(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Pixie,
U kan cheong to POP, we also kan cheong to be your instant mid wife. I can help you to "BOIL Water", wahaha ;)

pixie,
my last yr family trip is to "GENTING" only. If u can take it, u can also be one, haha ;). Cut some expenses here & there, sure can be SAHM one. Jia You!! For me, the main concern of SAHM is not abt money, is the children's health. Realised when they are sick & we are the only caregiver, is really stress & tired.

...and my hb said he will not be ard coz he say very crowded (he anti social lar) and he should be going out to meet his frens....

hey who can remember this? only for c-sect cases...
can i request no catheter inserted for my urine? or issit compulsory?
i dunno the reason behind? coz we c-sect, cannot get down the bed, hence need the bypass drip? or what?

ya catheter is a must leh.. cos u cannot go down to shh shh ma. very pain one even with the binder. But then again it depends on individual threshold of pain. But still the nurse wont allow u to get down so immediate de.

wow, today so much posting and topic so interesting!

pixie, yes, csection def u will be on catheter, else how u get down to pee? u not suppose to move within the nex 24hrs, tink abt csection, u goin to be awake w epi tis time too?

itok, i agree with u. not all accountants are calculative.i think the fact tht we hav higher earning power,also mean we tend to spend more? i see all my auditor frends all spend and splurge on branded stuff eh...

kry, u shld question ur hb pay! not all FM earn alot, depends on the industry u are in. but i tink, shld hav at least 5-6k too for someone of his age/experience

pixie,
For c-sect, catheter should be complusory cos you'll KO for a while and doc need to make sure your stitches are fine before they will allow you to come down from the bed. Why you don't want to insert?

Pixie,
You know what? My #1 was induced at 39 weeks too. So like what you said, if waited naturally, also don't know when. However, my #2 was delivered at 38 weeks coz contractions. So.... You just be prepared, pack bag etc liao for just in case.

Thanks Yvonne, aqua, chaye for the cfm
I will ask gynae if can don't put or not. At most if I need to pee n can't get down, I'll ask for bed pan.
Coz after I put the catheter for x1 last time hor, after they remove, I had so much problems peeing properly. I could feel my pee travelling down but just won't "exit"...machiam stuck.
I try to insist to gynae lor this time round. Will tell him I was walking 2hrs later after csect so hope he agree?
Errr abit impossible but I'll try

Krystle
huh really ah. Hmmm 38weeks is just 2weeks frm now

Krystle, my hubby doesn't even know how much his pay is a few years ago until I insisted that he find out exact amt cos he usually receives SMS regarding his pay check then delete it. :p

If I were u, I will ask why he doesn't feel comfortable to tell me how much is his pay so that i can understand him n the deeper issues better but if he refuse to say, then as long as your hubby respects your views n shares his money decisions with u, it's ok bah. After all, everyone has his strengths n flaws.

Aqua, Kitsune.
Once I used to ask him jokingly why can't tell me his salary but he just ignored me. :p I think very hard to make his mouth open about this issue. I think I maybe able to sound his tone when we later discuss about our financial plans for year (if can't find CC and I need to quit). Then from there, judge his salary loh.

Basically as long as after all the expenses, he is still comfortable with his financial status and can occassionally spend on shopping/travel, then I am fine with it. As long as he contributes to household then ok liao.

Chaye,
Pixie said she won't pop so soon leh. If really pop then this sat's gathering need to call off liao. But such thing hard to say. I think she may pop next week, earliest.

chaye
havent lar, im only 35weeks+, too early to pop lor...

krystle
next week 36weeks, also too early muahahaha

btw, i dont understand why ur hb dun want to disclose...maybe he has his own savings plans....but he wont be unhappy if you ask him for more $$ for eg this and that hor?

after hearing all the last min births from mar11 thread and then jan08 mummies scaring me, i packed my hospital bag yesterday liao kekekeke

hmmmm this time round it looks so empty, not like last time so kiasu everything oso bring!

Pixie,
Hahaha our scary tactic works! You can just pack your hospital bag first and if got anything else, then can just throw it in. This time round you are staying in Mt.A right? Going for single or just double?

Maybe it is my hubby's mindset, he is those type that kept things to himself. Since I have been giving him that type of privacy and freedom, I don't intend to take it back too. As long as he has his own savings plans then fine. Coz I know he is more rational than me, don't spend on drinking/going out with friends, don't spend on gaming stuff... so I think he has good control over the money. Not that worry.

Normally, he won't be unhappy if I ask him to increase his contribution to joint a/c, or pay for certain household stuff. Need to explain what is it for and he will understand. But most of the time, when he increases, I also need to increase (just his amt is bigger than mine lah). But if ask him to pay for my personal stuff, he will not loh. however, he will buy those stuff for my birthday. :p

pixie,
I didn't pack my hospital bag for #2. We went to TMC empty handed, only brought my hp and my boy :) Then hub went back to grab things for me. But really, nothing much to bring leh, almost everything provided for what. What do you die-die have to pack one huh?

krystle
double. i dont want to spend more $$ in a single ward....i dont mind staying with strangers one...chin chye one lar. now #2 must be more frugal whenever possible

krystle
then i think its fair....ur hb is quite like me, i am a saver than a spender and i dont like to disclose my personal savings to my hb but i know how much my hb has. i control the joint a/c, i have my own FEW personal accounts. my hb only 1 saving accounts for incoming and outgoing, very easy for me to "secretly" track hahaha...
then when he ask me, i always few few hundred bucks, at most 1k of personal savings...bluff lor. i never like to disclose my spending & savings with hb. he dunno how much i earn too coz he never asked

kam
PJs for bfding, tummy wrap coz i c-sect, my own pads, my own undies, nursing bra, my facial foam + moisturizer
most basic liao lor

tmc provides bb clothing when discharge but im going Mt A, dun have one wor. no receiving blanket provided oso (unlike TMC). so have to pack that

hmm, after reading all the post, just wondering is there any mummies like me?

I dont have any personal accounts. only joint accounts with my hb. all our salaries go into the same account. we know how much each of us spend. My hb keep track of our accounts, if there is not enough, he will transfer $$ back. He is also in charge of withdrawing $$ from the bank and checking my wallet, if there is not enough money, he will put some notes into my wallet.
I am in charge of checking all credit cards bills, so i know how much he spend when he goes out with friends...hehe.
We are very open abt our money. He will tell me hw much commission is coming in every mth.

pixie,
OIC. Ya lor, very basic is enough lah. I think I only need my own clothing, and that's it. Personal toiletries I didn't bring.

shannonbaby,
Me, me! I am like you! Me and my hub both don't have personnal account, only have joint accounts. All money comes in and out from the joint account. I am the one keep tracks of all accounts, all bills, and all credit cards.

hi all mummies

would like to ask if any of u bot a waterproof mattress protector before ? Is it good ? worth buying ? A single size is $30

Pixie,
I also need to pack my hospital bag with the basic neccessities you mentioned.
However when I delivered #2, I opted for single bed coz I really cannot stand having neighbours. Badly distrupted my rest and I guess I disturbed hers too. Luckily I only stayed for 1 night single at Gleneagles so the costs were the same as 2 nights double. Not so heartpain.

Gleneagles also don't have bb clothing/receiving blanket. Got to bring my own. Only gave those not so useful diaper bag from Similac.

Shannonbaby,
Then your household finances are very transparent, also good lah. My hubby and myself have our own personal a/cs which we don't reveal. Our kids got their own a/c too but I take charge. As for joint a/c, we just put more and use it to deduct for expenses, so only that one is transparent in my household.

As for credit card bills, we each take care of our own. Also don't reveal. Only sometimes heard him complain this month spent alot or what.

chaye,
I bought a waterproof mattress protector for my gal coz everytime she coughs badly, she'll regurgitate her milk. Gets very messy and SMELLY. Found that it's very good! THe mattress is saved from the vomit and smell! Invested in a few more.. 2 for my own home, 2 for mum's home. Also got a waterproof pillow protector. Haha.. but don't know how it is like yet, havent received it.

re: finances
hehehe.. I think I am the most boh chup about finances person here. My hubby will take care of everything that has got to do with money in the house... Seeing that I don't quite monitor our finances, he has taken up the job and will use his salary to pay for all the bills. I hardly have to use my own money for the family. Usually my salary only for my own personal use. And, we dont have a joint account too.. so I don't really know how much money he has also. He also don't know how much I have. hehehehe

mcflurry
thanks for your advice. I think I better get one so tat when I toilet train my boy the mattress wont get soak with his urine !

chaye
hey i just bought some pillow protectors from NTUC xtra....hope they still have the offer? coz the quality is GOOD!! zippered somemore
they have mattress (all sizes) protectors, bolster + pillow protectors...
cheap n good!

happy cny mummies!

pixie
saw your posting qtns regarding c-sect stuff but no time to come here to post. my take is usually if ur #1 doesn't dilate much, #2 shd b abt the same. cos it happen to me & my fren too. so both of us got c-sect twice despite we tried to "natural birth" i.e. wait at delivery room to dilate but no luck. so far only 1 exception case of a fren i know, her #1 c-sect, #2 natural birth cos premature. thus, it may b a good idea just go straight to c-sect than waste extra $$ to "try". as for MT A, they provide u a toiletries bag that consist of bath shower gel, face towel, tooth brush and toothpaste. they don't provide baby clothes and receving blankets so u gotta bring those. i stay at MT A 3rd floor for c-sect and the nurse there very nice one. it's the same nurse for both my deliveries. for my #2, i took a double ward but i got no neighbour throughout the 4 days. shiok! cos i heard they will put c-sect patients together in the same ward. prob during my #2, very few ppl give birth so they don't make us share room unless run out of rooms bah. oh ya it is compulsory to insert catheter when u c-sect cos u b on drip so can't get off the bed.

krystle
we have exactly the same arrangements. to me, his $$ is his $$, my $$ is my $$....he overspend or what, its his prob and vice versa....
i dont care how much he spends on his credit card bill....yah but we will complain to each other if we have high bills
eg just last bill from citibank, mine was 2.3k liao...seriously dunno buy what?? how to pay? *sobz*

mcfluffy
your pay, not enough even for yourself??
btw, my sis passed me your sambuccol. but im not going back to my parent's place until this sunday, but you and 1 meeting this sat....how ah??

chaye
errrr its like cloth material...
not very waterproof...protector just protected you from staining the mattress. so that you can wash the protector instead of washing the bed. coz bed cannot be washed mah

superbee
thanks for the info. i guessed as much i cant dilate much so i oredi opt for c-sect liao...
then i just pray i'll be warded in 3rd floor since the nurses are nice heehee

will never want to "wait n try" for natural...waste of $$ really!

mcfluffy
it wrote waterproof on the packaging lah, but issit really waterproof? the material issit like normal cloth type but the surface is abit shiny kind coz of the waterproofing?

krystle,

Are u around? Need yr help. Can check with u what is the best time to visit asakusa? morning or noon? usually how long do pple take?
N is yokohama near to tokyo? hw long will it take by train?
thanks for yr help!
having headache planning my trip.

Shannonbaby,
Yes, I am around.

No best time to visit asakusa coz it is always very crowded throughout the whole day. But if you go early like 9am+, indeed lesser crowd. Normally I prefer to go morning. Most of the shops in the main street (Nakamichi) are already open so not to worry. At Asakusa, just pray and shop abit will take 2 hours.

Yokohama is about 1hr normal train ride from Tokyo. Considered near already. You can also take Shinkansen to Yokohama which is only 30 mins. But no point coz expensive, unless you buy JR pass for unlimited ride then ok. I love Yokohama, nice harbourside city.

Don't need headache lah, should be happy planning a trip right? If need any more help, just let me know.

Krystle, oic then cannot force the issue. My hubby not secretive about money, only secretive about his ex gf. Got to force him many times before he is willing to tell me her name, but it was many many years ago lar. Hee.

krystle,
Thanks for yr help.
Wat abt Mt fuji? have u been there? worth staying over nite?

Hi kitsune,

U asked me abt my japan air tix rite?
Totally forget to reply u. i took SQ flight. so it cost abt $1k per adult n $700 for child, infant is abt $300.
U intend to bring yr family there too?

Kitsune,
My hubby also refused to share with me his relationship of ex-gf. Only once we happened to meet her at TM and I knew it was her cos hubby let out a shock expression when saw her. Then hubby said luckily he never married her cos she was not as pretty as before. Men!!

Chaye & pixie,
The waterproof ones i got online are really waterproof, tried and tested by my daughter's vomit. That night when she vomited, the mattress was dry and with no smell. I simply laid a new bedsheet over. In the past, need to change mattress and mattress gets extremely smelly coz cannot wash. Must buy 2 to interchange.

Pixie, oh no... I thought can collect from u
where does ur sis stay?

Pixie, my pay of course enough la! I don't mind more though. Just that I don't keep track and don't roll the money. Take v long to increase substantially. My hubby is different. He will invest the money etc. Money roll money... So I just sit down and ask for money :p

Shannonbaby,
I have never been to Mt.Fuji, only seen it from far from Hakone and Kamakura. :p
Going to Mt. Fuji can be just a day trip. But depends if you want to explore its surrounding too, there are onsen ryokans, shrine, lakes, museum to explore too. Not to mention if you want to go Fuji Highland Theme Park or Gotemba Premium Outlet, then better to stay for a night.

Your SQ air tix is going to Narita or Haneda??? I was hoping to go Japan with my family only next year. This year maybe still go by myself. :p

mcfluffy,

I love what u said! my hb will also invest the money, money roll money. and I will just ask for money whenever I have not enough..hehe

mcfluffy
my sis stayed at sembawang...both of them!
i dont have the chance to go home before this sat. usually i visit my parents on weekend and your loot is at my parents' place now lo...

which bp thread u get the waterproof ones?? wah u shopping queen leh!

yah i agree, mcfluffy, u very 幸福 coz it seemed like your hb pays for everything and you get to spend your own $$. no need to fork out for expenses?

krystle,

U mean u going to japan every year?
My SQ tix is to narita. taking the A380 one.

I seriously think that I am a spender. only thinking of hw to spend but not hw to earn, while my hb is forever thinking of hw to earn more money.

Shannonbaby, thanks, similar to current SIA online promo then. R u flying to narita or haneda? Day or night flight I was thinking of going to japan with my family n bunk in with my cousin who is working there if my maid going back in June but yesterday talk to her n she wants to go back in august only when contract ends. So dun know about my plans Liao. Duh...

I've been to japan twice, hakone is nice place to see mt fuji if the season is right. But I never saw mt fuji cos always cloudy. :p

Krystle, u so lucky, until now I never even saw her photo before cos my hubby threw everything away so definitely not in person. :p sometimes I do suan my hubby once in a while lar cos I am a bit jealous that i am not his first love mah.