(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Oh KAM. Dun worry. U hv degree and experience ma can easily find job de. The person shd worry is me lar. I only dip no degree leh. And hor in fact my dept also closing down end March. It was announced in Sep last yr already. But co promised that nobody will be retrenched. But then again worst right they park u at some ulu pandan dept and cold storage and save the bullet to kill u and let u either rot or die there. Tsk tsk tsk. Some of my colls r going some still remain to see what's to offer and I'm one of them

船到桥头自然直吧 ! Hopefully. Lol

wahhh come in read and scan only see so many "bad" news

Kam
it's very natural first thing they shut down is dept with contracted staffs.
Unfair. I know EXACTLY what u mean by being comfortable, hence our stay in HK. Lots of frens/family in Sg for us but to uproot with small kids is not an easy decision. Furthermore made so many good frens here in HK too. Tats why hub got job offer to go back Sg also reject. U have to weigh the pros and cons carefully and make the wisest decision

JanBB
wahhhhh sounds like ur UTI is a severe one. Painful with blood! Must take care and eat the meds diligently. ALso drink more cranberry juice?

Kitsune
wat on earth happened to u? Sorry didnt read archived postings. New bones??? U broke ur bones???

Mom2nat,
Steph and I are going for 19 mar 10am show.
Not sure if Luca is going too. Which day are you going?

Chaye,
Sorry to hear the bad news too. But you sounded very positive and taking it easy. Good attitude! Actually my coy also like that. Previously my ex-project was cut from SG and moved to CHN. So I was kena thrown out and came to the current dept. Was happy awhile coz due to the WTH schedule. However, also got some rumours that the current project may not last that long in SG too. So I also see how lah, anyway nothing is confirmed yet but I don't see my future here anymore too.

kam , u are the management so i tot u will be offered some posts in other stat board too? No? Anyway what areas of job u looking at? Teaching is sure an option for u unless u dont like to lecture the uni kids. For me hor i will choose to go back lei cuz i grow up in pj. Safety is not a concern for me though cuz we are used to it n we are always on alert to keep oursel safe, used to it liao. I even thought of sending shaun back to kl to study lei. Not as stressful. Anyway pros of staying here is higher salary more savings , safety. Me n hubbw already planning to retire back in kl la.

janbb , take care! As long as u are on med it will cure very fast. By the way u dint wash after u fried rice with ur hub so u kena uti ? Actually i wanna ask mummies whether u n hub wash thoroughly after supper?

kam actually hr doesnt need to go branded dentist since he wont reject . I went hdb one only 30 or 40 include polishmg or washing wo. Cheap cheap. N she slowly wash too n no hurry kind. Shaun likes them!

Kam,
Sorry to hear about your dept closing down. I also think teaching is a very good option for you cos you're very patient. You can keep this in mind while looking for other job opportunities, I'm sure things will work out for you.

krystle / tongtong / yvonne,
ya, I agree teaching would be a good option for me. But the things is to teach in uni, one has to do research to a certain degree. The reason why I chose to do management was because I don't want to do research anymore.

I would love to go into childcare teaching, or primary teaching, but hor, how can I survive with that pay :-( Poly would be a good option, but must have lobang.

mylife,
At our side, more than 90% of employees are on contractual basis. I would think it's a lot of politics behind this. And I am not interested to find out.

Chaye,
Ya, walk one step see one step loh. Good luck to you!

tongtong,
I only lived at PJ during uni time and a few months working there. Though I love the city but there is too much uncertainty that we are going to take. Probably it's not the time yet. When comes to retirement, we surely go back to malaysia, but not now, I think.

Oh, you think studying at KL not so stressful, you will be very surprised. I have a few friends whose kids just started P1 this year at KL, gosh, it's very, very, very stressful, I don't think it's any lesser than in Sg.

kam wa serious! Tot our standard there is lower as compared to here. Actually i wanna go back cuz got waldorf k near my house. Very tempted. But hubbw disagree. Hey childcare teaching only 1.8 k. Too low for u. U write in to poly sure they want u! Phd lei!

morning mummies !

Rise and Shine.. another day of boredom at work cos boss is on leave cos there's some management meeting today and he purposely took leave wor ! See this is how bad the situation now. He's bochap liao and I told him to make sure he tells us early before he throw in the towel !

Anyway HR just called me to say there's a vacancy available in another dept but I duno if I want to take that up or not :p

Talking about changing job. My hubby has been bugging daily after work saying that he wants to throw letter too. He's tired of the work after 10yrs. He applied to teach in ITE leh but no reply de. sigh....

tongtong,
Cheh, now phd no more value liao, lots of phd holders nowadays. Sigh, if I can survive with that I don't mind, but too much bills to pay. Yesterday, my hub was thinking if it's possible for me to be SAHM, but with his single income, not possible for now (btw, he hasn't started looking for job cos no time to).

Cos you know why? Because of chinese loh. all my friends enrolled thier kids to chinese school 华小, learning chinese is really not easy leh. Then one of my friend ah, enrol into one of the "best" schools, wah, lagi jialak, the first week only ah, the teacher told them, during exam, every mark is important, even 1 mark, you have to fight for it, cos this 1 mark will determine if you are going to good class or bad class. That's a teacher's speech to P1 students ;-(

How are you doing in your new job? Better than your previous job?

hi tongtong,
how's yr new job? Shaun back to playgroup/cc/nanny?

Chaye,
if u like the scope of the new job vacancy (same as yr current?), can try, no harm. I oso wanna jump ship but only dip, v difficult...gotta suffer pay cut if venture diff trade/line

sorry to interrupt..

Kam..actually u cna try pri sch/ sec sch/jc teahcing.. teacher's pay are reasonable one.. plus u have work experience.. u prob will start at higher pay scale.. u can try to check if they can do a "conversion" from ur stat board to MOE.. my frens manage to convert from MOE direct to MOHF w/o pay deduction.. Can i ask what stat board? Or u take some tuts?? I am also doing tuts now.. pay is half of previous but time spend is only 1/4 of what i would have spend.. so kinda like it too but will take up more assignments. Ta least can still spend morning with the kids so not too bad..

Pauline.. theres a zoophonics at tampines mart area.. y not bring RA there? they have classes for 3-4 yrs, i think i might enrol my ger in bukit timah one in april.

The leapfrog dvds are useful! G has learnt a lot form there, can recognise moset upper and lower case letters but still make mistakes lah.. can remember some letter sounds too.. i think pretty good entertainment. I like wordworld also esp now she is recognising letters, wordworld is very educational, its like an extension of what she has learnt.

Pixie, congratulations!!

Genice,
Thanks! I will check it out. But I don't have training in teaching, so don't think I will get the higher pay scale. Gonna start from bottom :)

Haha, another Feb08 mum posting here. We should merge the 2 threads into one. Kitsune will be the happiest, no need to click 2 threads :)

Sorry, another intruder.

Kam,
塞翁失马,焉知非福。

Take it lightheartedly. A few years later when your field is put into application intensively, you may make big $$ when you land a good job.

Hehe..... kinda of miss you here. Get inspired by what you did and are willing to do for your kids.

Genice, like kam said, glad to see u here. Feb thread so quiet hor. ;p

Thanks, I know the branch at tampines mart, heard it's good but quite far from my place (no direct bus) n we have no car. Weekend class not very possible cos she already has music appreciation on sat while hubby has tuition on sun. :p

hey ya i will be happy too if both thread merged ha ha! Kam steph new job is good. In fact going back to kl tonight cuz i have business trip till friday! Will fly shaun back too hehe. Shaun started school n nanny place. Still cry la when he saw the school bus.

Okay okay. Change topic.

Eh, you all still haven't guessed correctly who's the mystery mum with #3 leh. I thought the answer is very very obvious leh. Okay lah, one hint. She used to be pretty active on this thread, like almost posting everyday, then less post after #2, and now she hasn't posted any for months liao. Make your guess!

steph,
yes, worth a try.

not going Disney on ice liao, coz hb couldnt decide to go on which day.

Kam,
i still duno whois d mystery mummy with ur hint ;p

mom2nat,
ur EDD should be soon liao rite?

like grumpus, can only think of wendyg. *zooms to fb*

wait a min, in d 1st place, will u cfm d ans if we guess it correctly? ;p

Not wendyg. She already asked Steph to "declare" it's not her :)

Not mei. Mei posted leh, I think last month.

Not ernmum.

mystery mum with #2, I don't know, only pixie knows.

Luca
My edd is 24 Mar. Maid still not here!!! *sigh*

Not wendyg lah. In this thread, her boy is #2. So cant' be have #2 liao then less active. Anyway I asked her liao, she ask me to clarify is not her! Hee...

Grumpus
How was your massage lady ah? I called her liao, but thinking of 10 days of 2 hours, I dunno if I can commit or not. Cos only mornings I am free.

why still not here? since she work in spore b4, sld b quite ez to come back here mah.

Kam
i oredy picked up those potential ones from fb liao leh.

evening?

in our list ... only few tat has 2 kids leh...

angelsky?
fishia?
ernmum?

2nd time mummy.. i give up ... lots in the list hahaha

mom2nat,
my massage lady is good! i used her for #1 also. pixie also used her for x1.
it is quite a drag to think of 10 days of massage plus all the mess. but during the massage u'll feel so relaxed

if u want mornings, better tell her early that u want morn then she can arrange.
i told her i can only do morning also cos morning #1 in sch only #2 at home, easier. she managed to arrange for me.

long time no chat... finally i am on half day leave to rest today. haha...

so many mummies preggy with #2 or #3 ah.. pass me some baby dust lei.... keke

Wow, Hammies is going to pop... Knew that she is preggy thru' her blog. But didn't know so fast.

Steph ~ AhCapp MIA very long here. So she is one of the mystery mummy that u hinted last time??

Blessedbaby ~ Congrats!! Happy for u ;) Hope u get a boy this time!!

Tongtong ~ Before "supper" never wash lor, that's y i said is "surprise supper", haha. Think everyone is busy guessing mystery mummy & didn't reply u. How abt u?? Got wash before or after?? Haha, other plp may not know our code, thot wash what?? Machiam like wash plates ;)

Jess ~ long time no see!! I have no baby dusts. But can Jia you for you!! Jia You!!