the VAT forms attached with receipts and submit at last departure airport. You can claim back in cash or credit card. But credit card can take up to 1 month or more....

If you claim over at the VAT refund counter at the airport, it may be better for you not to check in your purchase as officers may demand to see your purchase when processing the refund.

So angry that I need to vent. Just came back from bringing Raeanne to GP. While collecting the med, noticed that her phlegm med (mucuslovan) has changed colour from pink to colorless so I commented to the clinic assistants. Then they commented that it has always been colorless n said I made a mistake. Luckily I brought along the med (cos I have been self medicating her for 2 days). And then the truth was revealed, they have wrongly labelled the pink med (given in feb) as mucuslovan n given me the wrong med. The staff were defensive so I asked to see the dr instead. He kept laughing but after I got more agitated n told him medication error is very serious cos the patient can have severe allergy reaction then he said sorry n that he will speak to his full time staff, who was the one who gave the wrong med. Raeanne had gotten allergic reactions twice since seeing this GP 2 yes ago. And now I wonder if it is diet wrongly labelled med. I feel like boycotting him altogether but Raeanne likes this dr. Am I being too rash? Will any of the mummies here still go to the same dr after such experience?

Mom2nat, dun think u will ever visit the clinic cos it is not near to tampines central nor pasir ris. If u r still keen to know, read my blog. I will post the full details there. :p

So, if the same thing happened to you, will u still go to the same gp? Actually the gp is quite nice n friendly with kids but maybe because he is too nice n doesn't take things seriously, his staff take advantage of him.

Kitsune
I dunno if I will still c him. Really depends on the experience thru the yrs n his credibility.

Regarding ur enrichment qns. For #1, I had more time more $... so send this send tat. Oso to pass time. For E, time n $ tighter, so din send. I learnt piano when young, but dreaded it. Cos my mom was working, ah ma sends. My mom only nags why I waste her $, dun practice.., blah... I'd rather she spent more quality n loving time w me. I liked ballet but my mom stop my classes, which I dare not protest. I m afraid of GG I to tat footsteps. I try hard not to pressurise my kids. But just let them enjoy the classes, if dun enjoy then stop.

Ballet I let my gal

Ballet I let her learn cos she kept jumping ard at home! So I tot cc downstairs only, learn lor. They started with using skipping rope, which she was so trilled abt.

Now I no energy to bother wat exposure ls so they learn more n so on. They dun fight at home I happy Liao!!!

Mom2nat, i see, i'm still searching for a good Gp nearby. The two we see are the GPs near MIL ie. hubby's old home. The one with hopeless clinic assistants is friendly but super long queue, whereas the other GP is very fast, but not very friendly. Usually, we bring the kids to the friendly GP while the adults see the unfriendly one. But both require at least 2 visits before we recover cos med always not enough or not strong enough. :p

I wanted to let RaeAnne try ballet too though hubby objects cos he said they'll walk differently after learning ballet. When I went to enquire, the nearby CC only starts from 4 years old so RaeAnne can't try yet. Anyway, she is too shy and doesn't want to go for class unaccompanied. :/

kitsune,
I will stop seeing such a GP. I don't think it's funny at all so the GP shouldn't be laughing especially when the patient is a child. The medication could have been too strong for her and you don't even know what's that med meant for. I also have a hard time finding a good and reliable GP in my area so I still bring B to sengkang to see his PD...more expensive but I can have piece of mind and the medication is more suitable for kids. If this happened to me, I will also give the GP and his assistants a hard time, so I don't think you overreacted.

kitsune,
That's a very serious incident! What was he laughing about??? If I were you, I will definitely not going back to him. And I would pursue this further, to report it to the whatever authority. Did he tell you what's the wrong med that RA has been taken?

Kitsune,
You are definitely not over-reacting! This is a typical medical miss and it can lead to serious issues to your girl's health.
Like what Kam said, please check what is the wrong med that RA has taken.
I think you should stop going to this GP. Very irresponsible of him and his staff. I feel you should also report to the necessary authority. Who knows if this is the only insolated incident? Same thing may had happened to another patient as well, or in the future...

Mylife,
Welcome back! Hope you have time to enjoy some good durians before going back.

Kitsune,
If this were happen to us, I am very sure my hub will react to it fiercely. Like krystle said, it's for the benefit of others too, not many people are as careful/mindful as you to know the med. Labelling wrong med is such an unforgiveable mistake, IMO. Plus their reaction/ attitude was so irresponsible!

Thanks, mummies. I feel better after reading your posts.

Kam, he just keeps going heh, heh, heh. I dun know if he was laughing cos he was nervous or Bo chap. And no, he has no idea what med it is. But he mentioned rhinathiol is also pink In colour. :p

My hubby thinks if write forum letter, Singapore medical council will investigate but I told him they will only investigate if we lodge complaint directly with them. But problem is dispensing error is done by the clinic staff who r neither pharmacists nor nurses so there r no profesional board to control them. :/

mandy,
Oh really? She charges higher now??? Did you tell her you got her contact through me?

When we were at HK, it's still at 15-18C. But I felt very comfortable leh, I just went out in t-shirt, only put on the jacket after sunset. HR also refused to put on jacket. People looked at us as we were aliens :) Only 1 day we needed jacket cos it's a raining day.

kam.. cam share ur pt contact to.. my one MIA.. sianz.. now i got no one to iron my hb's clothes.. i hate ironing..

Kitsune.. i will create a big fuss at the clinic.. its a big matter.. i hope the doc is not laughing, if he really is, i will lodge a complaint, if there is nobody to monitor the clinic assistants, i think the doc should investigate given that this is such a grave matter..I will not go back to him again!

Re: Enrichment
Paulne.. gwen also dun wnat to go for the ballet class unaccompanied.., i wanted to send her there just for fun since the cc is opp my hse but i guess she will not find it fun since she doesnt wanna go in.. will just wait till she is more mature before letting her pick up all the "skills" cca.

How is everyone?

My pd nurse jus called on wed to inform to bring my bb girl for ultrascan and xray as she gotten UTI when she was 3 wks old. Now trying to seek 2nd opiniOn whether can skip such test as nurse told me must put a plasic thing thru her genital parts to do the test for xray...makin me so worrying n couldn't sleep well past few nights...she also said that if dun chk now and later when she older like when adult then too late...

Then hb so busy with work and left decision to me...

Hi shannonbaby, could u share more info as how it is done? Any side effect on the procedures? Btw when ur bb had UTI, was he havin fever? Heard need to sedate them before doing the scan and xray?

Tat time my pd checked was becuz bb girl jaundice went up at 3wkz old, so she tested for urine to check UTI...

naf,

my son got UTI 3 times before he turns 4 months old. so we went for the scan. Yes, he has fever each time he got UTI. he took urine test, send for test, took ultasound for liver also...finally is the scan. No side effect. parents cannot go into the scanning room. my boy didnt cry at all, and it is very fast. they also didnt sedate him. I did it in Mount elizabeth. the nurse is very experienced and nice.

Hi shannonbaby

Thank you for your reply. How is ur boy now aft the ultrascan and xray? What does it show and what causes the UTI? Do they have to keep doing the ultrascan and xray each time get UTI as heard girls r more prone to UTI.

Btw did Ur pd advise to do the ultrascan and xray aft the first time he had UTI or aft 3times? Jus worried abt the xray part as need to put the plastic thing into her via genital parts that puts me off and earlier when bb was cleared of the UTI aft 1wk antibiotics. urine result was cleared. Now 3 months ltr, urine test again showed fine. So duno y doc told nurse got to do this when she didn't tell me when brought her for jab last month...

Btw how much u pay for the scan n xray at my E? Is it ard $500?

hi naf, shannonbaby,

my son too! got it 5 months.

now i'm at office so can't elaborate. Will try to find time to pop in on Sat to share.

Pixiepixel -*hugs* to u...

Kitsune, dun think u over react... It is serious matter esp when comes to medication. I am also sort of upset with my pd in tampines regarding my girl UTI and the ultrascan xray thing as she didn't explain to me before and I remember when bb went for jab at 5wks old...I asked her and she said urine test showed fine after medication so to do another urine test again 2 months later to ensure totally gone...now looking around for another pd to seek 2nd opinion too.

Naf,
my elder girl had UTI once when she was ard 1 yr old. Went for US only no scan. That was only to ensure it didn't affect the kidney cos 1 round of antibiotics already cleared the UTI. Now my c2 is also having UTI, she's 6 months old now. Currently under the course of antibiotics, going for review next week.

Thanks Genice, naf. I think we will definitely try the other gp out the next time. If she likes him, then we will switch.

Naf, hope your gal gets well soon. Can understand, it is so worrying for us when the littles ones have to go through invasive tests. I already feel so guilty when I think of us feeding Raeanne the wrong med for the last few days n in a way failed to protect her. Given a choice, we rather suffer ourselves.

My son had UTI when he was 5 months old and was hospitalised at KKH for 4 days where antibiotics was given intravenously and subsequent to discharge, oral antibiotics 3x/day for total of 14 days, including the 4 days at KKH.

What was shocking is that we were told to continue the course of AB at a reduced dosage of 1x/day until he is 1 yo! I was very reluctant to do this but KKH said the risk of kidney scarring is too great to take the risk if he were to get UTI another time (super touchwood).

6 wks after the UTI in Mar 11, we were scheduled to return for an ultrasound scan which showed kidneys are normal. We were told to return 4 months from infection in June 11, to do a DMSA. DMSA involves injecting isotopes into him and doing an x-ray to see how much is absorbed by the kidneys. They will then report on the percentage of kidneys that is functioning.

If DMSA is ok, there is no need to do a MCU.

MCU is invasive. As Naf shared, a tube has to be inserted into their private parts & a colored dye will be injected to see its flow & if there is reflux.

In my opinion, MCU is conclusive. DMSA is not. If kidneys are ok now after the UTI infection, it does not mean everything is ok structurally – we can only be sure of this after MCU.

Of course i do not want my son to undergo the MCU. The husband is very against it as well.

Can mommies share the treatment plan/process at other hospitals, and if your hospital insists on the daily dose of antibiotics till 1 yo? I can’t help but feel that KKH is overly conservative.

I asked Dr Ho of baby and child before but she said she wouldn't interfere in KKH's treatment plan. I am all for switching to another hospital.

Prata_queen, may I know how did u find out ur boy has UTI? Also did KKH said that these tests are a must do thing?

Dr Ho didn't explain anything to me, it was one of the nurse and said it is a must do thing, can put on hold for a while but 2 months later still got to do. My bb was only given oral Antibotics for 1 wk by Dr Ho and also didn't tell me much how
did she get infected or what is the bacteria. I probably go
down to find Dr Ho to ask her explain more and then seek
2nd opinion as I google up and that these standard test are
recommended but up to parents to decide...risk still there as
kidneys may be affected. Also duno y Dr Ho advise to do both tests together though I read some people is only dothr ultrascan....

Have u thought of going to another pd and ask for their advice and dun tell them what kkh advice is? One of my fren advise me to do so when seeking for 2nd opinion.

My PD is from Raffles Hospital.
For me, she advised me to go for the MCU as my son got UTI 3 times in total, which is very rare for boys. But i didnt take the antibotics for 1 yr. She only give my son 2 weeks worth of antibotics.
I was referred to Mount Elizabeth for the MCU scan. And i remember i search the forum and did some research on it before agreeing (partly becoz my son got it 3 times, so my hb n i are very worried abt it)
My PD explained everything in details, including the procedure and why is there a need to do it. But I am so sorry as it happen almost 1 year again, so i cant remember much. We eventually opt for circumision for my boy at the advise of my PD and my boy no longer has UTI anymore.

Naf,
U can look for her if u want. My PD is Dr V Toh in Raffles Children Clinic (inside Raffles Hospital). very professional n details.

Hi to All Mummies,

Am looking for Enfagrow 1.8kg etc (Netherlands) bought from local stores, do let me know if you've any excess that you would like to clear off, would be keen to take all if the price's ok. =)

Pls PM me if you've any.

<font color="ff0000">Mummies, any PD to recommend??? My usual one is on leave...need one asap...my boy fever is on for 3 days liao, near all on the high side..haiz</font>

Dear mummies...

Have not been logging in here for a while cos there's still so many uncertainties in my unit. hiaz. super sian.. everyday come to work duno for what. No "home" yet. Time for lunch, we go, time for tea break we dont care and just go. Had some talks with other dept head and 1 wanted to take me but upon finding out my pay just told me right to my face tat is beyond their budget ! wakao ! Another dept says ok to take me and another uncertainty is my side may remain to have a smaller unit instead and I may need to stay behind to assist them. Sianz la...

It's as if this is not enuf to "fan" me. Few days ago heard news saying that terrorist threat to bomb Bali ! I've booked flights to Bali on 23 Apr and it's Good Friday cum long weekends for Ang Moh so most of them will want to relax at Bali. And these terrorist are targetting at ang moh lor. Super sianz.

Sorry I hv to download it over here.