(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

Happy cny to all the mummies!

Krystle, no lor, ILs did not suggest coming over for reunion dinner when we said not going but fil did bring some roast meats over yesterday. I did ask my mum's side to come over but my mum said not convenient cos my dad not very mobile. Yup, really appreciate them helping us ESP my aunt who is a very good cook. She even gave us home cooked shark fin soup.

Tongtong, I cooked the soup (chicken stock with fishballs, fish maw, prawns, scallops, mushrooms, vegetables) while hubby cut the abalone. Simple 2 dish reunion dinner for us.

We are back to sg! Sending the kids to their carers so that we can go pak-tor today :)

Pixie,
Good news - bak kwa from Ipoh was successfully imported! The gathering this sat is still on?

Kam,
welcome back!

<font color="ff0000">Re: Gathering/playdate at pixie's hse IS ON?!?</font>
Date: 12th Feb
Time: 10am
1. steph+hb+2kids
2. Kam
3. mcfluffy
4. elmo78
5. lynn ?
6. luca ?
Gatecrash:
1. janbb
2. krystle

lynn, luca, can you make it for 12th?

恭喜发财!

How's the long hols? we were shagged after 3 days of going out, rested at home for the past 2 days but still have visitors coming.

Hi, mummies.

I can't gatecrash this Sat's gathering since not going to the West side this weekend. So everyone have fun!

Luvv,
Ya loh, this time long weekend.
We were shagged on 1st day coz ran 3 different places to visit. 2nd day I only went my mum's place and work and waited for people to come at the same time. Then 3rd, 4th day nothing much, just rest at mum's place.

on on on, CNY gathering still on!!

Re: Gathering/playdate at pixie's hse IS ON!!!!!
Date: 12th Feb
Time: 10am
1. steph+hb+2kids
2. Kam
3. mcfluffy
4. elmo78
5. lynn ?
6. luca ?
Gatecrash:
1. janbb

I will pm lynn, mcfluffy, elmo78, luca my HP number (since steph and kam got my hp number liao) and liaise with them to ENSURE they will attend heehee

luvv
we went out most of the time too, so x didnt take his afternoon nap (except for yesterday)...so basically we had to be at home at night for the 1st 3 days coz x KO at 7.30pm...
thereafter own time own target very shiok

kam
yay!!! i heard banned but u must have a good way to get it "imported" thank you!! the bak kwa at my place gone liao, and its only measly 1.5kg. i whacked another 0.5kg at aunt's place. so this year max 2kg only....
hopefully my mom and sis will do the same every year "i cannot finish so the rest all give u"...then i can whack another 1kg or so, yippee!

my helper came yesterday, so i was bz training her n all....i do hope she is OK

Pixie
Tats fast. I gg to change maid this week. This one can't make it. Sigh... HOw tiring no maid for at least a few weeks.

Hi mummies, I kenna gastric flu on chu3, still haven't fully recovered, sigh.

Mom2nat, pixie, good luck with your maids. Was talking to my bro during cny n he wants to engage one for my elderly parents too.

I think the new maids or maids nowadays, mostly cannot make it. I was chatting with some other relatives who also have maids and most of the comments are same as mine, maids nowadays is causing a headache, not a helping hand.

Just left my kids' name under waiting list of another CC in my area this morning. The principal said they are almost full for next year too... Haiz... (-_-) Also just heard one of my close friend has quit her job (a marketing manager) to become SAHM.

Really looking forward to a good revamp of the Baby Bonus scheme by govt. Hope can give FOC childcare or another form of $$$ incentive for SAHM who have to look after kids fully.

mom2nat
oh yes oh yes...u guys brought her to perth then she say wanna go back home. very kns leh!

so u changing, is foc change issit? how many changes are we entitled to ah??

krystle
we collected her yesterday so that she can start doing my housework, my way lah...then weekdays she can be trained under my mil and the existing maid (now upgrade to supervisor level kekeke)
so she will be trained in 2 household. i want her to pick up as much as possible coz i only have 3 weeks left and i dont want to be troubled by housework/maid woes when im doing my confinement

kitsune
how u got gastric flu? didnt eat well or what?

krystle
i agree, SAHMs really lose out in the bb bonus scheme coz subsidies n all given mostly to FTWM, but lesser to SAHMs. but hor, the most sacrifices made are SAHMs leh, imho. coz they sacrifice their job to care for kids/babies but penalised by govt? a bit the skewed thinking.

btw, issit on news? coz i see many threads toking about revised bb bonus....are we getting a revision? when when??

jan08 mummies lose out with the aug08 baby bonus scheme. seems like im going to lose out again for the next one coz #2 due so soon...haiz...really NO LUCK (even though very kachiang puteh offering by govt)

i have requested to wfh the last week of this mth from my boss. i told her im not that mobile anymore. should be approved, yay!
nowadays still can walk fast n run but but...i have trouble sleeping. since last week till now, i have difficulties breathing when i lie on my back to sleep (my organs kena squashed?). i cant sleep on my sides either, coz i will have terrible backaches.
so now i cannot lie on my left or right or on my back....cannot lie on the front too...literally any position oso cannot sleep properly. cannot sit in the day. must stand or squat.
few times a night im awakened by the lack of air - i simply stopped breathing. machiam sleep apnea leh!

i old woman liao...#1 wasnt so tough a pregnancy

Nowadays maid act as though they are the employer. Complain this, complain that.

Just yesterday, my MIL's maid requested for an off day because she said CNY period very busy. She was feeling very tired. So my hubby (who employed her for MIL) told her to ask MIL for permission. She can have the day off to STAY AT HOME AND REST since she complained she was tired. But the maid acutally smsed my hubby after talking to MIL and said something like, "Sir, I don't know what Mum is saying. Do I have off? Yes means yes. I want to go downstairs and play. No then I want to terminate contract."

Which meant that she wanted her off day to GO OUT and not stay home and rest!

Wah, power lor. Who is the employer now? My hubby soooo angry that he rushed back home and gave the maid a piece of his mind.

Told my hubby to send the maid back after 2 year contract and not to employ any more maids liao. Enough of maid nonsense!

Then today heard my colleague complain about her maid which arrived just last week. Now sent back to agent liao. haha. The maids nowadays really very yaya!

Pixie,
Recently a lot of talks about Baby Bonus lah. Then the MCYS minister said there will be revamp and now collecting ideas. Coz they see $55M given out as Baby Bonus and yet the fertility rate in SG is still low at 1.06?? Hahhaa, this fertility rate does not seem to apply in our Jan08 thread. We are mostly quite productive hoh.

I think there will be revamp and looking forward for more pecks for SAHM (to drive me to become one). Then today's Yahoo news got people talking at WFH and how to drive coys to implement. All these sounds like a hint to me. Hehhee.

Ya loh, Jan08 babies lose out on the revamp back in 2008 and now another coming this year maybe? Think you can't catch the ride. Bo bian lah.

Congrats on your WFH approval! Hope it can be extended to permanent? Why you want to run? You crazy! Don't run!!! So dangerous!

Yes, Indo maids now more exp than Phil maids. Pixie's maid is from Phil right?

Mcfluffy,
Shake hands! No more maids nonsense for me too after 2 year contract!
But your MIL's maid quite power hoh, no strength to do housework but got strength to qiong outside? Nonsense! Don't like them to use "terminate contract" to threaten us. That day MIL heard my maid telling my girl, if she is naughty, the maid does not want to look after her and want to "go back to her own home". See? Tell that to my little girl? Crazy. Well, she will get her wish soon.

krystle
i just ran to catch 222 to go to bedok central for lunch just now heehee....

yes i do agree we are quite productive for jan08 thread :p :p :p

nolah, WFH only for last week of this mth, i.e. 28th to 3rd march. 4th march early morning i check-in to Mt A for delivery liao. i have to be in hosp by 6am, so most prob middle of the night wash hair, eat supper, then make my way down to enjoy free aircon and settle in
delivery charges not cheap so must start the stay early :p :p

mcfluffy
wah, if i were ur hb, i will scold the maid upside down too

my maid came yesterday only, this morning she stained my top with another t-shirt coz she was careless from last night chores. i didnt scold her....not yet lah.
but when i was walking her to my mil place, i told her firmly that if she work hard n respect us, we will treat her good. if she start to gang up with our current maid n stir trouble, i will not hesitate to send BOTH of them back immediately. said the same thing when i intro my maid to the current one. i hate maid-politics

wah this mth i very broke. i just realised:-
just the cc fees (deposit n fees etc), maid fees, and life insurance, oredi 5.5k out of my bank a/c
sobz sobz

Pixie, I ate soft boiled eggs, bak kwa, sashimi, cny goodies, fizzy drinks on chu2, then chu3 early morning woke up with severe tummyache. Dun know if it's because I overate or cos of the eggs n sashimi. :p

I am also curious about Bb bonus, wonder if there will be good news for sahm or better bonus for 3rd baby so that can convince hubby to have one more. Keke.

Chaye
380....but if performance good, will give bonus end of this yr lo. I hope dun need to change maid. Like the existing one we had with us straight 3yrs Liao. She heard we hired 1more to ease burden n she upgrade to supervisor level, she dunno how happy ah
hope they work closely together n dun leave for the next 2years bah

Pixie, yup, had to go to 24 hr clinic on sat, spent a bomb but the med not very good, until today still got diarrhea. So end up, I took the old med that I was given in Dec when I got food poisoning from the Hand Burger then the diarrhea stopped. But nauseous feeling still lingers.

Re: Baby bonus
They gave out 2 times, 2004 and 2008. Both times after I give birth then they announce!!!! SO I din get. KNS. This time I giving birth soon and they gg to announce! HOw irritating if I miss it! Hb say they shd be rewarding pple like us, educated and 3 kids!

Pixie
Wat you say is true lor, SAHM's sacrifice is a lot, yet the benefits is errrr... negligible!! CC fees oso lesser subsidy, maid oso I think. I guess the govt wan to avoid the wrong crowd of pple producing dozens. In Europe they give you a few hundred dollars each month for each child, right up until sec sch level I think. And if you have 4 kids in france, income tax if waived for life! How to compare? I hardly see peanuts.

Blackbatz
Agency close, I sending her off once open. This indo maid v stubborn, lies oso. She say can't get along with my mom and say I dun smile at her? Siao! Who owe who $$ now!!!
My mom picks on every of my maid! She doesn't understand wat is teach, her way of teaching is pick pick pick!!! So far all 3 maids can't stand my mom!!! HOw??!! Sigh...

Mom2nat
huh? Ur maid say u never smile at her??? Muahahhaah damn funny lehhhhhhh pls lor u shld be smiling at me leh!!!

Just now my maid ask me for cotton bud. I told her ok I will give her a packet but the next time round she will have to buy herself. Wah kao so good life need cotton bud. I dun even use it leh!!

mom2nat, I know what you mean. My ex colleagues also complain that they got nothing for having babies. Did you get once off $3000 cash &amp; $6000 cda a/c for Elliot? I got $3k for RA and $6k cda for Raelynn so got to share that with RA lor, until now don't dare to touch the cda account cos so pathetic, easily wiped out. :p

Pixie, my maid asked for cotton bud too. I also gave her a few then told her to buy herself next time. Once they realise they need to buy their own, then they stopped asking for it. keke.

Anyone sending their Fili maids back for home leave soon? I'm supposed to send mine back in June but don't know whether we would be affected by Philippines govt restrictions that only maids drawing the minimum salary stipulated by govt can leave their country. My maid only drawing $330 + off day. :p

Pauline
If u r sending your maid back for home trip and back to sin with the valid work permit it shd not be a problem right ? Bit theres a doc call POEA tat u need to do so that she can exit her home country. Btw hor your maid salary is so low !! Good for u ! Mine same as Pixie 380.

Chaye, thanks, how do I prepare the POEA? My maid was brand new maid from philippines in Aug 09, that's why her pay so low. I'm sure after her contract expires in Aug 11, I'll have to pay her more if I want her to stay. :p

Pauline
U can ask agent to do it with a fee. Years ago I paid abt $60+ at an agency in Lucky Plaza. Then 2nd time when she went back I didn't do and she got stuck at airport and got to sent back home to do it. Until now I still duno under wat circumstances we need to produce the POEA. Better that u chk with agent all the proper documentation tat need to be done ya.

Kitsune
ur maid pay is low!!
My existing maid, we got her 3yrs ago at 340$ leh. Also brand new no working experience wor!

Just now she fold clothes sitting on the chair while I stand up n supervise her. I find it funny. Later I told her that she cannot do simple chores sitting down. I said if she goes to mil place n sit down, sure kena. No helpers sit down in front of yr employer n fold clothes. Ok lah unless u do like marathon ironing that one sit down nevermind
or am I wrong abt this? I think it's just simple respect lor

sighs I think I'll be on night shift today liao. I can't sleep. I'm feeling so breathless now, like my windpipe choked and lungs can't expand fully. My heart machiam wrking OT now Liao pounding erratically. Not excited ot anxious. Just got squashed organs.
Then I'm soooo lethargic in the morning. Argh!!

for once, x requested for papa to put him to sleep instead of mama. Miracle! First time in 3years. And I said congrats to hb and shake his hands after he came out frm d room :p

Jacelyn
the meetup is at my place. I'm staying at jurong east. Nearest mrt is Chinese Garden. Keen to join us?

Pixie
Yah, siao one leh. She even ask my hb how come I dun smile! He told her my previous maid do everything for me, I can go out shopping, now i have to do the things she can't do, how to smile! He say she too immature! I told her, even my fren's maid ask me why i employ her, cos so blur. My maid reply me "why you employ me mdm?"

Does your heart pound a lot? Mine does leh. LIke I ran or something! And I perspire a lot at night, even with aircon! Tmrw I go ask gynae.

Kitsune
I got the $3K cash and $6K CDA for Elliot, but he is 2nd child. So in a way, lose out cos tat yr itself, 1st child oso have! And I think 2nd child more ah?

Mom2Nat,
Your maid damn funny leh, why must smile at her? Who is the boss? Sometimes I also show face to my maid when she does things wrongly or I heard too much complaints from MIL.

That day after CNY reunion dinner, MIL had to go downstairs to buy something. She instructed the maid to watch the plates in the basin. But the steamboat cooker was in the same basin too, however MIL forgot to remind her to wash that. As "smart" as they should be, my maid really only washed the plates and left the steamboat cooker there untouched!!! MIL hit the roof when came back and gave her a good scolding! My maid is really not "auto". Haiz.

Pixie,
Hope you finished your bah hwa and feeling better. I think you are getting stress with handling the maid and upcoming changes. Try to relax or just sit down watch some TV and rest. Rest is very impt in 3rd tri. Can ask your gynae give you hospitalisation leave to rest at home?

Re: Baby Bonus
Our Jan08 baby got $3K (no CDA a/c). Then 2009 baby got $4K + $6K CDA a/c. But so far, I still have not put money into CDA a/c. :p How to put ah??? This is the amt I got for both my kids. My wish of getting #3 depends partly on the new baby bonus scheme. See how good it is.

Kitsune,
Better be mentally prepared that there is a possibility that your maid may "chu pattern" and decided not to return after her home leave. I know many are like that. Or they use that to demand higher pay. Your maid's pay is one of the lowest I heard of. I am paying my maid $400 (she got 6 mths' exp in SG as transfer maid) + $20 for cleaning my house every weekend. Expensive right? And yet she is so good life, practically off work at 9pm, sleeps at 10pm, wake up at 7am, don't have to look after my kids on weekends (5 day week??). Anyone's maid is having a better life than that?

Chaye, thanks, i asked my agent but nowadays he got a lot of sidelines so very busy. They said maid biz not easy cos supply very restricted so he went into second hp shop biz. :p

Pixie, oic, $10 diff nia since yours started with $340.

Mom2nat, yup those born after 17 aug, their 1st baby got lar but not us. I remember after that fiasco, many mummies said next time must wait for ndp rally then plan for babies. :p

Krystle, ya, I also thought of that, that's why intend to withhold one month pay to offset her airticket if she doesn't come back. Also tell her that I will be giving her 1 month bonus in aug after she fulfill her contract, pay increase by $20. So she stand to lose $700 in total if she doesn't come back. One thing good is that Raelynn will be 18 mths by June so if she really die die doesn't want to come back to sg then I may forget about maids n put both gals in cc or ask ils to look after RL, then i go find a job. :p