(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

kitsune,
The hp no I have is the same one. I also have this home number of them 6789 7514, you can try. Don't think they have a website. Good luck with that.

kitsune, is it safe to take gastric medicine daily during preg? i am taking veregel n famotin.

kam, how is everything for u? heard abt ur co news, actualli onli govt co more profamily, if u wan hav no.3, definitely best to stay in statboard or ministry. my current co is semi-govt, but my boss not profamily.
i was prepared to lose my job if she dint wan to confirm my probation.

Aqua,
I am okay. Still have 6 months to figure out my next move :) See who wants me loh.

Aiyoh, your boss so bad meh. You mean because you are preggy so she doens't want to confirm you?

kam, she dint say openly la. but kept arrowin me to do adhoc projects, and though she know i am preg, when she sees me pushing trolley w goods, she also never offer to help.
reali sian to wrk for her! she always 'changing her moods n micro manage her.

pixie, how is ur wound, recovering well from the ops?

u know, my girl told me she is bored in her church nursery coz nothing to do juz sing n play.she miss her ex cc , ex teacher, coz got many assignment n weeklyhmework! so onz hor ;p

Aqua,
Your girl is really onz!

I just received a school home pack from my girl's teacher too. She has to do an assignment by this week and present after Mar holidays. I was like huh???? So young already so stressful??? Thought they supposed to learn through play???

Am I outdated or such teaching methods are rather common now in nursery???

Kam, thanks so much. I hope they answer their house number. From the number looks like tampines area. Wish I have their address then I can go n stalk them. :p

Aqua, I think antacid n famotin r fine.

shannonbaby, thanks! my girl misses shayne, her friends n teachers in cc... pls send my regards to ms yeo n the teachers ther

if ther a vacancy for N1 class, can u let me know? thks inadv

krystle,
depending on the cc bah. HR still hasn't brought back any homework and I doubt there will be.

Kitsune,
No problem. Hope you manage to contact them.

Thanks, Kam. I'm gearing up to call them after the gals sleep.

Krystle, my gal also has no homework at her CC at all. In fact, next week, she's going to miss 4 days of school cos we are going to Phuket. Issyen's pcf nursery so stressful ah?

Kam, Kitsune.
I am not sure if this is PCF education system or what. But most people says PCF follows a footprint of Pri school so I can understand to expect such homework or assignment when comes to Pri school. But starting from pre-nursery seems too early. Some of Issyen's classmates can barely speak full sentences too... Haiz, at least from what both of you comment, CC does not practice such way, which I think is good.

Krystle, yes, I think pre nursery still a bit early to have homework. 4 years old onwards maybe a bit is ok, then k1, k2, almost full steam liao cos they have to know their timetables before pri 1. Stressful lor :p

But for now, RaeAnne comes home from school everyday and sings new songs (a lot of chinese songs). Nowadays, she also keeps asking me what is the chinese translation of English words so I'm happy. Cos if she has no interest, she won't ask me. I have seen the pri 1 Higher Chinese textbook for my neighboour's son. Both hubby and I thought it was super cheem and standard very high. I think I only learnt those words at Pri 4-5. so she really needs a good foundation to take higher chinese at this nearest SAP pri. :p As for phonics, will wait for the leapfrog dvd to arrive then try it out bah.

Now, I'm torn between sending Raelynn to the RC playgroup downstairs when she turns 18 mths (hubby's suggestion) or send her to the 3house phonics playgroup at the Community Centre (downstairs from RaeAnne's CC). problem is the RC playgroup only $140, but the 3house phonics PG costs $240, $100 more to pay every month. :p I think 18mths - 24 mths, the child is still blur blur, so lessons not impt but if I put her at RC playgroup first, then switch her in Jan2012 to 3house phonics school, it may be too disruptive. :p If I put her at RC playgroup all the way until she turns 4, I'm afraid her phonics standards will be as bad as RaeAnne (zero knowledge) then it's be difficult for her to catch up. Especially because she is dec baby so she will be lagging behind her peers. :p

krystle,
Probably. They just trying to follow closely how the primary education system bah. So let them do homework at such a young age. As long as you don't put stress on it, just take it easy, it's okay de.

kitsune,
That's very good, as in RA's interest in Chinese! It's exactly what you want, congrates! It's a very good start. Like you said, the most important is get her to be interested in this language. HR now like to do translation also, whenever I say in English, he repeats in Chinese, if I say in Chinese, he repeats in English, and he asks if he doens't know how to translate :p

krystle,
this is to encourage parents to work hand in hand with the kids. (kind of like force parents to participate in your child's education) and to build parental involvement.
and also provide the child a chance to speak up in front of classmates which is very impt as when they go primary school, they will have show n tell session too. cos these days children are very afraid to speak up in front of audience (a life skill which i think its very impt).

Thanks, Kam. I hope so too, I don't want my kids to end up like 'kantang'. But one concern I have is that kids from 'chinese' schools tend to be less vocal and afraid to speak up (as shannonbaby mentioned), myself n hubby included. Whereas those from the top 'kantang' schools (RGS, RI, ACS) etc are very vocal and not afraid to speak up or even challenge their teachers. :p

kitsune,
below 3 yrs old is the best time for the kids to absorb everything. dont think they are blur blur..
they know n understand everything.

aqua,
come join shayne in sch again if u r interested..

kam
got your message

saw you fotos in FB ! wow so many water park to visit ! didnt know that leh. Like your fotos !

shannonbaby, reali got vacancy? i heard fr ms yeo tht the they r full last yr. i also tink my kid learnt more in cc, in terms of academic stuff coz they spend longer time in sch. 2-3hr sesssion is more of fun ,play n coloring?

thanks chaye!

kitsune,
But I thought now all schools about the same? Still have "chinese" school meh? Like shannonbaby said, nowadays they integrated lots of things like those show and tell sessions, doing projects and presentations, etc, to encourage students to be more vocal. Maybe those are better in Chinese will not be as good in English? So they don't dare to speak up during English session cos their classmates speak better English than them? I am like that loh, if I speak in Chinese or when I am in a chinese speaking environment, I cannot stop talking, my friends all said I am very talkative; while on the other hand, if I am in a english speaking environment, I don't speak much, people always ask why am I so quiet (part of the reasons why I don't stay back in English/OZ :)). But I am more greedy, I am hoping my kids can be equally good in Chinese and English, keke.

SOBZ!!! I think I can really kiss goodbye to my $300+ liao cos I called the fixed line number that Kam gave but the number IS NOT IN USE. Call the hp n it's engaged. Even went to check registry of companies online and it said that 2bq Place's registration has expired, and not renewed. Moral of the story, cannot trust people. But they suddenly stopped after CNY, n Peline said the hubby was hospitalised after that, I already chased n follow up, what else can I do?
even if I go to small claims tribunal, don't know if they can take action if the company is no longer registered. SIGH!!!

kitsune,
Aiyoh, so unlucky. Maybe you can go to the BP and ask other people who ordered from them. See if they manage to get their money back or not. I met the delivery guy once (think he's the owner), he doesn't look like a bad guy.

shannonbaby, oh really ah, then I really need to sit down and evaluate liao. I like the teachers at the RC playgroup cos they are very warm and patient. The phonics playgroup has individual teachers and classes (i think they outsource) so doesn't feel very close knit to me. But the curriculum has phonics so should be better bah.

Kam, when I said 'Chinese' schools, I meant mainly SAP schools with long chinese history, eg. Hwa Chong, Dunman, Chung Cheng, etc. Generally, I find students from there less 'expressive' cos culturally, if you talk a lot in class, it seems like you are a show off or smart aleck. Whereas, for the 'English' schools, speaking up in class is the norm and encouraged. I feel that in life, seems like those who talk more (even though work less) are always rewarded, eg. promoted faster than the quiet workers. So, I wonder if my gals will be disdvantaged sometimes if I insist on a 'chinese' school environment for them. Sorry if I am stereotyping. :p

kam, ya lor, I also met him many times. In fact on 29th day (1 day before 年三十), Peline (his wife) told me that she especially cook for my family even though the chef has already gone for CNY leave. Cos she knows that hubby and I are post accident and cannot cook for ourselves. That's why I trusted her, even encouraged her when she said her hubby in ICU at CGH, even though she kept delaying my refund. I even spoke to her son and asked him to pass message to his parents. Last week, 1 march, I just spoke to Peline and she promised to pay me back that night but after that, she is uncontactable n until now, nothing lor.

Kam, oh, I didn't know they had a BP thread. I found them because I did a search on SMH forum for catering and their contacts and reviews were posted there. When was their BP?

kitsune,
my hb comes from Dunman and I come from Chung Cheng..chinese school as per what u describe..hehhe.
but generally, i dont feel less expressive and this can be seen in my hb who is in sales n PR line..hehhe..dont worry too much..

kitsune,
I also don't think students from "chinese" schools are less expressive. More depend on the characteristics of an individual bah.

But I half-agree on what you said about who talk more are always rewarded. I think it's not necessararily talk more, but it's more of talk the right thing at the right time, and know exactly when it's time to keep quiet :)

kitsune,
Maybe not really a BP. But ya, I found them on SMF also, can't remember (cos I didn't post on thread, I e-mailed Peline) if it's BP or any other thread. If it's BP, back in Jul/Aug 2010 when I ordered mine. I kay-poh tried calling both the numbers, ya, cannot get through :-(

Shannonbaby, Kam, I'm from Hwa Chong (JC) while hubby was from Dunman High so also Chinese schools. I also studied mass comm and worked in PR but still don't find myself very vocal leh. hehe. :p For my previous workplace, the type A personalities are the ones who get promoted very fast. My hubby also tells me that those who get promoted early in school are those who talk a lot at meetings, email and cc everyone whenever they have done some project or involved in any committees.

But yes, maybe character n genes play a bigger role bah. Next yr, RaeAnne has speech n drama enrichment at CC, hope that'll help her overcome her shy personality. :p

Thanks Kam for trying. At least I know it's not because they blocked my hp number. I tried searching on the forum for BP threads but no results for 2bq nor catering.

kam,
all the best in your job search.
actually i do agree with the rest that u can try teaching since u got the certification. i got 2 frens just change job from IT industry to be teacher in ITE and the other in SMU. They all seemed to be happier in teaching line than in the commercial line. my mum's fren daughter (around our age) is a lecturer in polytechnic and she got 5 kids! So hb and i concluded that she is paid well and school environment is pro-creation else how to have 5 kids rite?

congrats to Aqua and Blessedbaby!

pixie,
i m impressed with your supply!! Wow... Think u need to give your hb more time to adjust with the changes. And take it easy else later become depression ya... If not, u get the maid to help u out on the babysitting task as well. no one know x1 best except u.
my hb also do minimum babysitting cos he also no patience with #1 and will scold her for small little thing. so even till today usually i take care of #1 and maid take care of #2 unless we go for holiday then hb bopian handle #2...

Shannonbaby,
Yes, the teacher also explained about parent involvement but somehow I still feel stressful for my girl lah.
However, I think my girl is not as introvert like me and dares to speak up. Now teacher asked her to role-play as a teacher and teach her fellow classmates phonics. Teacher said she did excellent.

Kitsune,
If 2BQ had organized BP before, maybe you want to try writing to SMH forum administrator and ask if they can disclose the address? You can explain about your situation and hopefully they can reveal. Coz I think in organizing BP, we need to scan our NRIC and submit to them.

Good progress for RA to show interests in Chinese.
So far I will explain some words in both English and Chinese so that she understands there are 2 ways of saying certain things. I think she absorbs but not really putting a linkage to both lang. But recently been teaching more on Jap. :p She can do a simple sentence of self intro in Jap.

kitsune,
I think what krystle suggested may be helpful. Can try contacting the SMF admin to seek for their help. Or you can start a thread asking if any other people have the similar "fate" as you?

Congrats to Aqua and Blessedbaby!

And not forgetting Pixie.. Congrats to u! My hb 90% like ur hb.

I was tinking of gg into property line.. Any property agent here? I hav some queries, can u email mi [email protected]

Thanks, kam n krystle. I think there was no bp thread but will double check again.

Lyn, I was thinking of going into property line too but the car accident disrupted everything. U dun want to be sahm anymore? Am sure u will be very successful in property with your good looks.

blackbatz
The massage lady does for PIxie and Grumpus. Her name is Jameela. why? u need ah? Hee... *sniggering*

pixie
Your SS v good. When I had Elliot, there was no colostrum until 3rd or 4th day! And the engorgement so painful!

Today I went TAKA bb fair, so many preggies!!! ALl these pple no need to work one ah??!!

naf
i usually read up on those parents/kids websites like babycenter.com etc, books and also attachment parenting websites.

kam
yes, thats exactly what i mean, ignoring = worst punishment for the child. ie most effective, but of cos during tantrums, must also make sure he/she in a safe environment before ignoring. At this age, whatever they do their strongest instinct is to please us, the parents, so the worst to them is for us to ignore them, so i wont give any attention (especially), not even negative attn (ie scolding, nagging) when shes hvg tantrums. I jus tell her to stop and that i cant understand her when she whines in that voice. Generally, now things get much better cos she now knows she wont get anything by whining.

our time off isnt exactly punishment either. time out is not supp to be punishment, more like a chance for her to calm down herself. The only "punishment" is removal of privileges, which sometimes work wonders

kitsune
aiyoh...sounds awful. pls rest well

schools
i'm also vexed with schools choices now. Like Kam, i also want Rylee to be good in both english and chinese (who doesnt, right??) But i also dont want her education to be spoon fed and naturally, i'd like her to be vocal too. Totally agree with kitsune on the type A personality. But its complicated here in HK cos starting age for most schools is either 4 for Reception or 5 for P1. International schools are sooooooo freaking expensive and not all intl schools have good strong Mandarin program. The strong one is either VERY hard to get in (limited space and thousands of applications) so students hv to go thru INTERVIEWS! Can u imagine a 3/4 yr old going thru interviews? I'm thinking if my kid is so smart, why would i need to send her to school? Of cos ur school result is good lah, u screened thru and accept only the "best" kids???

Anyway, SIS (Spore Intl School) in HK also same-same. So freaking expensive and u'd think being Sporean will hv subsidy? Wait long long, subsidies only start in P1 and even then it's 16k PER YEAR, which means only blardy 1k a month. Tats HKD hor. And if u all think that's a high subsidy, wait until u hear the annual school fee. HKD73000 for reception (4yo) and primary is 89000. Nope, i didnt type extra zeroes. On top of tat, still gotta pay either personal debentures of 120K and then a capital levy of HKD8k a year. Oh, and then there's the stupid entrance fee of HKD13k. What the hell, am i joining a blardy club?

Sorry for ranting. Just feel sooooo frustrated with the school research. With my criteria, i think i only have 2-3 choices and if she cant get in, i'll prob enrol her in a good intl school and then supplement with Mandarin tutor.

Mylife, wa, preschool is so exp in HK. :p But then, I've heard Etohhouse school fees in SG is even more exp thank $1k (but at least don't have those stupid entrance fee and debentures lar). I always wonder who r the pp who are so rich to afford such high school fees - millionaires, high fliers, bankers, drs or lawyers? Sour grapes. :p

Mylfie,
Ok. Got what you mean. I have been using ignoring method for some times now. Work very well for HR, much better than scolding/nagging. Yup, once he senses that I am not talking to him, he will drop everything and come to please me, and will say sorry for what he has done.

Wah, the fees are expensive. But like kitsune said, those premium cc in Sg can go up to $1.5k per month, meaning $18k per year, more ex than the one you quoted leh. Those medium range one about $600-800 per month, still adds up to $7-10k per year. The only different is there is subsidy from the gov (except me :-(), so it does cut down the sum a lot.

Cos you gonna send rylee to intl school for primary, so no choice loh. How much the different compared to their local schools? The local primary school fees is rather cheap here. Probably 1000 fold different compared to a intl school :)

Mylife,
Can see your frustration in HK. The school fees are really very exp. Are they trying to "chop carrot" from the expats??? Ya, maybe you are better off to enrol Rylee in an international school to get a broader exposure and education. Then you can enrol her in a weekly Chinese enrichment classes. I am sure the Chinese standard in HK is better than what we have here in SG.

But if you can move back here SG and Rylee could start school here, that will be great. However easier said than done, Rylee will most prob have difficulties in adapting here since she spends most of her time in HK.

Mom2Nat,
Taka Baby Fair is so popular, I won't be surprised if people take leave just to go there and grab the good deals. Any good deals or not?
Planning to go on sat morning, just to get my Avent teats supply (see if have 20% disc).

Kam, yup, but even with subsidy, not everyone can afford $1k plus of CC fess for 2 kids. If 3 kids, then easily $2k plus. I only put RaeAnne in half day CC I also find it very siong. :p

kitsune,
Sigh, think of me who doesn't get subsidy. How to have #3???????

Chaye,
You really quite blur one leh. H C is Blessedbaby lah. Eh, you have to habit to spell out people name is this thread, not everyone would want to reveal their name in forum leh, just a gentle reminder :)

Pauline: car accident? How r u nw? Aiyo! Property agent is sell property not sell look. Sometime depends on luck also. wen u taking e course? i still luv to b sahm but $$ not enuf... Frankly speaking,my allowance is lesser than my helper, i been using my own saving but is drying up soon so gotta tink of a way out..

mylife: heard fr hb b4 dat intl sch was v exp cos 5yrs ago he was tinkin of gg to hk to work or stay in sin... his origin of country is hk, definitely he prefers hk and is higher pay over there but aft discussing e life style, child education etc.. and i was selfish cos i dont wanna leave my family and frz. i thot P1 starts at 6 in hk? and their sec sch is 5yrs not 4yrs.

Chaye: Hanna Chia is blessedbaby.

kitsune
the schools i'm talking about in my post above is not preschools. It's the "through train" schools starting frm Reception (K2?) to Primary and then secondary. The waldorf school that Rylee goes to now is a preschool and they are only have up to Kindergarten level, if they have primary, i'd love to stay there! Cos other countries waldorf schools got up to secondary. Too bad HK doesnt have it.

Haha not sour grapes lah. I think the debentures here are all secured by expats whose companies actually pay for as part of the expat package. they get big house, spouse allowance, school debentures etc. Sigh. Some of the top school debentures like GSIS (german swiss), CIS (Chinese Intl) debentures are even traded to like millions of HKD for expats who want a "guarantee" to get in. So for norm people like us need to go thru interview lo.

Kam
wahhhh! So exp! I totally lost touch or rather not know about the kids stuffs in Sg now (education being one of them). That time go back Sg also need my friend to bring us and recommend kids friendly places, playgrounds etc.

As for Rylee, i dont plan to send her to local schools in HK cos altho their chinese is definitely good (they actually recite san zi jing) but their english aint that good and it's equally stressful and kiasu system. If rylee goes to local school here, it's dirt cheap lah. I think even cheaper than Sg. But her english would be compromise lo.

krystle
yah, we thought long and hard about it and felt that as long as hubby have a job here we will stay put. We also want her to have more exposure to the IB (Intl Baccaleurate) system before we move baack to Sg...eventually i think? But like u said, prob need to supplement lo. The intl schoools do have mandarin, like maybe only 20-40 mins per day. So definitely to supp.

Lynn
Aiyah, come over lah! hehehehe. there's another sg mom here in HK whose daughter's birthday is the exact date/year as our kids

blessedbaby
why did u add me again in FB? i tot u were oredi in my list but then i got a friend request from u again *scratch head*

mylife,
You don't have a choice then, but to invest more money in her education. It's about the same cost in SG lah (apple to apple wise), so maybe you feel better :)

I heard in KL, now there is a new trend of school. It's something between intl and local. Think they call it private school. Their system is not as rigid as the local schools, and the fees is not as ex as the intl school. Thier teaching gears towards ang moh style. It's pretty popular. And also homeschooling, lots of workshop available to guide parents who are interested in homeschool. Aiyoh, now the society is changing, we have so many choices, and because we do read up a lot, we know our options, so we want to try to give the best to our kids. Unlike our parents time ah, esp me in the kampung, where got all this thing, my parents only have to make sure I eat well, sleep well, and finish homework everyday.

Blessedbaby is creating a new account lah, with the same name.

HFMD cases seem to be on the rise again. Kiasu Mummy kept Jayden at home for today and probably tomorrow. :p
Don't want anything to happen (touch wood) to jeopardise HK plans next week.

kam
i know what u mean by private schools i think. Cos in HK also have, difference is, it's ALSO as expensive as intl schools here! There's a school here call ISF (intl school foundation), lots of local rich HK send their kids here cos 70% is chinese. Bilingual system blah blah. But i heard lots of mixed reviews. Teacher turnover rate very high. So, i decided against it. cos if i'm not going to SIS, i'd at least like rylee to go to a reputable school with a firm foundation and established system so that eventually she'll go back to Sg or go further education elsewhere. Otherwise, next time go elsewhere, other schools will go "HUH? What school?" when u said she's been to XXX. Tats the danger of these new private schools i guess. Anyway, i totally agree on kampung style ah. Well, look at how well YOU turn out right? So our parents must have done something right. Hehe. I also cannot believe i'm stressing over schools now when she's jus at kindy level! I always tot it'll be a few years later, but my frens in HK are all like reminding me to apply, and i'm like "WHAT?? She's just THREE!"

twinkystar
these 2 days are crazy cold. Forecasted was 18-22, but suddenly temp dropped to like 13c. VERY cold! Probably due to the wind chill. But the forecasted weather for the next few days is 16-24. Just bring one thick jacket in case it drops again. I've got a friend here said she''s been here 20yrs, never before the Observatory forecast got it wrong. :p only this year weather gone crazy!

Twinkystar,
So fast going to HK trip when we were just saying last few weeks. Anyway enjoy! It is ok to keep our kids away from school 1,2 days lah.

Today my girl did not go school too coz sick. Slight fever + slight flu + cough, haiz....