(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Mcfluffy, yup, I just called 3house phonics enrichment at nearby cc, n they have weekday night class, 730-930pm. $100 for 4 lessons, got free trial so think I will bring her for it. Actually, they have a new class on sun morning 1130-130pm but I think timing not good. But the class is not accompanied by parents, afraid she won't be used to it. :p

Kam, u no need to worry, HR is very bright. He can count from 1-100 n read 三字经. Raeanne still drops 6 n 16 lor even for 1-20. :p

Pixie, oic, I got leapfrog phonics fridge magnet but all keep Liao cos she likes to throw them on the floor. Must dig them out of cold storage again. :p

Hi mummies !

steph
wow u r back. Sure a lot of supper there hor.

Kam
same here. T is also unable to recognise a word yet. Mostly based on memory to read. Is it good or bad I duno. Plus T cannot write too. Not forgetting he is considered 4 yr old cos he's born end 2007 de.

Kitsune
how old is Raeanne? If it's still 3, born 2008 is ok la. Relac leh

kitsune
i dunno that works or not but the DVD helps in a certain sense,
they have from learning phonics...
to making words - those simple 3 letter ones...
then to more complex sounds - 2 syllabus ones and rules of phonics

i think basically got 3-4 DVD stage by stage. songs very catchy oso

Pixie, oic, where did u buy it from? Exp? Maybe I should buy one to try.

Chaye, thanks, feeling more assured but Raeanne can't even recognize the alphabets yet, let alone read. She only knows a few of them. :p luckily she is Jan baby, got some time to catch up unlike Raelynn who is dec baby. :p

Wow, I can really hugz all the mummies here!
Very touched to read each of your words!
Now no more angry and more of sad. It is ok, I just plan for another better trip for just my kids.

Icy,
Yes he was looking at RCC but that one more exp... I already felt Virgo is not as fun already. :p

Mcfluffy,
Is you ah? I thought who is Keira??? Pirates of Carribean actress??? Hahahaha.

Luca,
You are right that it is his 一相情愿. But I understand he is trying to be filial here.
Yup, going on Disney on Ice show on 19 mar.

Steph,
Welcome back! Ya loh, Z looked like having fun. Resort Hotel is nice right?

Pauline,
The leapfrog cd is vvvv good. C learnt her phonics from there too... Must get it!

Krystle,
Hah. Keira is also part of C's name!
anyway, who else but me and u likes smap here. Nobody else right... So u shd know it's me wat

kam,

Thanks! Genting trip was boring for me i would say. I didn't step into the casino, not that i am v keen to gamble. Luckily i didn't cos most of our friends suffered badly. Hb said the table game stake min on average was pretty high...like MYR50...imagine 3 card pok** (this word not allowed to post)...if lost one game...total MYR150 gone in less than 3min!
We bought the indoor theme park ticket for 1 day on day 2. Day 1 we bought for Z but counter staff v blur, didn't charge for Z's ticket so foc for him for the rides
We won 2 teddy bears from the indoor arcade (gun shooting target by hb). Me & hb didn't enjoyed the theme park (we find the rides/games boring) as much as Z of course but on Day 2, Z oso dun seem to enjoy the normal rides cos most thrilling rides need to be at least 122cm tall! He wanted to sit on the indoor roller coaster but due to height restriction, he can't

But he enjoyed himself v much at snow world, playing with the fake snow (like soapy foam), the slide & of course the freezing temp!
Overall he was good...no major tantrum, can sleep on coach n eat well

luca,
i bought Cat2, $30+/tic.

pixie,
i miss u too!
v busy at work, no time come in chit chat

hey this Friday is the D day! Wish u a smooth delivery in advance. sms me ah when u pop! i want to see yr lovely X2 pic!

chaye,
supper sure! BUT supper after supper, NOPE. I settle Z sleep at night & hb went casino. By the time he return hotel rm (3AM), i KO in lalaland:p

krystle,
Resort hotel is better than first world, toilet is bigger
I don't think i will bring Z & R to Genting theme park again (maybe when they have reached the height of 122cm n abv so that most/all rides they can play)...HK Disneyland will be a better choice!

kitsune,
But hor, only his teacher said he can count 1-90. When we asked him to count, he didn't count nicely leh. 三字经 also stuck there for months liao :) He is now very much into story telling, not ask us to tell a story, but he tells us story. That day he was playing with his Megablocks, he told a 1-hour long story, about the "animals" (that he built using the blocks) eating, drinking, fighting, getting sick, see doctor, etc, very funny.

steph,
Disneyland is sure a place with more fun for young kids, I think. Now me and hub are thinking if we should go Ocean Park also. Cos if we don't do shopping ah, like nothing to do leh. Madame Tsussade we also not interested. So like really really nothing to see liao.

Kam, never mind, at least he has done it before. ;) I think Hk ocean park is not bad cos of the shows but I guess Singapore zoo also has. They have a nice cable car ride that is quite high but now the Lantau island one is even longer. :p

Kam,
Go Ocean Park lah, I think HR and XY will like it. Then got cable car to travel within the park (coz quite big), a place that is more surrounded by nature and an escape from city. I think your family will enjoy.

Mcfluffy,
Paisei, forgot you are fan of Kimura too! :p

Pauline,
I got it online last time. Can try WTS/WTB area to get it cheaper. Raeanne knows single letter phonics sounds or not? A for "ah", B for "ber", etc. already? If no, get Letter Factory coz Celeste learned her single letter phonics from leapfrog. Very amazing. Even I like to watch it :p If yes, can get Talking Words Factory. There are other leapfrog dvds to buy too..

kitsune / mcfluffy,
You know what? Actually I was thinking of attending a phonics lesson myself. Cos I had never learnt to pronounce/read English properly. I thought I should correct myself first before I can teach the kids. Wonder if I can benefit from the leapfrog phonics :-0

krystle,
Hmmm..... not sure. We may. We still haven't planned our itinery, will walk 1 step, see 1 step.

steph
ok, when i pop will sms u lar...

kitsune
not expensive, you can get 2nd hand ones from WTS maybe? LOL
or buy from sprees...spree section have them or thru amazon

kam
HR is so cute. hahahaha he can imagine and talk nonstop in his own way then it's good la. No prob de la. He's clever boy so u need not spend so much on pre education like us kekekeke

T can recognise A to Z and that's all. Can count from 1-20 or more but always stuck at 29-30 or 39-40. He just cannot figure after 29 is 30 or after 39 is 40. hahahaha

His cc has started teaching phonics (taught by teacher) but I duno how much he knows now. Speech and Drama which are from external vendor also starting soon le cannot rem when.

Everyday he will come back and sing many songs be in English or Chinese on his own. And like broken record keep singing the same song again and again. Well, I let him be, I guess he's happy doing that and I'm happy when he's happy

I know basic Phonics cos my #1 attended phonics at the age of 5 and I learn with her. It's really good cos she can read using phonics after that though she doesnt know the meaning of the word NOW. Also another problem, can read but duno the meaning.

mcfluffy, nope, she doesn't even know the alphabet phonic sounds. :p I just dug out the leapfrog phonics magnets but the sounds r a bit blur, I also can't decipher for some of the alphabets. Looks like I must get letter factory then. Thanks, will check WTS thread.

Talk about it, anyone has the baby leappad? I think that one is a complete waste of $. RaeAnne not interested in it at all, even now. Arghhh!!!

Kam, exactly, my hubby ask me to teach RaeAnne. I told him I dun even know it myself, how to teach. Teach Chinese still ok but not english/phonics lor. :p

kitsune
zoophonics and leapfrog has the same thing basically for stage 1 which is to know each sound of the alphabet. except they let kids remember it by different way.
zoophonics goes by animals
leapfrog just the letters...they'll come alive

ok heres the leapfrog timeline:-

letter factory - you'll learn the phonics of the alphabets
talking words factory - you'll learn how to make 3 letter words. plus simple rules such as vowels makes the silent sound, rhyming
code word caper - this one i forgot teaches what liao but im sure more complex words. i like this story most. its funnyyyy
lets go to school - you'll learn dates, time, numbers, and basic words lar

then as kids grow older, got maths DVDs too!

chaye,
most children have the problem. Can read but cannot understand/comprehend.

I think it's very important to teach in context a word and explain and show them what it means.

My colleague and I were reading a Japanese sweet wrapper one fine day. We realised that we can read every word but well, we hardly knew what the wrapper was saying! Hahaha..

So the same goes for the kids. We may teach them phonics, they can break down the word and read for you but they don't know what they are reading!!

So reading is not just about "barking at the print" which children are good at, but understanding the meaning of the words.

Kitsune,
I went royal Caribbean in dec,

Food selection is very limited. food wise the have 2restaurant - buffet and fine dining but end of the day we found that they are all serving similar food close to 90%. It is just buffet you had to help yourself and fine dining they served you. Quite limited chinese food unlike Star Virgo, they have chinese restaurant, western restaurant and buffet or even some which u might have to pay on your own.The food is okie, but after a few days, I wish I have more choice.

Their kids program is more suitable for older kids, they kind of baby sit them for you from 10am to 10pm. X was 1 mth more to be 3 yrs old, they doesnt accept him to be in the programme, he must be fully toilet trained as well. On the website, they stated that can rent toys and have a playgroup for under 3 yrs old. But they doesnt allow renting and the playgroup is just a temp area from 9-11pm with some toys on 8 ABC mat.

Kids cant be in the swimming pool unless they are fully toilet trained as well, no swimming diaper allowed. Anyway the kids pool is just a 1/3 session divided from the adult pool. No water feature etc for kids, just a plain pool.

leapfrog might be cheaper using spree at amazon now. cos there is some disct now.

SY,
I am also going disney on ice on 19 mar, but 6pm.

pixie
Totally agree with u, leapfrog DVD works great. I just purchase last week, going to get the rest of the collection soon.

Kam,
I think it is a good investment for the DVD, I also learn with X. :p I hope my girl can pick a bit here and there. She keep on going "eh eh eh" I wonder if she really knows.

oh paiseh, silent vowels would be taught in code word caper; not talking words factory

coz x wants to watch dvd and i happened to put this dvd on for him

Kam,
I think it's good enough to watch Letter Factory for you. You'll be able to make out the rest of the phonics yourself later

i agree icy
some of the "rules" i myself oso DUNNO!!
until i sat down n watched with x...then i know, oh, no wonder thats how or why you pronounce a certain word like this way!

sua ku

pixie
yes, Xavier was playing with the leapfrog card, showing his daddy how their are pronounced. Daddy stared at me blankly and ask me if X is correct.I ask Daddy to watch the DVD.. lol

Difference generation, at our time at PAP, we learn ABC and read words without know why. Just memmorising. Now kids must know phonics & han yu pin ying before P1.

kam
i can org lah, i think my sis has ongoing amazon spree
lemme check with her hor

but pls put down your name if you are keen..start a list first pls

pixie,
i am keen to order:
Leapfrog Learning DVD Set BP selling $45 incl normal postage while amazon spree selling $19.49 X 1.38 = SGD 26.89
Do u know roughly incl shipping is how much?
If is cheaper, i will order from yr sis/u

Okay. Let me start the list.

<font color="ff0000">A quick spree for Amazon spree (org by pixie/her sis)</font>

Mainly for Leapfrog phonics DVD. Must be quick cos it's on offer on Amzaon.

Who's interested, please put down your name.
1. Kam

<font color="ff0000">A quick spree for Amazon spree (org by pixie/her sis)</font>

1. Kam
2. steph (Leapfrog Learning DVD Set)

Amazon just up the price for the DVD set - USD$21.25, still discounted but not as cheap as b4.

Krystle
The one for phonics is known as Letter Factory, good for start.

Else u can buy the Learning DVD set which comes with 3DVD, includes Let's Go to School, Letter Factory, Talking Words Factory.

kitsune
The set comes with Let's go school. Cover 1-20.. more of counting. a brief one.

Wa, all jumping in to buy phonics dvds, the power of ks mummies, kekeke.

Kam, I also want the letter factory.

Pixie, where is collection ah? Now I got no car, cannot go far. :p

1. Kam - leapfrog learning factory, $8.99

BTW, the learning set only 2 sets left.

wah wah kam dont bold
i start spree here my nick will be suspended!!

keen in leapfrog DVD....
1. Kam - leapfrog letter factory

kitsune
go by post lor

me and my sisters only have certain collection places:
jurong
sembawang
rafles place
woodlands

kam
i edited your post...u want the letter factory, not learning factory rite!

1. Kam - leapfrog letter factory ($8.99)
2. steph - Leapfrog Learning DVD Set ($21.25)
3. luca - leapfrog letter factory &amp; LeapFrog: Learning Set - Volume 2 ($8.99+$19.99 = $28.98)

krystle, pixie,
Leapfrog Learning DVD Set comprises of the following titles:-
(i) Leapfrog Letter Factory
(ii) Leapfrog Talking Words Factory
(iii) Leapfrog Let's Go to School and
(iv) 26 pieces flashcards
LET'S GO TO SCHOOL™(Run Time: 35 mins): School starts tomorrow, and Tad and Lily are nervous! Join Tad, Lily and their magical firefly Edison as he gives them a tour of the classroom and shows them that the classroom is more nervous than they are! As the twins reassure the blocks, globe, clock and more talking "teachers,” they learn key lessons about phonics, counting, days of the week and animals. This DVD focus on (a) Phonics Skills (b) Counting (c) Animals (AGES 3-6)

LETTER FACTORY™ (Run Time: 35 mins): LeapFrog characters spring to life in this engaging and educational video. Popular LeapFrog characters, Leap, Lily and Tad go on a wild adventure to the Letter Factory. Led by wacky Professor Quigley, Tad joins Js jumping on trampolines and Ks practicing karate kicks as new letters learn their sounds. Fun songs will have kids singing letter sounds in no time. Includes 26 flash cards to help teach letters and their sounds through colorful graphics inspired by LETTER FACTORY. Flash cards also feature fun, parent-child letter activities! This DVD focus on (a) the Alphabet (b) Letter names (c) Letter sounds (AGES 2-5)

TALKING WORDS FACTORY™ (Run Time: 35 mins): Leap, Lily and Tad journey to the word factory where the Word Whammer, Sticky-Ick-O-Rama and more amazing machines take letters and make them into words. Humorous rhyming songs and an out-of-control word machine add to the fun. (AGES 3-6). This DVD focus on (a) the alphabet (b) Phonics skills (c) Word Building

The 26 flash cards help teach letters and their sounds through colourful graphics inspired by LETTER FACTORY™.

Pixie, okie, I'll go by post then. Only 1 disc, postage should be just 50 cents bah.
3. luca - leapfrog letter factory &amp; LeapFrog: Learning Set - Volume 2 ($8.99+$19.99 = $28.98)
4. kitsune_sg (leapfrog letter factory)

Icy, oh ya, almost forgot to reply you amidst the leapfrog dvd fever. thanks for sharing about RCC. I was tempted but after reading your feedback, star cruise is definitely better.

pixie,
2. steph (Leapfrog Learning DVD Set) <font color="ff0000">if OOS, order letter factory for me, tks!</font>
4. kitsune_sg (leapfrog letter factory)