(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mom2nat,

jz buy watever Kam buys lor

mylvera,
Hahaha :)

mom2nat,
There is another spree for dang dang which doesn't have to have buy >$100. So I will join that one.

The book is soooooooo cheap in dang dang loh. I bought a book in popular malaysia, about RM20, at dang dang hor, only RMB20, so it's about 5x cheaper!! Shipping only about 20% of the book price, so still about 4x cheaper. I go crazy already.

I want to get some books for myself and also for the kids. For adults one, maybe a bit chim if you don't chinese book regularly. But for kids one, sure can read lah. A lot of translated version (from US, Europe, Japan authors) also.

aqua
I SMS u her number or not before ah? Btw my sis getting a new maid soon frm her soon liao

today just ticked off my maid. I don't like the way she tok to x1....louder than me leh!!! I told her not so loud yesterday but it's been nagging on my mind for v v v long liao. Mil feedback last time before I delivered, my mil scold x1 she will join in n scold louder wor

yesterday x1 wanted to join in the cooking as usual n she goes like u can't touch this you cannot take that. Pissed with her

today I told her I understand that you may think it's dangerous but I allow my child to b involved in cooking and handling dangerous stuff under my supervision so I don't need you to tell him if it is ok or not ok. It's not your call lor. I make the decision.
Then I explained to her why I allow
and also told her to buck up liao...lots of small chores she tends to overlook in the end I must do the job myself.
My mom who comes over everyday oso got something to complain about my maid. Say alot of places never clean.
I never say she never do...abit Bo intiative

but anyway she knows she's is slacking lah and heng no gimme attitude prob until now....fingers crossed

hey kitsune
will go checkout ur link...if keen I buy over frm u yah

my son is snoring on my left while my daughter is making loud breathing sounds on/off on my right...sighs; long night

pixie, why future bleak? stay positive, the future is bright with your kids! you are not alone too, you have us..hehe and of cos your kids :)

aqua,
a good pump will make a difference! i only had avent manual pump for my C1 and i have a medela freestyle this time, make huge difference. Both times i did exclusive pumping, supply already a huge difference and my C2 is coming to 6 months, still on ebm but C1 only had it partially for 2 months.

Pixie, your baby just born, both parties r still adjusting to the changes, so now not the best time to have 'serious talk'. Dun take it so hard, have a good night's rest, tomorrow, things will look a lot better. Jia you!

pixie, dun feel down, ur postnatalblues mus be acting. it is normal, juz try to b positive and tink of the happy things! can u sms me again? btw, wher the agency har? thanks!

luvv, thks for ur advice, it is reali encouraging to hear electri pump wrks for BF...hehe tht means i shld go psycho my hb to get one for me? haha

Hi aqua,

I have a avent duo pump and the sterliser. Everything still swee swee. U keen?

I believe we live very near. All old airport area rite? PM me okie?

Pixie,
You be careful don't turn into postnatal depression. Don't think too much of how much or how little each partner does. As long as you do your part, you try your best, that all it matters. Just focus on the kids and enjoy being with them, look how sweet they smile, how beautiful when thru are asleep, how contended when she sucks your breast. The household things just close both eyes, for now. Not thoroughly clean never mind de as long as your kids' health are not compromised. BE POSITIVE!!!!! Jia you jia you jia you!!!!

Kam
Which BP you gg to buy from? Can gimme the link?
I'd prob buy books for my 2 kids. I dun read chinese books. Actualy, I oso no time to read to them much. After #1 started Pri 1, she ask me how come no time to play. Luckily she doesn't have much HW from sch, or else really dunno how.

<font color="0000ff">Pixie,</font>

Relax, dun be so stress up. Dun follow my steps after delivering for my 2 pregnancies got so stressed up and upset in the end turned into depress. Went to see doctor on medication. Take thing 1 step at a time.

I just want to rant and duno where to ,... Sigh weekends are always like that. Hubby will sure raise his voice at T at the slightest thing. Just today, T was playing his hippo whole I asked him to bring his towel and we shall go shower. He ignore after I told him 3 times. So out of no where hubby just snatch his toys away and ask him to answer me as I was talking to him and he ignore me is rude. I find tat hubby is equally rude by snatching away his toys !! T cried and tried to    take his toy back by beating his father but not v hard kind. Like throwing tantrums hey y u take my toys kind. But wat signal is hubby giving T ? Snatching away some other ppl things can catch his attention ?!?!

I immediately told him his actions r wrong and I will eventually take T round to take his towel. Just hv to be patient !!! Then he retort by saying then his son beat him is right ? I ask him to look at his actions first !! Sigh. I'm tired I'm ver tired. Seriously, most weekends we'll fight bcos of T I just duno y he has no patient at all towards T ! He will talk to him very sternly all the time. I find tat T's childhood is like without a good father figure to follow. I cannot leave T alone with hubby at all not even 1 min. Tat's y I'm v tired. Be it at home or when we r out.

Im praying everyday for both of them to live in harmony. Play happily and hubby to hv more patient towards T.

Not only that. Everytime after these incidents he will start to ignore T. When T talks to hubby he'll say I dun talk to naughty boy or I dun talk to crying baby. Why need to talk to a 3 yr old this way ?!?! He's just a child ! Sad ver sad. Whenever I see such scene I'll just pull T away and play with him alone. His farher hardly play with him reason being T always want his way and hubby doesn't know how to cOntrol the situation and things turn out bad. Once he starts to raise his voice at T and both very very stubborn character show up ! Knowing T is like that I'll always use soft approach and talk to him. If he still refuse to give in I'll say I'm not playing or talking to him and he will listen to me de. Cant hubby use my tactic and still insist how own olden ways tat NEVER work and makes things worst ?!?!

It's always a tense weekends ... Enuf of ranting and sobbing. Hoping for a good week ahead. I'm happy I hv a job to keep me sane.
hope things will turn out well in my dept

Chaye, hugz. That day, I was out and I saw a mummy doing something similar. The little boy (maybe 3 or 4) kept crying and telling his Mummy 'I want to talk to you' and the mummy kept retorting 'You are not talking, nobody talks like this, you are crying.' This went on for more than 15 mins. And the mummy is quite young, full make up and fashionably dressed. In my heart, I was thinking the poor boy kept crying cos the mummy don't want to listen to him mah. If I were her, I would have bent down and told him 'Ok, Mummy is listening to you. What do you want to tell me?' I'm sure he would have stopped crying. But everyone's parenting style is different so I can't interfere.

Sometimes, I wonder if we are more tolerant towards characters that complement our own and it works the same for our kids. Eg. Mei Mei's character is more like my hubby (independent and happy go lucky) so I tend to be more patient towards her. Whereas RaeAnne is more like me (sensitive and impatient). Although this means I understand why she gets angry, her temper will clash with mine cos when she's angry, I get impatient. So, maybe that's why your hubby is more impatient with Tate cos their personalities are more similar whereas your character complements Tate (and your hubby).

yo mummies
chaye, i have the same problem as you leh, my hb no patience towards x1 at all, a little bit take out the big satay stick (aka cane) to whack him liao. i can only shield him as much as i can

this past weekend very very tense too...sighs

Chaye,
Big hugzz! Wonder why your hubby so strict with T ah? How about your girl? He treats your girl differently? If he treats them differently, then you have to understand why so. Is it because he thinks boys are tougher so cannot sayang him too much (some older generations think like this). Maybe one thing to suggest is whenever T misbehave or throw tantrum or whatever, you ask your hub to tell you what he thinks about T behaviour and what would he do to discipline him. So that you get to understand what he is thinking. Let him do whatever he wants to do (important not to correct/criticise your partner in front of your kids), then after the kid and the dad calm down, you talk to you hub what you think about the situation.

Hi haven' posted for a long time tho I hv been reading. Just logged in to tell chaye that u r not alone.  

my husband is also impatient n hot tempered. When he's fired up he will shout at the top of his voice at her - even I hate it when he does that, how much more frightened would the kid be! He will also say nasty things in front of her, and ignore her when she tries to say sorry after the episode. 

He will also get mad at me when I try to diffuse the tension for the child and said that I shld take the same stance as him. He likens disciplining a child to discipling a soldier in army!? And said very soon he will go get a cane in the house. I am really afraid he will do that cos I can't bear the thought and when he gets mad, he can really lose his self control.

So I am also in a fix like you. I try not to contradict him during the incident cos i know my husband will feel like I  don't respect him (esp in front of kids), and also not to give in to my child at that moment to let him know that I am with him on the need for discipling but I just don't agree with his ways of doing so. I will talk to him after the incident and ask him for his patience and to try other methods as much as possible. Thankfully most times he will agree after he calms down. I dunno if this method is sustainable and hope he doesn't get any major blow up which we the parents will regret next time. 

So chaye, Hang on there, and keep trying different approaches and hope we can find one that works as we mothers all just want the best childhood for our kids don't we.  

Went for my widom tooth surgery.

It's like sh!t!
Took something like... 1.hrs to remove the lower wisdom tooth? My mouth was stretched in all angles.. I could hear the horrible sawing/drilling/or whatever it was. I was so freaking scared....
I thought the stupid tooth was going to be stuck there forever.. had all kinds of wild thoughts going through my head while the dentist was trying all ways to force the tooth out. Even thought that maybe the dentist would have to call an ambulance and send me to the hospital.. heh.

And now... in pain.

Hi mcflurry,

How much u pay for the surgery? Is it in a bad position?
I just send my maid for her wisdom tooth surgery. Also cost me a bomb but lucky she no downtime at all.

mcfluffy,
Your dentist no good? Or you bad luck? I extracted all 4 of my wisdom teeth. All done quick quick with no suffering leh.

kellie and Kam,

my tooth is in a bad position. Growing horizontally instead of vertically so dentist had to section it in a few parts. The sawing (?) sounded very scary.. And the tooth was very stubborn too... dentist said it was like fused to the bone or something.. took a long time to extract the root. When it finally came out, the dentist asked me if I was a stubborn person. LOL.

The last time I had a similar experience.. this time took even longer though.

Traumatic. I never want to extract any more teeth.

But I still have one wisdom tooth on the upper jaw.. should be a simple extract but I guess this time round is enough to prevent me from going back for an extraction for a loooooong time.

pauline
you are very right ! absoutely right ! hubby and T share the same personalities! Usually you wouldnt like someone who has the same personalities as you. Whereas my gal shares the same personalities as me ! My hubby dotes on her a lot. I am the impatient one towards her. He will also tick me off when I reprimand my #1.

eh why ppl say having children will improve the marriage har ??!?!?! grrrr... I see the opposite.

Kam
No time to discuss when T throw tantrums one leh. Not as if he always throw tantrums but to me it's just small issues. But to hubby he sees it as big issues, maybe just different views ba. He says he has to be strict on T bcos T has always been like a crying baby. He can cry at the slightest things. Like for eg, violent fight shows, ppl ignore him, not getting things that he wanted etc. He whines like a gal my hubby always says. But to him all these should not come from a BOY. A boy should not whine, sulk or whatever you call it. On the other hand our #1 whines, cries or sulk at age 3 he will sayang her !

precious moment
I've given up hope in 'post mortem' after the "incident" cos it happen too often already, almost every weekends ! Initially we did and agreed on certain roles and responsibilities for eg disciplinary of T is my role but he still step in to "discipline" !

My boss tendered today ! WEF from 15 March which is tomorrow ! a lot of uncertainties now

mcfluffy,
It's better to extract the upper one as soon as you get over this. Last time, I extracted the lower one and leaving the upper one behind. A few years later, the upper wisdom tooth grew bigger and bigger (cos the lower one was extracted so it had lots of space to grow), until it made me uncomfortable. When I got it extracted, it's super big in size, the dentist said one of the biggest teeth he has seen, and nearly can't do it with normal tooth extraction procedure!

chaye,
Boy and girl no different lah. You tell him, T cries/whines lots because you make him so! Hope you find a solution for it.

Your boss tendered tomorrow last day already? You said there is a possibility to transfer within your co, right? You don't want to grab the chance? Or try your luck somewhere else.

i have an almost BN Bonbebe stroller (red color) to let go. Anyone keen, PM me for pic &amp; price

And letting go:
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/449183/5212642.html?1300068738

mcfluffy,
your wisdom tooth surgery sounds scary. My last dental check up last yr, dentist oso recommend me to extract my wisdom teeth on my upper jaw (lower dun have wor, heng!). Now not causing any pain or discomfort so i just let it be. Did u claim from medisave for the wisdom tooth extraction? Can i check how much?

Kam,
Ask u ah... Did u drink with the gauze still in ur mouth when u extracted ur tooth? Mine is still bleeding leh...

Steph,
have not paid anything yet.. Will tell u when I've done so!

Mcfluffy
Normal to bleed. Cos mine bleed for days !! 5 days and then stop ok ! I got to top up my own gauze from pharmacy ah! Sleep with mouth open. Dare not swallow the horrible saliva. Dentist advice is avoid rinsing my mouth too often cos the blood need time to clot and if I always rinse it will not clot so fast (for my case) so avoid rinsing so often. Remove gauze, rinse then change new gauze.

mcfluffy,
If I remember correctly, I bled for quite a while. Ya, agree with Chaye, avoid touching the wound so that it can heal/clot faster (it'a very big "hole").

Chaye,
I heard that tsunami actually strike Bali before Japan. Don't know how true it is. Is your holiday plan affected?

Chaye &amp; Kam,

Thanks... Yesterday night I took out the gauze to sleep and this morning not much bleeding. Can still taste some blood but heck, I shall live with it. Don't want to put any more gauze coz replacing it hurts!!!

Hehe.. Kam I can imagine how big the "hole" is coz when I look at my tooth, I like.. "WOW.. the hole there is gonna be huge!"

mcfluffy
the hole will slowly close up de. dun worry. Make sure u rinse well after meal if not small particles of food may drop into the hole and stuck there. hahahaa

kam
What I heard is Indonesia is only given the warning on tsunami but it didnt hit them. Hopefully everything will be settled by then.
Kam, any interview for you so far ?

Today is quite a moody day for everyone. Boss announce to our dept that he's leaving. Everybody like dropped all work and split into small groups of dicussion. My team consist of 10 of us. So most of them have decided that they want to be posted to India/Vietnam/China etc cos we are dealing with Regiional works. Then me leh ?... the other dept who has a vacancy has not called me up for an interview yet wor. So still waiting...

one of my colleague is very positive. She says as long as she has work she doesnt mind what. Even if she has to drag herself to work everyday, she will find happiness in other area and keep looking forward to it. For eg if she finds happiness in yoga then everyday at work she will just look forward to after work to do her yoga and tat enuf to make her happy wor. I dun think I can be like her.

chaye,
Cos I read in FB that friends of my friend have to cancel their Bali trip.

Thanks for asking. Yup, was called for an interview by a MNC but hor, it clashes with my HK holiday. So waiting for them to reschedule the interviews. I am quite nervous actually. I have not attended any face-to-face interview, and this is a big MNC, and me first time trying my luck in industrial/commercialise company. And the interview will be carried out over 3 days, very nervous!

Wah, your colleague is so positive! But it's true to some extend loh, cos as long as you find happiness, be it with the work itself, or have a great bunch of colleagues, or the work environment, or the work location, whatever it is, then it's something you look forward to everyday when you go to work.

Good luck!! And cheer up!

Hi, mummies.

Long time never dropped by...
Mood is affected by the Japan earthquake and tsunami.. I got so many friends, colleagues in Japan. Luckily so far they are all safe. But the aftershocks are still coming...
Been asking my friends to come back to SG but there is one whose hubby working there, still unsure if she should just come back with her boys and left her hubby there (hubby cannot leave coz of work commitments...) What will one do? I think she is very selfless. If I were her, I were have brought kids back here w/o hubby maybe...

Kam,
Wow, your 1st interview! Must be very nervous. Don't worry, I know you will do well and impress them. Hope you got a job at 1st interview and don't have to go through rounds and rounds... After awhile, it can be very tiring and you will be just answering questions like a robot...

But just curious, how you got your current job? Is it after your graduation, our govt just offered you this position? Nice!

Chaye,
Most of your colls are non-Singaporeans that is why they are willing to work in other countries? But for us, really hard to leave here right?
How about asking your HR if there is any other openings (other than the one you are waiting for)?

krystle,
Long time no see. This thread is quiet again.

I hope I will do well. Thanks! I got this job when I was in OZ, and for my job in OZ, I was in Sg, so it's all through phone interview. I remembered one of the big bosses interviewed me when he was holidaying in Hawaii, I could hear the sound of the wave! He wanted to get me probably he was in very good mood. Phone interview is different from face-to-face interview hor. Guess just have to be myself :)

krystle,

guess your plans to japan in sep will be affected too.

my sis booked a trip to japan this coming apr also had to cancel, now still waiting for the agent to get back to her.

kam
wow ! good news ! I'll be nervous for interviews too after so long :p so excited for you ! Jia you !

krystle
Japan has got the worst hit of their 65years ! earthquake followed by the nuclear meltdown that's scary. Glad that your friends are save and sound. If I'm your friend I'll pull the children together and stay with hubby there if he's not leaving yet. Wont leave him alone there, it will be damn demoralise to be alone in a foreign and not-so-safe place.

Yes you are right. I'm the only Singaporean here in my dept altho some has converted to Sg citizens and most are PRs. Whenever there's a lunch gathering, my boss will always laugh and say hey most of us here r foreigners only you are a born Singaporean.

krystel,
Same as Chaye, I would not leave my hub there if this really happen to us.

chaye,
Thanks! You jia you too! Or good time to consider to be a SAHM, since you have thought about it before.

Chaye,
Yes my plans to Jpn in Sep is now KIV... Have not booked anything yet so still ok.... But now looking at possibility of end year. Keeping my fingers crossed.

My friend finally made decision to come back with the kids only. The husband will be able to focus more on work and not worrying for them. Actually most of us are happy that she is coming back. Just that her boys' education will be affected since they are not enrolled to any schools here... Think she will need to supplement that with enrichment courses or home tutoring.

Chaye, you and I can shake hands. I am also the only Singaporean in my Jpn team. Boss is Indonesian, leader is Jap, my coll is from China...

morning mummies...

so quiet suddenly ar. where's everyone ?

Last night tried T diaperless. Reminded him a few times that he has no diaper and if need to pee must get up to pee and not in the bed. I made him pee before he sleeps ard 10.30pm and he woke up around 6am and ask for potty. He pee a lot wor ! and after that went back to sleep. kekeke... will try again tonite

Greetings from Phuket! Enjoying ourselves at Marriott Mai Khao Beach, anyone missed me? Hehe. Time flies n we r going back tom. :p

Krystle, heard of the second quake in Japan. After the first quake, my aunt already asking my cousin to come back, dun work there anymore. Safer for her lar, luckily we decided to go to Hk in June instead of Japan or else our travel plans will also be disrupted. :p

Kitsune,
Yes another 6.2 scale hit Japan yesterday... Now everyone there is worried about the radiation impact... Glad that you decided to go HK for your vacation.

So fast your Phuket vacation is ending... Having fun there?

Chaye,
Yes, thread is getting quieter again. :p The usual people are busy lah.

Anyone been to OG sale today? I saw the queue and it was horribly long!!! What is so great about the sale??? Very good buys?

Hello everyone!

Very busy so didn't post but still reads.

Kam, all the best for your interview! Hope you can continue to stay in sgp, don't leave us!!! lolz

Has been following the events in Japan closely, major sadness, i really hope this tragedy will end here. They don't have a chance to breath and recover. But really respect the Japanese ppl, they are so gracious and kind even in such times. Really has a lot to learn from them.

Kitsune,
Glad that you are enjoying your holidays.You are so fortunate, can go for holidays so many times!!!

Chaye,
Are you going to look for new job soon?