(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Congrats mom2nat for ur smooth delivery! Sounded like a breeze!

Kitsune
Gynae broke water bag Liao she go back clinic. She won't know when I would deliver since I was 7cm. Can take 1-2 hrs oso leh. I used bed pan, cos took thigh injection, nurse worry I drowsy.
Though no epi but abt 5 min after water bag broke, bb's head was coming out!!

Yvonne
I think dun worry. Kids sometimes like repetitive actions. 3 yr old rather early to gauge isit ADHD. If u wan, can go to child psychologist.

Mom2nat, oic, my gynae last check was at 6cm then she left me with midwife n a top up of epidural. She came back when midwife call her that i'm 10cm dilated, so she came back to break my water bag cos the water bag didn't break on its own. After she broke it, I delivered in 2-3 pushes.

Yvonne, so far Raeanne doesn't do that but I thought the symptoms seem more like autism than ADHD at least from what I read online, http://autism.about.com/od/whatisautism/a/perseveration.htm. But like mom2nat said, best to check with child psychologist before worrying.

Hi Yvonne
Like wat Pauline said I think it's a sign of autism rather than ADHD. A nurse in polyclinic has told me before the signs of autism. It's looking at repetitive things or rotating objects. Doesnt mix well with friends and like to be alone. I'm also worry abt T cos he doesnt like to mix with his friends at cc. U can bring him to polyclinic to hv a chk first if u r concerned.

yvonne
does B really did all the 3 things u mentioned. I too agree with kitsune, those symptoms are more related to autism than adhd. I dont mean to alarm u but it's best to let a professional check him before deducing anything. I have a fren whose boy kept running around in classes and teachers suspected he's adhd. told my fren to have him checked, but turns out he's diagnosed with mild autism, more specifically, Asperger's Syndrome. Very mild. Something like "lives in his own world", so since then has gone thru occupational therapy ie teaching him to come out of his world, and now has got vast improvement. If detected early, LOTS can be done to help. Have him checked. Talk to ur PD what u told us.

Yvonne
agreed with the rest of the mummies. Should be autism instead of ADHD... My newphew in school kept staring at the ceiling fan for long periods, anti social, and is fascinated with doors. Eg mrt train doors, car doors. Super obsessed kind. My sis brought him to polyclinuc, get referral letter, went to kkh for assessment. Mild autism...after therapy now ok liao. Coz very mild mah, must quickly therapy one then can cure almost completely that's what we've been told

Kitsune
Mine from 7cm to bb coming out was abt 5 min. I tot waterbag burst so v intense pain. How I know head coming out n nurse held it from coming out for quite a while. Cos doc coming back. Now I think back, really scary, totally no time to think.

Yvonne
Does B talk a lot? Is he able to communicate with others?

mom2nat
urs is power birth story
how is the bfding so far? and bb looks like who?
when u discharging? ur wound....(if any),,,pain?

u take care leh

Aiyo my maid is sick leh. She complain of Nausea. Duno if she has vomitted or not. I worry is stomach flu later pass to kids how? She has been lying in bed since morning till now. My mum even gave her a bottle of essence of chix to drink. Wonder will it worsen the condition.

Thanks mummies for the replies. B does all the things I mentioned but he has no problems communicating with other people. In fact he's very talkative and loves to hug and kiss us. That's why I ruled out autism. He's not anti-social and he can't sit still, always running and jumping around, so I thought It could be ADHD.

Hi Yvonne,
For ADHD, child is talkative and cannot wait. does he socialise well in school? Most of the kids with ADHD are very impatient? Will talk very loudly to get teachers and parents attention? Will jostle to be the first in line at the playground? Does B behave in the same way when he plays with his toys (must be arranged straight line) in school? Get a referral from polyclinic and they will send you to Child Guidance Unit at KKH. If u can't wait, then ask PD to refer you to a private clinic for assessment?

Hi Mom2nat,
Wow! That's a powerful birth hor! I must salute you. Did u engage a confinement lady? Rest well.

Yvonne,
At one pt I suspected lexie might be mildly autistic cos she has very bad social skills. She would not make eye contact with strangers or even her teachers at the classes she goes to. And when they talk to her, she will not acknowledge them at all. Many times she seemed in a world of her own. But when I read all the autistic symptoms I decided she had some issues but was not autistic.
Anyway, she adapted to school quite well so I hv left it as it is. Maybe B is not autistic but if u hv concerns abt his behavior, best to seek professional advice.

blackbatz,
Yes, B is very talkative and always interrupts other people's conversations. He's very attention seeking and impatient too but is willing to wait in line provided it's not something that he really wants. I'm not sure if he plays that way in school but there's an upcoming parents & teachers meet in May so I'll find out more from his teachers. They mentioned he's very independent and has good self-help skills eg self-feeding, etc.

I intend to speak to his teachers first then consult his PD before going to a specialist for assessment. I know Thomson Paediatric Centre has a child development centre but still considering whether I should rush to seek professional advice now cos I know most PD would not want to make a diagnosis of ADHD at his age (I may be wrong).

grumpus,
I read the thread you mentioned but B definitely does not meet the criteria on speech delay and lack of social skills. The part about repetitive behaviour is what he does so it's confusing if there's a possibility he's "mildly autistic"? He also loves numbers. He can remember which buses goes where, which floor his grandparents and relatives lives on. One of my ex-colleagues' nephew has ADHD and he has a great interest in numbers as well that's why I thought B could have ADHD as well due to their similarities. Will monitor and talk to his teachers first.

yvonne
maybe he's VERY mildly autistic since he displays some but not all of the symptoms. My fren's boy is very intelligent (the one with Asperger's Syndrome). Can rem lots of things. Autistic kids are very intelligent...they jus live in own world. So need help to draw him out. Initially, i was also shocked and tot the diagnose could be wrong. Cos i tot he did look at me in the eye when talking to me. But then, my fren told me his case is VERY mild. She said he appeared to be "talking" to me cos i was responding to "his world" ie i was responding to what he wants to talk about.

But there's also a possibility that maybe B is jus being a kid. Cos sometimes i think becos of all these "specialists" in early childhood now, lots of kids are being diagnose earlier and earlier simply becos we now know more. And sometimes kids are being MISdiagnosed. In the States, there has been a HUGE hoo ha when a 3yo girl died overdosed from the adhd meds she was prescribed, so now "experts" have turned around and cautioned us not to diagnose a child before the age 6 or 7. having said tat, its natural for us parents to not worry so much...well, perhaps B is just being a child and he's genius/gifted kid. Have u consider that?
Sometimes, the very traits our child displays that irks /annoys/embarasses/anger us are the traits that makes him special/succeed when he grows up (talkative, perfectionist, etc)

whichever way, just rem NOT to LABEL him any way whether he's adhd, autistic or anything at all. So what if he is, right?

mylife,
I know wat you mean. B looks very normal to me most of the time but when he starts playing and getting angry over those small issues, I start to worry. Even if he is REALLY diagnosed with ADHD, I won't start him on any meds unless it's really necessary. I just want to find out ways of early intervention so we can understand him and help him to change.

The spree organizer which i ordered the leapfrog DVD from has gone MIA! SIANZ.....
before that she was super responsive and had already completed 3 batches.
on 2 mar she posted saying she will be away from 3-16mar and hv limited pc access.
on 14mar she posted that she had just got back from Tokyo, that she was stuck there due to the earthquake.
and since then, no response or posting from her at all.....
haiz....what can i do?

Pixie
My breasts starting to get engorged. But ducts a bit blocked like prev time. So need him to suck out.
So sleepy leh. It was so peaceful in the hosp, come home so warm and chaos with 2 kids ard. I discharged on Sun. Got 2 stitches.
Can I have the contact for the inhouse photographer who did your bb's photo? Is it exp?

Aqua
I think if the labour progressed fast, can consider no epi. If those draggy can't dilate kind ah, really a torture, like my 1st 2. The nurse who attended to me was v encouraging, very thankful to her oso.

Blackbatz
Thanks. Yes, got Cl. My house v crowded. Got maid, CL, mil, mom, us and kids!

Chaye
Maid ill really bo pian ah. Keep the kids away from her.

Mom2Nat,
Your delivery sounded like my #2 delivery. Fast and Furious, simply no time for epi. But it is a good thing right? Happy moo-ing! At least you got so many helpers around, relax while you can.

Grumpus,
Oh no! I hope your spree organizer will appear soon. But such thing is really hard to say. Got to depend on luck to meet a good spreeist. Not everyone is like Pixie and her sis. You try to get more info from other buyers to see if they get any response from her. If not, contact the moderators for help.

yvonne
Just read ur post abt hyperactive, I also have this concern abt this regarding Xavier, especially since my bro had it too, wasnt diagnose till he is 20 now and he kind of "rot" his life away now.

Only 2 Yes for ur questions:
1) He runs in circle if we are at the center, say dining table.
2) He lined up his toys in a line too, especially with his cars, sometimes will get frustrated when the table run out of space.. but no major tantrum.

Just went PD and she said that it is too early to diagnose him now. Sh said if X run around and does his own thing then ok, if he goes around disturb classmate when teacher is teaching then not good. Werid sia, so I just leave it for the time being.

grumpus,
Is the seller Bubuchan or someone else?

Grumpus, sorry to hear that. Hope you get the DVDs soon. :p I also lost $300+ due to the irresponsible tingkat supplier. Hiaz...

Pixie, I forgot to reply you, I bought the DVD set with flashcards cos it's more worth it. So far, Raeanne cannot remember the vowel sounds but consonants, she is better eg. she can remember mmmm for M.

Mom2nat,
congrats, have a good confinement and success to breastfeeding.

grumpus,
hope u get ur CDs soon.

kitsune,
after watching d DVDs, my boys start to say some of the consonants too. #2 will watch my lips when i said it to him. it was fun learning together with them hehe

Janbb,
had my 1st appointment at NSC last fri. saw consultant Mark Tang. The senior consultant who did urs is Chua Sze Hon. Just like to check did u get rid of ur pigmentation through laser treatment, if so, hw much did u pay? i was told it would cost like 200+ lor, so wondering if its worth it to go ahead, he gave me day n night creme to apply thou. any side effects after the laser treatment?

luca,
I juz went thru' my blog to check details cos my poor memory has failed me again. Yes, u r rite, I did my laser May last yr & was done by Dr Chua S H. The total cost was abt $200+ too. By rite, i shld be paying $300-400 cos was done by the senior. But the consultant told me it was $200+ during my 1st visit. During the actual laser appt, i asked the price again & was told that it will be done by the senior & rate varies quite a bit. Then i queried them why the rate was different as quoted by the previous consultant. Haha, so lucky in the end, that senior dr is very kind, he said juz charged me the rate that i was told earlier ;)

Result: I have 3 dark spots in total. The laser helped to remove the 2 smaller spots but only managed to lighten the darker one. That time, i was told i can do another laser if i want to remove it completely. Other than the cream, i also bot the recommended sunblock & have been using it diligently. But sad to share, the darker spot seem to "return" again, sian.

To add on, we need to put on the day & nite cream. And lazy me only "obey" in the first few mths & subsequently ignored the steps & threw away the cream during CNY spring cleaning. Wonder is it becos of skipping these, that's why i dun have a perfect result?

Is your pigmentation very bad? But i dun rem you have obvious dark spots when we last met.

Caution: There is some sharp pain (few secs by few secs) during the laser process (abt 15mins in total) although face applied with the numbing cream. But bearable kind. And after the laser, there will be a brown casting on the areas that was laser for 1-2 weeks. This really put me off to go for another round. But if yours is mild case, then maybe 1 time can help to get rid of them. No matter what after the laser, the pigmentation may still come back if our face is constantly being exposed under sunlight without sunblock. So muz really take good care after done.

yvonne & icy,

My boy also likes to run in circles esp when I played the children songs MTV DVD, he will dance/run round & round. Perhaps there is limited space in the living area?

And he also lined up his cars (row by row) like in the real carpark. He will get frustrated when #2 messed them up but just make a fuss & i told him is no big deal & re-arrange again.

Based on your qns 1 & 2, dun think is abnormal behaviour. But your qns 3 & 4 is kind of worry (see my fnd's eg below). It will be good that you bring him to your PD or polyclinic for assessment. Stop the guessing game, the specialist will help you & re-assure your doubts.

My boy has a classmate who has been diagnosed mild autistic at 3yo. Heard from his mum, he likes to watch ceiling fans & any objects that is rotating. Likes to repeat what people do or say, watch DVDs that he likes repeatedly. Brain is always working, can't rest that why dun need to take nap.

Another friend of mine also shared that her son has ADHD recently. He is in Pri school & this affected his studies. Yes, ADHD kid is very intelligent. Few factors that lead to ADHD are either inherited or in single family, etc. Can't rem the other factors that she said before. Her son belongs to the latter group & staying with his granny, no parent love at all.

Hope you can find your answers soon & take care. Sometimes SAHM tends to be more observant but can be stressful too, Jia You!!

Janbb,
thank you for ur kind feedback. ya, i think mine was not the "serious" kind, dats y d consultant said, do it only if it bothers me. i can actually cover it well with makeup, dats y u didnt notice dat it is obvious hehe ;p

i will try the prescibed creme n see how it goes, hope it lightens then i can save some $..

Mom2nat
hope ur 2stitches recovers asap. Enjoy ur bfding career!

Luca
glad u like the DVD...can learn alot frm there myself oso leh

janbb
my nephew last time started with the ceiling fan too....

Grumpus
hope the spree org really stuck in japan lor...u poor thing.

Mylife
have have my sis got stock. When r u back ah??

Kitsune
hahahah...really ar...nevermind very fast remember liao. I sing it all the time + zoophonics so it's very routine for me.

Yest x was watching wordworld n they tok abt writing the word bug n x switched off tv said wanted to write too. Wah so happy I skipped along with him into the room. Took out paper n crayon. In the end he say dun want. The kept drawing circle n say it's an O...
Make me excited for nothing

issit too early to get him to write? I dun force him coz I always feel that writing must be enjoyable n he have the rest of the life ahead for writing (or typing).... Let him play now. But I've asked n everytime he not keen

whose Tod oredi writing abc's?

morning ladies

very pissed with my HR yesterday. As I have previously mentioned before my unit is closing down and staff will be dispersed to various dept. So HR has arrange for me to be interviewed by another unit last evening. The interview went thru well and the CEO/CFO both were friendly. Until I raise the point about my position and salary. The CEO immediately said everything will be status quo, your title and your salary. After a short moment later, she asked me my current salary and when I told her she got a shock and turn to CFO and said I think this is beyond our budget right ? Then she start to ask me my title in the co. WAKAO ! You interivew ppl u no read my CV meh ? You no request to see my current drawn meh ? I'm not asking for increment lor. And our HR also another one. I already highlighted to them before I agree to do the interview cos I know her current secretary is only a secretary and I'm 2 levels above her so I quite concern about this too. Even the HR also say everything will be status quo ! Everybody just assumed but nobody bother to check and make sure lor. Lucky my coll told me to ask about this if not I blur blur also. So angry with HR.

Hello all! I am back (to reality)!!

Arrived home at midnight and today reported to work liao. Hope the kids are doing well at nanny/cc. think they probably would sleep a lot today :)

We met up with mylife and her family for a super nice lunch! Rylee is such a big gal (she is really tall!) and she is very cute!!

kitsune,
Do you want a HK prepaid SIM? Think it only expires in Sep, so just nice for your trip. You PM me your address so I can post it to you. I only used it to send SMSes so still have some money left.

Yvonne,
I personally don't think lining up the cars is something to worry about leh. Cos when they see the cars on the street, it's always in a line mah. Else how would you expect him to arrange his car? HR doesn't play with cars, so I don't know how the boys play with cars.

I agree with Mylife, be careful not to label a kid. Esp that B is developing so well. I definitely don't think he is autism seeing how he likes to smile to people, and has no problem playing with others or joining in a big group.

Chaye,
Then how? Have to wait for them to rethink before they confirm to hire you?

kam

No. HR told me last evening. It has fallen through. They will have to source around if not I just bum ard in office for the time being lor

Anyway.. Welcome back ! dun need another day to rest at all ?

Kam,
Had fun in HK? I'm counting down to my Seoul trip in 3 weeks time...

Hmmm...B doesn't just line up cars, he does it randomly with other toys as well. Anyway, we are trying to brainwash him that it's alright if the toys fall out of the line and I've been telling him to enjoy playing and not get upset with his toys. My mom and sis also kept brainwashing him to play with his toys in another way, explore other options, so hopefully we can change his playing patterns. We don't want to overreact now so we'll wait for the teachers meet to check with them on his behaviour in school and decide if he needs to see a specialist.

Chaye,
Oh, NVM lah, good thing always have to wait :)

Not enough leave liao lah, and have a few important e-mails to reply, so just come in loh, maybe go back earlier if I am too tired.

Yvonne,
Pretty okay. With our 2 kids tagging along, didn't do much. Just Disneyland, the Giant Buddha, and the Ocean Park. We didn't explore Kowloon at all, except been to mylife's house and a lunch (and a little bit of walkaround after lunch). No shopping at all and haven't seen the real busy HK streets. But okay lah, wait till the kids older then go again.

Enjoy your Seoul trip!!!

Pixie, hehe, think I have to start making my own notes if I were to remember the sounds. ;p hey, I need desitin too. How much is 1 tube with postage?

Kam, welcome back! Sure, thanks a lot. Will pm you. Will be very useful since I am going to meet Mylife too. your pics up in fb yet?

Chaye, wa your hr super blur leh, not professional. :p

Today is my 9th wedding anni. Hb was hoping bb come out today, but tat wld mean quite late. Now confinement, oso can't celebrate.

Now engorged, can't think properly. GG to stone

chaye
then fallen thru....meaning u wont get a trf to another unit? then better start looking for jobs outside

im updating my cv right now leh heehee...hope to change job after i start work...coz need more $$$$$$ now that i have crisis brewing at home *sighs*

kitsune,
Not yet. Last night only arrived home close to midnight. Today at work already. My hub is helping to sort out the photos.

mom2nat,
Forgot to congratulate you! Have a good confinement and that your boobs are doing their job well. Enjoy!

pixie,
Are you okay? Hope you are not too stressed up.

kitsune
my sis say desitin with postage bo hua, coz postage is $1....
a tube of desitin is $9

mylife
how many tubes do you need?

kam
shipping: $1.21
postage: $1
pls trf n can i have ur addr pls

Mom2nat, congrats! 9 years Liao, this yr cannot celebrate never mind, next yr can have a bigger celebration.

Pixie, why crisis brewing again? I thought things r ok with your mum n maid's help.

Kam, oic, never mind, look forward to seeing the pics.

Pixie, oic but not convenient for me to meet in the west or north leh, now worse cos no car, cab fare definitely costs more than $1. Never mind, I go check out bp threads first n see if there is free postage then.

My goodness! Barely survived another major meltdown from B. We were returning from school and crossed the road since the green man was on...but B insisted we didn't cross the road cos he didn't press the traffic light. Explained to him that it's ok if he didn't press it but he simply won't listen. I got fed up and told him I'm not going to explain anymore since he won't listen, he started crying and screaming while we were walking home, even the postman was surprised at his outburst since he's usually very cheerful.

Reached home but he continued to scream and cry. Ignored him cos he won't calm down nor listen to what I was saying. When I tried to talk to him, he will say "don't look at me!" and turn his back at me to cry. If I ignore him and walk away, he will run to me and say he wants to listen but everytime I tell him it's ok not to press the button, he will say it's not ok! Sigh...really had to control my urge to whack him with the cane cos he was getting so hysterical. I had to scream at him to stop crying cos he was going crazy. My neighbours must think that I'm a child abuser or mad woman!

After cyring for 30 mins or so, he told me he wanted to drink milk and managed to calm down after that. I told him it's not necessary to press the traffic lights all the time cos other people also want to do it and it's not right for him to throw a tantrum and scream at me over such issues. He finally acknowledged and said it's not the right thing to do.

I know pressing the traffic light is a big deal for him but I didn't want to turn back to let him do it cos I didn't want to indulge him in his obsession. But I have to suffer a major meltdown from him for breaking his routine. Really don't know how many meltdowns I can tolerate in a week over such petty issues.

Sorry for the long post, just need to rant and get it off my chest.

Hey Yvonne

This sounds like T too. He's like tat too. Like pressing of traffic light is his task and if somebody else press it he will sulk and want to cry and nowadays I will quickly tell him dun cry sternly. Boys dun cry, I will tell him then he will try to control and he will say but I want to press (sulkingly). I reason with him, sometimes he accept sometimes no. If no, he will cry loudly all the way home. Ya ppl will think we are mad woman or child abuser !!! oh poor fellow, you must have been beaten by your mother tat's y u cry so loudly huh? But we didnt even lay a finger on them lor. grrrr... Sometimes, he even insist to pee on the drain. It happened twice when my maid brot him home from cc and he insisted to pee on the drain. My maid told him we are heading home it's just upstairs bear with it awhile and we'll be home soon. He cannot one hor will insist and cry loudly lor. Really hope it's just a short phase and outgrow it soon.

Yvonne,
It sounds like Xavier at times, for his case is that he must be the first to press the lift button. But the kid sure know who they can bully. If I press first, Xavier sure cry loudly, and my hb will also comment that I should have let his son do it. BUT when my sil do it, Xavier would have no choice but just scream once or 2x that he want to press but shut up cos he will surely lose to sil. I think he used to it too, sil always like to "ka jiao" him in things he want. So when SIL kind of take away his privileges. He is super used to it and just walk off. So at home hor, sil can do anything and Xavier would "diam diam".

Yvonne,
I think that's very common behaviour. HR does that too! But not necessarily the traffic light button. Can be anything (very minor) that he wants to do but we don't let him do (not on purpose), like pressing lift button, opening/closing the car door. That day in HK, he fight for Rylee's toy, insisted he wanted to watch a certain clip. Luckily Rylee is such a good girl, so willing to share. Else he might turn into a big tantrum.