(2008/01) Jan 2008 MTBs

luca,
i had full dinner (with rice) almost everyday leh. I am not on any diet so i eat moderately for dinner..cannot skip else sure gastric. My mom always tease me...say 吃穷 my hubby:p

Chaye,
who says...i definitely got flabby tummy fats when i sit down...三层肉 u know
Of course i count myself lucky cos i don't think i can go on strict diet to slim down if i am v fat in the first place...sure die! Eh but i always put on weight on my face 1st which i hate

pixie,
when i was preggy...i eat far more supper than this! That's why i put on weight fast during preggy & causes stretchmarks on my lower abdominal & thighs

oh i told hubby must help clear & wash up if wanna eat steamboat & he did help out

hehe kam, no lah..me not amazing...next time when old age then side effects from having too much supper will surface
(dun remind me pls)

no lah, he only mentioned having steamboat AFTER we supper-ed in the noon (spa)

steph
that Adeva Spa is the one Kam and myself booked at deal.com.sg lor

I have not booked the date for it yet. I wonder do I have to top up for scrub and shower... I love scrub !

Kam
here's my answers to the survey

1. Does your kid eat in front of tv/iPAD/iPhone/other entertainment?
No. We dont turn on TV at home at all.

2. How long (a range) does him/her take to finish a meal?
20 -30mins

3. Does he/she eats veg?
Yes. every meal must have 1 orange n 1 green vegetables. e.g. broccoli with carrot

4. Does he/she eats better/more if his/her favourite food is served?
Not really

5. Does he/she eats better or poorer at the restaurant?
Very bad. she cant eat well outside

6. Does he/she snacks a lot or often?
No

7. Do you think he/she is a picky/fussy eater?
yes.

Kam,
he can still sleep despite all the sneezing. the flu medicine doesnt work everytime, sometimes he still sneezed. past 2 nights i didnt gave him medicine,and he didnt sneeze. usually i let him blow his nose b4 he sleeps, but no mucus at all. However after he slept, he snored so loud as if he got bad stuffed nose. :S

so i really duno, just dun want to give him too much flu medicine since it doesnt help much anyway. slowly let him build up his immune system.

steph,
haha nvm lar, u make it up by having more "supper" lor. eh, u mean u have ur "supper" in d spa? :p

Chaye,
The Adeva Spa was good, i love scrub too! But i think your package is inclusive of body polish liao...maybe similar to scrub, you can check with Adeva first.

steph,
You have very high metabolic rate then.

shannonbaby,
Why your gal eats so well you still consider her as picky eater?

Luca,
Ya lor, in that case, don't have to give the flu med, if it doesn't help. Have he experienced this before? Thought usually it's due to having a sensitive nose.

Kam,
because she cant eat well when she goes outside. She only take plain rice or noodles when we r outside. very hard to feed her other things.
I feel so stressed when feeding her outside.
I think she is so used to our home cooked food, like everyday very standard (rice, with steamed fish, broccoli n carrot or with steamed pork, green leafy vege n pumpkin)
BUT her fave is french fries which she takes in school during party time..haha.

Anyone has child-friendly Japan itinerary to share with me? I can only think of Disneyland n Mt Fuji.
Will be bringing my kids n ILs to Japan for cherry blossom.

Kam,
hes having this "problem" for quite some time already. i also suspect could be sensitive nose. dat time i chanced upon a pamphlet on allergy testing for persistent flu/cough, but duno if he really need it leh.

steph,
keep it up for ur supper hee ;) talking of supper, my hb wanted to have it last 9, but my boys locked the door, i didnt know about it after he told me dis morning. haha

luca,
If it affects his general well being, then a proper diagnosis may help. But such test can really tell or not? And it's usually ex? You still bring your kids to see Dr Keoy, or not?

mylvera,
Be careful of your BP leh, wait it suddenly shoot up after reading steph's story......

duno leh. it costs $199 for 9 allergens.anybody done such tests before? issit wendyg's boy?
yes, still seeing Dr Keoy. need to bring #2 see him tomorrow night as still got flu n cough. usually only need to see him once then will be ok liao, nowadays need at least twice. my boy already had 2 rounds of antibiotics liao. his green mucus still not clearing, though lesser.

mylvera,
go get ur own supper to bring bp down lar. ;p

LOL @ kam & mylvera

eh i dun wan to be so explicit on my spa redezvous lah...later my hb read (he knows my nick) sure kill me:p

hi, i am from feb08, sorry to intrude but got a few qns to ask some mummies.

Mom-to-nat, my ger has dark eye rings and always have persistent cough in the morn and at night.. it has been like that since she was 2 yr old. .. on and off.. even though she doesnt take cold stuffs and phelgm causing stuffs..
so sad to see here like that..e doc also says she allergic, but we already avoid so many stuffs liao.. still like that b my doc never suggest prick test.

What is zyrtec for? my boy 8 mths was also prescibed that 2 days ago.. he has very bad chesty cough and flu.

Thanks for ur ans

SY.. where is this sheng shiong zi char? Is it jurong west?

mylvera,

my nephew did it in a PD clinic in TMC. dunno abt GP but i know some PD clinic will do it.

Genice,
zyrtec is for allergy reaction n sentive nose or flu? I usually give it to my kids when they are down with flu.

Mom2nat,
Oh no... My gal has dark eye rings too....
But she only became like this in dec leh... And pd always give her zrytec too...

Zyrtec - fast relief of allergies, 24hrs control
5061273.jpg

Are u mummies referring to this ?
Cos kidslink PD gave Zyrtec to R who has got eczema since birth & diagnose asthma recently. I will use it on R when he has got watery eyes, itching (skin) & runny nose.

genice,
yup Sheng Siong zi char, opposite the police station HQ along Jalan Bahar.

steph,
not me, it's Luca who asked you to tell the story :) I only wanted to know that you actually had it, not the details :))

Luca,
Ya, think wendy's boy did it also. And I remembered she said her boy's condition improved a lot after they avoid the allergen (think it's egg or something).

Genice,
Yes, zyrtec is often precribed by PD when a baby/toddler experiences block nose, running nose, etc, relief med for allergy or allergy-alike . Not so much for cough though.

Avoiding cold stuff or phlegm causing stuff don't really help if it's allergy. It's a particualr allergen that causes the allergy. Must be very careful with chesty cough with phlegm, he is on antibiotics?

Wa, Steph, u so daring ah? Wait all the mummies who booked Adeva spa also inspired n have supper there. Kekeke. Eh, I think this month u have supper more than once lar since u just had it last week in living room somemore. Hee. ;)

Mom2nat, just used my Delphin to clean the sofa bed mattress n raeanne's mattress today. So much dirt, no wonder hubby keep getting hives cos he sleeps on the sofa bed beside Raeanne. She keeps having cough n runny nose too. :p

Just washed the curtains, still need to clean my own mattress, living room sofa, then change all the bedsheets. :p

<font color="0000ff">Re: zyrtec</font>
Yes, tats the zyrtec. I think it relieves cold symptoms, but it is also like an anti histamin. When I get hives, I take it myself! My girl took it on an off when her allergy strikes. While my boy took it when he got runny nose.. quite multi purpose hor. This zyrtec can be bought at pharmacies, no need prescription. I usually buy there cos cheaper.

<font color="0000ff">Re: Allery test</font>
My girl did hers at Kinder clinic with an allergy doc. I think 8 tests for $120. Consultation and medication, total bill was $300+ for tat day.
I think most of us are allergy to something or another. As long as it doesn't bother us, then it's ok. But PD told me, some kids ultra sensitive, the allergy might get more as they grow up. But usually by 40 yrs old, allergies go away.

I chose the prick test cos my girl's allergy is taking at toll on her. She rubs until eyes swollen, always rubbing and digging nose, sometimes until bleed. V poor thing, how to concerntrate in class? She has been on ketotifen, zyrtec and aerius for years. It improves a while, then strikes back. Didn't get any better in general. So now that she is 7 this yr, I decided I need to curb it. She is gg to go thru immunotheraphy for her allergy, a 3 year commitment. Hopefully it helps to curb it.

Steph/ Genice
When she was a bb, she had eczema, PD told me next might be asthma, ask me watch out. When she was 2, her eczema no more, but runny nose and cough comes, so she took ketotifen to strengthen her lungs(6 mths each time). Doc told me prolong cough we worry later become asthmatic cos she got sensitive lungs. So when she coughs badly, she goes on neubuliser (i use spacer) with ventolin. She tried many kinds of sprays with the spacer liao. Thank God each time we tried to curb it, so her cough doesn't get too bad.

Genice
If not v serious, I think the child will recover. Now many pple ill, so many she caught a common cold. But if you wan, can go to a PD and check. Cos they specialise in seeing kids, they have seen enuf cases to know wat is gg on and wat's the best solution.

Btw, doesnt' mean dark eyerings means allergy hor. Cos my son dun sleep oso get it!

steph,
ya u had more supper this month, so cannot say u deprived hor ;p

kitsune,
my fren ever had supper during spa too. dat time i wondered how they did it too n now that steph had tried it, seems like it can be done. but i dun tink i can be dat daring, wat if the spa has hidden cameras or something, dun wana end up like Edison ;p

kam,
phew!!! So now u know, the rest u can go figure out...actually venture 'supper' outdoor or some unknown places involves risk n exciting too (i onli dare to do such risk after married)...i am sure u'll agree...just like yr mountain supper!:p

kitsune,
oh ya...i almost forgot...so is my bonus!

Mom2nat,
thanks for sharing
R suffered bronchitis last Aug &amp; 2nd attack confirmed is asthma. He is on ventolin puff twice a day for last Oct &amp; Nov &amp; gradually stopped in Dec when his condition is better/stable (no more cough/phlegm/flu). I am just like you...whenever he got cough/runny nose/phlegm attack badly, we gotta keep a close watch for any wheezing &amp; tried to curb it before it gets out of control...haiz...now i am trying out TCM on him to help strengthen his lungs.

Oh btw, Z had very bad cough+phlegm last week &amp; everytime during meal time, he will spit &amp; wanna vomit his food when the food is being placed inside his mouth. For the past 4days Z had major lost of appetite &amp; seem lost of interest in food too
TCM sinseh told me is 胃寒+cough causing him to wanna vomit. He said is different from stomach flu when i ask. He said stomach flu symptom is vomit+fever+diarrhoea. He prescribe "hou2 zao2 san3" powder to reduce his phlegm &amp; improve his appetite &amp; this powder seem to work very well on him the last round when he had the same symptom. But this powder is v costly...cost me $140+/bottle (3 times daily for 2wks) Anyone tried "hou2 zao2 san3" powder ?

Kam
The test hor, they prick the skin then put a drop of the allergen. Then 15 min later, you will see which one ends up like a mossie bite. They will take measurements.V obvious for my girl which ones came up and itchy on her hand.

Steph
We tried tat "monkey powder"... din really work for her. I tried Eu yan seng. Initially her sneezing went off.... but stop medication, the attack was so bad, I had to bring her to GP. I wanted to try TCm, cos pple say treat root... But can't find a suitable one and hb worry abt the medication.

steph
Yes my #1 tried the Eu Yan Sang's hou zao san before. It's very ex but bobian cos it really works well in reducing phelgm and cough. That time when I bought is like $158 per small bottle ! Now I duno le.

mom2nat,
I heard from another TCM sinseh that "hou2 zao2 san3" powder is actually no good for kids if taken on long term. The sinseh told me that this powder is taken from the monkey's cell &amp; is cancerous! However when i try to clarify/find out from the sinseh, from the medical hall that i bought the powder, he was annoyed that i somehow doubt his treatment &amp; this powder usage on kids. He said he don't have the license to supply n provide such powder to his patient if govt didn't approved it. The powder taste minty n a little bit bitter. I don't know which TCM sinseh is right about this powder woh? Any idea?

Steph
I dunno how good leh. I argue with a medical hall person b4. he tell me preg can take dunno which herb. My gynae say for pple who is bleeding, dun take cos it increases blood flow in our body. The medical hall fella ask me change gynae!! Siao. So ask me to trust TCM, hmmmm.... unless v trusted kind.

From the web http://www.hudong.com/wiki/%E7%8C%B4%E6%9E%A3

猴枣 - 猴枣生于老猿猴之胃及肝胆间,缘猿猴常食各种山果,积年累月,其精液所结成为石者,形如枣. 猴枣为治热痰最灵捷之圣药,功胜西黄八宝散,暨诸祛热痰药。

For those who can't read chinese. It says hou zao 猴枣 is taken from the Macaque Monkey, where stones form in the guts, somewhere between the stomach/liver. The stones are formed because Macaque monkey eats a lot of wild fruits, and the extracts from the wild fruits formed the stone. It's best when use to cure "hot" phlegm.

Steph,
From this, don't think that sinseh is right to say it's taken from the monkey's cell. But whether cancerous or not hor, cannot tell. But then hor, come to think of it, when our body has stones, we might need an op to get rid of it. So I am guessing the stone is not something good?

The important message though is that it cures "hot" kind of phlegm, so it doesn't work for those "cold" type.

just step in regarding the 'hou zao san'.
my elder one took it when her cough is very bad last year. it works wonder. but tasted just like TCM, got to mix into her milk to let her drink.
Eu Yan Seng one is very expensive, i think it's $70/dose.
i bought mine from Hock Hwa. $15 per bottle for 2 doses. their recipe is a bit different, some with pearl powder, or chuan bei in the bottle.
malaysia sell it even cheaper, some medical hall sold it for RM 2/dose.

it's actually not from monkey's cells. it's a kind of date called (hou2 zao3).
my elder sis, neighbors used on their kids and it works very well too.
according to the chinese sinseh, it helps to 'open up' the airway and reduce the irritating feel on the throat and some other effect. cannot be taken in long term.
if want to save cost, can go to Malaysia chinese medicine hall to buy whole piece of the 'hou2 zao3' and ask them to grind into powder.
think 1 piece is SGD50, can use very very long. (that's what my neighbor told me).

alternatively, there's another TCM that helps in cough.
it's called 'she2 (as in snake) dan3'. my neighbor passed me 2 packets called 'she2 dan3 chuan1 bei4 mo4'.
he said very good for cough and suitable for kids. haven't try it yet.

SY,

I gave Javin Singular powder for the pass 2 months. Doctor say it will helps to strengthen the lung so kids dun get the wheezing or very bad cough easily. So far now he still do have cough and flu but with medication for a few days recovered. Just those mild ones not severe like the previous time always need to neb and hospitalised. Maybe you can try that. I also give him hou zhao san when he have lotsa phelgm. It works well too.

Kam,
thanks for sharing the precious info. I know i can trust you on such chem stuff

Bingo! my MIL said the same thingy like what you wrote/found out about hou zao 猴枣.
I think the sinseh meant to tell me is taken from a monkey (i am not sure which type &amp; i didn't ask in detail) He did said sumting abt...where stones form in the guts, somewhere between the stomach/liver BUT he didn't say is use to cure hot phlegm woh. Hmm...but i am thankful for your info...so now i know

However the sinseh said the stone is no good for kids if taken on long term &amp; i guess he is referring to humans too...like what u said abt developing stones &amp; we need to get rid of it else might become harmful to our body...same theory bah. I will talk to the sinseh to find out in detail whether is use to cure hot or cold phlegm specifically.

wow..came in and read abt all those remedies for sicknes.. fortunately, my girl is stronger after she stopped cc.

i have 20packets of singuliar to clear, anyone keen? mygirl used to take when she was having chronic cough in cc n it has proven to be v effective.

My girl tried singular too. Effective but when ask me go long term I din, cos I think 1 dose $2 or so. She took on n
Off only.

my PD sold me the singular at $3.50 per packet. My son is having it for the past 2 months as he has sensitive lungs..but it is very effective. the moment he stops taking it, his flu n cough will come back and its really very serious, as in his whole lungs will be full of phelgm and need to be on neubiliser every 4hourly.
His lungs is so sensitive that if anyone cough or sneeze in front of him, he will get the virus immediately and the whole lungs will be full of phelgm

Hi, Shannonbaby.

Happy for you that you booked your Japan trip.
You can go for Disneyland and DisneySea so that will take up 2 full days already.
If going to Mt. Fuji, can also go Hakone and stay at an Onsen nearby, that should take 2,3 days too.
For Cherry Blossom, I recommend Ueno Park. If can go at night, it is another type of scenery.
Odaiba is nice, there is a big gaming centre plus a theme park, also got a factory outlet (not big though).
For factory outlet, go for Gotemba which is near Hakone.
If you want to venture outside Tokyo, try Kamakura or Nikko.

Are you going by F&amp;E or package tour? If F&amp;E with kids and elders may be tough coz travelling does take up a long time and not that convenient. But I feel F&amp;E gives more fun when touring Japan.

I seldom post here but today's topic is interesting. I have tried the 猴枣san from EYS too, but find it too ex, $70+ for one day dosage, have to take continuously for 3 days, so will need more than $220. I have got twins....haaha...so if both cough..then must prepare $450 to fly away liow. There is cheaper alternative at chinatown medical store at $20 per dosage, so have stocked a few dosages at home...

Recently saw a sinseh for TCM...he added the "he2 dan3 chuan1 bei4 mo4' that Xiaoyun mentioned...to their chinese medicine. was very effective and cheap! My twins' cough which had lasted for more than 2 weeks plus cleared within 2 to 3 days.
6 boxes only $3.50. Even my hubby and i now take this to clear our phelmy cough!

Hi dawn, long time no see. Since the aqua ducks trial when our kids were 6 months plus in fact. How are your twins.

I got problem getting my gal to take tcm cos they usually dun taste as good as western med. :p

ya pauline, have not seen u and kam since then. I have been busy with work....usu can only login at nite to read the thread, enjoy reading as my nightly presleep, destressing activity. Twins notti lor......forever fighting.

Read u r injured, hope u n your hubby recovering well.

Originally the kids also din like tcm medicine, but the sinseh tried to add less bitter stuff? haha....so they got used to it. seems to work well for them this month....keeping fingers cross the cough does not return.

Dawn, I also usually read at night, next time post at night n keep me company lar. Oh, did kam go too? I dun remember seeing her.
Keke, can understand lar. My no. 2 still being bullied by her sister but think just a few more months she will learn to fight back.